DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final on 05/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 14-16, and 18-26 are pending in this application. Claims 5, 11-13, and 17 have been cancelled by applicant. Claims 1-3 and 23-26 are under examination herein. Claims 4, 6-10, 14-16, and 18-22 are withdrawn from consideration, there being no allowable linking claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 24 are allowed.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2009/0318425 A1) (“Chang”).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Chang discloses their compounds of Formula (I) below (abstract and [0167]), which can be used for the treatment of cancers and cancer pain (see Chang’s claim 68) – reading on the intended use of the instant compounds. Chang specifically discloses their preferred embodiment 10 below, for example, which reads on the instant compounds of Formula (I) when instant ring B is a substituted C6 aryl (phenyl) and ring A is
or
(page 45, col. 1).
(I)
While Chang doesn’t disclose specific compounds wherein the ring corresponding to instant ring A is
or
, Chang teaches particular variations to their ring A (corresponding to instant ring A) can be
or
(see [0202] and Chang’s claim 22). Thus, Chang discloses a relatively small genus which overlaps with the claimed subgenus of Formula I.
Therefore, regarding claims 3 and 25, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by Chang’s disclosed formula; In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2144.08. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of ASK1 inhibitor compounds disclosed by Chang et al. for the treatment of cancers and cancer pain. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Furthermore, Applicant is advised, a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. In re Norris, 179 F.2d. 970, 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results. In re Finely, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949); 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 3 and 25-26, Chang discloses their compound 6 below wherein the ring corresponding to instant ring B is
(page 43, col. 2) and when instant ring A is
. While Chang’s compound 6 doesn’t have a methylated pyrazole (as required by the instant claims); Chang teaches their ring A (corresponding to instant ring A) can be
(Chang’s claim 37).
Therefore, regarding claims 3 and 25-26, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by Chang’s disclosed formula and preferred embodiments. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of ASK1 inhibitor compounds disclosed by Chang et al. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Furthermore, Applicant is advised that H vs. Me is considered an obvious modification in the absence of superior, unexpected results. Note In re Bowers 149 USPQ 570. Note also In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425 in which differences were 2H’s vs 2 methyl groups. Also see MPEP 2144.09.
Response to Arguments
Claims
Claim amendments are acknowledged and have been entered. No new matter has been introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of claim amendments, 35 USC § 103 rejections over Swinnen et al. have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections has been raised herein, necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627