DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/21/2026 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 9-20 and 30-35 are presented for examination. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-20 and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US Pub. 20190253214 A1).
For claims 9 and 30, Liu discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [0189], comprising:
receiving, from a first transmission-reception point, configuration information for a sounding reference signal resource set that configures an uplink sounding reference signal for uplink tracking of one or more of frequency shifts or time shifts associated with uplink transmissions between the UE and one or more transmission-reception points (Fig. 8, RRC signaling delivers SRS configuration. “Receiving” and “configuration information”, the network may use the SRS for uplink power control, time tracking" utilized for frequency hopping/shifting) [0003, 0058-61, 0124, 0157];
configuring at least a first sounding reference signal resource set for uplink tracking based at least in part on the configuration information (step 3910, configures SRS resource set via RRC, UE configures itself based on the received SRS configuration. The purpose ("for uplink tracking") is established) [0202, 0189, 0056-59]; and
transmitting a first sounding reference signal based at least in part on the first sounding reference signal resource set (step 3930) [0202, 0070-73, 0053-56].
Claim 30 differs from claim 9 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art further discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor, memory coupled with the processor [0173, 0188, 0196]; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to [0173, 0188, 0196]: All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 10 and 31, Liu discloses the configuration information includes one or more of a time domain configuration, a frequency domain configuration, a spatial domain configuration, a power configuration, a periodicity configuration, an activation command configuration, a transmission configuration, or any combinations thereof, for the first sounding reference signal resource set (an SRS configuration covers time, frequency, and spatial domain configurations. SRS configuration also includes power control and the existence of periodic/aperiodic types.) [0055, 0108, 0160-166].
For claim 11, Liu discloses the time domain configuration provides at least two time domain resources for transmission of the first sounding reference signal within the first sounding reference signal resource set, (multiple time-domain resources within a set (Figs. 7-8, e.g., hopping instances, symbols for two or more timing)) [0126, 0003, 0162-167] or
provides at least two sounding reference signal resource sets in two or more consecutive uplink slots (Figs. 7-8, multiple SRS resource sets (for different antenna pairs) in consecutive slots) [0126, 0003, 0162-167].
For claims 12 and 34, Liu discloses the time domain configuration provides at least two time domain resources for transmission of the first sounding reference signal with a two or a four symbol time domain gap (Fig. 11) [0054-56, 0107], the time domain configuration provides separate configurations for a low-band frequency range and a high-band frequency range (Fig. 11) [0054-56, 0107], or any combinations thereof.
For claim 13, Liu discloses the frequency domain configuration indicates that a same fixed subcarrier comb pattern is used across a plurality of time domain resources for transmitting the first sounding reference signal (Fig. 12) [0126, 0151-153].
For claim 14, Liu discloses the spatial domain configuration indicates that the first sounding reference signal is transmitted using a single antenna port (Fig. 9) [0102-103, 0124, 0138].
For claim 15, Liu discloses the power configuration indicates that the first sounding reference signal is transmitted at a same transmit power across all sounding reference signal resources of the first sounding reference signal resource set (Figs. 7-8, the same frequency carrying the SRS signals has the same power, since they are transported using the same frequency) [0126, 0151-153].
For claim 16, Liu discloses the periodicity configuration indicates a fixed periodicity for a plurality of transmissions of the first sounding reference signal (Figs. 11-12, frequency hopping vs no frequency hopping, note one is sequential, another one is not sequential) [0126, 0151-153].
For claim 17, Liu discloses the first sounding reference signal is transmitted aperiodically in response to a trigger received at the UE (Figs. 11-12, frequency hopping vs no frequency hopping, note one is sequential, another one is not sequential) [0126, 0151-153].
For claim 18, Liu discloses the activation command configuration provides an activation, deactivation, or triggering of the first sounding reference signal resource set based on a sounding reference signal activation command [0126 0078].
For claim 19, Liu discloses receiving, from the first transmission-reception point, control information that provides an indication that the first uplink reference signal is to be transmitted from the UE to one or more transmission-reception points [0202].
For claims 20 and 35, Liu discloses transmitting, prior to the receiving the configuration information, a capability indication to the first transmission-reception point that indicates a UE capability to use a sounding reference signal for uplink tracking (Fig. 37) [0103-107, 0170].
For claim 32, Liu discloses the time domain configuration provides at least two time domain resources for transmission of the first sounding reference signal within the first sounding reference signal resource set (e.g., hopping instances, symbols)) [0126, 0003, 0162-167].
For claim 33, Liu discloses the time domain configuration provides at least two sounding reference signal resource sets in two or more consecutive uplink slots (multiple SRS resource sets (for different antenna pairs) in consecutive slots) [0126, 0003, 0162-167].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's latest filed arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the references failing to teach every element recited in the independent claims; the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments by the Applicant. Even though, the Examiner acknowledges Applicant's invention may possess some novel features, the claims are written too broad that can be read on the current cited prior art(s). Further actions must be taken to explicitly claim those novel features of the current application.
With regards to the argument for the limitation “…receiving, from a first transmission-reception point, configuration information for a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set that configures an uplink sounding reference signal for uplink tracking of one or more of frequency shifts or time shifts associated with uplink transmissions between the UE and one or more transmission-reception points.”, the Examiner asserts that Liu teaches that a UE (referred to as a "scheduled entity") receives an SRS configuration from a network, as expressly disclosed in paragraph [0006], which states that "a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration is received from a network" and that the SRS configuration is used to configure the scheduled entity's antennas for SRS operations. This functionality is further illustrated in the scheduled entity flowchart of Figure 39, where step 3910 explicitly recites "receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration from a network." Moreover, Liu explains in paragraph [0003] that an SRS is a wideband uplink reference signal transmitted by the UE that provides a measurement reference for the network to characterize the uplink channel. The network may use these SRS measurements for channel-dependent scheduling, frequency-selective resource allocation, uplink power control, time tracking, and adaptive antenna switching. This received configuration information establishes an uplink SRS specifically designed for the uplink tracking of critical network parameters, such as frequency hopping, which encompassing frequency shifts or time shifts, associated with uplink transmissions between the UE and one or more transmission-reception points. Thus, Liu teaches that the network provides SRS configuration information to the UE, and that the configured uplink SRS is employed for uplink tracking functions, including at least time tracking and channel characterization associated with uplink transmissions. Additionally, paragraph [0058, 0157] explains that specially designed SRS configurations may support frequency hopping and other uplink sounding procedures, thereby facilitating tracking of uplink channel characteristics, including frequency-related variations. Accordingly, Liu discloses receiving configuration information for an SRS resource set that configures an uplink SRS for uplink tracking of frequency hops/shifts and/or time shifts associated with uplink transmissions.
With regards to the argument for the limitation “…configuring at least a first sounding reference signal resource set for uplink tracking based at least in part on the configuration information.”, the Examiner asserts that Liu teaches the UE configures its SRS resources and antenna operation in accordance with the received configuration. Paragraph [0007] explains that the scheduled entity includes antenna circuitry configured to "configure at least four antennas of a scheduled entity based on the SRS configuration" and transmitting circuitry configured to "transmit an SRS communication according to the SRS configuration." This operation is further illustrated in Figure 39, where step 3920 recites "configuring at least four antennas of a scheduled entity based on the SRS configuration," followed by step 3930, "transmitting an SRS communication according to the SRS configuration." Furthermore, paragraph [0058] teaches that the disclosed SRS configurations are designed so that the SRS may perform functions beyond antenna switching, including simultaneously supporting uplink MIMO communications and providing exemplary UE sounding procedures for configurations with and without frequency hopping. When read together with paragraph [0003], which identifies the SRS as a measurement reference used by the network for uplink power control and time tracking, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the UE configures at least a first SRS resource set based on the received SRS configuration information for the purpose of uplink tracking. Therefore, Liu teaches configuring a first SRS resource set for uplink tracking based at least in part on the received configuration information, as claimed.
ARGUMENT DOES NOT REPLACE EVIDENCE WHERE EVIDENCE IS
NECESSARY
The arguments made by the counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. The Applicant representative’s arguments for the obvious reason to combine the implicit and explicit teaching of the cited reference(s) failed to provide factual support to sustain the ground of arguments. The mere statement of disagreement of the prior art made by the Applicant’s representative cannot be served as evidence for support. Please see the following case law for detail:
In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465,43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration.
As discussed above, it is apparent that the Applicant's cited limitations, elements, and arguments have already been disclosed by the relevant prior art(s) or were thoroughly addressed by the Examiner. Additionally, the current Office Action provides further elaboration on the explicit and implicit teachings of the aforementioned disclosed reference(s). It is important to note that any justifications and citations utilized in the preceding Office Action which were not contested by the Applicant shall be regarded as an implicit admission by the Applicant on the matter at hand.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409