DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/26/26. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended; and no claims have been cancelled nor added. Thus, claims 1-17 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
“orientation means” (cl. 1): an orientation means 104 configured to control the direction of said laser beam 103. Thanks to the orientation means of the apparatus of the present invention, the laser beam will define a working zone. The working zone is the surface that is scanned by the laser beam when the specific angle between the window and the laser beam varies during the decoating process thanks to the orientation means. Maximum angles define the maximum decoatable surface 13 a that can be achieved by the decoating device when positioned within apparatus at a specific location. The maximum decoating area is typically a rectangular with a length comprised between 50 mm to 200 mm. Preferably, the decoating area is an area between a 100 mm×100 mm square to a 150 mm×150 mm square. This maximum decoating area is indeed limited by useful area of decoating provided by properties and configurations of the laser beam, such as power, depth of field and by properties and configurations of the orientation means such as orientation angles.”, para. [0136]-[0137].
“suction means” (cl. 3): the apparatus includes four mounts 507 a-507 d for attachment to the window. In an embodiment, mounts 507 a-507 d may be suction cups. Other embodiments may use other means for attachment to the window or to the surrounding wall 505, as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art.”, para. [0032].
“pushing means” (cl. 4): “According to the invention, the apparatus can further comprise at least one rigid pushing means 15 to maintain the distance between the decoating device and the interface P1 of the multi-glazed window 100 and to ensure the parallelism between the decoating device and the surface P1.”, para. [0129].
“displacement device” (cl. 6): “the pulsed laser 410 is attached to a rail 540 in a manner that allows the laser to slide or otherwise move along the length of this rail. In particular, the pulsed laser 410 and lens array 440 may be attached to a mount 570 that is attached to a belt 560 incorporated into this rail length wise. The belt 560 may be mounted on two pulleys, 550 a and 550 b at either end of rail 540. The belt 560 is therefore movable; movement of the belt serves to move the pulsed laser 410 and lens array 440 mounted thereon. One of the pulleys may be driven by a motor 545. In the illustrated embodiment, motor 545 turns pulley 550 a, thereby driving the belt 560. This in turn moves the pulsed laser 410 and its lens array 440 along the length of rail 540 (up and down in the illustrated embodiment). The motor 545 maybe capable of turning in either direction, so that the belt 560 may move in either direction, as shown. In this way, the laser 410 may be moved in either direction along rail 540. In an alternative embodiment, the motor 545 may be mounted at the opposite end of rail 540 to drive pulley 550 b. In yet another embodiment, two motors may be used, one at each of pulleys 550 a and 550 b, and operating in synchronicity.”, para. [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estinto et al. (US 2015/0093554) in view of Nomaru (US 20080061042).
With regard to claim 1, Estinto teaches an apparatus (500, FIG. 5) for removing at least one portion of at least one coating system (120) present in a multi-glazed window (installed in wall 505, FIG. 5) comprising at least two glass panels (110, 405) alternatively separated by at least one interlayer (120) and forming multiple interfaces (see illustrated FIG. 6);
the apparatus (500) comprising a decoating device (570, 410, 440) including a laser source (410) that generates a laser beam having a specific direction wherein the decoating device further comprises an orientation means (“programmable computer”) configured to control the specific direction of the laser beam (“an optically scanned laser may be used to produce the specified electrically isolated areas in the low-E coating. In such an embodiment, the laser beam may be directed at the necessary locations on the low-E coating by a system of one or more mirrors.” (emphasis added), para. [0046];
With regard to the claim limitation of “wherein the decoating device is fixed in position relative to the multi-glazed window along a plane P defined by a longitudinal axis X and a vertical axis Y, and the orientation means scans the laser beam across a portion of the coating system without displacing the decoating device along the plane P”, Estinto does teach an optically scanned laser with mirrors as cited above (para. [0046]) and which would inherently include a longitudinal axis X and a vertical axis Y such that the scanned laser may remove the low-E coating at predetermined locations through the system of one or more mirrors. Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that Estinto does not explicitly teach the aforementioned limitation, Nomaru is cited alternatively for its teachings related to the aforementioned limitation (“wherein the decoating device is fixed in position relative to the multi-glazed window along a plane P defined by a longitudinal axis X and a vertical axis Y, and the orientation means scans the laser beam across a portion of the coating system without displacing the decoating device along the plane P”): “The laser beam scanning means 64 shown in FIGS. 4 and 5 is composed of a galvano-scanner 64 a. The galvano-scanner 64 a constituting the laser beam scanning means 64 is composed of a pair of a first mirror 641 and a second mirror 642 which are disposed in parallel and opposite to each other with a predetermined spacing therebetween as shown in FIG. 5, and an angle regulating actuator 643 for regulating the disposition angles of the first mirror 641 and the second mirror 642. The angle regulating actuator 643 has its rotating shaft 644 connected on a power transmission basis to a connected part between the pair of the first mirror 641 and the second mirror 642. The angle regulating actuator 643 is controlled by control means which will be described later, whereby the disposition angles of the pair of the first mirror 641 and the second mirror 642 are changed in the range from the condition indicated by dot-dash lines to the condition indicated by two-dotted chain lines. In the case where the pair of the first mirror 641 and the second mirror 642 are positioned in the condition indicated by solid lines in FIG. 4, the pulsed laser beam LB oscillated from the pulsed laser beam oscillation means 61 is condensed into a condensation point Pa, as indicated by solid line in FIG. 4.” para. 0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Estinto reference, such that the decoating device is fixed in position relative to the multi-glazed window along a plane P defined by a longitudinal axis X and a vertical axis Y, and the orientation means scans the laser beam across a portion of the coating system without displacing the decoating device along the plane P, as suggested and taught by Nomaru, for the purpose of providing an actuation mechanism which is a more cost effective mechanism due to the reduced structural complexity of the mirrors.
With regard to claim 3, Estinto teaches the apparatus (500) further comprises at least one suction means (507a-d) configured to detachably fix the apparatus to the multi-glazed window (“the apparatus includes four mounts 507 a-507 d for attachment to the window. In an embodiment, mounts 507 a-507 d may be suction cups. Other embodiments may use other means for attachment to the window or to the surrounding wall 505, as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art.”, para. [0032]).
With regard to claim 4, Estinto teaches the apparatus (500) further comprises at least one rigid pushing means (510a/530a, FIG. 6) configured to stabilize the apparatus on the multi-glazed window (installed in wall 505, FIG. 5) (FIG. 6).
With regard to claim 5, Estino teaches the apparatus (500) is inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle (see rectangular arrangement of glass 110, 405 of FIG. 5) extended along a plane, P, defined by a longitudinal axis, X (horizontal axis X of apparatus 500 in FIG. 5), a vertical axis, Y (vertical axis Y of apparatus 500 in FIG. 5), and being substantially parallel to the interfaces; wherein the decoating device is fastened to the apparatus at any location of the plane P (FIG. 5 illustrates apparatus arranged on glass panels (110, 405) and being movable to a predetermined location) (“there are two panes of glass in the window, 110 and 405. In the illustrated embodiment, the apparatus includes four mounts 507 a-507 d for attachment to the window. In an embodiment, mounts 507 a-507 d may be suction cups. Other embodiments may use other means for attachment to the window or to the surrounding wall 505, as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art.”, para. [0032]).
With regard to claim 14, Estinto teaches the apparatus (500) is mounted to a multi-glazed window (FIG. 6 illustrates glass panes 110/405 with low-e coating 120 therebetween), and wherein the orientation means (“programmable computer”) controls the direction of the laser beam to remove at least one portion of the coating system (“an optically scanned laser may be used to produce the specified electrically isolated areas in the low-E coating. In such an embodiment, the laser beam may be directed at the necessary locations on the low-E coating by a system of one or more mirrors.” (emphasis added), para. [0046]; “the motors 512 a, 512 b, and 545 may be controlled by a programmable computer (not shown). By programming this computer appropriately, the computer can be made to create and deliver control signals to these motors to control the motion of the pulsed laser 410 and lens array 440, and thereby control the path and pattern of ablation. For example, the apparatus 500 may be used to create any of the patterns illustrated in FIGS. 3A-3D. Alternatively, the motors may be controlled by hardwired logic instead of a computer executing software. Alternatively, the motors may be controlled by hand.” (emphasis added), para. [0038]) and wherein the multi-glazed window is mounted on a stationary object (wall 505) or on a mobile object.
With regard to claim 15, Estino teaches the suction means comprises a vacuum pad or a suction cup (“the apparatus includes four mounts 507 a-507 d for attachment to the window. In an embodiment, mounts 507 a-507 d may be suction cups. Other embodiments may use other means for attachment to the window or to the surrounding wall 505, as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art.” (emphasis added), para. [0032])..
With regard to claim 16, with regard to the limitation of the laser source generates the laser beam in a direction parallel to the plane, as claim 17 recites that the laser beam is perpendicular to the plane, it is submitted that the direction of the laser beam (as cited herein in claim 16 in view of the recitation of claim 17) is not critical to the invention, an d additionally, such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious change in configuration since it has been held by the courts that a change in configuration without any criticality in operation of the device is nothing more than one of numerous configurations based upon the suitability for the intended final application (In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976)).
With regard to claim 17, Estino teaches the laser source generates the laser beam (410) in a direction perpendicular to the plane (FIG. 5).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estinto et al. (US 2015/0093554) in view of Nomaru (US 20080061042), and further in view of Borgeson et al. (US 6,559,411).
With regard to claim 2, Estinto teaches the claimed invention as detailed above and furthermore employs mirrors to perform a laser processing operation(s); however, the citation does not teach the limitation of the orientation means comprises at least a rotatable mirror or a mirrors using a galvanometer based motor. However, Borgeson from the same field of endeavor directed toward a method and apparatus for laser scribing glass sheet substrate coatings teaches the aforementioned limitation: “pulsed laser beam is reflected by mirrors 86 and 88 to an XYZ galvanometer controlled mirror system collectively indicated by 90 that directs the laser beam to perform the scribing. More specifically, the XYZ galvanometer controlled mirror system 90 includes a galvanometer controlled focuser 92 that moves a lens horizontally to control the focal length of the beam in the Z direction and a galvanometer controlled dual mirror assembly 94 that directs the beam in the XY directions so as to thereby collectively provide XYZ control.” (emphasis added) (col. 5, ln. 35-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Estinto reference, to include the orientation means comprises at least a rotatable mirror or a mirrors using a galvanometer based motor, as suggested and taught by Borgeson, for the purpose of providing enhanced movement to the mirrors of Estinto to provide precise movement(s) to a predetermined location (Borgeson: col. 5, ln. 35-44).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estinto et al. (US 2015/0093554) in view of Nomaru (US 20080061042), and further in view of Denny et al. (US 20040182839).
With regard to claim 6, Estino teaches the invention as claimed including a displacement device (545/540/550A/550B/560) configured to control a position of the decoating device in a direction normal to the plane P (“FIG. 5 shows the pulsed laser 410 moving along vertical rail 540, which in turn is moved along the horizontal rails 510 a and 510 b, other orientations are possible. For example, rails 510 a and 510 b may be attached to the window vertically, and rail 540 may be oriented horizontally. Also, rail 540 is shown in this figure to be approximately perpendicular to rails 510 a and 510 b.”, para. [0041]); however, the citation does not teach an optical system configured to detect on which interface the coating system is localized, and to estimate a distance between the decoating device and the detected interface. However, Denny from the same field of endeavor directed toward a containment plenum for laser irradiation and removal of material from a surface of a structure teaches the aforementioned limitation: “the sensor 250 is adapted to provide a measure of the distance between the laser head 200 and the surface of the structure ….” (emphasis added), para. [0095]; “the controller 500 is adapted to transmit control signals to the laser manipulation system 100 in response to signals from the sensor 250. The laser manipulation system 100 is adapted to adjust the relative distance between the laser head 200 and the interaction region in response to the control signals. In addition, the laser manipulation system 100 can be adapted to adjust the position of the laser head 200 along the surface of the structure in response to the control signals. In this way, the depth information from the sensor 250 at a first location can be used in real-time to move the laser light to another location along the surface once a desired depth at the first location is achieved.” (emphasis added), para. [0092].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Estinto reference, to include an optical system configured to detect on which interface the coating system is localized, and to estimate a distance between the decoating device and the detected interface, as suggested and taught by Denny, for the purpose of providing a laser operation at a predetermined location with precision and accuracy (Denny: para. [0092].
With regard to claim 7, Estinto teaches the displacement device (545/540/550A/550B/560) comprises a motor (545) and a displacement control unit (“programmable computer”), configured to control and displace the decoating device (570, 410, 440) in the direction normal to the plane P (“the motors 512 a, 512 b, and 545 may be controlled by a programmable computer (not shown). By programming this computer appropriately, the computer can be made to create and deliver control signals to these motors to control the motion of the pulsed laser 410 and lens array 440, and thereby control the path and pattern of ablation. For example, the apparatus 500 may be used to create any of the patterns illustrated in FIGS. 3A-3D. Alternatively, the motors may be controlled by hardwired logic instead of a computer executing software. Alternatively, the motors may be controlled by hand.”). Estino does not explicitly teach displacing the decoating device of a displacement distance equal to a difference between an estimated distance and a focus distance in order to focus the decoating device on the detected interface of the at least one coating system. Denny teaches the aforementioned limitation: “the sensor 250 is adapted to provide a measure of the distance between the laser head 200 and the surface of the structure ….” (emphasis added), para. [0095]; “the controller 500 is adapted to transmit control signals to the laser manipulation system 100 in response to signals from the sensor 250. The laser manipulation system 100 is adapted to adjust the relative distance between the laser head 200 and the interaction region in response to the control signals. In addition, the laser manipulation system 100 can be adapted to adjust the position of the laser head 200 along the surface of the structure in response to the control signals. In this way, the depth information from the sensor 250 at a first location can be used in real-time to move the laser light to another location along the surface once a desired depth at the first location is achieved.” (emphasis added), para. [0092].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Estinto reference, to include displacing the decoating device of a displacement distance equal to a difference between an estimated distance and a focus distance in order to focus the decoating device on the detected interface of the at least one coating system, as suggested and taught by Denny, for the purpose of providing a laser operation at a predetermined location with precision and accuracy (Denny: para. [0092].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and are addressed hereafter. The prior art rejections are newly presented in response to the newly presented claim limitations. Furthermore, with regard to the Applicant’s arguments over Estinto regarding the citation providing “no structural detail” regarding its teachings regarding an optically scanned laser with mirrors, it is respectfully submitted that this assertion is misplaced as the Applicant themselves explicitly indicates various structural limitations of Estinto (e.g., an optically scanned laser and mirrors). Furthermore, the primary prior art citation clearly teaches a fixed laser with mirrors as the citation states: “While the embodiments described above address ablation using a mechanically scanned laser, in alternative embodiments other methods may be used to remove or create the absence of a low-E coating to achieve the results exemplified in FIGS. 3A-3D and FIG. 1. An optically scanned laser may be used to produce the specified electrically isolated areas in the low-E coating. In such an embodiment, the laser beam may be directed at the necessary locations on the low-E coating by a system of one or more mirrors.”, para. [0046]. Accordingly, in contrast to a device which utilizes a motor to move the laser, the reference clearly teaches in the above citation a fixed laser that utilizes mirrors for scanning over a predetermined area which would necessarily utilize a longitudinal axis X and vertical axis Y inherently to perform the required low-E coating removal via the laser beams directed at the one or more mirrors. Notwithstanding the foregoing, it must be stressed that the secondary citation is cited as an alternative for the teachings related to a fixed laser with mirrors as detailed above.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761