Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-12, 24-27, 29 and 48 are pending.
Claims 7, 24-26, and 48 are withdrawn.
Claims 2, 3, 6, 13, 23, 28, 30, and 32-43 are cancelled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/GB2021/051396, filed 06/04/2021; and further claims priority to foreign Patent Application numbers GB2103704.9 and GB2008526.2, filed on 03/17/2021 and 06/05/2020, respectively.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 11/16/2022, 10/03/2023, 12/16/2024, 5/21/2025, and 7/7/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/19/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 4, 5, 8-12, 27, 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are found not persuasive.
The Applicant amended claim 1 to specify that variables R2 and R3 are selected from Cl, Br, and I. Applicant also amended claim 1 to specify that Ring A is the following:
With respect to the 103 rejections, the Applicant argues that the primary reference provided by the Examiner (“Yamada”) fails to teach compounds that are capable of modulating GPR65 and also fails to teach an example where R2 and R3 can be -Cl, Br, or I instead of -F. The Examiner argues that the instant claims do not require a limitation where the compound is used for GPR65, therefore this argument is moot and the rejection is based on solely the compound of the claim. With respect to instant embodiments -R2 and -R3, Yamada fails to teach a structural example with -Br, Cl, or I, however, Yamada does teach that the -R3 ring can have a “halogen substitution.” Therefore, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to substitute the -F on the structural example of Yamada with a different halogen. Therefore, the 103 rejection is maintained.
With respect to the double patenting rejection, the Applicant argues that the claims of the ‘834 application require ring B to be a heteroaromatic ring where a N is required in a certain position and in contrast the instant application requires a non-hetero aromatic ring in the same place. The Examiner argues that pyridine is a known isosteric replacement for phenyl/benzyl rings in drug discovery (Taylor, R. et al. J. Med. Chem. 2014, 57, 14, 5845–5859). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time to try both aromatic and heteroaromatic rings in the -B position of the ‘834 application. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
See maintained rejections below.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-12, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada, A. et al. (US20040048904A1; “Yamada”).
This rejection applies to the expanded specie, compound 10, see below.
Yamada teaches an overlapping structure with the expanded specie, 2-(4-Fluorophenylcarbamoyl)-1,2,3,4-tetrahydroisoquinoline (Page 5, Example 3; Structure seen below drawn by examiner for convenience).
Yamada fails to teach a structural example where instant R3 is CF3 and instant R2 is Cl. However, Yamada does teach in the genus structure that the aryl ring may be substituted with any amount of halogen group or alkyl group, since a singular substitution was not specified (Claim 1). Therefore, it would be obvious to extract the structure taught by Yamada and substitute different halogens on the -R3 phenyl ring as there is only a finite list of possible structures.
Yamada teaches the compounds for use in diseases but fails to teach the compounds as explicitly modulators of gpr65. However, the MPEP states that compounds with structural similarity are expected to have similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In rePayne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In rePapesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In reDillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.09(I).
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (E), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the structure taught by Yamada and substitute different halogens on the -R3 phenyl ring, since Yamada does not specify the amount of substitutions allowed and there is only a finite list of possible structures. Therefore, claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-23, and 27-29 would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-12, 27, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 13, 16-21, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 32-33, 37-39, 43-44, and 46 of copending Application No. 18/849,834.
Although the claims of the instant application are not exactly the same as the ‘834 application, the applications have overlapping genus structures. See the genus structure presented in the ‘834 application below:
The ‘834 application claims recite where ring A can be a 5-6 membered aromatic or heteroaromatic ring, Y and Z can be -CH, and Ring B can be a monocyclic heteroaromatic group substituted with at least one halogen. Claim 9 of the ‘834 application recites the same exact limitations as claim 7 of the instant application. Compounds of the ‘834 application would fall under the genus structure of the instant application and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-12, 27, 29 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621