DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the main connection arms intersecting with an angle (α) greater than 60° (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Please note that while it is understood that drawings are not to scale, only figure 2 depicts the angle α. In current figure 2, the platform is depicted as a perfect equilateral triangle, meaning each included angle is exactly 60°. See annotated current figure 2 below, in which every arrow is the same length.
Figure 1- Current Figure 2 (annotated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez Romero US 11,920,559 in view of Zou US 2018/0105235 and Huang US 6,447,208.
Regarding claim 1, Vazquez Romero teaches a floating platform 1 for supporting offshore structures intended to generate electric power, said platform comprising:
a load-bearing support base 11 made of concrete and defining a longitudinal axis, said base being provided with three vertices and an intermediate point located in proximity to its geometric center (note that while Vazquez Romero depicts four vertices, it teaches that there can be 3 vertices located about the intermediate point- column 8, lines 10-18);
a plurality of vertical bodies 2, 21 made of concrete and extending from said support base, at said vertices and at said intermediate point;
wherein a vertex (any corner) of said load-bearing support base is located in a longitudinally forward position with respect to the other two vertices;
wherein said load-bearing support base comprises one pair of main connection arms 3 directly connecting the vertex in the longitudinally forward position with the other two vertices to substantially define the shape of an arrow, in plan view, for said support base;
wherein said main connection arms are arranged along respective directions which intersect substantially at the vertex of said base located in the longitudinally forward position and are angularly spaced with an angle (α).
Figure 2- Vazquez Romero Figure 2
Vazquez Romero does not teach a first series of secondary connection arms, each one of which is suited to directly connect the intermediate point of said load-bearing support base to a corresponding main connection arm. Zou teaches a floating platform 50 for supporting offshore structures intended to generate electric power, said platform comprising:
a load-bearing support base 52 defining a longitudinal axis, said base being provided with three vertices and an intermediate point located in proximity to its geometric center;
a plurality of vertical bodies 58 extending from said support base, at said vertices and at said intermediate point;
wherein a vertex (any corner) of said load-bearing support base is located in a longitudinally forward position with respect to the other two vertices;
wherein said load-bearing support base comprises one pair of main connection arms 68 suited to directly connect the vertex in a longitudinally forward position with the other two vertices to substantially define the shape of an arrow, in plan view, for said support base; and
a first series of secondary connection arms 68, each one of which is suited to directly connect the intermediate point of said load-bearing support base to a corresponding main connection arm.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Secondary Connection Arms)][AltContent: textbox (Intermediate Point)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Main Connection Arms)][AltContent: textbox (Forward Vertex)]
Figure 3- Zou Figure 1
In this case, Zou teaches a floating platform in which the upper support truss comprises members 68 which connect each vertex to the neighboring vertex, each vertex to the intermediate point, and the intermediate point to each main connecting arm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the floating platform of Vazquez Romero with secondary connection arms suited to directly connect the intermediate point of said load-bearing support base to a corresponding main connection arm as taught by Zou in order to “provide the hull with increased strength” [0070].
Vazquez Romero does not teach that the angle (α) is greater than 60°; said angle (α) greater than 60° located to enable a reduction of lateral oscillations of the platform when the latter is installed in water and oriented with its axis parallel to a prevailing direction of the waves. Huang teaches a floating platform 100 for supporting offshore structures intended to generate electric power, said platform comprising:
a load-bearing support base 11 made of concrete and defining a longitudinal axis, said base being provided with three vertices and an intermediate point located in proximity to its geometric center (note that while Huang depicts four vertices, it teaches that there can be 3 vertices in a right triangle located about the intermediate point- column 5, lines 30-36);
a plurality of vertical bodies 102 made of concrete and extending from said support base, at said vertices;
wherein a vertex (any corner) of said load-bearing support base is located in a longitudinally forward position with respect to the other two vertices;
wherein said load-bearing support base comprises one pair of main connection arms 110 directly connecting the vertex in the longitudinally forward position with the other two vertices to substantially define the shape of an arrow, in plan view, for said support base;
wherein said main connection arms are arranged along respective directions which intersect substantially at the vertex of said base located in the longitudinally forward position and are angularly spaced with an angle (α) greater than 60°;
said angle (α) greater than 60° located to enable a reduction of lateral oscillations of the platform when the latter is installed in water and oriented with its axis parallel to a prevailing direction of the waves (a right triangle will have a vertex greater than 60°, column 5, lines 25-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the floating platform of Vazquez Romero with a non-symmetrical right triangular base as taught by Huang in order to make the structure “less sensitive to some types of regularly repeating Specification or periodic forces” (column 5, lines 25-36).
Regarding claim 2, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Zou also teaches that each secondary connection arm of said first series is suited to connect said intermediate point to the corresponding main connection arm substantially at the midpoint of the latter.
Regarding claim 4, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Huang also teaches that the base can be an isosceles triangle, meaning that the main connection arms have substantially the same length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the floating platform of Vazquez Romero with a non-symmetrical isosceles triangular base as taught by Huang in order to make the structure “less sensitive to some types of regularly repeating Specification or periodic forces” (column 5, lines 25-36). Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the triangular base of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, including with arms that match in length, in order to utilize standard parts and obtain the desired form factor and stability. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 5, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said support base 11 comprises a further main arm 3 suited to connect the vertices arranged in a longitudinally rearward position.
Regarding claim 6, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said load-bearing support base 11 comprises a second series of secondary connection arms 31, each of which is suited to connect said intermediate point 21 to a corresponding vertical body 2 located at said vertices.
Regarding claim 7, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 6. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said main connection arms 3 and/or the secondary connection arms 31 of said first series and of said second series respectively have a substantially square or rectangular cross section and an inner cavity, said cavity being defined by two pairs of longitudinal parallel walls (column 6, lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 10, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said vertical bodies 2 are hollow (abstract) and have a substantially cylindrical cross section in plan view. Vazquez Romero does not teach a polygonal cross section, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the vertical bodies polygonal or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to simplify manufacturing, reduce cost, react to the anticipated loads and/or achieve the desired aesthetic appearance. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 11, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said load-bearing support base 11 comprises a slab made of concrete and having a predetermined shape in plan view, said slab being suited to connect the three vertices and said intermediate point to one another.
Regarding claim 12, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Vazquez Romero also teaches that said load-bearing support base 11 has a substantially horizontal outer edge obtained on said slab or respectively extending from at least one portion of said main arms 3 and/or from at least one portion of said secondary arms 31 and/or from at least one portion of said vertical bodies (see Vazquez Romero figure 2).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez Romero US 11,920,559 in view of Zou US 2018/0105235, Huang US 6,447,208 and Dagher US 10,202,170.
Regarding claim 8, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 7. Vazquez Romero does not teach interior details of the connection arms. Dagher teaches a floating platform in which the connection arms 74 comprise a plurality of transverse walls 142 arranged inside said cavity 138 in a longitudinally offset position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the connection arms of Vazquez Romero and Zou with a series of transverse walls as taught by Dagher in order to enable selective and/or controllable ballasting of different regions of the base.
Regarding claim 9, Vazquez Romero, Zou, Huang and Dagher teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Dagher also teaches that each of said transverse walls 142 has a lower opening 144 suited to allow the passage of water for filling said cavity 138 and an upper opening 122 suited to allow the escape of the air present in the cavity while the latter is being filled with water. Note that opening 112 is capable allowing air to escape. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 4- Robinson Figure 1)]
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez Romero US 11,920,559 in view of Zou US 2018/0105235, Huang US 6,447,208 and Robinson US 2020/0010155.
Regarding claim 13, Vazquez Romero, Zou and Huang teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 11. Vazquez Romero does not teach that the platform comprises one or more devices suited to generate electric power through the conversion of marine energy. Robinson teaches a floating platform which comprises one or more devices 4, 16 suited to generate electric power through the conversion of marine energy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the platform of Vazquez Romero with a marine energy generation devices as taught by Robinson in order to generate more power and increase the overall output of the platform.
Regarding claim 14, Vazquez Romero, Zou, Huang and Robinson teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 13. Robinson also teaches that said one or more devices 4, 16 for the generation of electric power are arranged along said outer edge of said load-bearing support base 6, 13. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the devices around the outer edge in order to better balance the platform or free up the center space, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Numajiri US 9,822,767 teaches a floating platform with a base in the shape of a right triangle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615