ingDETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2022 has been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 11/22/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in claim 1. Therefore, the “a second reference signal” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 lines 1 and 4 recite “A submarine optical amplifier” and “an optical amplification apparatus” this should be changed “The Submarine optical amplifier” and “the optical amplification apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at a second respective input port, a second reference signal”. However, paragraph 73 of the PG PUB mentions “second differential amplifier 9 connected to the first differential amplifier 8 for receiving at a respective first input port, for example the inverting port, the first error signal 101 and at a respective second input port, for example the non-inverting port, the reference signal 201.” Therefore, it is not clear if the first reference signal and the second reference signal are the same or different. For purposes of examination the limitations are going to be interpreted as either the same or different.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), for being dependent on a rejected claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhen CN 105099149 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) wherein the DC/DC converter (Fig. 3) comprises a first commutator (Mn) and a pulse modulator (controller at Fig. 3) connected to the first commutator for cyclically switching with a duty cycle the first commutator between a closing configuration (Fig. 4), in which it can be passed thought by a current (current passing through the switch), and an opening configuration, in which it cannot be passed thought by the current, wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a retroaction circuit (OP1 and OTA2) comprising: a first differential amplifier (OP1) connected for receiving, at a first input port, a first signal representative of at least a voltage at output from the DC/DC converter (Vfb) and at input the system (load) and, at a second input port, a first reference signal (Vref) wherein the first differential amplifier is structured for generating a first error signal representative of a difference between the first signal and the first reference signal (output of OP1); a second differential amplifier (OTA2) connected to the first differential amplifier (OP1) for receiving, at a first respective input port (output OP1), the first error signal and, at a second respective input port (Vref), a second reference signal wherein the second differential amplifier is structured for generating a second error signal (output of OTA2) representative of a difference between the first error signal and the second reference signal (inputs of OTA2), wherein the second error signal is proportional to a deviation of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter with respect to a nominal working voltage (rated voltage of load or Vref) of the system (load), wherein the first input port of the first differential amplifier and the first respective input port of the second differential amplifier are concordant ports (Vref), and wherein the pulse modulator (controller) is connected to the second differential amplifier for receiving the second error signal and for regulating the duty cycle as a function of the second error signal (with the control operation). (See par. 1-5 of the specification)
Zhen does not teach an optical amplification apparatus for a submarine optical amplifier, wherein the optical amplification apparatus comprises an optical amplification system, comprising at least one active component, and a DC/DC converter connected to supply the optical amplification system.
AAPA teaches (Figure 1) an optical amplification apparatus (300) for a submarine optical amplifier (par. 5), wherein the optical amplification apparatus comprises an optical amplification system (302), comprising at least one active component (inside 302,m par. 5), and a DC/DC converter (303) connected to supply the optical amplification system. (For Example: Par. 5-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include an optical amplification apparatus for a submarine optical amplifier, wherein the optical amplification apparatus comprises an optical amplification system, comprising at least one active component, and a DC/DC converter connected to supply the optical amplification system as taught by AAPA to provide power to the desired load.
Regarding Claims 4-5, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) wherein the first commutator (MN) is selected in the group: MOSFET transistors (see fig. 3), IGBT transistors or BJT transistors; wherein the pulse modulator (controller) is selected in the group: pulse width modulators (see fig. 4) or pulse frequency modulators. (See par. 1-5 of the specification)
Regarding Claim 10, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach the submarine optical amplifier comprising: a vessel having a housing cavity; and an optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1 housed in the housing cavity.
AAPA teaches the submarine optical amplifier comprising: a vessel having a housing cavity; and an optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1 housed in the housing cavity (see par. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include the submarine optical amplifier comprising: a vessel having a housing cavity; and an optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1 housed in the housing cavity, as taught by AAPA to provide power to the desired load.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhen CN 105099149 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) and further in view of Hawkes USRE3780.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach wherein the first signal is representative of a sum of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter and of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter.
Hawkes teaches (Figures 4) wherein the first signal (sent to 128) is representative of a sum of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter (Vout) and of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter (VISense). (See Col. 6 lines 40-54)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include wherein the first signal is representative of a sum of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter and of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter, as taught by Hawkes to improve transient operation of the system.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach wherein retroaction circuit comprises an adder connected to the first differential amplifier for receiving, at a first input port, a second signal representative of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter and, at a second input port, a third signal representative of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter (I), and wherein said, wherein the adder is structured to operate a sum of the second and third signal and generate the first signal as a function of the sum of the second and third signal.
Hawkes teaches (Figures 4) wherein retroaction circuit (at Fig. 4a) comprises an adder (R1-R3 and 126) connected to the first differential amplifier (128) for receiving, at a first input port, a second signal representative of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter (Vout) and, at a second input port, a third signal representative of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter (VIsense), and wherein said, wherein the adder is structured to operate a sum of the second and third signal and generate the first signal as a function of the sum of the second and third signal (sent to 128). (See Col. 6 lines 40-54)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include wherein retroaction circuit comprises an adder connected to the first differential amplifier for receiving, at a first input port, a second signal representative of the voltage at output from the DC/DC converter and, at a second input port, a third signal representative of a voltage at input into the DC/DC converter (I), and wherein said, wherein the adder is structured to operate a sum of the second and third signal and generate the first signal as a function of the sum of the second and third signal, as taught by Hawkes to improve transient operation of the system.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhen CN 105099149 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) and further in view of Liang US 2020/0127565.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhen as modified teaches (Figure 1 of AAPA) the optical amplification apparatus.
Zhen does not teach wherein the DC/DC converter comprises an inductor connected upstream of the first commutator, wherein the inductor is structured for storing current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the opening configuration.
Liang teaches (Figure 4) wherein the DC/DC converter comprises an inductor (L1) connected upstream of the first commutator (M1), wherein the inductor is structured for storing current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration (M1 closed) and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the opening configuration (M1 open). (For example: Par. 31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include wherein the DC/DC converter comprises an inductor connected upstream of the first commutator, wherein the inductor is structured for storing current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the opening configuration, as taught by Liang to provide power to the level of output to the load.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhen teaches (Figure 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a second commutator connected downstream of the first commutator, wherein the second commutator is structured for allowing a current passage towards said optical amplification system when the first commutator is in the opening configuration and for blocking a current return towards the first commutator when the first commutator is in the closing configuration, wherein the second commutator is selected in the group: classic diodes, Schottky diodes, MOSFET transistors.
Liang teaches (Figure 4) wherein the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4) comprises a second commutator (D1) connected downstream of the first commutator (M1), wherein the second commutator (D1) is structured for allowing a current passage towards said system (load) when the first commutator (M1) is in the opening configuration and for blocking a current return towards (D1 not conducting) the first commutator when the first commutator is in the closing configuration, wherein the second commutator is selected in the group: classic diodes (D1), Schottky diodes, MOSFET transistors. (For example: Par. 31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a second commutator connected downstream of the first commutator, wherein the second commutator is structured for allowing a current passage towards said optical amplification system when the first commutator is in the opening configuration and for blocking a current return towards the first commutator when the first commutator is in the closing configuration, wherein the second commutator is selected in the group: classic diodes, Schottky diodes, MOSFET transistors, as taught by Liang to provide power to the level of output to the load.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a second commutator connected downstream of the first commutator and an accumulator connected downstream of the second commutator, wherein the accumulator is structured for storing current when the first commutator is in the opening configuration and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration, wherein the accumulator is a capacitor.
Liang teaches (Figure 4) wherein the DC/DC converter (Fig. 4) comprises a second commutator (D1) connected downstream of the first commutator (M1) and an accumulator (Cout) connected downstream of the second commutator, wherein the accumulator is structured for storing current when the first commutator (M1) is in the opening configuration (M1 open) and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration (M1 closed), wherein the accumulator is a capacitor (Cout). (For example: Par. 31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a second commutator connected downstream of the first commutator and an accumulator connected downstream of the second commutator, wherein the accumulator is structured for storing current when the first commutator is in the opening configuration and for supplying current when the first commutator is in the closing configuration, wherein the accumulator is a capacitor, as taught by Liang to provide power to the level of output to the load.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhen teaches (Figures 3-4) the system.
Zhen does not teach an equalizing filter connected upstream of the DC/DC converter for levelling a current at input into the DC/DC converter and wherein the equalizing filter is selected in the group: capacitors, low-pass filters.
Liang teaches (Figure 4) an equalizing filter (Cin) connected upstream of the DC/DC converter (at fig. 4) for levelling a current at input into the DC/DC converter and wherein the equalizing filter is selected in the group: capacitors (Cin), low-pass filters. (For example: Par. 31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Zhen to include an equalizing filter connected upstream of the DC/DC converter for levelling a current at input into the DC/DC converter and wherein the equalizing filter is selected in the group: capacitors, low-pass filters, as taught by Liang to provide power to the level of output to the load.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838