DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 11/26/2025. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending for evaluation.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, 11, 15, and 21 have been amended. Thus, Claims 1-19 and 21 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 16-17, filed 11/26/2025, presented with respect to Claim(s) 4, 8-10, 14, and 18-20 are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to Claims 4, 8-10, 14, and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keskitalo et al. (US 2020/0145952, previously presented), Keskitalo hereinafter, in view of Ko et al. (US 2023/0276389), Ko hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Keskitalo teaches an Integrated Access and Backhaul ("IAB") node, comprising (Fig. 1C; Paras. [0094, 0095, 0212]):
at least one memory (Fig. 1C, element 155; Paras. [0094-0095]);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the IAB node to (Fig. 1C, elements 152 and 155; Paras. [0094-0095]):
obtain a first uplink transmission time, a downlink transmission time, and a second uplink transmission time (Fig. 5, steps 505, 510, 530, 540; Fig. 7B, steps 702, 704, 714, 716; Paras. [0133-0134] - [0133] By contrast, FIG. 7B illustrates signaling and corresponding timing in accordance with an exemplary embodiment herein. A parent IAB node 230 and an IAB node 240 are shown. As described above, the parent node 230 could be the IAB donor node 190 and the IAB node 240 could be the IAB node 170-1. However, the parent node 230 could be the IAB node 170-1, and the IAB node 240 could be the IAB node 170-2. In this example, the parent IAB node 230 transmits (at reference 702) the parent BH DL signal to the IAB node 240, and the IAB node 240 receives this at reference 706. In the meantime, the IAB node 240 transmits (at reference 704) the parent BH UL signal to the IAB node 230, which receives (at reference 708) the signal. TA(n) is calculated using the difference in time between the times at which references 704 and 708 occurred. The timing difference ΔT.sub.p(n) is calculated using the difference in time between the times at which references 708 and 702 occurred. [0134] Another cycle is also shown. The parent IAB node 230 transmits (at reference 716) the parent BH DL signal to the IAB node 240, and the IAB node 240 receives this at reference 718. In the meantime, the IAB node 240 transmits (at reference 714) the parent BH UL signal to the IAB node 230, which receives (at reference 720) the signal. TA(n+1) is calculated using TA(n+1)=(TA(n)+ΔT.sub.p (n))/2. The timing difference ΔT.sub.p(n+1) is calculated using the difference in time between the times at which references 716 and 720 occurred. The end of this process may be such that ΔT.sub.p (n+1)=TA(n+1); See also Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0102-0112]; Fig. 3, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 4, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 5, Para. [0119-0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0131]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0132-0137]; Para. [0138-0206]);
and select, based on the timing alignment mode, one of the first uplink transmission time, the downlink transmission time, or the second uplink transmission time for transmitting an uplink signal, wherein the timing alignment mode is associated with a transmission-timing (Fig. 5, step 520; Para. [0123] - where ΔT.sub.p(0) is the preamble RX timing relative to the BH DL TX timing. Note also that it makes no difference whether ΔT.sub.p (0) or TA(0) is received. The procedure can be specified either way. In block 515, the child node sets the TA(1) based on received ΔT.sub.p(0) (e.g., or the received TA(0)). The child node uses TA(1) for the first BH UL transmission (and subsequent transmissions) on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), see block 520. Up to this point the procedure is similar to UE initial access; See also Para. [0126]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0102-0112]; Fig. 3, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 4, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 5, Para. [0119-0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0131]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0132-0137]; Para. [0138-0206]).
Yet, Keskitalo does not expressly teach determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node
However, Ko teaches
determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node (Fig. 17, S1701; Para. [0298] – Referring to FIG. 17, a parent node may transmit timing information related to UL Rx timing reference to the IAB node based on Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 (S1701). The IAB node may align a DU Rx timing, an MT Rx timing, and/or an MT Tx timing of the IAB node according to Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 based on the timing information related to the UL Rx timing reference (S1703). Before transmitting the receiving a signal and/or a channel, the IAB node may transmit the timing information related to the UL Rx timing reference to the child node according to Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 for synchronization with the child node (S1705). In this case, the child node may acquire a DU Rx timing, an MT Rx timing, and/or an MT Tx timing of the child node based on the same operation as the IAB node of S1703; See also Para. [0299-0300]; PAra. [0222-0239]; Fig. 16, Para. [0294-0296]; FIg. 5, Para. [0123-0130]; Fig. 15, PAra. [0258-0292]; Fig. 18, Para. [0301-0307]; Para. [0308-0350] );
Examiner’s Note: Ko teaches “determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode” (e.g., aligning DU Rx timing, MT RX timing, and/or MT Tx timing based on uplink reception timing information; Embodiments #1, #2, and #4; Figs. 16-17). Each disclosed timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmission of the IAB node (e.g. – different UL/DL timing references applied before transmitting or receiving signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keskitalo’s invention of methods for timing advance control for integrated access and backhaul (Keskitalo Para. [0001]) with Ko’s invention of “a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node and an apparatus therefor, and more particularly to a method of aligning transmit/receive timings of Mobile-Termination (MT) and Distributed Unit (DU) of an IAB node and transmitting and receiving a signal based on the aligned timings and an apparatus for the method” (Ko Para. [0002]) because Ko’s invention provides an IAB node that acquires timing information, determines uplink reception timing references based on downlink reception timing and timing advance values, and aligns uplink and downlink transmissions of the MT and DU for transmitting and receiving signals (Ko Para. [0005-0024]).
Regarding Claim 11, Keskitalo teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: (Fig. 1C, elements 150-1 and 150-2; Para. [0095]):
at least one controller coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (Fig. 1C, elements 150-1 and 150-2; Para. [0095]):
obtain, for an integrated access backhaul ("IAB") node, a first uplink transmission time, a downlink transmission time, and a second uplink transmission time (Fig. 5, steps 505, 510, 530, 540; Fig. 7B, steps 702, 704, 714, 716; Paras. [0133-0134]; SEE ALSO FIG. 2A-B, PARA. [0102-0112]; FIG. 3, PARA. [0113-0117]; FIG. 4, PARA. [0118-0119]; FIG. 5, PARA. [0119-0129]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0130-0131]; FIG. 7A-B, PARA. [0132-0137]; PARA. [0138-0206]);
and select, based on the timing alignment mode, one of the first uplink transmission time, the downlink transmission time, or the second uplink transmission time for transmitting an uplink signal, wherein the timing alignment mode is associated with a transmission-timing (Fig. 5, step 520; Para. [0123] - where ΔT.sub.p(0) is the preamble RX timing relative to the BH DL TX timing. Note also that it makes no difference whether ΔT.sub.p (0) or TA(0) is received. The procedure can be specified either way. In block 515, the child node sets the TA(1) based on received ΔT.sub.p(0) (e.g., or the received TA(0)). The child node uses TA(1) for the first BH UL transmission (and subsequent transmissions) on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), see block 520. Up to this point the procedure is similar to UE initial access; See also Para. [0126]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0102-0112]; Fig. 3, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 4, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 5, Para. [0119-0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0131]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0132-0137]; Para. [0138-0206]).
Yet, Keskitalo does not expressly teach determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node
However, Ko teaches
determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node (Fig. 17, S1701; Para. [0298]; See also Para. [0299-0300]; PAra. [0222-0239]; Fig. 16, Para. [0294-0296]; FIg. 5, Para. [0123-0130]; Fig. 15, PAra. [0258-0292]; Fig. 18, Para. [0301-0307]; Para. [0308-0350] );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keskitalo’s invention of methods for timing advance control for integrated access and backhaul (Keskitalo Para. [0001]) with Ko’s invention of “a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node and an apparatus therefor, and more particularly to a method of aligning transmit/receive timings of Mobile-Termination (MT) and Distributed Unit (DU) of an IAB node and transmitting and receiving a signal based on the aligned timings and an apparatus for the method” (Ko Para. [0002]) because Ko’s invention provides an IAB node that acquires timing information, determines uplink reception timing references based on downlink reception timing and timing advance values, and aligns uplink and downlink transmissions of the MT and DU for transmitting and receiving signals (Ko Para. [0005-0024]).
Regarding Claim 21, Keskitalo teaches a method performed by an Integrated Access and Backhaul ("IAB") node, the method comprising: (Fig. 1C, elements 150-1 and 150-2; Para. [0095]):
obtaining a first uplink transmission time, a downlink transmission time, and a second uplink transmission time (Fig. 5, steps 505, 510, 530, 540; Fig. 7B, steps 702, 704, 714, 716; Paras. [0133-0134]; SEE ALSO FIG. 2A-B, PARA. [0102-0112]; FIG. 3, PARA. [0113-0117]; FIG. 4, PARA. [0118-0119]; FIG. 5, PARA. [0119-0129]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0130-0131]; FIG. 7A-B, PARA. [0132-0137]; PARA. [0138-0206]);
and selecting, based on the timing alignment mode, one of the first uplink transmission time, the downlink transmission time, or the second uplink transmission time for transmitting an uplink signal, wherein the timing alignment mode is associated with a transmission-timing.(Fig. 5, step 520; Para. [0123]; See also Para. [0126]; FIG. 2A-B, PARA. [0102-0112]; FIG. 3, PARA. [0113-0117]; FIG. 4, PARA. [0118-0119]; FIG. 5, PARA. [0119-0129]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0130-0131]; FIG. 7A-B, PARA. [0132-0137]; PARA. [0138-0206).
Yet, Keskitalo does not expressly teach determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node
However, Ko teaches
determining a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node (Fig. 17, S1701; Para. [0298] – Referring to FIG. 17, a parent node may transmit timing information related to UL Rx timing reference to the IAB node based on Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 (S1701). The IAB node may align a DU Rx timing, an MT Rx timing, and/or an MT Tx timing of the IAB node according to Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 based on the timing information related to the UL Rx timing reference (S1703). Before transmitting the receiving a signal and/or a channel, the IAB node may transmit the timing information related to the UL Rx timing reference to the child node according to Embodiment #1, Embodiment #2, and/or Embodiment #4 for synchronization with the child node (S1705). In this case, the child node may acquire a DU Rx timing, an MT Rx timing, and/or an MT Tx timing of the child node based on the same operation as the IAB node of S1703; See also Para. [0299-0300]; Para. [0222-0239]; Fig. 16, Para. [0294-0296]; FIg. 5, Para. [0123-0130]; Fig. 15, PAra. [0258-0292]; Fig. 18, Para. [0301-0307]; Para. [0308-0350] );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keskitalo’s invention of methods for timing advance control for integrated access and backhaul (Keskitalo Para. [0001]) with Ko’s invention of “a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node and an apparatus therefor, and more particularly to a method of aligning transmit/receive timings of Mobile-Termination (MT) and Distributed Unit (DU) of an IAB node and transmitting and receiving a signal based on the aligned timings and an apparatus for the method” (Ko Para. [0002]) because Ko’s invention provides an IAB node that acquires timing information, determines uplink reception timing references based on downlink reception timing and timing advance values, and aligns uplink and downlink transmissions of the MT and DU for transmitting and receiving signals (Ko Para. [0005-0024]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claim 1 and Claim 11.
Keskitalo also teaches
in response to the timing alignment mode for the IAB node comprising a transmission timing alignment mode, transmit the uplink signal according to the downlink transmission time (Fig. 5, steps 510, 515, and 520; Paras. [0121-0123] - [0121] In block 510, the parent IAB node determines ΔT.sub.p(0) using the preamble RX timing relative to the BH DL TX timing and sends an indication of the same to the child IAB node. It is noted that the IAB node may receive (and the parent IAB node may send) an indication from parent IAB node indicating which timing procedure to use. This is illustrated by block 513. For example, the IAB node may receive an indication that the timing procedure where Tx timing of UL parent BH and DL child BH/Access is aligned with each other, e.g., as illustrated above in FIG. 3. This indication may be received, e.g., via higher layer signaling. The timing procedure may be connected to the multiplexing approach used. For example, current timing (Case #6) may be used in the case of FDM/SDM multiplexing between parent BH and child BH/Access. [0122] In the preamble response the child node receives the following: TA(1)=ΔT.sub.p(0)/2, [0123] where ΔT.sub.p(0) is the preamble RX timing relative to the BH DL TX timing. Note also that it makes no difference whether ΔT.sub.p (0) or TA(0) is received. The procedure can be specified either way. In block 515, the child node sets the TA(1) based on received ΔT.sub.p(0) (e.g., or the received TA(0)). The child node uses TA(1) for the first BH UL transmission (and subsequent transmissions) on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), see block 520. Up to this point the procedure is similar to UE initial access; See also Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0102-0112]; Fig. 3, Para. [0113-0117]; Fig. 4, Para. [0118-0119]; Fig. 5, Para. [0119-0129]; Fig. 6, Para. [0130-0131]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0132-0137]; Para. [0138-0206]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Keskitalo also teaches
in response to the timing alignment mode for the IAB node comprising a reception timing mode, transmit/[[ting]] the uplink signal according to the second uplink transmission time (Fig. 5, steps 515 and 540; Para. [0129] - In block 540, the child IAB node applies UL and DL (Tx) timing according to the new TA value (TA(n+1)) for the parent BH UL, the child BH DL link, and/or access DL (child) link By definition, TA is the advancement of BH UL TX timing relative to the BH DL signal reception timing. Especially with Case 6, TA is also advancement of DL TX timings relative to the BH DL signal reception timing, as that way all the TX timings of a node are aligned. That is, in one exemplary embodiment, the BH UL (sent towards parent) signal TX timing is advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing. The child BH DL link and/or access DL (child) link may be similarly advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Keskitalo also teaches
determine/ing that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode (comprises at least one of)/( by at least one of): receiving a first indication indicating that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode; receiving a second indication associated with the uplink signal, wherein the second indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance; receiving a third indication associated with a first plurality of resources, wherein the third indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode, the uplink signal scheduled on a second plurality of resources, and the second plurality of resources overlaps with the first plurality of resources; determining that a fourth indication indicating a transmission timing alignment mode or reception timing alignment mode is not received; or determining that an additional timing advance value is not received (Para. [0124] - An alternative is that the access procedure is up to this point exactly the same as with UEs. This would be the situation if preamble transmission would not reveal, e.g. by RACH resource selection, that the access attempt is made by an IAB node instead of an UE. Then signaling on uplink shared channel would be used for indicating that the accessing device is an IAB node. This would mean that the IAB node would initially operate like a UE and when the node would be switched to operate as an IAB node, the TA setting should take into account the timing offset applied by UEs: TA(m)=(TA(m−1)−T.sub.offset)/2, where TA(m) is the timing advance that the node uses for setting TX timing for IAB operation, TA(m−1) is the timing advance when still operating like a UE, and T.sub.offset is a standardized or broadcasted value that corresponds to UE TA when the propagation delay TP=0. Here it is assumed that for positive T.sub.offset the preamble transmission is advanced relative to the RX timing of parents DL signal).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Keskitalo also teaches
determine/ing that the timing alignment mode is the transmission timing alignment mode (comprises at least one of)/( by at least one of): receiving a first indication indicating that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode; receiving a second indication associated with the uplink signal, wherein the second indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance; receiving a third indication associated with a first plurality of resources, wherein the third indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode, the uplink signal scheduled on a second plurality of resources, and the second plurality of resources overlaps with the first plurality of resources; determining that a fourth indication indicating a transmission timing alignment mode or reception timing alignment mode is not received; [[and]] or determining that an additional timing advance value is not received (Para. [0121] - In block 510, the parent IAB node determines ΔT.sub.p(0) using the preamble RX timing relative to the BH DL TX timing and sends an indication of the same to the child IAB node. It is noted that the IAB node may receive (and the parent IAB node may send) an indication from parent IAB node indicating which timing procedure to use. This is illustrated by block 513. For example, the IAB node may receive an indication that the timing procedure where Tx timing of UL parent BH and DL child BH/Access is aligned with each other, e.g., as illustrated above in FIG. 3. This indication may be received, e.g., via higher layer signaling. The timing procedure may be connected to the multiplexing approach used. For example, current timing (Case #6) may be used in the case of FDM/SDM multiplexing between parent BH and child BH/Access).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Keskitalo also teaches
determine/ing that the timing alignment mode is the reception timing alignment mode (comprises at least one of)/( by at least one of): receiving a first indication indicating that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode; receiving a second indication associated with the uplink signal, wherein the second indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance; receiving a third indication associated with a first plurality of resources, wherein the third indication indicates that the timing alignment mode is the timing advance mode, the uplink signal scheduled on a second plurality of resources, and the second plurality of resources overlaps with the first plurality of resources; determining that a fourth indication indicating a transmission timing alignment mode or reception timing alignment mode is not received; [[and]] or determining that an additional timing advance value is not received (Para. [0129] - In block 540, the child IAB node applies UL and DL (Tx) timing according to the new TA value (TA(n+1)) for the parent BH UL, the child BH DL link, and/or access DL (child) link By definition, TA is the advancement of BH UL TX timing relative to the BH DL signal reception timing. Especially with Case 6, TA is also advancement of DL TX timings relative to the BH DL signal reception timing, as that way all the TX timings of a node are aligned. That is, in one exemplary embodiment, the BH UL (sent towards parent) signal TX timing is advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing. The child BH DL link and/or access DL (child) link may be similarly advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keskitalo in view of Ko, and in further view Abedini et al. (US 2021/0084606), Abedini hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Keskitalo teaches an Integrated Access and Backhaul ("IAB") node, comprising (Fig. 1C; Paras. [0094, 0095, 0212]):
at least one memory (Fig. 1C, element 155; Paras. [0094-0095]);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the IAB node to (Fig. 1C, elements 152 and 155; Paras. [0094-0095]):
obtain a downlink reception time (Fig. 5, steps 505, 510, 530, 540; Fig. 7B, steps 702, 704, 714, 716; Paras. [0133-0134]; SEE ALSO FIG. 2A-B, PARA. [0102-0112]; FIG. 3, PARA. [0113-0117]; FIG. 4, PARA. [0118-0119]; FIG. 5, PARA. [0119-0129]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0130-0131]; FIG. 7A-B, PARA. [0132-0137]; PARA. [0138-0206]);
Yet, Keskitalo does not expressly teach determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node
However, Ko teaches
determine a timing alignment mode for the IAB node from a plurality of different timing alignment modes comprising one or more of a timing advance mode, a transmission timing alignment mode, or a reception timing alignment mode, wherein each timing alignment mode corresponds to a different timing relationship between uplink and downlink transmissions of the IAB node (Fig. 17, S1701; Para. [0298]; See also Para. [0299-0300]; PAra. [0222-0239]; Fig. 16, Para. [0294-0296]; FIg. 5, Para. [0123-0130]; Fig. 15, PAra. [0258-0292]; Fig. 18, Para. [0301-0307]; Para. [0308-0350]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keskitalo’s invention of methods for timing advance control for integrated access and backhaul (Keskitalo Para. [0001]) with Ko’s invention of “a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node and an apparatus therefor, and more particularly to a method of aligning transmit/receive timings of Mobile-Termination (MT) and Distributed Unit (DU) of an IAB node and transmitting and receiving a signal based on the aligned timings and an apparatus for the method” (Ko Para. [0002]) because Ko’s invention provides an IAB node that acquires timing information, determines uplink reception timing references based on downlink reception timing and timing advance values, and aligns uplink and downlink transmissions of the MT and DU for transmitting and receiving signals (Ko Para. [0005-0024]).
Yet, Keskitalo nor Ko expressly teach obtain at least one of a first coefficient, a second coefficient, and a third coefficient for the IAB node; receive at least one of a timing advance value, a timing delta value, and an additional timing advance value for the IAB node; and transmit an uplink signal using an uplink transmission time that is determined based on the timing alignment mode, wherein the uplink transmission time equals the downlink reception time minus a summation of the first coefficient multiplied by the timing advance value, the second coefficient multiplied by the timing delta value, and the third coefficient multiplied by the additional timing advance value.
However, Abedini teaches
obtain at least one of a first coefficient, a second coefficient, and a third coefficient (Fig. 8; Para. [0095] - In certain aspects, the IAB node may be configured to average TA values to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission (e.g., average(TA)/2+T_delta as described above with respect to FIG. 8). For example, T_delta may be given by the target T_delta signaling, and TA may be calculated according to an average of timing advance intervals (e.g., TA1, TA2, TA3 . . . ) updated by a series TA commands. In such a case where an averaged TA value is used, the IAB node may select a time window or number of TA values, which are used for the averaging, based on a mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children). Using an averaged TA may be more appropriate in cases where the IAB node is stationary or has a low or medium degree of mobility as the averaging may reduce estimation noise or quantization noise of the synchronization. In other aspects, the IAB node may use the latest value of TA to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission. For example, T_delta may be given by the latest T_delta signaling, and TA may be the current time interval at the IAB node between the start of UL TX frame i and the start of DL RX frame i, which may be updated by TA command. In cases where averaging and the latest value are supported, the IAB node may select the method of determining the timing advance based on the mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children); See also Fig. 6, Para. [0085]; Fig. 7, Para. [0086-0087]; Fig. 8, Para. [0088-0095]; FIg. 9, Para. [0096-0098]; Fig. 10, Para. [0099-0114]; Fig. 11, Para. [0115-0132]; Fig. 12, Para. [0133-0145]; FIg. 13, Para. [0146-0156]).
receive at least one of a timing advance value, a timing delta value, and an additional timing advance value for the IAB node (Fig. 8; Para. [0095] - In certain aspects, the IAB node may be configured to average TA values to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission (e.g., average(TA)/2+T_delta as described above with respect to FIG. 8). For example, T_delta may be given by the target T_delta signaling, and TA may be calculated according to an average of timing advance intervals (e.g., TA1, TA2, TA3 . . . ) updated by a series TA commands. In such a case where an averaged TA value is used, the IAB node may select a time window or number of TA values, which are used for the averaging, based on a mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children). Using an averaged TA may be more appropriate in cases where the IAB node is stationary or has a low or medium degree of mobility as the averaging may reduce estimation noise or quantization noise of the synchronization. In other aspects, the IAB node may use the latest value of TA to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission. For example, T_delta may be given by the latest T_delta signaling, and TA may be the current time interval at the IAB node between the start of UL TX frame i and the start of DL RX frame i, which may be updated by TA command. In cases where averaging and the latest value are supported, the IAB node may select the method of determining the timing advance based on the mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children); See also Fig. 6, Para. [0085]; Fig. 7, Para. [0086-0087]; Fig. 8, Para. [0088-0095]; FIg. 9, Para. [0096-0098]; Fig. 10, Para. [0099-0114]; Fig. 11, Para. [0115-0132]; Fig. 12, Para. [0133-0145]; FIg. 13, Para. [0146-0156]);
and transmit an uplink signal using an uplink transmission time that is determined based on the timing alignment mode, wherein the uplink transmission time equals the downlink reception time minus a summation of the first coefficient multiplied by the timing advance value, the second coefficient multiplied by the timing delta value, and the third coefficient multiplied by the additional timing advance value, and wherein the timing alignment mode is associated with a transmission-timing (Fig. 8; Para. [0095] - In certain aspects, the IAB node may be configured to average TA values to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission (e.g., average(TA)/2+T_delta as described above with respect to FIG. 8). For example, T_delta may be given by the target T_delta signaling, and TA may be calculated according to an average of timing advance intervals (e.g., TA1, TA2, TA3 . . . ) updated by a series TA commands. In such a case where an averaged TA value is used, the IAB node may select a time window or number of TA values, which are used for the averaging, based on a mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children). Using an averaged TA may be more appropriate in cases where the IAB node is stationary or has a low or medium degree of mobility as the averaging may reduce estimation noise or quantization noise of the synchronization. In other aspects, the IAB node may use the latest value of TA to determine the timing advance for an IAB transmission. For example, T_delta may be given by the latest T_delta signaling, and TA may be the current time interval at the IAB node between the start of UL TX frame i and the start of DL RX frame i, which may be updated by TA command. In cases where averaging and the latest value are supported, the IAB node may select the method of determining the timing advance based on the mobility state of the IAB-node or other nodes (such as parents or children); See also Fig. 6, Para. [0085]; Fig. 7, Para. [0086-0087]; Fig. 8, Para. [0088-0095]; FIg. 9, Para. [0096-0098]; Fig. 10, Para. [0099-0114]; Fig. 11, Para. [0115-0132]; Fig. 12, Para. [0133-0145]; FIg. 13, Para. [0146-0156]).
Examiner’s Note: Abedini teaches obtaining coefficients and timing values and using them to determine an uplink transmission time based on a transmission-timing alignment mode. In particular, Para. [0095] teaches determining an uplink timing offset using an averaged timing advance (TA) value divided by 2 and a timing delta value (T_delta). As defined in Para. [0088] and Fig. 8, TA itself is calculated as the sum of a timing advance value (
N
T
A
) and a timing advance offset (
N
T
A
,
o
f
f
s
e
t
) for one or more serving cells. Substituting the Para. [0088] definition of TA into Para. [0095] averaging operation yields a summation of multiple terms – namely a first term derived from
N
T
A
,
o
f
f
s
e
t
, a second term derived from
N
T
A
, and a third term corresponding to T_delta – each scaled by fixed coefficients (e.g., division by two and the averaging operation);
N
T
A
,
o
f
f
s
e
t
or
N
T
A
may be interpreted as the claim’s timing advance value or additional timing advance value. Further Para. [0095] teaches that TA may be calculated as an average of multiple timing advance intervals (e.g., TA1, TA2, TA3) updated by a series of TA commands, and that the IAB node may select a time window or number of TA values used for the averaging based on its mobility state, such that selecting the number of TA values or the averaging window defines the weighting applied to each timing advance interval and thereby establishes the coefficient(s) used in the summation for determining the uplink transmission timing. As illustrated in Fig. 8, this summed timing offset is used as the timing different between the uplink transmission (UL Tx 806) and the downlink reception (DL Rx 812), such that the uplink transmission time is determined relative to, and earlier than, the downlink reception time by subtracting the TA, i.e., the summation of the averaged timing advance components and the timing delta.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide obtain at least one of a first coefficient, a second coefficient, and a third coefficient, receive at least one of a timing advance value, a timing delta value, and an additional timing advance value for the IAB node, and transmit an uplink signal using an uplink transmission time that is determined based on the timing alignment mode, wherein the uplink transmission time equals the downlink reception time minus a summation of the first coefficient multiplied by the timing advance value, the second coefficient multiplied by the timing delta value, and the third coefficient multiplied by the additional timing advance value, and wherein the timing alignment mode is associated with a transmission-timing and as taught by Abedini, in the combined system of Keskitalo/Ko, so that it would provide “apparatus, methods, processing systems, and computer readable mediums for over-the-air synchronization of integrated access and backhaul (IAB) communications” (Abedini Para. [0046]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keskitalo in view of Ko, and in further view of NOKIA et al., "IAB Case #1 timing", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#96 R1-1902434, February 25-March 1, 2019, pages 1-3, Nokia2019 hereinafter. Nokia2019 was provided in the IDS submitted on 11/21/2022.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Keskitalo teaches
receiving an additional timing advance value for the IAB node (Para. [0128] - In block 535, the child IAB node calculates a new TA value TA(n+1), e.g., as an average of the old TA value TA(n) and the signaled
Δ
T
p
:
T
A
n
+
1
=
T
A
n
+
Δ
T
p
(
n
)
/
2
);
Yet, Keskitalo nor Ko expressly teach wherein obtaining a downlink reception time for the IAB node ; receiving a timing advance value and a timing delta value for the IAB node; and setting the second uplink transmission time to the downlink reception time minus an alternative timing advance value, wherein the alternative timing advance value comprises one of: the additional timing advance value; the timing advance value plus the additional timing advance value; and half of the timing advance value plus the timing delta value plus the additional timing advance value.
However, Nokia2019 teaches
obtaining a downlink reception time for the IAB node (pg. 2, Section 2 – The DL TX shall be advanced by
T
A
/
2
+
T
_
d
e
l
t
a
w.r.t. DL RX timing over the parent link.);
receiving a timing advance value and a timing delta value for the IAB node (pg. 3, Section 3 – Proposal 3: Used TA (
N
T
A
) value as well as signalled
T
_
d
e
l
t
a
can be considered jointly when deriving the IAB DL TX timing adjustment.);
and setting the second uplink transmission time to the downlink reception time minus an alternative timing advance value (Figure 1; pg. 1, Section 2 – “the uplink frame transmission takes place
N
T
A
+
N
T
A
o
f
f
s
e
t
×
T
c
before the reception of the first detected path (in time) of the corresponding downlink frame from the reference cell”; The examiner considers
N
T
A
+
N
T
A
o
f
f
s
e
t
×
T
c
=
Alternative Timing Advance Value.),
wherein the alternative timing advance value comprises one of: the additional timing advance value; the timing advance value plus the additional timing advance value; and half of the timing advance value plus the timing delta value plus the additional timing advance value (Figure 1; pg. 1, Section 2 – “the uplink frame transmission takes place
N
T
A
+
N
T
A
o
f
f
s
e
t
×
T
c
before the reception of the first detected path (in time) of the corresponding downlink frame from the reference cell”; The examiner notes that
T
A
=
N
T
A
=
T
i
m
i
n
g
A
d
v
a
n
c
e
).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein obtaining a downlink reception time for the IAB node ; receiving a timing advance value and a timing delta value for the IAB node; and setting the second uplink transmission time to the downlink reception time minus an alternative timing advance value, wherein the alternative timing advance value comprises one of: the additional timing advance value; the timing advance value plus the additional timing advance value; and half of the timing advance value plus the timing delta value plus the additional timing advance value as taught by Nokia2019, in the combined system of Keskitalo/Ko, so that it would provide means to improve the granularity of
T
_
d
e
l
t
a
comparative to TA (i.e., timing advance), which in turn can improve synchronization accuracy between parent and child IAB nodes (Nokia 2019 pg.2, Section 2).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keskitalo in view of Ko, and in further view of Nam et al. (US 2020/0059879), Nam hereinafter. Nam was provided in the IDS submitted on 11/21/2022.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Keskitalo nor Ko expressly teach wherein the uplink signal is scheduled on a first symbol, the first symbol associated with a symbol number, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: in response to determining that a symbol shifting is applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on a second symbol associated with the symbol number plus one; and in response to determining that the symbol shifting is not applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on the first symbol.
However, Nam teaches
wherein the uplink signal is scheduled on a first symbol, the first symbol associated with a symbol number, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: in response to determining that a symbol shifting is applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on a second symbol associated with the symbol number plus one; and in response to determining that the symbol shifting is not applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on the first symbol (Figs. 5A-5C; Fig. 6; Para. [0075, 0082, 0083] – [0075] FIG. 5A-5C are timing diagrams of three operational modes in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure whereby the IAB node 150 may align the access link timing based on the operational mode. The timing diagrams may indicate the time for the parent node 415, the IAB node 150, and/or the child node 420 to transmit or receive signals. Different operational modes are associated with different gap values (T.sub.GAP) separating the Access DL Tx from the BH DL Rx. For example, in FIG. 5A, the parent node 415 may transmit and receive data during the same slot timing (i.e., starting at the network reference time 505). The IAB node 150 may transmit uplink data to the parent node 415 at a time that is T.sub.p_BH before the network reference time 505. The IAB node 150 may receive downlink data from the parent node 415 at a time that is T.sub.p_BH after the network reference time 505. [0082] Thus, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure, the IAB node 150 may be configured to dynamically adjust the access link timing based on a selected operational mode (e.g., for facilitating non-current Tx/Rx, concurrent Tx, or concurrent Rx). Specifically, in some examples, the IAB node may be configured to operate in one or more operational modes based on the type of scheduled communication at the IAB node 150, and thus adjust the access link timing to adjust for the selected mode. [0083] FIG. 6 is a configurable table 600 that includes a set number of different T.sub.offset values that may be configured by the IAB node 150 (e.g., by RRC signaling) for the child node where different values may correspond to different IAB operational modes (e.g., first operational mode, second operational mode, or third operational mode). For the configured table 600 that includes the set number of different T.sub.offset values, a specific value, or the index in the table, may be indicated to the child node with a scheduling grant (e.g., PDCCH) for downlink (e.g., PDSCH) or uplink (e.g., PUSCH) with a field for the dynamic timing indication. In an non-limiting example, the IAB node 150 may transmit one or more T.sub.offset values, as indicated by the indices, to the child node 420 to indicate the different timing adjustments to be implemented by the child node 420).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the uplink signal is scheduled on a first symbol, the first symbol associated with a symbol number, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the IAB node to: in response to determining that a symbol shifting is applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on a second symbol associated with the symbol number plus one; and in response to determining that the symbol shifting is not applicable, transmit/ting the uplink signal on the first symbol as taught by Nam, in the combined system of Keskitalo/Ko, so that it would provide means to improve synchronization for wireless backhaul in small cell base stations or small cells (Nam Paras. [0005-0006]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Keskitalo in view of Ko teaches Claims 8 and 18.
Keskitalo further teaches
determine/determining that the second uplink transmission time is greater than [[the]] a downlink reception time (Paras. [0128-0129] - [0128] In block 535, the child IAB node calculates a new TA value TA(n+1), e.g., as an average of the old TA value TA(n) and the signaled ΔT.sub.p: TA(n+1)=(TA(n)+ΔT.sub.p(n))/2. [0129] In block 540, the child IAB node applies UL and DL (Tx) timing according to the new TA value (TA(n+1)) for the parent BH UL, the child BH DL link, and/or access DL (child) link By definition, TA is the advancement of BH UL TX timing relative to the BH DL signal reception timing. Especially with Case 6, TA is also advancement of DL TX timings relative to the BH DL signal reception timing, as that way all the TX timings of a node are aligned. That is, in one exemplary embodiment, the BH UL (sent towards parent) signal TX timing is advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing. The child BH DL link and/or access DL (child) link may be similarly advanced by the TA, relative to the BH DL (coming from parent) RX timing);
Yet, Keskitalo nor Ko expressly teach receiving an indication indicating that the symbol shifting is applicable.
However, Nam teaches
receiving an indication indicating that the symbol shifting is applicable (Para. [0083] - FIG. 6 is a configurable table 600 that includes a set number of different T.sub.offset values that may be configured by the IAB node 150 (e.g., by RRC signaling) for the child node where different values may correspond to different IAB operational modes (e.g., first operational mode, second operational mode, or third operational mode). For the configured table 600 that includes the set number of different T.sub.offset values, a specific value, or the index in the table, may be indicated to the child node with a scheduling grant (e.g., PDCCH) for downlink (e.g., PDSCH) or uplink (e.g., PUSCH) with a field for the dynamic timing indication. In an non-limiting example, the IAB node 150 may transmit one or more T.sub.offset values, as indicated by the indices, to the child node 420 to indicate the different timing adjustments to be implemented by the child node 420).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving an indication indicating that the symbol shifting is applicable as taught by Nam, in the combined system of Keskitalo/Ko, so that it would provide means to improve synchronization for wireless backhaul in small cell base stations or small cells (Nam Paras. [0005-0006]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468