Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 19, and 34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsino et al. US 20250081268 A1 (August 28, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Orsino discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving configuration information (fig. 5, the configuration of the UE with timer-values, section 0085) indicating a timer (see, UE-specific timers related the MCG/PCell fast recovery that may need to be configured on the UE-side by the network, section 0148) associated with fast master cell group (MCG) (see, the presence (or absence) or these timers indicates whether the MCG/PCell fast recovery procedure is supported or not, section 0148) link recovery (fig. 8, a master cell group fast recovery procedure as a response to radio link failure, section 0159); transmitting an MCG failure information message (see, UE may include in a MCG Failure Information message, section 0093) in response to detecting a radio link failure on an MCG (see, UE may include in a MCG Failure Information message, section 0093); starting the timer (fig. 5, the indications of detected problems such as out-of-sync indication causes a timer to start, section 085) associated with fast MCG link recovery(see, information from the timer such as Information Element RLF-TimersAndConstants indicates whether the UE needs (or not) to use the MCG fast recovery, section 0138); and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication, performing the sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
Orsino discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication, performing the sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
However Agiwal from a similar field of endeavor discloses: and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication (see, NG-RAN can also control whether an SL LCH can utilize the resources allocated to a configured SL grant Type 1, section 0050 Agiwal; noted, NG-RAN can allocate SL resources to UE with two types of configured SL grants, section 0067 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal), performing the sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, with type 1, RRC directly provides the configured SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0068 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal) when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, UE starts a timer and activates the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal; noted, UE receives from the PCell, RRC reconfiguration message that configures scheduled resource allocation in the PCell and includes CG Type 1 SL grant configuration in the PCell for new radio (NR) SL communication, section 0112 Agiwal; noted, master cell group (MCG) comprises of the PCell and optionally one or more SCells, section 0011 Agiwal) and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the UE of Orsino with the configured SL grant as taught by Agiwal. The motivation would have been to improve communication method and system may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology.
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, timer related to fast MCG recovery that can detect failure of the fast MCG recovery procedure when stopped, not stopped, or expires, sections 0254-0260 Kim; noted uplink grant configured to the UE semi-persistently by RRC, section 0129 Kim) and based on the radio link failure on the MCG (see, fast MCG recovery according to the radio link failure (RLF), sections 0246-0248 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the timer and radio link failure related to the fast MCG recovery as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve failure recovery in wireless communications.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Orsino a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (fig. 17, the UE 1700 can include a wireless terminal, a wireless communication device, and a wireless communication terminal, section 0209), comprising: at least one memory (fig. 17, UE 1700 further includes a memory circuit 1720 that can also be referred to as memory, section 0209); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (fig. 17, UE 1700 further includes at least one processor circuit 1710 that can also be referred to as processor and a memory circuit 1720 that can also be referred to as memory, section 0209) and configured to cause the UE (fig. 17, the memory 1720 stores computer readable program code that when executed by the at least one processor 1710 causes the at least one processor 1710 to perform operations, section 0209) to: receive configuration information (fig. 5, the configuration of the UE with timer-values, section 0085) indicating a timer (see, UE-specific timers related the MCG/PCell fast recovery that may need to be configured on the UE-side by the network, section 0148) associated with fast master cell group (MCG) (see, the presence (or absence) or these timers indicates whether the MCG/PCell fast recovery procedure is supported or not, section 0148) link recovery (fig. 8, a master cell group fast recovery procedure as a response to radio link failure, section 0159); transmit an MCG failure information message (see, UE may include in a MCG Failure Information message, section 0093) in response to detecting a radio link failure on an MCG (see, UE may include in a MCG Failure Information message, section 0093); start the timer (fig. 5, the indications of detected problems such as out-of-sync indication causes a timer to start, section 085) associated with fast MCG link recovery (see, information from the timer such as Information Element RLF-TimersAndConstants indicates whether the UE needs (or not) to use the MCG fast recovery, section 0138); and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication, performing sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
Orsino discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication, performing the sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
However Agiwal from a similar field of endeavor discloses: and when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured for sidelink communication (see, NG-RAN can also control whether an SL LCH can utilize the resources allocated to a configured SL grant Type 1, section 0050 Agiwal; noted, NG-RAN can allocate SL resources to UE with two types of configured SL grants, section 0067 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal), performing the sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, with type 1, RRC directly provides the configured SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0068 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal) when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, UE starts a timer and activates the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal; noted, UE receives from the PCell, RRC reconfiguration message that configures scheduled resource allocation in the PCell and includes CG Type 1 SL grant configuration in the PCell for new radio (NR) SL communication, section 0112 Agiwal; noted, master cell group (MCG) comprises of the PCell and optionally one or more SCells, section 0011 Agiwal) and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the UE of Orsino with the configured SL grant as taught by Agiwal. The motivation would have been to improve communication method and system may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology.
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running and based on the radio link failure on the MCG.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, timer related to fast MCG recovery that can detect failure of the fast MCG recovery procedure when stopped, not stopped, or expires, sections 0254-0260 Kim; noted uplink grant configured to the UE semi-persistently by RRC, section 0129 Kim) and based on the radio link failure on the MCG (see, fast MCG recovery according to the radio link failure (RLF), sections 0246-0248 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the timer and radio link failure related to the fast MCG recovery as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve failure recovery in wireless communications.
Claims 2, 22-23, 28, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsino et al. US 20250081268 A1 (August 28, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020), and in further view of Tseng et al. US 20210022055 A1 (Domestic Priority July 16, 2019).
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, further comprising: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured, performing sidelink communication using the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with fast MCG link recovery is running.
However Tseng from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured (see, a sidelink resource configuration for a UE may be a configured sidelink grant, section 0043 Tseng), releasing the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant in response to the starting of the timer (see, the releasing of the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration when the timer starts when the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration becomes invalid, section 0069 table 2 Tseng) associated with fast MCG link recovery (see, RRC procedure regarding beam failure recovery alongside sidelink synchronization reference sources, section 0074 table 4 Tseng; noted, a timer such as T310 can be configured with a master cell group such as in T310_mcg, section 0044 table 1 Tseng).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the configured grants as taught by Tseng. The motivation would have been to improve the 5G system.
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured, release the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant in response to the start of the timer associated with fast MCG link recovery.
However Tseng from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured (see, a sidelink resource configuration for a UE may be a configured sidelink grant, section 0043 Tseng), release the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, the releasing of the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration when the timer starts when the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration becomes invalid, section 0069 table 2 Tseng) in response to the start of the timer associated with fast MCG link recovery (see, RRC procedure regarding beam failure recovery alongside sidelink synchronization reference sources, section 0074 table 4 Tseng; noted, a timer such as T310 can be configured with a master cell group such as in T310_mcg, section 0044 table 1 Tseng).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the configured grants as taught by Tseng. The motivation would have been to improve the 5G system.
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured, release the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant when the timer associated with fast MCG link recovery is running.
However Tseng from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: when a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant is configured (see, a sidelink resource configuration for a UE may be a configured sidelink grant, section 0043 Tseng), release the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, the releasing of the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration when the timer starts when the stored Exceptional Resource Pool configuration becomes invalid, section 0069 table 2 Tseng) when the timer associated with fast MCG link recovery is running (see, RRC procedure regarding beam failure recovery alongside sidelink synchronization reference sources, section 0074 table 4 Tseng; noted, a timer such as T310 can be configured with a master cell group such as in T310_mcg, section 0044 table 1 Tseng).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the configured grants as taught by Tseng. The motivation would have been to improve the 5G system.
The combination of Orsino and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 28 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a sidelink UE information message when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running.
However Tseng from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a sidelink UE information message (see, if the UE is configured, by the current RRC Connection serving cell (e.g., PCell) with “scheduled”, which means the PCell may Re-establishment configure sidelink resource to the UE, section 0044 table 1 Tseng) when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, RRC procedure regarding beam failure recovery alongside sidelink synchronization reference sources, section 0074 table 4 Tseng; noted, a timer such as T310 can be configured with a master cell group such as in T310_mcg, section 0044 table 1 Tseng; noted, the PCell is within the MCG, section 9944 table 1 Tseng).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino and Agiwal with the configured grants as taught by Tseng. The motivation would have been to improve the 5G system.
Regarding claim 33 (Previously Presented), Orsino discloses the UE of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 17, processor circuit or processor of UE, section 0209) is further configured (fig. 18, processor circuit and memory circuit configured to communicate with other network nodes, sections 0210) to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see, UE receiving RRCReconfiguration message, section 0138); and maintain the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery (see, timer has configured a value associated to whether the master cell group fast recovery procedure is supported, section 0175) when the RRC reconfiguration message only comprises a configuration for sidelink communication (see, RRC Rconfiguration between nodes, section 0093), or the RRC reconfiguration message does not comprise reconfiguration with synchronization (see, the lack of synchronization of RRCReconfiguration, sections 0137-0147), or the RRC reconfiguration message includes an indication of maintaining the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery (see, timer has configured a value associated to whether the master cell group fast recovery procedure is supported, section 0175).
Claims 15-17 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. US 20210022055 A1 (Domestic Priority July 16, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Tseng discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see, user equipment (UE) in cellular wireless communication network for sidelink operation, section 0006), the method comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see, serving cell transmits RRC CONNECTION RECONFIGURATION message along with information element (IE), section 0044 table 1 Tseng) comprising a conditional RRC reconfiguration (see, UE starts to perform a handover procedure or a conditional handover procedure, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), an execution condition for a conditional handover (CHO) (see, the UE executing when the condition is met, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), and a sidelink configuration (see, UE may apply a timing condition in sidelink packet transmission, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant, the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication; performing a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met (see, UE may apply the Exceptional Resource Pools configuration when performing a conditional handover procedure and radio link failure occurs, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration (see, UE may apply a sidelink resource configuration that is stored in the UE after performing handover to the second cell based on the conditional handover command, section 0103 Tseng) and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, the method and apparatus for the sidelink operation may be also applied to the sidelink resource configuration (e.g., for BS scheduling sidelink grant), section 0043 Tseng; noted, UE may have sidelink configured grant, section 0091 Tseng) based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmitting a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure (see, the UE transmitting the RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration complete message after a condition is met with RRC connection re-establishment, section 0073 table 4 Tseng).
Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant, the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication; performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
However Agiwal from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant (see, NG-RAN can also control whether an SL LCH can utilize the resources allocated to a configured SL grant Type 1, section 0050 Agiwal; noted, NG-RAN can allocate SL resources to UE with two types of configured SL grants, section 0067 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal), the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication (see, with type 1, RRC directly provides the configured SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0068 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal); performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the UE of Orsino with the configured SL grant as taught by Agiwal. The motivation would have been to improve communication method and system may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology.
The combination of Tseng and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, uplink grant configured to the UE semi-persistently by RRC, section 0129 Kim; noted, UE may secondly perform the CHO based failure handing according to the RRC re-establishment procedure upon/after a failure of the fast MCG recovery, section 0246 Kim) based on the execution condition for the CHO being met (see, during the RRC connection re-establishment procedure that is initiated after the fast MCG recovery fails, if the network configured the UE to try CHO at the selected CHO candidate cell (i.e., if the network configured the UE with attempt CHO and/or conditional mobility attempt configuration), the UE may perform a cell selection and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate, then the UE may attempt CHO execution, section 0245 Kim); and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure (see, If the RRC re-establishment procedure results in success, during the RRC re-establishment procedure, the UE may: transmit a RRC re-establishment request message; receive RRC re-establishment message; and transmit RRC re-establishment complete message, section 0235 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Agiwal with the CHO related to the fast MCG recovery as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve failure recovery in wireless communications.
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Tseng discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the conditional RRC reconfiguration includes the sidelink configuration (see, RRC connected to UE that is busy with sidelink resource pools, section 0044 table 1 #5 condition Tseng), and the method further comprises: storing the sidelink configuration (see, UE may store the sidelink resource configuration along with the first system information area ID, sections 0107-0109 Tseng) in response to reception of the conditional RRC reconfiguration (see, the UE initiating a sidelink service in response to an action such as a RRC message, section 0100 Tseng).
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented), Tseng discloses the method of claim 15, wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises: applying the conditional RRC reconfiguration (fig. 3, BS may provide the mapping sidelink transmission resource pools in broadcasting signaling (e.g., system information) in RRC signaling (e.g., for the sidelink configuration in neighbouring frequency(-ies), section 0069 Tseng), section 0069); and applying the sidelink configuration (see, Exceptional Resource Pool(s) during the handover procedure that can be applicable to the normal sidelink resource pool configuration, sections 0053-0054 Tseng).
Regarding claim 34 (Currently Amended), Tseng discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see, user equipment (UE) in cellular wireless communication network for sidelink operation, section 0006 Tseng), comprising: at least one memory (see, UE is provided that includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, section 0007 Tseng); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see, UE is provided that includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, section 0007 Tseng) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see, serving cell transmits RRC CONNECTION RECONFIGURATION message along with information element (IE), section 0044 table 1 Tseng) comprising a conditional RRC reconfiguration (see, UE starts to perform a handover procedure or a conditional handover procedure, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), an execution condition for a conditional handover (CHO) (see, the UE executing when the condition is met, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), and a sidelink configuration (see, UE may apply a timing condition in sidelink packet transmission, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant, the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication; perform a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met (see, UE may apply the Exceptional Resource Pools configuration when performing a conditional handover procedure and radio link failure occurs, section 0044 table 1 Tseng), wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration (see, UE may apply a sidelink resource configuration that is stored in the UE after performing handover to the second cell based on the conditional handover command, section 0103 Tseng) and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, the method and apparatus for the sidelink operation may be also applied to the sidelink resource configuration (e.g., for BS scheduling sidelink grant), section 0043 Tseng; noted, UE may have sidelink configured grant, section 0091 Tseng) based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure (see, the UE transmitting the RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration complete message after a condition is met with RRC connection re-establishment, section 0073 table 4 Tseng).
Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant, the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication; perform a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met, wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
However Agiwal from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the sidelink configuration indicates a sidelink resource of a first type of configured grant (see, NG-RAN can also control whether an SL LCH can utilize the resources allocated to a configured SL grant Type 1, section 0050 Agiwal; noted, NG-RAN can allocate SL resources to UE with two types of configured SL grants, section 0067 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal), the sidelink resource configured for sidelink communication (see, with type 1, RRC directly provides the configured SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0068 Agiwal; noted, UE starts using the CG Type 1 SL grant for NR SL communication, section 0113 Agiwal); perform a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met, wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the UE of Orsino with the configured SL grant as taught by Agiwal. The motivation would have been to improve communication method and system may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology.
The combination of Tseng and Agiwal discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: perform a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met, wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant based on the execution condition for the CHO being met; and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: perform a CHO procedure when the execution condition for the CHO is met, wherein performing the CHO procedure comprises applying the sidelink configuration and activating the sidelink resource of the first type of configured grant (see, uplink grant configured to the UE semi-persistently by RRC, section 0129 Kim; noted, UE may secondly perform the CHO based failure handing according to the RRC re-establishment procedure upon/after a failure of the fast MCG recovery, section 0246 Kim) based on the execution condition for the CHO being met (see, during the RRC connection re-establishment procedure that is initiated after the fast MCG recovery fails, if the network configured the UE to try CHO at the selected CHO candidate cell (i.e., if the network configured the UE with attempt CHO and/or conditional mobility attempt configuration), the UE may perform a cell selection and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate, then the UE may attempt CHO execution, section 0245 Kim); and transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to a completion of the CHO procedure (see, If the RRC re-establishment procedure results in success, during the RRC re-establishment procedure, the UE may: transmit a RRC re-establishment request message; receive RRC re-establishment message; and transmit RRC re-establishment complete message, section 0235 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Tseng with the CHO related to the fast MCG recovery as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve failure recovery in wireless communications.
Regarding claim 35 (Previously Presented), Tseng discloses the UE of claim 34, wherein the conditional RRC reconfiguration includes the sidelink configuration (see, RRC connected to UE that is busy with sidelink resource pools, section 0044 table 1 #5 condition Tseng), and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: store the sidelink configuration (see, UE may store the sidelink resource configuration along with the first system information area ID, sections 0107-0109 Tseng) in response to reception of the conditional RRC reconfiguration (see, the UE initiating a sidelink service in response to an action such as a RRC message, section 0100 Tseng).
Regarding claim 36 (New), Tseng discloses the UE of claim 34, wherein, to perform the CHO procedure, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: apply the conditional RRC reconfiguration (see, RRCReconfiguration associated with conditions initiated by UE, sections 0044-0045 TABLE 1 Tseng); and apply the sidelink configuration (see, RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including dedicated sidelink configuration initiated by UE, sections 0044-0045 TABLE 1 Tseng).
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsino et al. US 20250081268 A1 (August 28, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020), and in further view of Hong et al. US 20190342148 A1 (Foreign Priority May 12, 2016).
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 25 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 19, wherein the transmitting circuitry and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit UE assistance information when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 19, wherein the transmitting circuitry and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit UE assistance information (see, UE transmitting an RRC message that is also referred to as a UE assistance message or a type of failure information message, section 0140 Hong) when the timer associated with the fast MCG link recovery is running (see, the UE starts a timer for detecting addition failure of new radio after receiving a RRC connection reconfiguration message including NR addition information, sections 0167-0171 Hong; noted, an RRC message can include UE assistance, section 0140 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim with the timer and assistant information as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 25, wherein the UE assistance information is encapsulated in a radio resource control (RRC) message and is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB3) when the SRB3 is configured at the UE.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 25, wherein the UE assistance information is encapsulated in a radio resource control (RRC) message (see, UE transmitting an RRC message that is also referred to as a UE assistance message or a type of failure information message, section 0140 Hong) and is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB3) when the SRB3 is configured at the UE (see, the transmission of a RRC message from a master base station SRB, section 0143 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim with the radio bearers as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 25, wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB 1) when split SRB 1 is configured at the UE.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 25, wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB 1) (see, the transmission of a configured SRB1 between the UE and BS, section 0123 Hong; noted, UE transmitting an RRC message that is also referred to as a UE assistance message, section 0140 Hong; noted, the transmission of a RRC message from a master base station SRB, section 0143 Hong) when split SRB 1 is configured at the UE (see, the LTE-splitSRB1 being configured through a RRC reconfiguration message configuring LTE-NR dual connectivity for the LTE BS and the NR BS, section 0197 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, and Kim with the radio bearers as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsino et al. US 20250081268 A1 (August 28, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020), and in further view of Tseng et al. US 20210022055 A1 (Domestic Priority July 16, 2019), and in further view of Han et al. US 20200413310 A1 (Domestic Priority September 16, 2019).
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 29 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is for new radio sidelink communication or the sidelink UE information message is for E-UTRA sidelink communication.
However Han from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is for new radio sidelink communication (see, gNB-CU may be operated by a server that is located in the RAN, section 0073 Han; noted, RAN nodes that provide E-UTRA user plane and control plane protocol terminations toward the UEs, section 0073 Han) or the sidelink UE information message is for E-UTRA sidelink communication (UE may be configured to connect to an RAN that may be an E-UTRAN, section 0069 Han; noted, E-UTRA functions include sidelink communication/discovery, section 0067 Han).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng with the E-UTRA sidelink communication as taught by Han. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsino et al. US 20250081268 A1 (August 28, 2019) in view of Agiwal et al. US 20210195613 A1 (Domestic Priority December 23, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230262540 A1 (Domestic Priority February 27, 2020), and in further view of Tseng et al. US 20210022055 A1 (Domestic Priority July 16, 2019), and in further view of Hong et al. US 20190342148 A1 (Foreign Priority May 12, 2016).
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is encapsulated in a radio resource control (RRC) message and is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB3) when the SRB3 is configured at the UE.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is encapsulated in a radio resource control (RRC) message (see, UE transmitting an RRC message that is also referred to as a UE assistance message or a type of failure information message, section 0140 Hong) and is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB3) when the SRB3 is configured at the UE (see, the transmission of a RRC message from a master base station SRB, section 0143 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng with the radio bearers as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 31 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 30, wherein the RRC message is an uplink information transfer message for multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC).
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 30, wherein the RRC message is an uplink information transfer message for multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) (see, SRB establishment between the NR BS and the UE may be configured through an RRC reconfiguration message configuring LTE-NR dual connectivity, section 0123 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng with the dual connectivity as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
The combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) when split SRB1 is configured at the UE.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 28, wherein the sidelink UE information message is transmitted on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) (see, the transmission of a configured SRB1 between the UE and BS, section 0123 Hong; noted, UE transmitting an RRC message that is also referred to as a UE assistance message, section 0140 Hong; noted, the transmission of a RRC message from a master base station SRB, section 0143 Hong) when split SRB1 is configured at the UE (see, the LTE-splitSRB1 being configured through a RRC reconfiguration message configuring LTE-NR dual connectivity for the LTE BS and the NR BS, section 0197 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Orsino, Agiwal, Kim, and Tseng with the radio bearers as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to control connectivity thought an apparatus.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473