DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, “farther” should read “further”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stefanovic et al., Romanowsky-Giemsa as a counterstain for immunohistochemistry: optimizing a traditional reagent; Informa Healthcare, The Biological Stain Commission; Biotechnic & Histochemistry, 2-13, Vol. 88, No. 6, pp. 329-335, hereinafter Stefanovic.
Regarding claim 1, Stefanovic teaches a method for detecting a biomarker and morphology in a cell sample (abstract), the method comprising: contacting a cell sample with one or more biomarker-specific reagents that specifically binds to a biomarker in the cell sample (page 331, column 1, steps 1-7); depositing the biomarker-stained cell sample on a solid support (pages 330-331, columns 2-1, paragraphs 8-1); analyzing the biomarker-stained cell sample for one or more biomarker (page 332, column 1, paragraph 1); staining the biomarker-stained cell sample with a Romanowsky-type stain to obtain a Romanowsky-type stained cell sample (page 331, column 2, step 3); and analyzing the Romanowsky-type stained cell sample to determine morphology of at least one cell in the Romanowsky-type stained cell sample (page 332, column 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 2, Stefanovic teaches wherein the one or more biomarker-specific reagents comprises a fluorescent label, a brightfield label, a nanoparticle label, a dye, and combinations thereof. (page 331, column 1, step 7).
Regarding claim 3, Stefanovic teaches further comprising contacting the cell sample with one or more detection reagents that specifically binds the one or more biomarker-specific reagents (page 331, column 1, step 6).
Regarding claim 4, Stefanovic teaches wherein the one or more detection reagents comprises a fluorescent label, a brightfield label, a nanoparticle label, a dye, and combinations thereof (page 331, column 1, step 7).
Regarding claim 7, Stefanovic teaches wherein the biomarker is selected from an extracellular biomarker, an intracellular biomarker, and combinations thereof (page 331, column 1, steps 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, Stefanovic teaches wherein the solid support is selected from a microscope slide, a coverslip, a plate, a tray, a cup, a tube, a vial, and combinations thereof (pages 330-331, columns 2-1, paragraphs 8-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic in view of United States Application Publication No. 2014/0004561, hereinafter Lapen.
Regarding claim 6, Stefanovic teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Stefanovic fails to teach the sample is a body fluid sample.
Lapen teaches an automated system for preparing biological specimens which uses a blood sample or epithelial tissue for the sample (Lapen, paragraph [0003]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a body fluid sample (blood)) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., epithelial tissue) with other component(s) (i.e., a body fluid sample), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., samples for analysis), and the results of the substitution (i.e., analyzing the sample) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute the epithelial sample of reference Stefanovic with a body fluid sample of reference Lapen, since the result would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Stefanovic teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Stefanovic fails to teach the method is performed on an automated staining platform.
Lapen teaches an automated system for preparing biological specimens which provides a fast efficient and highly uniform specimen processing using minimal quantities of fluid (Lapen, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the method on an automated staining platform because it would provide a fast efficient and highly uniform specimen processing using minimal quantities of fluid (Lapen, abstract).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic in view of United States Application Publication No. 2020/0300750, hereinafter Eshell.
Regarding claim 9, Stefanovic teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Stefanovic fails to teach rein the cell sample is deposited on the solid support in a monolayer.
Eshell teaches a blood sample staining process in which the sample is prepared in a monolayer of cells which allow for examination of the majority of cells in any field of vision (Eshell, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deposited the cell sample on the solid support in a monolayer because it would allow for examination of the majority of cells in any field of vision (Eshell, paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0025281, hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 10, Stefanovic teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Stefanovic fails to teach the cell sample is deposited on the solid support by printing the cell sample on the solid support.
Lee teaches a device for detecting circulating tumor cells in which the sample is printed onto the solid support so that adjustment to the discharge speed or position can be made to provide the sample in a single layer (Lee, paragraph [0370]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have printed the cell sample on the solid support because it would allow for adjustments of the discharge speed or position to be made to provide the sample in a single layer (Lee, paragraph [0370]).
Claim(s) 23-26, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic in view of United States Application Publication No. 2008/0026366, hereinafter Harkins.
Regarding claim 23, Stefanovic teaches a method for detecting a biomarker and morphology in a cell sample (abstract), the method comprising: contacting a cell sample with one or more biomarker-specific reagents that specifically binds to a biomarker in the cell sample (page 331, column 1, steps 1-7); depositing the biomarker-stained cell sample on a solid support (pages 330-331, columns 2-1, paragraphs 8-1); analyzing the biomarker-stained cell sample for one or more biomarker (page 332, column 1, paragraph 1); staining the biomarker-stained cell sample with a Romanowsky-type stain to obtain a Romanowsky-type stained cell sample (page 331, column 2, step 3); and analyzing the Romanowsky-type stained cell sample to determine morphology of at least one cell in the Romanowsky-type stained cell sample (page 332, column 2, paragraph 1).
Stefanovic fails to teach contacting the biomarker-stained cell sample on the solid support with one or more additional biomarker-specific reagents that specifically-bonds to a biomarker in the cell sample.
Harkins teaches a method in which multiple primary antibodies are utilized to mark different target antigens on a single sample (Harkins, paragraph [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contacted the biomarker-stained cell sample on the solid support with one or more additional biomarker-specific reagents because it would allow for multiple different target antigens to be identified on a single sample (Harkins, paragraph [0101]).
Regarding claim 24, Stefanovic teaches wherein the one or more biomarker-specific reagents comprises a fluorescent label, a brightfield label, a nanoparticle label, a dye, and combinations thereof (page 331, column 1, step 7).
Regarding claim 25, Stefanovic teaches further comprising contacting the cell sample with one or more detection reagents that specifically binds the one or more biomarker-specific reagents (page 331, column 1, step 6).
Regarding claim 26, Stefanovic teaches wherein the one or more detection reagents comprises a fluorescent label, a brightfield label, a nanoparticle label, a dye, and combinations thereof (page 331, column 1, step 7).
Regarding claim 29, Stefanovic teaches wherein the biomarker is selected from an extracellular biomarker, an intracellular biomarker, and combinations thereof (page 331, column 1, steps 1-7).
Regarding claim 30, Stefanovic teaches wherein the solid support is selected from a microscope slide, a coverslip, a plate, a tray, a cup, a tube, a vial, and combinations thereof (pages 330-331, columns 2-1, paragraphs 8-1).
Claim(s) 28 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic and Harkins as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Lapen.
Regarding claim 28, Stefanovic and Harkins teach all limitations of claim 23; however, they fail to teach the sample is a body fluid sample.
Lapen teaches an automated system for preparing biological specimens which uses a blood sample or epithelial tissue for the sample (Lapen, paragraph [0003]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a body fluid sample (blood)) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., epithelial tissue) with other component(s) (i.e., a body fluid sample), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., samples for analysis), and the results of the substitution (i.e., analyzing the sample) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute the epithelial sample of reference Stefanovic with a body fluid sample of reference Lapen, since the result would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 33, Stefanovic and Harkins teach all limitations of claim 23; however, they fail to teach the method is performed on an automated staining platform.
Lapen teaches an automated system for preparing biological specimens which provides a fast efficient and highly uniform specimen processing using minimal quantities of fluid (Lapen, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the method on an automated staining platform because it would provide a fast efficient and highly uniform specimen processing using minimal quantities of fluid (Lapen, abstract).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic and Harkins as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Eshell.
Regarding claim 31, Stefanovic and Harkins teach all limitations of claim 23; however, they fail to teach rein the cell sample is deposited on the solid support in a monolayer.
Eshell teaches a blood sample staining process in which the sample is prepared in a monolayer of cells which allow for examination of the majority of cells in any field of vision (Eshell, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deposited the cell sample on the solid support in a monolayer because it would allow for examination of the majority of cells in any field of vision (Eshell, paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanovic and Harkins as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 32, Stefanovic and Harkins teach all limitations of claim 23; however, they fail to teach the cell sample is deposited on the solid support by printing the cell sample on the solid support.
Lee teaches a device for detecting circulating tumor cells in which the sample is printed onto the solid support so that adjustment to the discharge speed or position can be made to provide the sample in a single layer (Lee, paragraph [0370]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have printed the cell sample on the solid support because it would allow for adjustments of the discharge speed or position to be made to provide the sample in a single layer (Lee, paragraph [0370]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Petrovic, A. et al., Multicolor counterstaining for immunohistochemistry – a modified Movat’s pentachrome. Biotechnic & Histochemistry, 2010, 86(6), 429–435 which teaches analyzing in-between stainings of samples.
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796