DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-22 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The remarks of 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art doesn't explicitly teach or disclose all of the elements of amended claim 1, in particular the following claim elements
a base body configured to approximate a shape of a natural limb and form a cavity for at least partially receiving and covering a prosthetic component, wherein the base body at least partially blocks the view of the prosthesis
a connection part fastened to the base body with a form fit or substance fit within an opening in the base body and configured to function as part of the base body, said connection part having an inner side facing the prosthetic component and an outer side facing away from the prosthetic component
an electrical conductor for connecting the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element, wherein the electrical conductor is arranged in the connection part and permits the at least one first electrical connection element on the inner side of the base body to interact with the at least one second electrical connection element on the outer side of the base body
Regarding the first bullet point – Applicant argues that Bomkamp doesn't disclose this claim language. However, Bomkamp is not relied upon to teach the base body. Nasdal discloses a base body 1 that meets of all these limitations as described in detail below.
Regarding the second bullet point - Applicant argues that Bomkamp disclose this claim language. However, Bomkamp is not relied upon to teach a connection part. Nasdal discloses a connection part 185 as described in detail below.
Regarding the third bullet point – Fig. 36 of Bomkamp discloses electronic cables or wires 55, as first described in paragraph 0034. This connects the battery to 417 and external electrical charging apparatus connecting them and allowing them to interact.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection part of Nasdal with at least one first electrical connection element, at least a second electrical element, and an electrical conductor, as taught by Bomkamp, in order to further protect the prosthetic component from issues like abrasion, dust, and dirt while still allowing access to the electronics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 9, 12, 14-16, 18, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp)
Regarding claim 1, Nasdal discloses a prosthetic cosmetic cover, comprising:
a base body (Fig. 5, 10) configured to approximate a shape of a natural limb (see Fig. 5, see also Paragraph 0007 (i.e. ¶0007) of attached English translation, “including the outer contour that corresponds to that of a healthy leg”) and form a cavity for at least partially receiving and covering a prosthetic component (Fig. 6, ¶0011, “cavity designed to accommodate a prosthetic component), wherein the base body comprises an inner side configured for facing the prosthetic component and an outer side configured for facing away from the prosthetic component (see Fig. 5, wherein 10 has an inner and outer side), wherein the base body provides protection for and visually hides at least a portion of the prosthetic component within the cavity (¶0011, “effective mechanical protection for the prosthetic component located in the cavity”), and
a connection part (Fig. 13, 185) fastened to the base body with a form fit or substance fit within an opening in the base body (Fig. 13, wherein the connection shown corresponds to a form fit connection) and configured to function as part of the base body (see Fig. 13, wherein 185 functions as part of 10), said connection part having an inner side facing the prosthetic component and an outer side facing away from the prosthetic component (see Fig. 13)
Nasdal doesn't explicitly teach or disclose at least one first electrical connection element arranged on the inner side of the base body or at least one second electrical connection element arranged on the outer side of the base body, wherein the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element are electrically connected to one another, or an electrical conductor for connecting the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element, wherein the electrical conductor is arranged in the connection part and permits the at least one first electrical connection element on the inner side of the base body to interact with the at least one second electrical connection element on the outer side of the base body,
Bomkamp discloses at least one first electrical connection element (Fig. 36, wherein charging port 417 corresponds to at least one first electrical connection element (¶0050, 160) arranged on the inner side of the base body (¶0050, wherein 160 is arranged inside 410), at least one second electrical connection element (Fig. 11, 417) arranged on the outer side of the base body (¶0050, wherein “external charging apparatus” corresponds to a second electrical connection element arranged on the outer side of the base body”), wherein the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element are electrically connected to one another (¶0050, “external electrical charging source is plugged into the charging port”)
an electrical conductor (Fig. 1, 55) for connecting the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element, wherein the electrical conductor is arranged in the connection part (Fig. 36, wherein 55 is arranged in 410) and permits the at least one first electrical connection element on the inner side of the base body to interact with the at least one second electrical connection element on the outer side of the base body (Fig. 36, wherein wiring 55 draws power from battery 455 and therefore allows 417 and 420 to interact with each other)
wherein the at least one first electrical connection element (¶0050, wherein 417 may be a socket) and the at least one second electrical connection element are designed as a socket and/or plug (¶0050, wherein 420 can be plugged into 417 and therefore corresponds to a plug)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector part of Nasdal with at least one first electrical connection and at least one second electrical connection and a conductor, as taught by Bomkamp, in order to further protect the prosthetic component from issues like abrasion, dust, and dirt while still allowing access to the electronics.
Regarding claim 2, Nasdal discloses a prosthetic cosmetic cover (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose an electrical conductor.
Bomkamp discloses an electrical conductor (Fig. 36, wherein wires are shown, see also ¶0034) for connecting the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element (Fig. 36, wherein wiring 55 draws power from battery 455 and therefore allows 417 and 420 to interact with each other)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prosthetic cosmetic cover of Nasdal with an electrical conductor, as taught by Schafer, in order to operatively connect the cover to the electronic functions of the prosthesis.
Regarding claim 8, Nasdal discloses wherein the connection part (Fig. 13, 185) is formed from a material that is more rigid than a remaining material of the base body (See Fig. 13, wherein 185 is more rigid than the remaining material of 10 due to its solid structure)
Regarding claim 9, Nasdal discloses a connection part (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose at least one first electrical connection element and/or at least one second electrical connection element.
Bomkamp discloses wherein the at least one first electrical connection element is arranged on the inner side of the connection part (Fig. 36, wherein 417 is arranged on the inside of 410) and/or the at least one second electrical connection element is arranged on the outer side of the connection part
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection part of Nasdal with a second electrical connection part arranged on the outer side, as taught by Bomkamp, in order to in order to electrically connect the cover to the functions of the prosthesis.
Regarding claim 12, Nasdal further discloses wherein the connection part (Fig. 13, 185) is fixed to the base body in a form-fitting or material-bonded manner (¶0052-0053, wherein the magnetic connection into a corresponding opening corresponds to a form-fitting connection)
Regarding claim 14, Nasdal discloses wherein the connection part (Fig. 13, 185) has at least one fastening element (Fig. 13, 187, see also ¶0053) for fixing to the prosthetic component (¶0053, wherein 185 connected to 2 via 1).
Regarding claim 15, Nasdal discloses wherein the connection part is removably fastened to the base body (¶0053, wherein a magnetic connection corresponds to “removably fastened”)
Regarding claim 16, Nasdal further discloses wherein the connection part (Fig. 13, 184) is arranged on the inner side of the base body (Fig. 13, wherein 185 is arranged on both the inner and outer side as shown)
Regarding claim 18, Nasdal discloses a system (Fig. 6) comprising:
a prosthetic component (Fig. 6, 2); and
a prosthetic cosmetic cover according to claim1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the prosthetic cosmetic cover is attached to the prosthetic component in an applied state (see Fig. 13, wherein cover 1 is attached to prosthetic component 2)
Regarding claim 21, Nasdal further discloses wherein the prosthetic cosmetic cover (Fig. 11, 1) is detachably arranged on the prosthetic component (Fig. 11, wherein fastening elements 40 arrange the cover detachably on the prosthetic component 2)
Regarding claim 22, Nasdal discloses a connection part (Fig. 6, 14) configured as part of a multi-part base body of a prosthetic cosmetic cover (Fig. 13, wherein 185 and 1 together form a multi-part base body)
Claim(s) 4, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp), as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2010/0318194 (Puchhammer)
Regarding claim 4, Nasdal discloses a prosthetic cosmetic cover (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose at least one first electrical connection element or at least one second electrical connection element. Bomkamp discloses at least one first electrical connection element and at least one second connection element (see rejection of claim 1 above) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a magnet securing the electrical connection elements
Puchhammer discloses a prosthesis (Fig. 1, 10) comprising a magnet (Fig. 1, 50) securing the at least one first electrical connection element (Fig. 1, 42, ¶0037) and the at least one second electrical connection element (Fig. 1, 28, see also ¶037, wherein 50 connects 42 and 50)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one first electrical connection element and the at least one second electrical connection element of Nasdal in view of Bomkamp with a magnetic connection, as taught by Puchhammer, in order to easily and removably place the electrical connection elements.
Regarding claim 19, Nasdal discloses a prosthetic component (see rejection of claim 18) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a data processing system, and/or a power supply system, or a connection element). Bomkamp doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a data processing system and/or a power supply system arranged in the prosthetic component.
Puchhammer discloses a data processing system and/or a power supply system (Fig. 1, 12, ¶0031) arranged in the prosthetic component (Fig. 1, wherein 12 is arranged in prosthetic component 10); and at least one connection element (Fig. 1, 28) connected to the data procession system and/or the power supply system (Fig. 1, wherein 28 is connected to 12, ¶0031)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prosthetic component of Nasdal in view of Bomkamp with a power supply system and at least one connection element, as taught by Puchhammer, in order to conveniently power and charge the prosthetic component without the need to remove the cover.
Regarding claim 20, Nasdal discloses a system (see rejection of claim 19) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose an electrical interface. Bomkamp but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose an electrical interface.
Puchhammer discloses an electrical interface (Fig. 1, 26) arranged on the data processing system and/or power supply system (Fig. 1, wherein 26 is arranged on 12); and connected to the at least one connection element (Fig. 1, wherein 26 is connected to 28), wherein the electrical interface is connected to the at least one connection element (Fig. 1, wherein 26 is connected to 28) and is electrically conductive (¶0031, wherein “electrical wire” corresponds to electrically conductive)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nasdal in view of Bomkamp with an electrical interface and at least one connection element, as taught by Puchhammer, in order to conveniently charge the prosthetic component.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp), as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 9,956,093 (Harris)
Regarding claim 5, Nasdal discloses a base body (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose that is formed in multiple parts. Bomkamp doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a base body formed in multiple parts.
Harris discloses a prosthetic limb cover (Fig. 1) comprising a base body formed in multiple parts (Fig. 1, wherein back shell 1 and front shell 3 together correspond to a base body)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base body of Nasdal in view of Bomkamp to be formed in multiple parts, as taught by Harris, in order to make the cover easier for the user to don and doff.
Regarding claim 13, Nasdal discloses a connection part (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose that it is formed in multiple parts. Bomkamp doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connection part formed in multiple parts.
Harris discloses a prosthetic limb cover comprising a connection part formed in multiple parts (Fig. 1, wherein 11 and 13 together correspond to a connection part)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection part of Nasdal in in view of Bomkamp to be formed in multiple parts, as taught by Harris, in order to easily don and doff the cover.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp), as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 4,007,496 (Glabiszewski)
Regarding claim 6, Nasdal discloses a base body (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose that is formed at least partially from foam. Bomkamp doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a base body formed at least partially from foam.
Glabiszewski discloses a cosmetic cover (Fig. 1) comprising a base body (Fig. 1, 1) formed at least partially from foam (Col. 2, Line 49-50, “foam rubber cosmetic cover 1”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base body of Nasdal in view of Bomkamp to be formed at least partially from foam, as taught by Glabiszewski, in order to resiliently protect the prosthetic component from damage.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp), as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0306060 (Pappe)
Regarding claim 11, Nasdal discloses a connection part (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a first electrical connection element. Bomkamp disclose at least one first electrical connection element (see rejection of claim 1) doesn't explicitly teach or disclose that it is attached to a connection part in a form-fitting manner.
Pappe discloses a prosthetic system (Fig. 1) comprising the at least one first electrical connection element (Fig. 1,100) attached to the connection part (Fig. 1, 11) in a form-fitting manner (¶0024, wherein 100 is connected via form-fit elements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection part and the at least one electrical connection element of Nasdal in in view of Bomkamp with an form-fit connection, as taught by Pappe, in order to more easily and robustly charge and update the prosthetic component.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018127117 (Nasdal) in view of US 2015/0351941 (Bomkamp), as applied to claims above, and further in view of EP 2,664,302 (Schaefer)
Regarding claim 17, Nasdal discloses a base body (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose an electrical conductor. Bomkamp discloses an electrical conductor (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose that it is arranged in a duct in the base body
Schafer discloses wherein the electrical conductor (Fig. 8, 13) is arranged in a duct (Fig. 8, opening 14, ¶0037 in the base body (Fig. 8, 3)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base body of Nasal in view of Bomkamp with an electrical conductor arranged in a duct, as taught by Schafer, in order to protect and maintain a robust electrical connection.
Conclusion
Included below is relevant prior art that was considered but not relied upon for this office action:
US 2019/0298551 – discloses an upper and lower frame with electrical cable routing
/MAXIMILIAN TOBIAS SPENCER/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774