Status of the Claims
Claims 1-30, 32-43, and 48 are pending.
Claims 6, 17, 24-26, 30, 32-43, and 48 are withdrawn (see election/restriction below).
Claim 48 is new.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/GB2021/051396, filed 06/04/2021; and further claims priority to foreign Patent Application numbers GB2103704.9 and GB2008526.2, filed on 03/17/2021 and 06/05/2020, respectively.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 11/16/2022, 10/03/2023, 12/16/2024, 5/21/2025, and 7/7/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 30 and 32-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected medicament/composition and method of use, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Applicant’s election of the compound below without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 17, 24-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as not reading on the elected species.
No anticipatory art was found of the elected specie, so the Examiner expanded her scope pursuant to MPEP 803. The expanded species are described in the 103 rejection. See 103 analysis below. No 103 rejection could be made over the elected specie and the elected specie would be considered allowable.
Claim 48 is withdrawn as not reading on the expanded specie, but would be considered allowable in independent form.
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 will be examined upon their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada, A. et al. (US20040048904A1; “Yamada”).
This rejection applies to the expanded specie, compound 10, see below.
Yamada teaches an overlapping structure with the expanded specie, 2-(4-Fluorophenylcarbamoyl)-1,2,3,4-tetrahydroisoquinoline (Page 5, Example 3; Structure seen below drawn by examiner for convenience).
Yamada fails to teach a structural example where instant R3 is CF3 and instant R2 is Cl. However, Yamada does teach in the genus structure that the aryl ring may be substituted with any amount of halogen group or alkyl group, since a singular substitution was not specified (Claim 1). Therefore, it would be obvious to extract the structure taught by Yamada and substitute different halogens on the -R3 phenyl ring as there is only a finite list of possible structures.
Yamada teaches the compounds for use in diseases but fails to teach the compounds as explicitly modulators of gpr65. However, the MPEP states that compounds with structural similarity are expected to have similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In rePayne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In rePapesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In reDillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.09(I).
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (E), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the structure taught by Yamada and substitute different halogens on the -R3 phenyl ring, since Yamada does not specify the amount of substitutions allowed and there is only a finite list of possible structures. Therefore, claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 13, 16-21, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 32-33, 37-39, 43-44, and 46 of copending Application No. 18/849,834.
Although the claims of the instant application are not exactly the same as the ‘834 application, the applications have overlapping genus structures. See the genus structure presented in the ‘834 application below:
The ‘834 application claims recite where ring A can be a 5-6 membered aromatic or heteroaromatic ring, Y and Z can be -CH, and Ring B can be a monocyclic heteroaromatic group substituted with at least one halogen. Claim 9 of the ‘834 application recites the same exact limitations as claim 7 of the instant application. Compounds of the ‘834 application would fall under the genus structure of the instant application and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 are rejected.
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621