DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 14-20 in the reply filed on 11/14/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction was improper reasons discussed in MPEP 800, specifically 803 and 806.03. This is not found persuasive because MPEP 800 is directed to US restriction practice while the instant invention is a 371 application and therefore restricted under Unity of Invention analysis per MPEP 823. While Applicant cites “the burden necessary according to MPEP 1893.03(d)” (see bottom of page 3 of the Remarks filed 11/14/25), the examiner notes that that section of the MPEP does not describe a burden and Applicant fails to specify the alleged burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dasgupta et al. (US 2002/0031706).
Regarding claim 14, Dasgupta teaches a battery cell comprising:
a positive electrode and a negative electrode (14, 18) and a separator (16) (Figure 2A, [0033]),
both the positive and negative electrodes comprising a porous solid-state electrolyte foam, or structure of ion conductive solid polymer filaments (2), comprising at least one lithium salt, or lithium compound containing electrolyte solution (8), and an electrode material, or electro-active particles (4), located in the pores (Figures 1 and 2B, [0028]).
The examiner finds that the foam, or filaments (2), of Dasgupta are porous structures and serve as host structures in which the electrode materials are incorporated, as is indicated in the instant specification to describe a foam (see [0056] of the published application).
As for claims 15-17, the electrolyte foam, or solid polymer filaments, of both electrodes comprise polyethylene oxide ([0038]).
Regarding claim 18, the lithium salt is LiPF6 ([0038]).
With regard to claim 20, Dasgupta teaches the cell as discussed above provided in a rechargeable lithium battery ([0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasgupta as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Less et al. (US 2009/0087728).
The teachings of Dasgupta as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Dasgupta teaches that the separator is a polymer film, e.g. two layers of polypropylene and two layers of polyethylene ([0038]), but fails to teach that the separator comprises polyethylene oxide.
Less teaches separators as laminated PP/PE films or polyethylene oxide ([0015]-[0016]).
It would have been obvious to substitute polyethylene oxide in the PP/PE separator of Dasgupta such as suggested by Less and the results of the substitution, i.e. providing a separator for use in a battery, would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 I B
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729