DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a laser processing head configured to emit laser light toward a target object to be processed” in claim 2.
“a light path configured to transmit laser light” in claim 6.
“a sheath member covering an outer side of the light path” in claim 6
“a laser processing head” (claim 2) is interpreted as “The laser processing head 3 accommodates, in a closed space S4 in an interior of a housing 30, an optical system configured to allow laser light to be transmitted. Specifically, the closed space S4 accommodates a light condensing optical system 31 including a plurality of lenses and a protective glass 32 that protects the light condensing optical system 31. The light-outgoing connector 42 coupled to the first optical transmission cable 4 is coupled to an upper end of the housing 30. A nozzle 33 configured to emit laser light is provided at a lower end of the housing 30. The closed space S4 is a space sealed between the light-outgoing connector 42 and the protective glass 32.” [0037] of instant publication application and fig.3, 3.
“a light path” (claim 6) is interpreted as “4 First optical transmission cable (light path)” [0074] of instant publication application.
“a sheath member” (claim 6) is interpreted as “The sheath member 10 is made of a metal material or a resin material and is formed into a tubular shape” [0065] of instant publication application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0041] For the permeable material 51 as described above, it is possible to use an organic material or an inorganic material. For the organic material, for example, it is possible to use a functional resin material constituting a membrane material such as hollow fiber membranes and flat membranes or a seal material made of a resin. For the inorganic material, for example, it is possible to use a sintered body made of ceramic or metal having many minute vacancies or a thin metal film having many minute vacancies.
[0051] A gap between the light-outgoing connector 42 of the first optical transmission cable 4 coupled to the laser processing head 3 and the housing 30 is sealed with a gasket 34 that is a seal material made of a resin. A gap between the protective glass 32 and the housing 30 is sealed with a gasket 35 that is a seal material made of a resin.
It is not understood what material is considered as “a functional resin material” and “a resin”. Does that mean natural resin or synthetic resin such as thermoplastic resins, chemical resins or something else.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7-8 and 10 recite “the permeable material includes a seal material made of a resin”, “the permeable material includes a functional resin material”, “the permeable material includes a functional resin material” and “the permeable material includes a seal material made of an organic material”. However, the written description does not clearly disclose what type of material is considered as resin. For example: [0041] of instant publication application states the permeable material 51 as described above, it is possible to use an organic material or an inorganic material. For the organic material, for example, it is possible to use a functional resin material constituting a membrane material such as hollow fiber membranes and flat membranes or a seal material made of a resin. [0051] A gap between the light-outgoing connector 42 of the first optical transmission cable 4 coupled to the laser processing head 3 and the housing 30 is sealed with a gasket 34 that is a seal material made of a resin. A gap between the protective glass 32 and the housing 30 is sealed with a gasket 35 that is a seal material made of a resin. However, it is not understood what material is considered as a functional resin material, a resin and/or an organic material. Does that mean natural resin or synthetic resin such as thermoplastic resins, chemical resins or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Ogata (JP 2016015435).
Regarding claim 1, Ogata discloses “a laser device” (figs.1-4) comprising:
“a closed space” (1 forms a closed space) accommodating “an optical system” (4, FB3, PW1 and 2 includes 2a) “configured to transmit laser light” (abstract, i.e., fiber laser modules (2) which respectively have cases (2a) and output laser beams); and
“a dew point adjustment flow path (formed by A1+23A+A2) having, at least at one part, a flow path wall section including a permeable material (23A is permeable wall) that is permeable to gas molecules including water vapor and impermeable to dust and oil mist” (as described in para.0041 of instant application, the permeable material can be a hollow fiber membrane. In this case, on page 4, 23a includes a hollow fiber membrane made of polyimide resin or a hollow fiber membrane made of porous fluorine resin which disclosed the same structure so that it is capable of performing the functional language. Fig.4, 20 shows a dew point adjustment flow path A1, 23a and A2), “the permeable material” (23a) separating “an interior (space in 23A) of the dew point adjustment flow path and “the closed space” (1) from each other.
Regarding claim 4, Ogata discloses “the dew point adjustment flow path comprises a first dew point adjustment chamber” (the flow path of 23 includes a chamber 23) provided adjacent to “the closed space” (1).
Regarding claim 8, Ogata discloses “the permeable material includes a functional resin material” (on page 4, i.e., a hollow fiber membrane made of polyimide resin or a hollow fiber membrane made of porous fluorine resin).
Regarding claim10, Ogata discloses “the permeable material includes a seal material made of an organic material” (on page 4, i.e., a hollow fiber membrane made of polyimide resin which is considered as an organic material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (JP 2016015435) in view of Weichselbaum (US 3,976,529).
Regarding claim 9, Ogata discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the permeable material includes a sintered body made of an inorganic material.
Weichselbaum teaches “the permeable material includes a sintered body made of an inorganic material” (abstract, porous, sintered powdered metal filter 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ogata with Weichselbaum, by replacing the Ogata’s permeable material with Weichselbaum’s permeable material, to provide a sturdy filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761