DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/07/2025 in which claims 1-5, 14, 16-19 and 30-37 are pending. Claims 6-13, 15 and 20-29 were canceled.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 11/07/2025 with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below. Based on the Applicant’s amendments, the claim objections previously set in Non-Final action mailed on 08/07/2025 have been withdrawn. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-5, 14, 16-19 and 30-37 are pending.
Claims 6-13, 15 and 20-29 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Hong contains no description of “transfer[ring] one or more analytics subscriptions”, “a subscription transfer request message including information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions to be transferred” or “a subscription transfer response message related to the one or more analytics subscriptions to be transferred” because the subscription in Hong remains supported by the source NWDAF on an ongoing basis, and is not transferred to the target NWDAF.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hong recites in [0091] “the source NWDAF receives a subscription message sent by the NWDAF consumer. The service analysis request and the subscription message include at least the following parameter combinations: a service type, analysis target association information and an analysis result notification object”, in [0093], “After receiving the service analysis request, the source NWDAF determines from which network functions data is collected for service analysis according to the current service analysis request”, in [0095] “when the source NWDAF is not capable of directly collecting the network data of the at least one network function, the source NWDAF sends a query request message to an NRF”, in [0098] “the source NWDAF receives a query response message sent by the NRF, where the query response message includes information of the target NWDAF” and in [0099] “the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”. Hong discloses that the source NWDAF receives a subscription message with information to determine a network function from which data is required to be collected for service type analysis, and when the source NWDAF is not capable of directly collecting the network data, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF to perform the network function data collection. In other words, the subscription of the service analysis for data collection is transferred to the target NWDAF.
Therefore, based on the response to argument presented above, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claim 14 recites similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus is rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (US 2022/0337486) (provided in the IDS).
As to claim 1, Hong teaches a method by a source network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity (Hong, Fig. 4, [0089]-[0090], a network data collection method including a source NWDAF), the method comprising:
determining to transfer one or more analytics subscriptions related to at least one consumer network function (NF) to a target NWDAF (Hong, Fig. 4, [0090]-[0091], the source NWDAF receives a service analysis request from an NWDAF consumer. [0093], after receiving the service analysis request, the source NWDAF determines a type of the network functions from which data is required to be collected according to service type analysis, and determine the network function from which data is required to be collected according to the analysis target association information. After the source NWDAF analyzes the service analysis request, there may be multiple determined network functions from which data is required to be collected, and the multiple network functions may be located within service areas of different target NWDAFs. [0095]-[0098], when the source NWDAF is not capable of directly collecting the network data of the at least one network function, the source NWDAF sends a query request message to an NRF and receives a query response with information of the target NWDAF), based on at least one of a user equipment (UE) mobility event, UE location information, or information of the at least one consumer NF (Hong, Fig. 4, [0090]-[0091], [0093], the source NWDAF determines the different target NWDAFs based on the service analysis request of the NWDAF consumer that includes a service type requested by the NWDAF consumer and analysis result notification object (the NWDAF consumer, S4090));
transmitting, to the target NWDAF, a subscription transfer request message including information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”, [0092], “a data collection assistance parameter of at least one network function from which data is required to be collected according to the service analysis request”); and
receiving, from the target NWDAF, a subscription transfer response message related to the one or more analytics subscriptions to be transferred after transmitting the subscription transfer request message (Hong, Fig. 4, [0100], “In S4080, the source NWDAF receives a network function data collection response sent by the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection response includes network data fed back by the at least one network function”).
As to claim 2, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”) includes at least one of an Analytics ID, a Target of Reporting (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), Event Reporting Information, a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or a Consumer NF ID for an analytics subscription of the at least one consumer NF (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer).
As to claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions includes at least one of an Event ID, Reporting Information (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or an NF ID for an analytics subscription of a source NF (Hong, [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes the addressing information of the network function from which data collection is requested. The addressing information of the network function is used for determining the location of the network function, for example, including an identifier, an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a port number of the network function and other identification information capable of determining the network function).
As to claim 14, Hong teaches an apparatus of a source network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity (Hong, Fig. 4, [0089]-[0090], a source NWDAF performing a network data collection method), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver and a processor operatively coupled with the transceiver (Hong, Fig. 11, [0175], Fig. 14, [0182], a network device (i.e. source NWDAF) includes a transmitter and receiver connected to a processor),
wherein the processor is configured to (Hong, Fig. 11, [0175], Fig. 14, [0182]-[0183], the processor runs the software in the memory to perform the functions of the network device):
determine to transfer one or more analytics subscriptions related to at least one consumer network function (NF) to a target NWDAF (Hong, Fig. 4, [0090]-[0091], the source NWDAF receives a service analysis request from an NWDAF consumer. [0093], after receiving the service analysis request, the source NWDAF determines a type of the network functions from which data is required to be collected according to service type analysis, and determine the network function from which data is required to be collected according to the analysis target association information. After the source NWDAF analyzes the service analysis request, there may be multiple determined network functions from which data is required to be collected, and the multiple network functions may be located within service areas of different target NWDAFs. [0095]-[0098], when the source NWDAF is not capable of directly collecting the network data of the at least one network function, the source NWDAF sends a query request message to an NRF and receives a query response with information of the target NWDAF) based on at least one of a user equipment (UE) mobility event, UE location information, or information of the at least one consumer NF (Hong, Fig. 4, [0090]-[0091], [0093], the source NWDAF determines the different target NWDAFs based on the service analysis request of the NWDAF consumer that includes a service type requested by the NWDAF consumer and analysis result notification object (the NWDAF consumer, S4090)),
transmit, to the target NWDAF, a subscription transfer request message including information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”, [0092], “a data collection assistance parameter of at least one network function from which data is required to be collected according to the service analysis request”), and
receive, from the target NWDAF, a subscription transfer response message related to the one or more analytics subscriptions, after transmitting the subscription transfer request message (Hong, Fig. 4, [0100], “In S4080, the source NWDAF receives a network function data collection response sent by the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection response includes network data fed back by the at least one network function”).
As to claim 16, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”) includes at least one of an Analytics ID, a Target of Reporting (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), Event Reporting Information, a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or a Consumer NF ID for an analytics subscription of the at least one consumer NF (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer).
As to claim 17, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions includes at least one of an Event ID, Reporting Information (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or an NF ID for an analytics subscription of a source NF (Hong, [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes the addressing information of the network function from which data collection is requested. The addressing information of the network function is used for determining the location of the network function, for example, including an identifier, an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a port number of the network function and other identification information capable of determining the network function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0337486) (provided in the IDS) in view of Dao et al. (US 2021/0274392), hereinafter “Dao”.
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value, and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription.
As to claim 4, Dao teaches wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value (Dao, [0120], the event receiving NF uses the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK in step 47a, 47b or 47c to acknowledge the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify that was sent from the NF-1 and/or NF-2, where the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK includes “use new notification target address for future messages” parameter to confirm that the new event receiving NF with the new notification target address will communicate with the NF-1 and/or NF-2 in the future regarding the subscribed event notifications), and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription (Dao, [0089], “generic public subscription identifier(s) (GPSI(s))”, [0122], “The Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify service may be configured to update the new notification target address of NF consumer. The input may include event ID, notification correlation information, UE ID (SUPI and if available GPSI)”, [0123], “When the event receiving NF (e.g. S-NEF) sends an acknowledgment in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4 by sending Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify with ACK, the event receiving NF may include the parameter “use new notification target address for future messages”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising at least one of:
requesting subscription update for the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to the at least one consumer NF; or
requesting unsubscription of the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to a source NF.
As to claim 5, Dao teaches further comprising at least one of:
requesting subscription update for the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to the at least one consumer NF (Dao, Fig. 4, [0102], “send the messages in Step 44a, 44b, or 44c of FIG. 4. In this regard, the Namf_EventExposure_Notify service may be used to send the event subscription update notify (or notification) messages”, [0103], “the Namf_EventExposure_Notify service is configured to provide the previously subscribed event information to the NF consumer which has subscribed to that event before. This service further provides a new address of the new event receiving NF”, [0105], “The NF-1 404 (which in this example is the AMF) may send Namf_EventExposure_Notify message to the S-NEF 402 in Step 44a, 44b, or 44c of FIG. 4. The event receiving NF (or NF service consumer, e.g. S-NEF 402) may send Namf_EventExposure_Notify including ACK or NACK to the AMF (e.g. the NF-1 404) in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4”); or
requesting unsubscription of the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to a source NF (Dao, [0095], “the S-NEF 402 may include an indication therein that the NF-1 404 or NF-2 405 shall communicate with the T-NEF 403 (not the S-NEF) regarding the subscribed event ID(s). If the NF-1 404 receive that indication, the NF-1 404 may send messages, for example event subscription update notify or event unsubscription messages, to the T-NEF 403”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value, and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription.
As to claim 18, Dao teaches wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value (Dao, [0120], the event receiving NF uses the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK in step 47a, 47b or 47c to acknowledge the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify that was sent from the NF-1 and/or NF-2, where the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK includes “use new notification target address for future messages” parameter to confirm that the new event receiving NF with the new notification target address will communicate with the NF-1 and/or NF-2 in the future regarding the subscribed event notifications), and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription (Dao, [0089], “generic public subscription identifier(s) (GPSI(s))”, [0122], “The Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify service may be configured to update the new notification target address of NF consumer. The input may include event ID, notification correlation information, UE ID (SUPI and if available GPSI)”, [0123], “When the event receiving NF (e.g. S-NEF) sends an acknowledgment in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4 by sending Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify with ACK, the event receiving NF may include the parameter “use new notification target address for future messages”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to perform at least one of:
requesting subscription update for the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to the at least one consumer NF; or
requesting unsubscription of the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to a source NF.
As to claim 19, Dao teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform at least one of:
requesting subscription update for the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to the at least one consumer NF (Dao, Fig. 4, [0102], “send the messages in Step 44a, 44b, or 44c of FIG. 4. In this regard, the Namf_EventExposure_Notify service may be used to send the event subscription update notify (or notification) messages”, [0103], “the Namf_EventExposure_Notify service is configured to provide the previously subscribed event information to the NF consumer which has subscribed to that event before. This service further provides a new address of the new event receiving NF”, [0105], “The NF-1 404 (which in this example is the AMF) may send Namf_EventExposure_Notify message to the S-NEF 402 in Step 44a, 44b, or 44c of FIG. 4. The event receiving NF (or NF service consumer, e.g. S-NEF 402) may send Namf_EventExposure_Notify including ACK or NACK to the AMF (e.g. the NF-1 404) in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4”); or
requesting unsubscription of the one or more analytics subscriptions among the one or more analytics subscriptions to a source NF (Dao, [0095], “the S-NEF 402 may include an indication therein that the NF-1 404 or NF-2 405 shall communicate with the T-NEF 403 (not the S-NEF) regarding the subscribed event ID(s). If the NF-1 404 receive that indication, the NF-1 404 may send messages, for example event subscription update notify or event unsubscription messages, to the T-NEF 403”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Claims 30-31 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0337486) (provided in the IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0226860), hereinafter “Lee”.
As to claim 30, Hong teaches a method by a target network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity (Hong, Fig. 4, [0089]-[0090], a network data collection method including a target NWDAF), the method comprising:
receiving, from a source NWDAF, a subscription transfer request message including information related to one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”, [0092], “a data collection assistance parameter of at least one network function from which data is required to be collected according to the service analysis request”) related to at least one consumer network function (NF) (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer).;
transmitting, to the source NWDAF, a subscription transfer response message related to the one or more analytics subscriptions, in response to receiving the subscription transfer request message (Hong, Fig. 4, [0100], “In S4080, the source NWDAF receives a network function data collection response sent by the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection response includes network data fed back by the at least one network function”).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, transmitting a subscription request message to a source NF related to at least one analytics subscription among the one or more analytics subscriptions.
However, Lee teaches transmitting a subscription request message to a source NF related to at least one analytics subscription among the one or more analytics subscriptions (Lee, Fig. 2, [0062], the NWDAF transmits (S120) an event exposure subscription request message to the NF. [0050], the event exposure subscription request message is related to the event reporting granularity and reporting type for data required for analysis (S110)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to improve data collection efficiency and support real-time data collection for the NWDAF (Lee, [0049]).
As to claim 31, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”) includes at least one of an Analytics ID, a Target of Reporting (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), Event Reporting Information, a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or a Consumer NF ID for an analytics subscription of a consumer NF (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer).
As to claim 34, Hong teaches an apparatus of a target network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity (Hong, Fig. 4, [0089], [0099], Fig. 14, [0182]-[0183], the target NWDAF), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], Fig. 14, [0182]-[0183], the target NWDAF is network device including a transmitter, receiver, processor and memory to perform the functions of the target NWDAF):
receive, from a source NWDAF, a subscription transfer request message including information related to one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”, [0092], “a data collection assistance parameter of at least one network function from which data is required to be collected according to the service analysis request”) related to at least one consumer network function (NF) (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer),
transmit, to the source NWDAF, a subscription transfer response message related to the one or more analytics subscriptions, in response to receiving the subscription transfer request message (Hong, Fig. 4, [0100], “In S4080, the source NWDAF receives a network function data collection response sent by the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection response includes network data fed back by the at least one network function”).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 34, transmit a subscription request message to a source NF related to at least one analytics subscription among the one or more analytics subscriptions.
However, Lee teaches transmit a subscription request message to a source NF related to at least one analytics subscription among the one or more analytics subscriptions (Lee, Fig. 2, [0062], the NWDAF transmits (S120) an event exposure subscription request message to the NF. [0050], the event exposure subscription request message is related to the event reporting granularity and reporting type for data required for analysis (S110)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to improve data collection efficiency and support real-time data collection for the NWDAF (Lee, [0049]).
As to claim 35, Hong teaches wherein the information related to the one or more analytics subscriptions (Hong, Fig. 4, [0099], “In S4070, the source NWDAF sends a network function data collection request to the target NWDAF, where the network function data collection request includes the data collection assistance parameter of the at least one network function”) includes at least one of an Analytics ID, a Target of Reporting (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer), Event Reporting Information, a Notification ID, a Subscription ID, or a Consumer NF ID for an analytics subscription of a consumer NF (Hong, [0022], [0073], the data collection assistance parameter includes a receiving object of collected data of a network function, which is a recipient of the collected data. Fig. 4, [0101], the source NWDAF performs service analysis processing and sends a service analysis result to the NWDAF consumer).
Claims 32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0337486) (provided in the IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0226860), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0322821), hereinafter “Lee ‘821”.
Hong and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Lee do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 32, wherein the subscription request message includes at least one of a NWDAF ID of the target NWDAF, a Notification ID set to a new value, a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message.
As to claim 32, Lee ‘821 teaches wherein the subscription request message includes at least one of a NWDAF ID of the target NWDAF (Lee ‘821, [0006], [0104], “A Notification Target Address (+Notification Correlation ID) allowing the Event Receiving NF to correlate notifications received from the Event provider with this subscription. A subscription is associated with an unique Notification Target Address (+Notification Correlation ID)”. Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0289]-[0293], the NWDAF transmits the event exposure subscribe message including a notification target address), a Notification ID set to a new value (Lee ‘821, [0006], Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0289]-[0293], the NWDAF transmits the event exposure subscribe message including a notification correlation ID), a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Lee to have the features, as taught by Lee ‘821 in order to enable the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (Lee ‘821, [0246]).
Hong and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Lee do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 36, wherein the subscription request message includes at least one of a NWDAF ID of the target NWDAF, a Notification ID set to a new value, a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message.
As to claim 36, Lee ‘821 teaches wherein the subscription request message includes at least one of a NWDAF ID of the target NWDAF (Lee ‘821, [0006], [0104], “A Notification Target Address (+Notification Correlation ID) allowing the Event Receiving NF to correlate notifications received from the Event provider with this subscription. A subscription is associated with an unique Notification Target Address (+Notification Correlation ID)”. Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0289]-[0293], the NWDAF transmits the event exposure subscribe message including a notification target address), a Notification ID set to a new value (Lee ‘821, [0006], Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0289]-[0293], the NWDAF transmits the event exposure subscribe message including a notification correlation ID), a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Lee to have the features, as taught by Lee ‘821 in order to enable the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (Lee ‘821, [0246]).
Claims 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0337486) (provided in the IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0226860), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Dao et al. (US 2021/0274392), hereinafter “Dao”.
Hong and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Lee do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 33, wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value, and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription.
As to claim 33, Dao teaches wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value (Dao, [0120], the event receiving NF uses the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK in step 47a, 47b or 47c to acknowledge the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify that was sent from the NF-1 and/or NF-2, where the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK includes “use new notification target address for future messages” parameter to confirm that the new event receiving NF with the new notification target address will communicate with the NF-1 and/or NF-2 in the future regarding the subscribed event notifications), and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription (Dao, [0089], “generic public subscription identifier(s) (GPSI(s))”, [0122], “The Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify service may be configured to update the new notification target address of NF consumer. The input may include event ID, notification correlation information, UE ID (SUPI and if available GPSI)”, [0123], “When the event receiving NF (e.g. S-NEF) sends an acknowledgment in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4 by sending Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify with ACK, the event receiving NF may include the parameter “use new notification target address for future messages”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Lee to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Hong and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Lee do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 37, wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value, and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription.
As to claim 37, Dao teaches wherein the subscription transfer response message includes a Notification ID set to a new value (Dao, [0120], the event receiving NF uses the Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK in step 47a, 47b or 47c to acknowledge the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify that was sent from the NF-1 and/or NF-2, where the message Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify with ACK includes “use new notification target address for future messages” parameter to confirm that the new event receiving NF with the new notification target address will communicate with the NF-1 and/or NF-2 in the future regarding the subscribed event notifications), and a Subscription ID set to the same value as the subscription transfer request message, for each analytics subscription (Dao, [0089], “generic public subscription identifier(s) (GPSI(s))”, [0122], “The Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify service may be configured to update the new notification target address of NF consumer. The input may include event ID, notification correlation information, UE ID (SUPI and if available GPSI)”, [0123], “When the event receiving NF (e.g. S-NEF) sends an acknowledgment in Step 47a, 47b, 47c of FIG. 4 by sending Nsmf_EventExposure_UpdateNotify with ACK, the event receiving NF may include the parameter “use new notification target address for future messages”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Lee to have the features, as taught by Dao in order to reduce signaling load when a NEF is re-selected to transfer the control messages between NFs of a mobile network and the AF (Dao, [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Puente Pestaña U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0351993 – Methods and apparatus for analytics function discovery.
Puente Pestaña U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0148296 – Technique for maintaining a subscription of a subscriber NF.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473