DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-2, 4-9, 15-16, and 33) in the reply filed on 4 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the office has not shown that a serious burden would be required to examine all pending claims. Applicant claims that a lack of unity of invention was not raised in the examination of the PCT application upon which this application is based and thus, all compound and methods claims were searched together. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is a lack of unity of species due to the presence of compounds which read on the compounds of Group I, as explained in the restriction requirement. Thus, there is no unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant further elects a species of the compound of Claim 1 wherein A1 through A6 are each C, R1 and R2 combine to form unsubstituted heterocycloalkyl, R3 is substituted heteroaryl, R4 is hydrogen, R5 is hydrogen, R6 is substituted aryl, and X and Y are N. This species reads on Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33. This election is not fully responsive as Applicant has not fully and specifically defined each variable. However, this election was sufficient to begin a search. A search was performed for a species wherein variables A1 through A6 are each C, R1 and R2 combine to form a 3, 4, 5, and 6-membered heterocycloalkyl (substituted or unsubstituted), variable R3 as heteroaryl, R4 and R5 as hydrogen, R6 as substituted aryl, and X and Y as N. No art was retrieved. The search was expanded for all options for variables R3 through R6, with prior art retrieved. The search was then stopped (See STN Search, Search Notes).
Claims 5-9, 15, 18-27, and 29-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4 December 2025.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33, submitted on 4 December 2025, represent all claims currently under consideration.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/034128, filed 26 May 2021, which claims priority to provisional US 63/030,085, filed 26 May 2020. The effective filing date is 26 May 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
One Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), submitted 24 April 2023, is acknowledged and has been considered.
Specification
The Title is objected to because it contains the word “NOVEL”. All patentable inventions are necessarily novel, so such words should not be included in the title (See MPEP § 606). The word “NOVEL” has been deleted from the title. No further action is required on Applicant’s part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luk (WO 00/35920; Publication Date: 22 June 2000).
Luk discloses novel 4,5-azolo-oxindoles which inhibit cyclin-dependent kinases (Abstract). The present invention is directed to pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound of the invention (Page 14, Lines 5-8). Anticipatory compounds include Example 16 (Page 32)
, Example 19 (Page 33)
, and Example 20 (Page 34)
. These compounds have variables A1-A6 each as C, variable R1 and R2 coming together to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl, variables R3, R4, and R5 each as hydrogen, and variable R6 as substituted aryl, with substituents including OH and substituted alkyl, meeting the limitations of Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schiller (US 2022/0213089; Publication Date: 7 July 2022; Priority to 15 March 2019).
Schiller discloses inhibitors of the CBP/p300 of bromodomains (Abstract). Schiller discloses several anticipatory compounds, including
(Figure 1, Sheet 56),
(Figure 1, Sheet 57),
(Figure 1, Sheet 77),
(Figure 1, Sheet 77),
(Figure 1, Sheet 78),
(Figure 1, Sheet 82),
(Figure 1, Sheet 83), and
(Figure 1, Sheet 85). These compounds have variables A1-A6 each as C, variable R1 and R2 coming together to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl, variables R3 and R4 as hydrogen, variable R5 as substituted alkyl, and variable R6 as aryl substituted with substituted alkyl, alkoxy, and/or halogen. Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of the invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Paragraph 0024).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (WO 2018/002848; Publication Date: 4 January 2018).
Chen discloses compounds having drug and bio-affecting properties, their pharmaceutical compositions, and methods of use (Abstract). The compounds of the invention and set forth are generally given as pharmaceutical compositions. These compositions are comprised of a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of the invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Page 26, Lines 30-33). Compound 100 (Page 232)
has variables A1-A6 each as C, variable R1 and R2 coming together to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl, variables R3 and R4 as hydrogen, variable R5 as hydrogen, and variable R6 as aryl substituted with substituted alkyl. Compounds A298 (Page 173)
and A303 (Page 174)
have variables R2 and R3 coming together to form an unsubstituted or substituted heterocycloalkyl.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simoneau (WO 2005/042530; Publication Date: 12 May 2005) .
Simoneau discloses compounds useful in the manufacture of a medicament for the treatment or prevention of respiratory syncytial virus infection (Abstract). The present invention relates to compounds and pharmaceutical compositions comprising such compounds (Page 1, Lines 6-7). Anticipatory compounds include compound 1132 (Page 26)
, compound 1059 (Page 29)
, and Compound 2007 (Page 35)
. Table 1 (Page 37) lists several anticipatory compounds wherein the aryl ring in the analogous variable R6 is substituted with groups such as chlorine, trifluoromethyl, nitro, methyl, and cyano, and the analogous variable R4 position is substituted with groups such as halogen, ethyl, amine, alkylene, OH, and substituted amine. Table 2 lists more anticipatory compounds, with similar substituents. Each of these compounds have variables A1-A6 each as C, variable R1 and R2 coming together to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl, variable R3 as hydrogen, variable R4 as hydrogen or other groups such as halogen, amine, alkylene, or alkyl, variable R5 as H, and variable R6 as substituted aryl.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshmukh (Dyes and Pigments, 113, 2015, 189-199).
Deshmukh discloses several anticipatory compounds. Compounds 8’a, 8’b, and 8’c
(Scheme 1, Page 191) have variable R’ as N(Et)2, H, and OH, respectively. These compounds meet the limitations of the compounds of Claims 1, 2, and 33. Each of these compounds have variables A1-A6 each as C, variable R1 and R2 coming together to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl, variable R3 as hydrogen, variable R4 as hydrogen, variable R5 as H, and variable R6 as substituted aryl.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, and 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 10 of copending Application No. 19/140,283 (Amended Claims of 22 July 2025) (‘283).
Claim 1 of ‘283 is directed to a compound of structure 1A or 1B
wherein X and Y are selected from C or N;
. Claim 3 of ‘283 is directed to the compound of Claim 1 represented by formula IIA
or IIB
. Claim 5 of ‘283 claims the compound of claim 3 wherein R1 and R2 connect to form a five-membered, six-membered, seven-membered, or eight-membered ring; and/or R4 and R5 are connected to form a five-membered, six-membered, seven-membered, or eight-membered ring; and/or R4 and R6 five-membered, six-membered, seven-membered, or eight-membered ring. Claim 10 is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, adjuvant, or excipient.
The claims are not identical but are not patentably distinct because the compounds of Claim 5 read on the species of the examined application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16 and 33 are rejected.
/P.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625