Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on August 11th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and claims 16-17 are pending in the application. Claims 6-15 and claims 18-20 have been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-5 and claims 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Itano (US 20060138399 A1) and Loeffler (WO 2019086374 A1) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visintin (WO 2006113621 A2), and in further view of Kitazawa (JP H11181494 A).
With regard to claims 1-5 and claims 16-17, Visintin discloses a composition for removing bulk and ion-implanted photoresist and/or post-etch residue material from densely patterned microelectronic devices (see Abstract). Visintin further discloses the composition includes a co-solvent, a chelating agent, optionally an ion pairing reagent, and optionally a surfactant (see Abstract). Visintin further discloses 0.01-99.5wt% of co-solvent and 0.01-20.0wt% of chelating agent (see [0035]). Visintin further teaches methanol, ethanol, and isopropanol as suitable co-solvents (see [0040]). Visintin further teaches methanol is particularly preferred (see [0040]). Visintin further teaches ammonia as a suitable chelating agent (see [0042]). Visintin further discloses a method of removing bulk and ion- implanted photoresist and/or post-etch residue material from a microelectronic device having said material thereon, said method comprising contacting the microelectronic device with a removal composition for sufficient time to at least partially remove said material from the microelectronic device (see [0014]). Visintin further teaches the disclosed compositions are highly efficacious for the removal of bulk and ion-implanted photoresist and/or post-etch residue from the surface of densely patterned microelectronic devices, while maintaining the integrity of the underlying silicon-containing layer(s) (see [0024]). Visintin further discloses “densely patterned” to be defined as corresponding to one having sub 100 nm features, preferably less than 50 nm features, e.g., 32 nm (see [0026]).
However, while Visintin discloses a chelating agent and ammonia as a chelating agent, Visintin fails to disclose ammonia as a preferred component.
Kitazawa discloses a detergent composition having excellent cleanability of a semiconductor substrate or a semiconductor element stuck with solid fine particles and oily stain, an analogous art (see Kitazawa Abstract). Kitazawa further discloses ammonia as a suitable component for the purpose of maintaining an alkaline pH as such a composition is more effective at removing fine particles (see [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ammonia of Kitazawa in the composition of Visintin for the purpose of maintaining an alkaline pH as such a composition is more effective at removing fine particles, as disclosed by Kitazawa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and claims 16-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the Office has both asserted that (1) water is an optional component in Itano, and (2) the compositions of Itano and Loeffler both include water. These statements are conflicting and undermine the rejections. And moreover, it has not been established that the combination of Itano and Loeffler would work upon removal of water, at least because the Office has relied upon the presence of water for the combination of the cited references. Applicant further argues that Itano expressly teaches that "water is required...without water, silicon nitride (SiN) cannot be selectively removed." In other words, Itano teaches away from removing water. Thus, when considered as a whole, Itano fails to teach or suggest water present in a maximum amount as claimed, despite its broad range provided for water. Itano is further deficient at least for this reason.
As Itano is no longer relied upon as prior art, Applicant’s arguments regarding Itano are moot.
Applicant further argues that claim 1 has been amended to include “optionally water”. As stated above, Visintin discloses methanol, water, and DMSO as particularly preferred co-solvents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the methanol of Visintin as Visintin discloses methanol, water, and DMSO as particularly preferred co-solvents. Therefore, the composition of Visintin may include water, but it is not necessary for the function of the composition. Water is optional.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761