DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Page 23 last paragraph describes n region 126 of figure 11, but figure 11 fails to label n region 126.
Page 24 first paragraph describes n region 136 of figure 12, but figure 12 fails to label n region 136.
Claim Objections
Claims 27, 31-32, 34-35, 38-42 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 line 1 “high leakage current diode” should be “the high leakage current diode” as antecedently recited.
Claim 31 line 2 “the diffusion region” should be “a diffusion region” because there is lack of antecedent basis for such limitation.
Claim 32 line 2 “the boundary” should be “a boundary” because there is lack of antecedent basis for such limitation.
Claim 34 line 2; claim 39 line 2 “the surface” should be “a surface” because there is lack of antecedent basis for such limitation.
Claim 38 line 1 “the impurities have a concentration of a least
10
9
c
m
-
3
” should be “the one or more impurities have a concentration of at least
10
9
c
m
-
3
” as antecedently recited and to correct the spelling for “at least”.
Dependent claims are also objected for inheriting the same deficiencies in which claims they depend on.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 26-30, 43, 46 recite “high leakage current diode” and claim 33 recites “a high leakage current”, wherein the term “high” is a term of degree. Page 4-5 describes the high leakage current diode may generate any desired level of leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
, or at least 5 pA
μ
m
-
2
or at least 10 pA
μ
m
-
2
. Thus, the specification provides an objective standard regarding what constitutes as “high leakage current diode” and “high leakage current”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that the claimed high leakage current diode and high leakage current refers to a diode requiring a leakage current at or above the disclosed benchmark (e.g., at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 line 6 recites “the first region is for example a well”. Such limitation renders the claim indefinite because the intended scope of the claim is unclear as the language “for example” is not limiting the first region to be a well, but it merely recites the well can be the first region (see MPEP 2173.05(d)). For examination purposes, Examiner interprets such limitation as “the first region is a well”.
claim 30 line 2 recites “a lateral defect region embedded in the first region, for example a shallow trench isolation”. The language “for example” renders the claim indefinite because the intended scope of the claim is unclear as the language “for example” is non-limiting (see MPEP 2173.05(d)). Furthermore, it is also unclear whether the shallow trench isolation is an example of the lateral defect region or the first region. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets such limitation as “a lateral defect region embedded in the first region, wherein the lateral defect region is a shallow trench isolation”.
Claims 31, 33-37, 39-42 recite “the p-n junction”. There is lack of antecedent basis for such limitation. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets such limitation as “the p-n junction diode” as antecedently recited in claim 29 line 2.
Dependent claims are also rejected for inheriting the same deficiencies in which claims they depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentino - US 20130110895 in view of Porkolab - NPL Wet-Chemistry Surface Treatment for Dark-Current Reduction that Preserves Lateral Dimensions of Reactive Ion Etched Ga0.47In0.53As p-i-n Diode Photodetectors.
Regarding claim 26, Valentino teaches a device for generating random numbers (Valentino figure 16 illustrates a device for generating true random numbers [0171]) comprising: a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current (Valentino figure 16 illustrates analog noise source comprises a reverse biased PN junction diode, [0086] also describes an analog source of physical randomness, such as but not limited to the current across a reverse-biased PN junction such as in a diode and describes that leakage current can create a non-deterministic output signal. Accordingly, the device comprises an analog noise source comprising a reverse biased PN junction diode [i.e., a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode] to generate current, where the current across the reversed biased diode is the leakage current); and a processor connected to the circuit element, arranged to measure the leakage current and to generate random numbers based on the measured leakage current (Valentino [0125] describes a low power microcontroller connects to the analog source. In some examples, the digital portion of the circuit uses a comparator or analog to digital converter to sample the analog source, and subsequently performs various calculations on the bits based on the state of the external control circuitry. Thus, the microcontroller [i.e., a processor] connected to the analog source [i.e., the circuit element] and measure the leakage current to generate random numbers).
Valentino does not teach a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
(see claim interpretation section for BRI of a high leakage current diode). However, Porkolab teaches a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
(Porkolab, Abstract describes a reverse bias diode having a dark current density at 2 pA/
μ
m
2
, which is equivalent to 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
. In photodiode, leakage current produced by diode is referred to dark current - see specification page 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the reverse biased PN junction diode as described in Valentino with the reverse bias diode having the dark current density at 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as described in Porkolab to be the analog noise source for generating random numbers. This modification would have been obvious because Valentino [0086] describes a non-limiting example of analog source of physical randomness is a reverse bias diode, and Porkolab teaches a reverse bias diode. Thus, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, which is to generate dark current or leakage current as random source. See MPEP 2141(III) (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 44 the combined system of Valentino in view of Porkolab teaches wherein the device is arranged to generate random numbers at a rate of greater than 50 random numbers per second (Valentino [0125] describes an ADC to convert analog to digital, [0015] describes US 6369727 (hereby refer as Vincze) is incorporated herein by reference, Vincze figure 1 illustrates noise source based random number having ADC to generate output random numbers of 8 bit, wherein the ADC generates 16 bit 100,000 sample/sec (column 18 line 25-31). Thus, the device generate more than 50 random number per second).
Regarding claim 45, the combined system of Valentino in view of Porkolab teaches wherein the high leakage current diode is arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
(Porkolab, Abstract describes a reverse bias diode having a dark current density at 2 pA/
μ
m
2
).
Claim 46 recites method claim that would be practiced by the apparatus claim 26. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentino in view of (Tanabe - US 20080265258).
Regarding claim 27, Valentino teaches a device for generating random numbers (Valentino figure 16 illustrates a device for generating true random numbers [0171]) comprising: a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current (Valentino figure 16 illustrates analog noise source comprises a reverse biased PN junction diode, [0086] also describes an analog source of physical randomness, such as but not limited to the current across a reverse-biased PN junction such as in a diode and describes that leakage current can create a non-deterministic output signal. Accordingly, the device comprises an analog noise source comprising a reverse biased PN junction diode [i.e., a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode] to generate current, where the current across the reversed biased diode is the leakage current); and a processor connected to the circuit element, arranged to measure the leakage current and to generate random numbers based on the measured leakage current (Valentino [0125] describes a low power microcontroller connects to the analog source. In some examples, the digital portion of the circuit uses a comparator or analog to digital converter to sample the analog source, and subsequently performs various calculations on the bits based on the state of the external control circuitry. Thus, the microcontroller [i.e., a processor] connected to the analog source [i.e., the circuit element] and measure the leakage current to generate random numbers).
Valentino does not teach a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
(see claim interpretation section for BRI of a high leakage current diode), wherein high leakage current diode is not a photodiode or is not a photodiode not receiving incident light. However, Tanabe teaches a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
, wherein the high leakage current diode is not a photodiode or is not a photodiode not receiving incident light (Tanabe, provide a Schottky diode having leakage current density 2.31 x
10
-
3
A/
c
m
2
, which is equivalent to 23.1 pA
μ
m
-
2
, which is greater than 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
, and the diode is a Schottky diode, not a photodiode).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the reverse biased PN junction diode as described in Valentino with the Schottky diode having the leakage current density at 23.1 pA/
μ
m
2
as described in Tanabe to be the analog noise source for generating random numbers. This modification would have been obvious because Valentino [0086] describes that analog source of physical randomness is not limited to PN junction diode. Thus, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, which is to generate dark current or leakage current as random source. See MPEP 2141(III) (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 28, Valentino teaches a device for generating random numbers (Valentino figure 16 illustrates a device for generating true random numbers [0171]) comprising: a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current (Valentino figure 16 illustrates analog noise source comprises a reverse biased PN junction diode, [0086] also describes an analog source of physical randomness, such as but not limited to the current across a reverse-biased PN junction such as in a diode and describes that leakage current can create a non-deterministic output signal. Accordingly, the device comprises an analog noise source comprising a reverse biased PN junction diode [i.e., a circuit element comprising a leakage current diode] to generate current, where the current across the reversed biased diode is the leakage current); and a processor connected to the circuit element, arranged to measure the leakage current and to generate random numbers based on the measured leakage current (Valentino [0125] describes a low power microcontroller connects to the analog source. In some examples, the digital portion of the circuit uses a comparator or analog to digital converter to sample the analog source, and subsequently performs various calculations on the bits based on the state of the external control circuitry. Thus, the microcontroller [i.e., a processor] connected to the analog source [i.e., the circuit element] and measure the leakage current to generate random numbers).
Valentino does not teach a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
(see claim interpretation section for BRI of a high leakage current diode), wherein high leakage current diode is a Schottky diode. However, Tanabe teaches a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current of at least 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
, wherein the high leakage current diode is a Schottky diode (Tanabe, provide a Schottky diode having leakage current density 2.31 x
10
-
3
A/
c
m
2
, which is equivalent to 23.1 pA
μ
m
-
2
, which is greater than 2 pA
μ
m
-
2
, and the diode is a Schottky diode).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the reverse biased PN junction diode as described in Valentino with the Schottky diode having the leakage current density at 23.1 pA/
μ
m
2
as described in Tanabe to be the analog noise source for generating random numbers. This modification would have been obvious because Valentino [0086] describes that analog source of physical randomness is not limited to PN junction diode. Thus, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, which is to generate dark current or leakage current as random source. See MPEP 2141(III) (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentino in view of Porkolab as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Okura - US 20200288078.
Regarding claim 43, the combined system of Valentino in view of Porkolab teaches the device as claimed in claim 26, but the combined system does not teach the device comprises a plurality of circuit elements each comprising a high leakage current diode arranged to generate a leakage current, each connected to the processor, wherein the processor is arranged to measure the leakage current from each circuit element and to generate random numbers based on the measured leakage currents from the plurality of circuit elements. However, Okura teaches a device (Okura figure 1 device 10) comprises a plurality of circuit elements each comprising a diode, each connected to a processor (Okura figure 1 illustrates pixel part 20 having a plurality of pixel each including a photodiode [i.e., a plurality of circuit elements each comprising a diode] and each connected to a reading circuit having a plurality of processing circuits [i.e., a processor] ), wherein the processor is arranged to measure the leakage current from each circuit element and to generate random numbers based on the measured leakage currents from the plurality of circuit elements (Okura figure 1, the reading circuit measures the output of the diodes and generate digital random numbers based on the output of the array of pixels having diodes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analog noise source of the combined system of Valentino in view of Porkolab to include a plurality of diodes as described in Okura to be used to generate a plurality of noise signals for generating random numbers. This modification would have been obvious because both Okura and Valentino teaches concept of using physical phenomenon as the source to generate random number, and having a plurality of sources to generate more sources for random number generation increases the random bit generation rate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-42 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 29, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a combination of limitation, such as the high leakage current diode comprises a p-n junction diode, wherein the p-n-junction diode comprises a first region and a second region that are formed on a substrate, wherein the first region surrounds at least partially the second region, wherein either the first region is a p-region and the second region is a n-region and the substrate is a p-substrate, or the first region is an n-region, the second region is a p-region and the substrate is an n-substrate, the first region is for example a well.
Valentino - US 20130110895 teaches a system and method for generating random numbers using physical phenomenon as illustrated in figures 8 and 16, wherein [0086] describes an electronic source of true physical randomness, such as but not limited to the current across a reverse-biased PN junction such as in a transistor or diode; the output of a phototransistor, photo-resistor, photo-multiplier or other electronic apparatus that allows current to flow, voltage to increase, or resistance to change as a result of incident photons that arrive in some stochastic way; an electronic signal measured by a Geiger county or other instrumentation meant to measure radioactive decay; pixels from a CMOS, CCD, or other digital camera measured in dark conditions where the leakage of current and thermal environment can create a non-deterministic output signal. However, Valentino does not teach does not teach use of leakage current of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number and also does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Tanabe - US 20080265258 teaches concept of Schottky diode having leakage current density of 2.31 x 10^-3 A/cm^2 or 1.63 x 10^-3 A/cm^2. However, Tanabe does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Porkolab - NPL Wet-Chemistry Surface Treatment for Dark-Current Reduction that Preserves Lateral Dimensions of Reactive Ion Etched Ga0.47In0.53As p-i-n Diode Photodetectors teaches a concept of a reverse bias p-i-n diode having dark current density of at least 2 pA/cm^2. However, Porkolab does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Chan - US 20180067723 teaches a random number generator based on noise source to generate true random number generator as illustrated in figure 1, wherein the noise source includes a tunnel diode comprises a semiconductor device having a doped PN junction and configured to conduct current by quantum mechanical tunneling. However, Chan does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Ohba - US 20050180219 teaches a random number generating element utilizing a physical phenomenon, random noise, such as thermal noise in a current flowing through a Schottky diode, is digitized to generate random numbers. Ohba further teaches to generate random numbers for information protection, a generation rate of 1 Mbit/s or more is required. However, Ohba does not teach use of leakage current of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number and also does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Shiomi - US 20110198693 teaches a device having structure capable of reducing leakage current, wherein [0106] the leakage current density of a pn junction diode is 1 x 10^-4 A/cm^2 with application of the reverse bias of 600 V, thus exhibiting a low leakage current property. Therefore, Shiomi does not teach a high leakage current diode of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number and also does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Onodera - US 6195669 teaches a physical random number generator for using noise source as an entropy for generating random number, wherein the noise source includes a Zener diode that generate dark current as the source. However, Onodera does not teach a high leakage current diode of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number and also does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Cho - US 20260079673 teaches a random number generator may include a noise generator including a plurality of diodes, and configured to generate a noise signal corresponding to a leakage current of at least one diode selected from among the plurality of diodes; an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the noise signal into at least one random code; and a random code processor configured to generate a random number by processing the random code. However, Cho does not teach a high leakage current diode of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number and also does not teach or suggest the combination of limitations as described above.
Han - US 20190278567 (IDS filed on 01/23/2023) teaches a random number generation system based on image sensor as illustrated in figure 1, wherein the image sensor is composed of a pixels using a photodiode with a p-n junction structure, the photodiode is designed to operate in reverse bias. [0067] also describes the system prefer high dark noise current and [0055] describes the dark shot noise is utilized as a main source for generating a random number. Figure 2 of the PN junction diode comprising a p type region 411 and n type ion region 414 that is formed inside p type 411, and both regions are formed on the p-type substrate 410 However, Han does not teach use of leakage current of at least 2 pA/
μ
m
2
as noise source to generate random number.
Conclusion
/HUY DUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-2764