DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 21-40 in the response filed on 12/19/2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 21-40 are still pending in the application and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 8, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the objections of claim 31 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 21-28, 35, and 37 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection was made in view of Kim et al. (KR 101524217 B1) in view of Kalatoor (US 20080023006 A1) to meet the newly added limitations of independent claims 21 and 37.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 29-34, 36, and 28-40 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot due to a new ground of rejection in independent claim 21 and 37. However, please see arguments below in regards to the combinations of Kim et al. (KR 101524217 B1), Shin (KR 101497280 B1), and Isham et al. (US 20190111288 A1).
Applicant argues “None of cited references, alone or in combination, contemplate the benefit associated with these distinguishing features - namely, that the face shield is resistant to fogging during use, and that the face shield does not interfere with glasses worn by the wearer, while providing effective pathogen protection (See, e.g., paragraphs [0028] and [0034] of the present application as filed)”; however, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Kim et al., the apparatus comprises an air flow switching respiratory surface that prevents moisture from being formed, prevent air stagnation or vortex formation, and to induce smooth air flow, which assists in the prevention of fogging (paragraph 0003-0006). Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., face shield does not interfere with glasses worn and providing effective pathogen protection) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues “None of the cited references, alone or in combination, teaches, or event hints at, a face shield having a configuration which, when supported by a mask about the wearer's face, provides a mechanical pathogen barrier between the environment and the face of wearer from under the chin up to above the top of the wearer's head, while open in its upper part. As a result, the configuration does not interfere with the wearing' breathing or corrective or safety glasses for example (see for example paragraph [0034] of the description as filed)”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In the claim language, the structural limitation of the face shield having a configuration where it is “open in its upper part” was not presented. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the configuration does not interfere with corrective or safety glasses worn and providing a mechanical pathogen barrier between the environment and the face of wearer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues “None of the cited references teaches this configuration for any reason, let alone to achieve the above- outlined results. Indeed, each of the cited references appears to, in some manner, teach away or make entirely incompatible teachings, such that combination of the prior art documents would not appear possible or fruitful to the skilled person. Certainly, there is no suggestion or signpost in any of the cited references, whether alone or in combination, to provide a protection device in accordance with amended claim 21. Even if one of skill in the art had been minded to attempt to combine or modify the cited references, they anyway could not have arrived at the invention of described in the present application as filed and recited in the claims without the exercise of inventive effort”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. At the outset, we are not persuaded by Applicant’s argument because to teach away, a reference must actually criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed solution. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (prior art does not teach away from claimed subject matter merely by disclosing a different solution to a similar problem unless the prior art also criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed). In this case, there was no passages in Kim et al. that does so and Applicant does not point to any passage in Kim et al. that in any way criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages use of masks made of silicone, as taught by Shin. As such, we find that the disclosure of Kim et al. does not teach away the use of silicone masks as from Applicant’s claimed invention. Further, there was no passages in Kim et al. that does so and Applicant does not point to any passage in Kim et al. that in any way criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages face shields made of transparent sheet material that is a polycarbonate, as taught by Isham et al. As such, we find that the disclosure of Kim et al. does not teach away the use of face shields made of transparent sheet material that is a polycarbonate as from Applicant’s claimed invention.
Furthermore, the Office is maintaining the previous references used: Shin (KR 101497280 B1), and Isham et al. (US 20190111288 A1).
Claim Objections
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: “a mask configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with a face of a wearer through a circumferential edge surface thereof, maintained about a head of the wearer by straps and to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer, and having a passageway” should be “a mask configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with a face of a wearer through a circumferential edge surface thereof, maintained about a head of the wearer by straps, . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein, in combination, the front surface, the bottom surface and the flared geometry from the bottom edge of the front surface up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield surrounds the wearer’s face, below and on each side of the wearer's face, at distance to the wearer's face allowing unobstructed wearing in absence of fogging” should be “wherein, in combination, the front surface, the bottom surface and the flared geometry from the bottom edge of the front surface up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield is configured to surround face[[,]] at a distance to the wearer’s face allowing unobstructed wearing in absence of fogging” in lines 16-19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 objected to because of the following informalities: “sterilisation” should be “sterilization” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein a ring (is air-tightly mounted to the mask and air-tightly connects the mask with the filtration cartridge” should be “wherein a ring [[(]] is air-tightly mounted to the mask and air-tightly connects the mask with the filtration cartridge” in lines 1-2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 objected to because of the following informalities: “the face shield and the filtration cartridge both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask providing the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment” should be “the face shield and the filtration cartridge both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask providing the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment,” in lines 3-6 Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 objected to because of the following informalities: “airtightly” should be “air-tightly” in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 objected to because of the following informalities: “supported by a mask configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with the wearer's face through a circumferential edge surface thereof, maintained about a head of the wearer by straps and to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer, at a distance from the face of the wearer” should be “supported by a mask configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with the wearer's face through a circumferential edge surface thereof, maintained about a head of the wearer by straps, and to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer[[,]] at a distance from the face of the wearer” in lines 12-15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein, in combination, the front surface, the bottom surface and the flared geometry from the bottom edge of the front surface up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield surrounds the wearer's face, below and on each side of the wearer's face, and at a distance to the wearer's face allowing unobstructed wearing in absence of fogging” should be “wherein, in combination, the front surface, the bottom surface and the flared geometry from the bottom edge of the front surface up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield is configured to surround . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21-33, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 101524217 B1) in view of Kalatoor (US 20080023006 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Kim et al. discloses a wearable personal protection (100 – figure 1, an airflow switching gas mask: paragraph 0019), comprising: a mask (140 – figure 1, a breathing cover that comprises the exhaust unit [141 – figure 2] and exhaust valve [V3 – figure 3]: paragraph 0019/0026-0027) configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with a face of a wearer (figure 1, the mask [140] shields the wearer’s mouth and nose and has an intake valve [V2] to allow air to go into the mask [140]: paragraph 0026/0051) through a circumferential edge surface (F – see annotated figure 1, the circumferential edge surface of the mask) thereof, to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer (see annotated figure 1, the circumferential edge surface of the mask [F] encloses around and protects the user’s mouth and nose: paragraph 0026), and having a passageway (V2 – figure 2, an intake valve of the mask [140] that provides a passageway for air to travel through: paragraph 0027); a face shield (110/120/130 – figure 1, a frontal portion [110], a face shield [120], and frame [130]: paragraph 0019-0021) configured to be air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is connected to a passageway of the mask [V2] via intake valve of the face shield [V1] when all the parts of the wearable personal protection [100] are assembled as seen in figure 2: paragraph 0028/0051), thus supported by the mask (140) at a distance from the face of the wearer (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the face shield [110/120/130] is at a distance away from the user’s face; it is also supported by the mask [140] via the exhaust unit [141 – figure 2]: paragraph 0028), the face shield (110/120/130) comprising a front surface (A – see annotated figure 1, a front surface of the face shield), the front surface (A) being a curved surface (see annotated figure 1, the front surface of the face shield [A] is curved) having backwardly curved lateral sides (B – see annotated figure 1, as a result from the front surface being a curved surface, there are curved lateral sides) and a flared geometry from a bottom edge of the front surface (C – see annotated figure 1, bottom edge of the front surface) up to a top edge of the front surface (D – see annotated figure 1, top edge of the front surface) (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the bottom edge of the front surface [C] begins narrow and becomes wider going towards the top edge of the front surface [D]); and a bottom surface (E – see annotated figure 1, a bottom surface) extending backward from the bottom edge of the front surface (C) (see annotated figure 1, there is a bottom surface [E] that is extending towards the user’s face from the bottom edge of the front surface [C]); and a filtration cartridge (V1 – figure 2, an intake valve of the face shield: paragraph 0031) connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) through an opening of the face shield (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the filtration cartridge [V1] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air and is then discharged via exhaust valve [V3 – figure 3]: paragraph 0027/0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) being positioned between the mask (140) and the filtration cartridge (V1) (see annotated figure 1, the face shield [110/120/130] is between the mask [140] and filtration cartridge [V1]) such that the passageway of the mask forms a continuous air-tight channel (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridges [V1] via the filtration cartridge ring [150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape {150}, a seal member {151}, a stopper {152}, and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape {160}: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037]; the filtration cartridge [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides a continuous air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2); wherein, in combination, the front surface (A), the bottom surface (E) and the flared geometry (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the bottom edge of the front surface [C] begins narrow and becomes wider going towards the top edge of the front surface [D]) from the bottom edge of the front surface (C) up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield (D) surrounds the wearer's face, below and on each side of the wearer's face (figure 1, the face shield [110/120/130] surrounds the wearer’s face: paragraph 0001) at a distance to the wearer's face allowing unobstructed wearing in absence of fogging (figure 1, there is a distance between the user’s face and the face shield [110/120/130] to allow air flow and prevent moisture from being formed, prevent air stagnation or vortex formation, and to induce smooth air flow, which assists in the prevention of fogging; additionally, the face shield [110/120/130] is also formed of a light-transmitting synthetic resin where water droplet condensation is prevented: paragraph 0003-0006/0022).
Annotated figure 1: face shield and mask of Kim et al.
However, Kim et al. fails to disclose a mask maintained about a head of the wearer by straps.
Kalatoor teaches an analogous mask (24 – figure 4, a respirator that includes a mask body [20 – figure 4] and a nose foam [12 – figure 4]: paragraph 0057) maintained about a head of the wearer by straps (26 – figure 4, harness such as straps: paragraph 0058) (the straps [26] are sized to pass behind the wearer's head to assist in providing a snug fit of the mask [24] to the wearer's face: paragraph 0058).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the mask of Kim et al. with straps as taught by Kalatoor in order to provide a wearable personal protection that has an improved mask to provide a snug fit of the mask to the user’s face (paragraph 0058, Kalatoor).
Regarding claim 22, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein the circumferential edge surface of the mask (F) encloses the mouth and the nose of the wearer (see annotated figure 1, the circumferential edge surface of the mask [F] encloses around and protects the user’s mouth and nose: paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 23, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036).
Regarding claim 24, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is connected with the mask (140) by one of snapping, screwing and press-fitting (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted; therefore, the filtration cartridge [V1] is connected with the mask [140] via screwing: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036).
Regarding claim 25, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the ring (150/151/152/160) and the mask (140) are dismountable for sterilization purpose (figure 2, as seen in this figure, it can be seen that the parts of the wearable personal protection [100] can be assembled via the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160]; therefore, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] are capable of disassembling for sterilization purposes: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036).
Regarding claim 26, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), the filtration cartridge (V1) is connected with the mask (140) by one of snapping, screwing and press-fitting (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted; therefore, the filtration cartridge [V1] is connected with the mask [140] via screwing: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the ring (150/151/152/160) and the mask (140) are dismountable for sterilisation purpose (figure 2, as seen in this figure, it can be seen that the parts of the wearable personal protection [100] can be assembled via the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160]; therefore, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] are capable of disassembling for sterilization purposes: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036).
Regarding claim 27, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036) and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051).
Regarding claim 28, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), the filtration cartridge (V1) is connected with the mask (140) by one of snapping, screwing and press-fitting (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted; therefore, the filtration cartridge [V1] is connected with the mask [140] via screwing: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051).
Regarding claim 29, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2).
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is at least ¾ inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 30, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is connected with the mask by one of snapping, screwing and press-fitting (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted; therefore, the filtration cartridge [V1] is connected with the mask [140] via screwing: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2).
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is at least ¾ inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 31, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051, the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2), wherein the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2).
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment, wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of 2 inches between the face of the wearer and an outside environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is at least ¾ inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be 2 inches between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is “for example” of about 2 inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 32, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2).
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is at least ¾ inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 33, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein a ring (150/151/152/160 – figure 2, an external connector that is formed in a cylindrical shape [150], a seal member [151], a stopper [152], and inner connecting body that is formed in a cylindrical shape [160]: paragraph 0029/0032/0036-0037) is air-tightly mounted to the mask (140) (figure 1/figure 2, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]; the male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160] and mask [140] when all the pieces are assembled as seen in figure 1: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0037) and air-tightly connects the mask (140) with the filtration cartridge (V1) (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted. This allows for the airtight connection between the ring [150/151/152/160], mask [140], and cartridge [V1] when all the parts are assembled from figure 2: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), and the filtration cartridge (V1) is connected with the mask (140) by one of snapping, screwing and press-fitting (figure 1/figure 2/figure 3, the cartridge-connecting ring [150/151/152/160] is mounted onto the mask [140] via male thread on outer circumferential surface of the outer connector [150 – figure 2] corresponding to the female thread portion formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cartridge-connecting ring [160] and a sealing member [151] that is inserted along the circumference of the exhaust hole [120b]. The male screw portion and female screw portion are screwed in the state in which the sealing member [151] is inserted; therefore, the filtration cartridge [V1] is connected with the mask [140] via screwing: paragraph 0023/0032/0034-0036), the filtration cartridge (V1) is air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) (figure 2/figure 3/figure 4, the external connector [150 – figure 2] comprises a purification tank that purifies air as it goes into the face shield [110/120/130] and has an intake valve [V1 – figure 1]; once the purified air is in the face shield [110/120/130], it travels within the face shield [110/120/130, as seen in figure 3 with the arrows] and the passageway of the mask [V2] intakes that air: paragraph 0030/0036/0051), the face shield (110/120/130) and the filtration cartridge (V1) both air-tightly connected to the passageway of the mask (V2) providing the air-tight channel between the face of the wearer and an outside environment (figure 1/figure 2, the face shield [110/120/130] is airtightly connected to the passageway of the mask [V2] and the filtration cartridge [V1] via the ring [150/151/152/160]; the filtration cartridges [V1] and passageway of the mask [V2] provides an air-tight channel that allows air to travel through when all the parts are assembled from figure 2).
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the air-tight channel having a diameter of at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the air-tight channel to be at least ¾ inch between the face of the wearer and an outside environment to efficiently discharge the wearer’s exhalation (paragraph 0026/0027, Kim et al.), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter of the air-tight channel is at least ¾ inches (written specification: paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 35, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21. Kim et al. further discloses wherein the face shield (110/120/130) is made of a transparent material (the face shield [120] is made of a light transmitting synthetic resin that forms a wide field of view: paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 37, Kim et al. discloses a face shield (110/120/130 – figure 1, a frontal portion [110], a face shield [120], and frame [130]: paragraph 0019-0021) comprising: a front surface (A – see annotated figure 1, a front surface of the face shield), the front surface (A) being a curved surface (see annotated figure 1, the front surface of the face shield [A] is curved) having backwardly curved lateral sides (B – see annotated figure 1, as a result from the front surface being a curved surface, there are curved lateral sides) and a flared geometry from a bottom edge of the front surface (C – see annotated figure 1, bottom edge of the front surface) up to a top edge of the front surface (D – see annotated figure 1, top edge of the front surface) (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the bottom edge of the front surface [C] begins narrow and becomes wider going towards the top edge of the front surface [D]); and a bottom surface (E – see annotated figure 1, a bottom surface) extending backward from the bottom edge of the front surface (C) (see annotated figure 1, there is a bottom surface [E] that is extending towards the user’s face from the bottom edge of the front surface [C]); wherein, in combination, the front surface (A), the bottom surface (E) and the flared geometry (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the bottom edge of the front surface [C] begins narrow and becomes wider going towards the top edge of the front surface [D]) from the bottom edge of the front surface (C) up to the top edge of the front surface of the face shield (D) surrounds the wearer's face, below and on each side of the wearer's face at a distance (figure 1, the face shield [110/120/130] surrounds the wearer’s face: paragraph 0001) to the wearer's face allowing unobstructed wearing in absence of fogging (figure 1, there is a distance between the user’s face and the face shield [110/120/130] to allow air flow and prevent moisture from being formed, prevent air stagnation or vortex formation, and to induce smooth air flow, which assists in the prevention of fogging; additionally, the face shield [110/120/130] is also formed of a light-transmitting synthetic resin where water droplet condensation is prevented: paragraph 0003-0006/0022); the face shield (110/120/130) being configured to be worn in one of: alone, connected at a distance from the face of the wearer; supported by a mask (140 – figure 1, a breathing cover that comprises the exhaust unit [141 – figure 2] and exhaust valve [V3 – figure 3]: paragraph 0019/0026-0027) configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with the wearer's face (figure 1, the mask [140] shields the wearer’s mouth and nose and has an intake valve [V2] to allow air to go into the mask [140]: paragraph 0026/0051) through a circumferential edge surface (F – see annotated figure 1, the circumferential edge surface of the mask) thereof, to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer (see annotated figure 1, the circumferential edge surface of the mask [F] encloses around and protects the user’s mouth and nose: paragraph 0026) at a distance from the face of the wearer (see annotated figure 1/figure 3, the face shield [110/120/130] is at a distance away from the user’s face; it is also supported by the mask [140] via the exhaust unit [141 – figure 2]: paragraph 0028); and between a mask configured to be air-tightly secured in contact with the wearer's face through a circumferential edge surface thereof, maintained about a head of the wearer by straps and to air-tightly enclose a mouth and a nose of the wearer, and a filtration cartridge configured to be connected to a passageway of the mask through an opening of the face shield.
However, Kim et al. fails to disclose a mask maintained about a head of the wearer by straps.
Kalatoor teaches an analogous mask (24 – figure 4, a respirator that includes a mask body [20 – figure 4] and a nose foam [12 – figure 4]: paragraph 0057) maintained about a head of the wearer by straps (26 – figure 4, harness such as straps: paragraph 0058) (the straps [26] are sized to pass behind the wearer's head to assist in providing a snug fit of the mask [24] to the wearer's face: paragraph 0058).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the mask of Kim et al. with straps as taught by Kalatoor in order to provide a wearable personal protection that has an improved mask to provide a snug fit of the mask to the user’s face (paragraph 0058, Kalatoor).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 101524217 B1) in view of Kalatoor (US 20080023006 A1) and in further view of Shin (KR 101497280 B1).
Regarding claim 34, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21.
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to disclose wherein the mask is in silicon.
Shin teaches wherein an analogous mask (10 – figure 1, a mask body: paragraph 0021) is in silicon (the mask body [10] is made of silicon material: paragraph 0021).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mask of Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor to be made of silicon as taught by Shin in order to provide a wearable personal protection that has an improved mask that is easily foldable during storage (paragraph 0005-0006).
Claims 36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 101524217 B1) in view of Kalatoor (US 20080023006 A1) and in further view of Isham et al. (US 20190111288 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 21.
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to disclose wherein the face shield is made in a sheet of transparent material of a thickness in a range between 0.005" and 0.010".
Isham et al. teaches wherein an analogous face shield (18 – figure 1, a face shield: paragraph 0038) is made in a sheet of transparent material (the face shield [18] is made of polycarbonate, which is a transparent material: paragraph 0038) of a thickness of approximately 1mm or less (the face shield [18] is less than 1mm or less, which falls within the range claimed: paragraph 0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the filing date to have modified the thickness of the face shield from 1mm (0.03in) or less to 0.005in – 0.010in to allow the face shield to be flexible to accommodate different head sizes/shapes (paragraph 0038, Isham et al.). Additionally, the claimed value lies within the range disclosed by the prior art (please see MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”). Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the thickness of the face shield is within the claimed ranges (written specification: paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 38, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 37.
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to disclose wherein the face shield is cut in a sheet of a transparent material.
Isham et al. teaches wherein an analogous face shield (18 – figure 1, a face shield that is a sheetlike structure: paragraph 0038) is cut in a sheet of a transparent material (the face shield [18] is made of polycarbonate, which is a transparent material: paragraph 0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the face shield of Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor to be made of a transparent material as taught by Isham et al. in order to provide a wearable personal protection that has an improved face shield to allow users to easily see through the face shield (paragraph 0038, Isham et al.).
Regarding claim 39, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 37.
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to disclose wherein the face shield is cut in a sheet of a transparent material of a thickness in a range between 0.005" and 0.010.
Isham et al. teaches wherein an analogous face shield (18 – figure 1, a face shield that is a sheetlike structure: paragraph 0038) is cut in a sheet of a transparent material (the face shield [18] is made of polycarbonate, which is a transparent material: paragraph 0038) of a thickness of approximately 1mm or less (the face shield [18] is less than 1mm or less, which falls within the range claimed: paragraph 0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the filing date to have modified the thickness of the face shield from 1mm (0.03in) or less to 0.005in – 0.010in to allow the face shield to be flexible to accommodate different head sizes/shapes (paragraph 0038, Isham et al.). Additionally, the claimed value lies within the range disclosed by the prior art (please see MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”). Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the thickness of the face shield is within the claimed ranges (written specification: paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 40, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor discloses the invention as discussed in claim 37.
However, Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor fails to disclose wherein the face shield is cut in a polycarbonate.
Isham et al. teaches wherein an analogous face shield (18 – figure 1, a face shield that is a sheetlike structure: paragraph 0038) is cut in a polycarbonate (the face shield [18] is made of polycarbonate, which is a transparent material: paragraph 0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the face shield of Kim et al. in view of Kalatoor to be made of a polycarbonate as taught by Isham et al. in order to provide a wearable personal protection that has an improved face shield to allow users to easily see through the face shield (paragraph 0038, Isham et al.).
Conclusion
/ANDREW JUN-WAI MOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786