DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 12 November 2025, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 14 and 15 to overcome the previous rejections due to clarity issues. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim has been amended to expressly require the presence of diphenylmethane. This is not persuasive because the statement is that there is less than 0.5 mol% of diphenylmethane which includes 0 as there is no lower bound to the amount of diphenylmethane recited in the claim which would expressly require the presence of diphenylmethane. Accordingly, the art rejections of record have been maintained.
Additionally, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are added to address claim 14 with the new claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 14: It is unclear if dibenzyltoluene is intended to be required in the claim limitation. While it is recited the presence of benzyltoluene in an amount of at least 50% (also required in claim 10) reads on the instant claim limitaions and makes it appear that dibenzyltoluene is an optional component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeremie Walker (US 2016/0163412, hereinafter referred to as “Walker”).
As to Claims 10 and 16: Walker teaches a composition TM8 which comprises 40% 1,1-DPE/51% BT/9% DBT (Table 3, Table 4). Walker is silent to the amount of diphenyl methane and is not disclosed as containing any in the composition.
As to Claim 11: Walker teaches the composition of claim 10 (supra). Walker teaches that the mixture can be made from separately components [0018] which would be completely benzyltoluene.
As to Claims 12 and 13: Walker teaches the composition of claim 10 (supra). Walker further teaches that the composition can include diphenylethylene (Table 3, Table 4).
As to Claim 14: Walker teaches the composition of claim 10 (supra). Walker further teaches that the composition includes 60% of the BT and DBT(Table 3, Table 4).
As to Claim 15: Walker teaches the composition of claim 10 (supra). Walker further teaches that the composition includes 51% of the BT and 9% DBT which is 15% BT and 15% DBT (Table 3, Table 4).
Double Patenting
Claims 10-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10153068. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to compositions containing the same amount of benzyltoluene and other components such as dibenzyltoluene.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767