DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batholomew (US 2009/0050199 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 & 9-21, Batholomew teaches a composition comprising an inorganic salt such as lithium triflate comprising a metal ion having a charge of at least +1 and an anion having a charge of at least -1; and a complex with a net charge of zero and comprising a first species including one or more positively charged polymerizable monomer such as [2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethylammonium (i.e methacryloxy(2-hydroxyl)propyltrimethylammonium) and a second species including one or more negatively charged polymerizable monomer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propane sulfonate ([0027]-[0035] & [0054]).
Claims 1-12, 14-16, 19, 21 & 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Savoie (US 2017/0275399 A1).
Regarding claims 1-12, 14-16, 19, 21 & 23-24, Savoie teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a Li metal as an anode and a metal oxide as a cathode ([0249]-[0252]) with a separator comprising a composition including an inorganic salt such as a lithium halide (i.e which includes lithium fluoride) comprising a metal ion having a charge of at least +1 and an anion having a charge of at least -1; and an anion-coordinating polymer comprising a first species including one or more positively charged polymerizable monomer (i.e monomer with anion-coordinating unit) and a second species including one or more negatively charged polymerizable monomer (i.e monomer with cation-coordinating unit), wherein a net charge of the anion-coordinating polymer can be 0 (i.e when u=v such that the number of cation coordination units and anion coordination units are equal) ([0083] & [0112]-[0148]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-21 & 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaplov (Recent Advances in Innovative Polymer Electrolytes based on Poly(ionic liquid)s).
Regarding claims 1-4, 9-21 & 23-24, Shaplov teaches a solid polymer electrolyte (SPE) composition usable for a separator for a lithium battery, wherein the SPE composition comprises an inorganic salt such as LiTFSI comprising a metal ion having a charge of at least +1 and an anion having a charge of at least -1; and a poly(ionic liquid) (Section 4.1.1). Shaplov further teaches that the bulk ionic conductivity of poly(ionic liquid)s can be improved by copolymerizing a positively charged polymerizable monomer and a negatively charged polymerizable monomer (Section 2.6 which cites Ohno et.al [79] as well as Shaplov [18]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record, Bartholomew (as cited in the above rejection), does not fairly teach or suggest a composition comprising a plurality LiF particles present with a complex comprising poly(diallyldiemthylammonium 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propane sulfonate) having a net charge of 0.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727