DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 05/21/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, and 11-21 are pending.
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 10 are cancelled, with Claim 10 being newly cancelled.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 3 and 15-20 remain withdrawn.
Claim 21 is newly added.
Claims 1, 6-9, 11-14, and 21 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments with New Grounds for Newly Added Claim 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11-14, and 21 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haussner et al (WO 2019/063669)(IDS Reference).
Haussner teaches a composition for feeding to ruminants comprising a core and a coating surrounding said core (see entire document, for instance, claim 1). The core comprises a protein (see entire document for instance, claim 1), wherein the protein is taught as being selected from the group including soybean meal (see entire document, for instance, page 18, lines 4-5). The coating is made of a saturated fat, and specifically, hydrogenated palm oil, wherein the palm oil appears to be a free fatty acid (see entire document, for instance, claim 6). It is noted that saturated, hydrogenated palm oil would have an iodine value within the claimed range of less than 8 cg I2/g (note that instant claim 7 depends on claim 1 which asserts hydrogenated saturated palm oil falls within the scope of claim 1). The coating is taught as being present in an amount that includes 5%-30% of the total composition, wherein the protein would therefore be 95%-70% (see entire document, for instance, claim 1). Haussner further teaches that the amount of the composition in a final ruminant feed is a results effective variable with the amount predicated on the amount suitable to compensate for a lack of nutrients and essential amino acids in a ruminant diet (see entire document, for instance, page 25, lines 1-5). It is noted that the Haussner teaches heating the composition, coating the core, and then cooling the composition (see entire document, for instance, claim 13). It is noted that this is the same process that is indicated in the Instant Specification that results in the crystallization of the saturated, hydrogenated fatty acid around the protein core, therefore, the composition of the prior art is deemed to have the same crystallized hydrogenated, saturated fatty acid.
Haussner, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components and amounts that overlaps with instantly claimed ranges, does not provide a singular example that expressly articulates all of said elements to the extent that the teaching rises to the level of anticipation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to utilize the components taught in Haussner for the purposes taught by Haussner and in the amounts taught by Haussner, and thereby arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so since Haussner directly teaches that said components can be utilized and said amounts are useful. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Further, MPEP 2144.07 states “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) […] “[r]eading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.)”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 02/23/2026 that the prior art does not teach the newly claimed limitations regarding the iodine value, the coating of the soybean meal, or the crystallization around the particles of soybean meal. Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. Specifically, the prior art teaches the same process for coating the soybean meal particles, including the heating and cooling steps, wherein the composition would be coated and crystallization would occur. Further, with regard to the iodine value, it is noted that the instant specification teaches that hydrogenated saturated palm fatty acid has an iodine value of less than 8, wherein a product cannot be separated from its properties, wherein the prior art teaches hydrogenated saturated palm fatty acid, and therefore, would also have an iodine value of less than 8. It is noted that Applicant asserts that the iodine value is tied to the degree of saturation/unsaturation. It is further noted that the prior art indicates that the hydrogenated palm oil is saturated.
For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611