DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, 19, and 29 are amended. Claims 1-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 19, and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 16, 18-20, 22-23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2022/0303969), Hwang hereinafter, in view of Wang (US 2021/0385023), further in view of Baldemair et al. (US 2019/0253198).
Re. Claim 1. Hwang teaches a method of wireless communication (Hwang, ¶0015: In one embodiment, a method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication is provided.), comprising:
transmitting, by the first UE, first sidelink control information over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, ¶0148: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH.); and
transmitting, by the first UE over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, ¶0148: In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH.),
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.),
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a plurality of reverse-link grants for a respective plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the first UE; wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block; and the second sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a plurality of reverse-link grants for a respective plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the first UE (Wang, ¶0045: The source device 120 allocates 210 resources to the plurality of destination devices 130 for feedback transmission associated with the reception. … In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.);
the second sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block (Wang, ¶0045: In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be transmitted in sidelink control information (SCI). In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Neither Hwang nor Wang explicitly teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block.
However, in the related art, Baldemair teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block (Baldemair, ¶0035: Generally, a scheduling assignment may be scheduled and/or configured for feedback signaling in a configured or scheduled transmission timing structure, and/or a corresponding message or report. Accordingly, feedback signaling may be expected/scheduled for a transmission or signaling indicated by the scheduling assignment, e.g. a downlink or sidelink transmission, e.g., pertaining to an associated acknowledgement signaling process. ¶0036: A total scheduling assignment indication may represent a total number of scheduling assignments scheduled or configured for (the same) feedback signaling. ¶0039: A scheduling assignment indication may indicate a counter value or number of scheduling assignments. ¶0047: Feedback signaling may be considered a form or control signaling, e.g. uplink or sidelink control signaling, like UCI (Uplink Control Information) signaling or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang with the feedback size indication and scheduling assignment indication of Baldemair. The resulting invention would provide redundancy for detecting an error in the scheduling assignment (Baldemair, ¶0042).
Re. Claim 2, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 1.
Hwang further teaches wherein transmitting the DMRS comprises transmitting the DMRS on the PSSCH after a first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 4, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 2.
Hwang further teaches wherein transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
rate matching a first portion of the second sidelink control information from a beginning of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]);
returning back to a start of the first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]); and
rate matching a second portion of the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at the start of the first time period up to the DMRS (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 5, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 4.
Hwang further teaches wherein transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
transmitting, during the first time period, the second portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]); and
transmitting, during the second time period, the first portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 5, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 4.
Hwang further teaches wherein transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
transmitting, during the first time period, the second portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]); and
transmitting, during the second time period, the first portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 8, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 1.
Hwang further teaches selecting, by the first UE, a first rate matching rule in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data (Hwang, Fig. 12, ¶0147: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. Herein, the PSSCH may not include data (e.g., MAC PDU).),
wherein the first rate matching rule comprises rate matching a portion of the second sidelink control information in a first time period at a beginning of the PSSCH and before a start of the DMRS (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.);
Re. Claim 9, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein the second sidelink control information further comprises at least one of: a respective reverse-link grant identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of reverse- link grants; a respective user identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of UEs;
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein the second sidelink control information further comprises at least one of:
a respective reverse-link grant identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of reverse-link grants; a respective user identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of UEs (Wang, ¶0088: In the embodiments where specific resources are allocated for all the destination devices 130, the allocated resources may be indicated to the destination devices 130 by indices of the destination devices and a location of a resource allocated to a reference destination device 130. More specifically, the plurality of destination devices 130 are assigned with unique indices in a sequence, respectively. … The source device 120 may indicate a location of a resource of the allocated resources specific to a reference destination device 130 among the plurality of destination devices 130.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 10, Hwang teaches a method of wireless communication (Hwang, ¶0015: In one embodiment, a method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication is provided.), comprising:
transmitting, by the first UE, first sidelink control information over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH.); and
transmitting, by the first UE, over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH.):
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.); and
second sidelink control information configured to provide information related to third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: In step S1230, the transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1240, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. … For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information.]); and
the third sidelink control information In step S1230, the transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1240, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. … That is, in steps S1230 and S1240, the PSCCH and the PSSCH may be transmitted for data transmission. For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information.]).
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a plurality reverse-link grants for a plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the first UE; wherein the second sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block; and the third sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a plurality reverse-link grants for a plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the first UE (Wang, ¶0045: The source device 120 allocates 210 resources to the plurality of destination devices 130 for feedback transmission associated with the reception. … In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.); and
the third sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block (Wang, ¶0045: In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be transmitted in sidelink control information (SCI). In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Neither Hwang nor Wang explicitly teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block.
However, in the related art, Baldemair teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block (Baldemair, ¶0035: Generally, a scheduling assignment may be scheduled and/or configured for feedback signaling in a configured or scheduled transmission timing structure, and/or a corresponding message or report. Accordingly, feedback signaling may be expected/scheduled for a transmission or signaling indicated by the scheduling assignment, e.g. a downlink or sidelink transmission, e.g., pertaining to an associated acknowledgement signaling process. ¶0036: A total scheduling assignment indication may represent a total number of scheduling assignments scheduled or configured for (the same) feedback signaling. ¶0039: A scheduling assignment indication may indicate a counter value or number of scheduling assignments. ¶0047: Feedback signaling may be considered a form or control signaling, e.g. uplink or sidelink control signaling, like UCI (Uplink Control Information) signaling or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang with the feedback size indication and scheduling assignment indication of Baldemair. The resulting invention would provide redundancy for detecting an error in the scheduling assignment (Baldemair, ¶0042).
Re. Claim 11, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
Hwang further teaches wherein transmitting the DMRS comprises transmitting the DMRS on the PSSCH after a first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 16, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
Hwang further teaches wherein the second sidelink control information comprises at least one of:
a block size of the third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: In step S1230, the transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1240, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. … For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information. In reserving the resources for the SCI to be transmitted at S1230 and S1240, the block size of the 2nd SCI transmitted at S1240 is implicitly included.]); or
Re. Claim 18, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
Hwang further teaches wherein the third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: In step S1230, the transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1240, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. Herein, the PSSCH may include data ( e.g., MAC PDU).)
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein the third sidelink control information further comprises UE identifiers for each of the plurality of UEs corresponding to each of the respective reverse-link grants.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein sidelink control information further comprises UE identifiers for each of the plurality of UEs corresponding to each of the respective reverse-link grants (Wang, ¶0045: In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be transmitted in sidelink control information (SCI). In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI. ¶0088: In the embodiments where specific resources are allocated for all the destination devices 130, the allocated resources may be indicated to the destination devices 130 by indices of the destination devices and a location of a resource allocated to a reference destination device 130. More specifically, the plurality of destination devices 130 are assigned with unique indices in a sequence, respectively. … The source device 120 may indicate a location of a resource of the allocated resources specific to a reference destination device 130 among the plurality of destination devices 130.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 19, Hwang teaches a user equipment (UE) (Hwang, ¶0016: In one embodiment, a first device configured to perform wireless communication is provided.), comprising:
means for transmitting first sidelink control information over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH.); and
means for transmitting, over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH.),
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.),
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach means for determining a plurality of reverse-link grants for a respective plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the user equipment; wherein the second sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block;, the second sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches means for determining a plurality of reverse-link grants for a respective plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the user equipment (Wang, ¶0045: The source device 120 allocates 210 resources to the plurality of destination devices 130 for feedback transmission associated with the reception. … In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.); and
the second sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the first UE in the block (Wang, ¶0045: In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be transmitted in sidelink control information (SCI). In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Neither Hwang nor Wang explicitly teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block.
However, in the related art, Baldemair teaches wherein the first sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block (Baldemair, ¶0035: Generally, a scheduling assignment may be scheduled and/or configured for feedback signaling in a configured or scheduled transmission timing structure, and/or a corresponding message or report. Accordingly, feedback signaling may be expected/scheduled for a transmission or signaling indicated by the scheduling assignment, e.g. a downlink or sidelink transmission, e.g., pertaining to an associated acknowledgement signaling process. ¶0036: A total scheduling assignment indication may represent a total number of scheduling assignments scheduled or configured for (the same) feedback signaling. ¶0039: A scheduling assignment indication may indicate a counter value or number of scheduling assignments. ¶0047: Feedback signaling may be considered a form or control signaling, e.g. uplink or sidelink control signaling, like UCI (Uplink Control Information) signaling or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang with the feedback size indication and scheduling assignment indication of Baldemair. The resulting invention would provide redundancy for detecting an error in the scheduling assignment (Baldemair, ¶0042).
Re. Claim 20, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 19.
Hwang further teaches wherein the means for transmitting the DMRS comprises: means for transmitting the DMRS on the PSSCH after a first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 22, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 20.
Hwang further teaches wherein the means for transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
means for rate matching a first portion of the second sidelink control information from a beginning of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]);
means for returning back to a start of the first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.
[For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]); and
means for rate matching a second portion of the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at the start of the first time period up to the DMRS (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 23, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 22.
Hwang further teaches wherein the means for transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
means for transmitting, during the first time period, the second portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]); and
means for transmitting, during the second time period, the first portion of the second sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Re. Claim 26, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 19.
Hwang further teaches means for selecting, by the user equipment, a first rate matching rule in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data (Hwang, Fig. 12, ¶0147: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. Herein, the PSSCH may not include data (e.g., MAC PDU).),
wherein the first rate matching rule comprises rate matching a portion of the second sidelink control information in a first time period at a beginning of the PSSCH and before a start of the DMRS (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.);
Re. Claim 27, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 19.
Yet, neither Hwang nor Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein the second sidelink control information further comprises at least one of: a respective reverse-link grant identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of reverse- link grants; a respective user identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of UEs
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein the second sidelink control information further comprises at least one of:
a respective reverse-link grant identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of reverse- link grants; a respective user identifier corresponding to each of the plurality of UEs (Wang, ¶0088: In the embodiments where specific resources are allocated for all the destination devices 130, the allocated resources may be indicated to the destination devices 130 by indices of the destination devices and a location of a resource allocated to a reference destination device 130. More specifically, the plurality of destination devices 130 are assigned with unique indices in a sequence, respectively. … The source device 120 may indicate a location of a resource of the allocated resources specific to a reference destination device 130 among the plurality of destination devices 130. ¶0088: In the embodiments where specific resources are allocated for all the destination devices 130, the allocated resources may be indicated to the destination devices 130 by indices of the destination devices and a location of a resource allocated to a reference destination device 130. More specifically, the plurality of destination devices 130 are assigned with unique indices in a sequence, respectively. … The source device 120 may indicate a location of a resource of the allocated resources specific to a reference destination device 130 among the plurality of destination devices 130.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 28, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 19.
Hwang further teaches means for identifying, by the user equipment, a size of the second sidelink control information in the first sidelink control information (Hwang, 0127: For example, the first SCI may include scheduling information of the second SCI. [The size of the second SCI is implicitly given by the scheduling information of the PSSCH.]).
Re. Claim 29, Hwang teaches a user equipment (UE) (Hwang, ¶0016: In one embodiment, a first device configured to perform wireless communication is provided.), comprising:
means for transmitting first sidelink control information over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, a transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH.); and
means for transmitting over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0148: In step S1220, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH.):
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be rate-matched on a resource related to the first PSSCH. … For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH.);
second sidelink control information configured to provide information related to third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: In step S1230, the transmitting UE may transmit a 1st SCI through a PSCCH. In step S1240, the transmitting UE may transmit a 2nd SCI through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH. … For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information.]).
Yet, Hwang does not explicitly teach means for determining a plurality reverse-link grants for a plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the user equipment; wherein the second sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block; and the third sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the UE in the block.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches means for determining a plurality reverse-link grants for a plurality of UEs to transmit sidelink data to the user equipment (Wang, ¶0045: The source device 120 allocates 210 resources to the plurality of destination devices 130 for feedback transmission associated with the reception. … In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.);
the third sidelink control information comprising the plurality of reverse-link grants for the respective plurality of UEs to transmit the sidelink data to the UE in the block (Wang, ¶0045: In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be transmitted in sidelink control information (SCI). In some embodiments, the resource allocation for feedback transmission may be indicated to the destination devices 130 together with resource allocation for data transmission, for example, in the SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and device for transmitting SCI in NR V2X of Hwang with the resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication of Wang. The resulting invention would provide a solution of resource allocation for feedback in groupcast communication (Wang, ¶0003).
Neither Hwang nor Wang explicitly teaches wherein the second sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block.
However, in the related art, Baldemair teaches wherein the second sidelink control information comprises information identifying a quantity of the plurality of reverse-link grants in a block (Baldemair, ¶0035: Generally, a scheduling assignment may be scheduled and/or configured for feedback signaling in a configured or scheduled transmission timing structure, and/or a corresponding message or report. Accordingly, feedback signaling may be expected/scheduled for a transmission or signaling indicated by the scheduling assignment, e.g. a downlink or sidelink transmission, e.g., pertaining to an associated acknowledgement signaling process. ¶0036: A total scheduling assignment indication may represent a total number of scheduling assignments scheduled or configured for (the same) feedback signaling. ¶0039: A scheduling assignment indication may indicate a counter value or number of scheduling assignments. ¶0047: Feedback signaling may be considered a form or control signaling, e.g. uplink or sidelink control signaling, like UCI (Uplink Control Information) signaling or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang with the feedback size indication and scheduling assignment indication of Baldemair. The resulting invention would provide redundancy for detecting an error in the scheduling assignment (Baldemair, ¶0042).
Re. Claim 30, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 29.
Hwang further teaches wherein the means for transmitting the DMRS comprises:
means for transmitting the DMRS on the PSSCH after a first time period (Hwang, ¶0176: For example, the second SCI transmitted through the first PSSCH may be mapped from N-th symbol to a last symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and then mapped from 2nd symbol to (N-1)-th symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and a specific value may be mapped to 1st symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH, and the symbol on the resource related to the first PSSCH may be a symbol related to automatic gain control (AGC), and the N may be a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. For example, the N-th symbol may be a symbol to which 1st DMRS is mapped on the resource related to the first PSSCH. [For clarity, since N is greater than or equal to 3, there exist at least two symbols preceding the DMRS. These at least 2 symbols correspond to the first time period after which the claimed DMRS is transmitted.]).
Claims 3, 7, 12-13, 21, 25, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemeir as applied to claims 1-2, 10, 19-20, and 29, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0312401), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 2.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises: rate matching the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at a start of the first time period, beginning before a start of the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches wherein transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises:
rate matching the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at a start of the first time period, beginning before a start of the DMRS (Zhang, Fig. 3; ¶0052: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the starting position, including: determining RE 31 of the DMRS symbol which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on the RE 32 of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on a subcarrier same as that of the first second stage SCI symbol, determining another RE 33 which is adjacent to the RE of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE of the DMRS symbol to configure a second stage SCI symbol; and configuring two second stage SCI symbols sequentially on the two Res which are adjacent to the REs of the DMRS symbol according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0055).
Re. Claim 7, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 1.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches transmitting the DMRS comprises transmitting the DMRS at a beginning of a first symbol on the PSSCH; and transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches transmitting the DMRS comprises transmitting the DMRS at a beginning of a first symbol on the PSSCH (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.); and
transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
Re. Claim 12, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair teaches in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data: rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS; and rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH, beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information and continuing after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data: rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.); and
rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.),
beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information and continuing after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
Re. Claim 13, Hwang in view of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang teaches claim 12.
Hwang further teaches wherein the second sidelink control information comprises a length of the third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information. The size of the third SCI is implicitly given by the scheduling information of the PSSCH.]), and
information indicating how to parse the block in the third sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶¶0113-0117: Herein, for example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of the information described below to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI. … Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) information,).
Re. Claim 21¸ Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 20.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein the means for transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises: means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at a start of the first time period, beginning before a start of the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a first resource element after the PSCCH at a start of the first time period, beginning before a start of the DMRS (Zhang, Fig. 3; ¶0052: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the starting position, including: determining RE 31 of the DMRS symbol which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on the RE 32 of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on a subcarrier same as that of the first second stage SCI symbol, determining another RE 33 which is adjacent to the RE of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE of the DMRS symbol to configure a second stage SCI symbol; and configuring two second stage SCI symbols sequentially on the two Res which are adjacent to the REs of the DMRS symbol according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0055).
Re. Claim 25, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair claim 19,
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein: the means for transmitting the DMRS comprises means for transmitting the DMRS at a beginning of a first symbol on the PSSCH; and the means for transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches the means for transmitting the DMRS comprises means for transmitting the DMRS at a beginning of a first symbol on the PSSCH (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.); and
the means for transmitting the second sidelink control information comprises means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0055).
Re. Claim 31, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 29.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair teaches means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data; and means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH, beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information and continuing after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in response to the PSSCH not comprising user data (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.); and
means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.),
beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information and continuing after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information (Zhang, ¶0073: It can be seen from FIG. 6 that, as shown by the arrows, the second stage SCI symbols can be sequentially configured in each horizontal direction (time domain) until the configuration of the second stage SCI symbol is completed, since there is no DMRS on the spaced subcarriers, three second stage SCI symbols can be configured on the spaced subcarriers, or until the current two columns are filled.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
Re. Claim 32, Hwang in view of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang teaches claim 31.
Hwang further teaches wherein the second sidelink control information comprises a length of the third sidelink control information (Hwang, Fig. 12, 0149: For example, resource(s) used by the transmitting UE to transmit the PSCCH and the PSSCH in steps S1230 and S1240 may be reserved by the PSCCH and the PSSCH transmitted in steps S1210 and S1220. [For clarity, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1220 corresponds to the claimed second sidelink control information, the 2nd SCI transmitted in step S1240 corresponds to the claimed third sidelink control information. The size of the third SCI is implicitly given by the scheduling information of the PSSCH.]), and
information indicating how to parse the block in the third sidelink control information (Hwang, ¶¶0113-0117: Herein, for example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of the information described below to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI. … Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) information,).
Claims 6 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair as applied to claims 1-2 and 19-20, further in view of Peng et al. (US 2022/0271892), Peng hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 2.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches transmitting, by the first UE, user data over the PSSCH during the first time period; and rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period.
However, in the related art, Peng teaches transmitting, by the first UE, user data over the PSSCH during the first time period (Peng, Fig. 3, ¶0114: Mapping of data on the PSSCH starts from a symbol at which a first DMRS of the PSSCH is located, and rate-matching is performed on a location of the second SCI.); and
rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period (Peng, Fig. 3, ¶0114: Mapping of data on the PSSCH starts from a symbol at which a first DMRS of the PSSCH is located, and rate-matching is performed on a location of the second SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the information transmission method and terminal of Peng. The resulting invention would improve PSSCH demodulation performance and system capacity (Peng, ¶0145).
Re. Claim 24, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 20.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches means for transmitting, by the user equipment, user data over the PSSCH during the first time period; and means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period.
However, in the related art, Peng teaches means for transmitting, by the user equipment, user data over the PSSCH during the first time period (Peng, Fig. 3, ¶0114: Mapping of data on the PSSCH starts from a symbol at which a first DMRS of the PSSCH is located, and rate-matching is performed on a location of the second SCI.); and
means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in a second time period following the first time period (Peng, Fig. 3, ¶0114: Mapping of data on the PSSCH starts from a symbol at which a first DMRS of the PSSCH is located, and rate-matching is performed on a location of the second SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the information transmission method and terminal of Peng. The resulting invention would improve PSSCH demodulation performance and system capacity (Peng, ¶0145).
Claims 14-15 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair as applied to claims 10 and 29, further in view of Zhang and Lin (US 2022/0052822).
Re. Claim 14, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair teaches in response to the PSSCH comprising user data: rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS; rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH, beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information; and including the user data after the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches in response to the PSSCH comprising user data:
rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI;);
rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082-¶0083: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the DMRS symbol, configuring second stage SCI symbols on REs of spaced subcarriers sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on RE 81 (91) of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the starting position of the second stage SCI symbol, configuring the second stage SCI symbols sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol; and determining another RE which is adjacent to the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol, and configuring the second stage SCI symbols on an OFDM symbol same as that of the another RE according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol. It can be understood that the difference between the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 lies in whether the left side is configured first or the right side is configured first. As the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, the starting position are the same, which is A1 position.),
beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082-¶0083: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the DMRS symbol, configuring second stage SCI symbols on REs of spaced subcarriers sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on RE 81 (91) of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the starting position of the second stage SCI symbol, configuring the second stage SCI symbols sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol; and determining another RE which is adjacent to the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol, and configuring the second stage SCI symbols on an OFDM symbol same as that of the another RE according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol. It can be understood that the difference between the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 lies in whether the left side is configured first or the right side is configured first. As the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, the starting position are the same, which is A1 position.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
None of Hwang, Wang, Baldemair, or Zhang explicitly teaches including the user data after the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Lin teaches including the user data after the DMRS (Lin, ¶0099: It should be noted that the SL data (e.g. being transmitted from the first terminal 12 to the second terminal 13 shown in FIG. 6) may include user data of the user plane, and may also include signaling or messages of the control plane.).
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Re. Claim 15, Hwang in view of Wang, Baldemair, Zhang, and Lin teaches claim 14.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches continuing the rate matching of the third sidelink control information after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information before the user data over the PSSCH.
However, Zhang teaches continuing the rate matching of the third sidelink control information after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information For example, the second stage SCI symbol may be mapped to a symbol to the left of the first DMRS symbol, then mapped to a symbol to the right of the first DMRS symbol, then mapped to a symbol to the left of the second DMRS symbol, and then mapped to a symbol to the right of the first DMRS symbol, and so on, until all second stage SCI symbols are mapped.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
None of Hwang, Wang, Baldemair, or Zhang explicitly teaches before the user data
However, in the related art, Lin teaches before the user data In an embodiment of the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, REs on DMRS symbols not mapping the second-stage SCI are reused for mapping PSSCH data transport block.)
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Re. Claim 33, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 29.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in response to the PSSCH comprising user data; means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH, beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information; and means for including the user data after the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS in response to the PSSCH comprising user data (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI;);
means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from a first resource element at a start of the PSSCH (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082-¶0083: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the DMRS symbol, configuring second stage SCI symbols on REs of spaced subcarriers sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on RE 81 (91) of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the starting position of the second stage SCI symbol, configuring the second stage SCI symbols sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol; and determining another RE which is adjacent to the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol, and configuring the second stage SCI symbols on an OFDM symbol same as that of the another RE according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol. It can be understood that the difference between the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 lies in whether the left side is configured first or the right side is configured first. As the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, the starting position are the same, which is A1 position.),
beginning before the DMRS and the second sidelink control information (Zhang, Fig 8; ¶0082-¶0083: Specifically, the UE configures the second stage SCI based on the position information, including: determining the RE of DMRS symbol 80 (90) which is adjacent to the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the DMRS symbol, configuring second stage SCI symbols on REs of spaced subcarriers sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers; configuring a first second stage SCI symbol on RE 81 (91) of the starting position of the second stage SCI; on an OFDM symbol same as the OFDM symbol of the starting position of the second stage SCI symbol, configuring the second stage SCI symbols sequentially according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol; and determining another RE which is adjacent to the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol and has a subcarrier same as that of the RE 80 (90) of the DMRS symbol, and configuring the second stage SCI symbols on an OFDM symbol same as that of the another RE according to an ascending or descending order of subcarriers of the DMRS symbol. It can be understood that the difference between the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 lies in whether the left side is configured first or the right side is configured first. As the two position configurations shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, the starting position are the same, which is A1 position.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
None of Hwang, Wang, Baldemair, or Zhang explicitly teaches means for including the user data after the DMRS.
However, in the related art, Lin teaches means for including the user data after the DMRS (Lin, ¶0099: It should be noted that the SL data (e.g. being transmitted from the first terminal 12 to the second terminal 13 shown in FIG. 6) may include user data of the user plane, and may also include signaling or messages of the control plane.).
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Re. Claim 34, Hwang in view of Wang, Baldemair, Zhang, and Lin teaches claim 33.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches means for continuing the rate matching of the third sidelink control information after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information before the user data over the PSSCH.
However, in the related art, Zhang teaches means for continuing the rate matching of the third sidelink control information after the DMRS and the second sidelink control information over the PSSCH (Zhang, ¶0067: For example, the second stage SCI symbol may be mapped to a symbol to the left of the first DMRS symbol, then mapped to a symbol to the right of the first DMRS symbol, then mapped to a symbol to the left of the second DMRS symbol, and then mapped to a symbol to the right of the first DMRS symbol, and so on, until all second stage SCI symbols are mapped.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang, Baldemair and Lin with the methods for sending and receiving second stage SCI of Zhang. The resulting invention would improve channel estimation accuracy and decoding accuracy and reduce the bit error rate (Zhang, ¶0074).
None of Hwang, Wang, or Zhang explicitly teaches before the user data
However, in the related art, Lin teaches In an embodiment of the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, REs on DMRS symbols not mapping the second-stage SCI are reused for mapping PSSCH data transport block.)
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang, Baldemair, and Zhang with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Claims 17 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair as applied to claims 10 and 29, further in view of Lin (US 2022/0052822).
Re. Claim 17, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 10.
None of Hwang, Wang or Blademair explicitly teaches transmitting the DMRS as a first symbol on the PSSCH; rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS; and rate matching the third sidelink control information from an end of the second sidelink control information
However, in the related art, Lin teaches transmitting over the PSSCH further comprises: transmitting the DMRS as a first symbol on the PSSCH (Lin, Figs. 1-5, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).);
rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Lin, Figs. 1-5, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).); and
rate matching the third sidelink control information from an end of the second sidelink control information (Lin, Fig. 1, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).).
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Re. Claim 35, Hwang in view of Wang and Baldemair teaches claim 29.
None of Hwang, Wang, or Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein the means for transmitting over the PSSCH further comprises: means for transmitting the DMRS as a first symbol on the PSSCH; means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS; and means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from an end of the second sidelink control information.
However, in the related art, Lin teaches wherein the means for transmitting over the PSSCH further comprises:
means for transmitting the DMRS as a first symbol on the PSSCH (Lin, Figs. 1-5, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).);
means for rate matching the second sidelink control information from a start of the DMRS (Lin, Figs. 1-5, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).); and
means for rate matching the third sidelink control information from an end of the second sidelink control information (Lin, Fig. 1, ¶0081: To minimize delay latency of decoding the 2nd stage SCI, RE mapping of the 2nd stage SCI over the DMRS symbols (103's) should be performed in frequency direction first, then time direction (from low frequency and time index first).).
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hwang as modified by the teaching of Wang and Baldemair with the data transmission method and device of Lin. The resulting combination would adapt the total amount of radio resources which are sufficient and required to carry SCI without wasting sidelink resources (Lin, ¶0127).
Conclusion
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417