DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 12-20, drawn to an intranasal spray formulation comprising a modified griffithsin polypeptide in the reply filed on 9/5/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of a griffithsin polypeptide wherein X1 is M, X2 is E, X3 is Q, X4 is S, X5 is A, X6 is I, and X7 is E; the compatible preservative is methylparaben; and the compatible viscosity modifier is hydroxyethyl cellulose (HEC) in the reply filed on 9/5/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Status
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1-11, 16, and 21 are withdrawn as non-elected inventions (claims 1-11 and 21) and species (claim 16).
Priority
The instant application is the 371 national stage entry of PCT/US21/33009, filed 5/18/2022, which claims priority to provisional applications 63/070,375, filed 8/26/2020, and 63/026,375, filed 5/18/2020. The priority date of 5/18/2020 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’s submitted on 8/30/2023 and 8/1/2024 are under consideration. Any strikethrough is owed to lack of a copy in the file wrapper.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 4 and 5 are illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because it does not contain a "Sequence Listing" as a separate part of the disclosure or a CRF of the “Sequence Listing.”.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
A "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure; together with
An amendment specifically directing its entry into the application in accordance with 37 CFR 1.825(a)(2);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.821(a)(4); and
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(a)(3).
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) a) or b) above, Applicant must also provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) c) or d) above, applicant must also provide:
A CRF in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) or 1.821(e)(2) as required by 1.825(a)(5); and
A statement according to item 2) a) or b) above.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specifically, see [0054] where a polypeptide sequence is disclosed without a SEQ ID NO.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
SEQ ID NO should appear in either the Brief Description of the Drawings or the Drawings themselves.
Specific deficiency - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Griffithsin polypeptides, compositions, and methods for prevention of coronavirus infection.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 is objected to because of the following informality: The claim lists an amino acid sequence with 4 or more specifically defined and enumerated residues and therefore requires a SEQ ID NO. However, no SEQ ID NO is listed in the claim. See MPEP 2422 and 37 C.F.R. 1.821. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitations “compatible preservative” or “compatible viscosity modifier”. It is unclear whether “compatible” refers to a preservative or viscosity modifier that is compatible with the griffithsin polypeptide or compatible with the subject receiving the intranasal spray formulation. As there are no definitions in the instant specification, the scope of claim 12 is indefinite. Moreover, by virtue of their dependency on claim 12, claims 15 and 17-20 are hereby also rejected for this same reasoning.
For purposes of examination, a “compatible” preservative or viscosity modifier will be interpreted as being compatible with the griffithsin polypeptide.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation “about 7.5mg/mL”, and the claim also recites “about 0.1mg/mL” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 17 and 18 are further rejected here as they do not define X7 (final line of claim 17), thus rendering the scope of both claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Keefe et al. (WO 2016/130628 A1, published 8/18/2016) and Kulkarni et al. (Formulation and characterization of nasal sprays, as appeared in Inhalation, June 2012).
O’Keefe teaches griffithsin polypeptides and methods of inhibiting viral infection (Abstract). As part of the method for prophylactically or therapeutically inhibiting a viral infection, particularly a coronavirus (e.g. SARS or MERS), O’Keefe teaches topically administering to the host an effective amount of a griffithsin polypeptide or composition thereof to the host, preferably as an aerosol or microparticulate powder ([0051]).
O’Keefe does not teach that the griffithsin polypeptide is formulated as an intranasal spray including a compatible preservative and a compatible viscosity modifier.
Kulkarni teaches nasal spray formulation parameters and their influence on key in vitro tests (Abstract). Kulkarni teaches that the nasal cavity of an average adult has substantial surface area and is highly vascularized with microvilli epithelial cells, conferring quick bioavailability and fast onset of drug action (Pg 1, left column). Critical parameters affecting nasal spray formulation performance and bioavailability include physical properties of formulations, pH and buffer, osmolality, viscosity, excipient selection, and improving the resistance time in the nasal cavity, all of which can impact nasal spray plumes (entire document). In particular, viscosity impacts residence time of the spray in the nasal cavity (Pg 2, “Viscosity”), and preservatives are important for maintaining non-sterile products (Pg 2, “Excipient selection”). Thus, it is important to choose the appropriate excipients and maintain their optimum levels in a given formulation (Pg 5, Conclusion).
Thus, regarding claim 12, O’Keefe teaches griffithsin polypeptides and compositions useful for preventing and/or treating coronavirus infections that can be administered to subjects via aerosols and microparticulate powder. Kulkarni teaches that administration of drugs to the nasal cavity has biological advantages and parameters such as viscosity and preservative selection are important to consider. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to formulate a nasal spray comprising a griffithsin polypeptide so that it can be more easily and rapidly administered to treat respiratory infections (coronaviruses). One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as it was known that griffithsin polypeptide could be formulated as aerosols and/or microparticulate powder, as taught by O’Keefe, and other drugs could be formulated and administered intranasally to treat other respiratory diseases, such as the common cold, as taught by Kulkarni.
Regarding claim 13, Kulkarni teaches methylparaben as a preservative (Table 2).
Regarding claim 14, Kulkarni teaches hydroxymethylcellulose (HEC) is a muco-adhesive and gelling agent (“Improving residence time in the nasal cavity”, Pg 2).
Regarding claim 15, O’Keefe teaches solutions of griffithsin polypeptide mutants with concentrations >6mg/ml ([0076 and Table 3]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, O’Keefe teaches the same griffithsin polypeptide formula ([0005]). O’Keefe teaches SEQ ID NO: 18, which is the same as the elected species wherein X1 is M, X2 is E, X3 is Q, X4 is S, X5 is A, X6 is I, and X7 is E (Sequence Listing).
Regarding claim 19, Kulkarni teaches hydrochloric acid as a pH adjusting agent (Table 2).
Regarding claim 20, Kulkarni teaches that intranasal spray doses are administered via nasal spray devices (“Characterization of nasal sprays”, left column of Pg 4).
Double Patenting
Claims 12-14 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10, 11, and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. US10,501,507 (‘507) in view of Kulkarni et al. (Formulation and characterization of nasal sprays, as appeared in Inhalation, June 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain overlapping subject matter.
Claim 1 of US ‘507 recites a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SLTHRKFGGSGGSPFSGLSSIAVRSGSYLDAIIIDGVHHGGSGGNLSPTFTFGSGEYISN X1TIRSGDYIDNISFX2TNX3GRRFGPYGGSGGSANTLSNVKVIQINGX4X5GDYLDSLD X6YYX7QY (SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein X1 can be M or V, X2 is Q, X3 can be M, A, K, V, F, L, I, Q, R, or G, X4 can be S or R, X5 can be A or S, X6 can be I or F, and X7 can be E or Q provided that the polypeptide does not comprise the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. SEQ ID NO: 1 reads on the sequence recited in claims 17 and 18.
Dependent claims include additional variants of the polypeptide (claims 2, 14, 15, and 16), a composition thereof (claim 10), and methods of prophylactically or therapeutically treating a viral infection (claims 11, 13).
US ‘507 does not teach that the polypeptide or composition thereof is formulated as a nasal spray.
Kulkarni teaches nasal spray formulation parameters and their influence on key in vitro tests. In particular, viscosity impacts residence time of the spray in the nasal cavity, and preservatives are important to maintain non-sterile products. Therefore, it is important to choose the appropriate excipients and maintain their optimum levels in a given formulation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kulkarni into US ‘507, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kulkarni teaches means to formulate effective nasal sprays. Thus, the claims are obvious in view of US ‘507.
Claims 12-14 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11,339,195 (‘195) in view of Kulkarni et al. (Formulation and characterization of nasal sprays, as appeared in Inhalation, June 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain overlapping subject matter.
Claim 1 of US ‘195 recites a polypeptide consisting of the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 18. SEQ ID NO: 18 is identical to the elected species, recited in instant claims 17 and 18.
US ‘195 does not teach that the polypeptide is formulated as a nasal spray.
Kulkarni teaches nasal spray formulation parameters and their influence on key in vitro tests. In particular, viscosity impacts residence time of the spray in the nasal cavity, and preservatives are important to maintain non-sterile products. Therefore, it is important to choose the appropriate excipients and maintain their optimum levels in a given formulation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kulkarni into US ‘195, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kulkarni teaches means to formulate effective nasal sprays. Thus, the claims are obvious in view of US ‘195.
Claims 12-14 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. US12,384,820 (‘820) in view of Kulkarni et al. (Formulation and characterization of nasal sprays, as appeared in Inhalation, June 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain overlapping subject matter.
Claim 1 of US ‘820 recites a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of
SLTHRKFGGSGGSPFSGLSSIAVRSGSYLDAIIIDGVHHGGSGGNLSPTFTFGSGE YISNX1TIRSGDYIDNISFX2TNX3GRRFGPYGGSGGSANTLSNVKVIQINGX4X5GDYLDSLD X6YYX7QY (SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein X1 can be M or V, X2 can be E or Q, X3 can be M, A, K, V, F, L, I, Q, R, or G, X4 can be S or R, X5 can be A or S, X6 can be I or F, and X7 can be E or Q;
provided that the polypeptide does not comprise the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2; and provided that the polypeptide does not include any amino acid preceding the initial serine (S) recited as the first amino acid in SEQ ID NO: 1; and wherein X3 is Q. SEQ ID NO: 1 reads on the sequence recited in claims 17 and 18.
Dependent claims include additional variants of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claims 2 and 7-12).
US ‘820 does not teach that the polypeptide is formulated as a nasal spray.
Kulkarni teaches nasal spray formulation parameters and their influence on key in vitro tests. In particular, viscosity impacts residence time of the spray in the nasal cavity, and preservatives are important to maintain non-sterile products. Therefore, it is important to choose the appropriate excipients and maintain their optimum levels in a given formulation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kulkarni into US ‘820, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kulkarni teaches means to formulate effective nasal sprays. Thus, the claims are obvious in view of US ‘820.
Claims 12-14 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/030,174 (‘174; claim set filed 4/4/2023) in view of O’Keefe et al. (WO 2016/130628 A1, published 8/18/2016) and Kulkarni et al. (Formulation and characterization of nasal sprays, as appeared in Inhalation, June 2012).
In Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010), the Court determined that Claims of a later patent were held invalid for obviousness-type double patenting when the earlier patent claimed a compound and disclosed its utility in specification, and later patent claimed a method of using compound for use described in specification of earlier patent.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. ‘174 recites a method of treating or preventing a Rhabdoviridae virus infection in a mammal comprising administering griffithsin, or a fragment or mutant thereof, to the mammal.
Dependent claims include the griffithsin polypeptide sequence and variants thereof (claim 3) that read on the polypeptides recited in instant claims 17 and 18.
Copending Application No. ‘174 does not teach that the polypeptide is formulated as a nasal spray.
O’Keefe teaches griffithsin polypeptides and methods of inhibiting viral infection. Kulkarni teaches nasal spray formulation parameters and their influence on key in vitro tests. In particular, viscosity impacts residence time of the spray in the nasal cavity, and preservatives are important to maintain non-sterile products. Therefore, it is important to choose the appropriate excipients and maintain their optimum levels in a given formulation.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of O’Keefe and Kulkarni into copending Application No. ‘174, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as O’Keefe teaches that griffithsin polypeptides can be used to prevent and treat a multitude of viral infections and Kulkarni teaches means to formulate effective nasal sprays. Thus, the claims are obvious in view of copending Application No. ‘174.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/SARA E KONOPELSKI SNAVELY/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/FRED H REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658