DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s submission filed 03/23/2026 has been received and entered. Claims 104, 105, 113-115, 124 and 126 have been amended. Claims 106 and 114-126 remain withdrawn as being directed to un-elected inventions. Accordingly, claims 104-105 and 107-113 are pending and under current examination.
Status of Prior Rejection/Response to Arguments
The objection to drawing is withdrawn:
Applicant’s submission of the replacement sheets of drawing obviates the current objection on record. The objection is withdrawn.
The objection to claim 104 is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 104 obviates the current objection on record. The objection is withdrawn.
The rejection to claims 104, 105, 109 and 110 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) over Kumru et al., evidenced by Aidoo et al. is withdrawn:
The rejection to claims 104, 105, 109 and 111-113 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Young is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 adds the limitation ”the formulation comprises about 0.01 ng/mL to about 1 mg/mL sodium hyaluronate”. This limitation is not taught by Kumru et al., Aidoo et al., as well as Young, therefore the amendment is effective to obviate the prior basis of the rejection. The rejection is withdrawn.
The rejection to claims 104-105 and 107-113 under 35 U.S.C. §103 over Young in view of Burke et al, as evidenced by Huberlant is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 adds the limitation ”the formulation comprises about 0.01 ng/mL to about 1 mg/mL sodium hyaluronate”. Neither of Young or Bruke et al. teach this limitation. Therefore PHOSITA would not be taught or motivated to have a viral formulation comprises about 0.01 ng/mL to about 1 mg/mL sodium hyaluronate. The amendment is effective to obviate the prior basis of the rejection. The rejection is withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are set forth as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
New Claim Objections
Claim 113 is newly objected to because of the following informalities: claim 113 recites “the formulation is a freeze-dried to form a solid”. The first “a” needs to be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 104-105, 109 and 111-112 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boye et al. (US 2020/0405744 A1, with a priority date of 06/27/2019).
Boye et al. teach compositions of rAAV particles and methods for administrating rAAV particles having enhanced transduction properties (Abstract).
Regarding claim 104, Boye et al. teach methods of delivering a cargo to an eye of a subject. In some embodiments, the method comprises administering to an eye of a subject a rAAV particle. In some embodiments, a rAAV particle comprises (a) a capsid that is admixed with hyaluronic acid (HA) and (b) a cargo (parag 0004). In some embodiments, the capsid is pre-incubated with a buffer that comprises HA. In some embodiments, a buffer comprises HA in a concentration of 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, or 1.0% weight by volume (parag 0004). Boye et al. also teach the effects of HA preincubation and co-administration on transduction of AAV2-mediated mCherry expression (parag 0018), indicate the rAAV particles pre-incubated in the buffer comprising HA and administer the mixture of the rAAV particles and the buffer comprising HA. Boye et al. teach the terms "hyaluronic acid" and "HA" encompass hyaluronic acid, hyaluronan, Healan®, and sodium hyaluronate, without regard to the molecular weight or mass thereof (parag 0037). Boye et al. further teach in some embodiments, described are formulations of one or more viral-based compositions described herein in pharmaceutically acceptable solutions for administration to a cell or an animal. This teaching reads on a liquid formulation (i.e., the mixture of rAAV particle and a buffer comprises HA) comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.1% weight by volume (1 mg/ml) in the formulation, as recited in instant claim. Moreover, Boye et al. also teach in some embodiments, described are buffers for storage of a mixture of rAAV vectors or capsids and HA. In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise HA in a concentration of at least about 0.05%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, or 15% weight by volume (w/v) and BSS (parag 0146). This teaching also reads on a liquid formulation comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.05% or 0.1% weight by volume (0.5 mg/ml or 1 mg/ml) in the formulation, within the range of 0.01 ng/ml to 1 mg/ml as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 105, as discussed above, Boye et al. teach in some embodiments, described are buffers for storage of a mixture of rAAV vectors or capsids and HA. In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise HA in a concentration of at least about 0.05%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, or 15% weight by volume (w/v) and BSS (parag 0146). This teaching also reads on a liquid formulation comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.05% weight by volume (0.5 mg/ml) in the formulation, within the range of about 0.05 ng/ml to about 0.5 mg/ml, as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 109, following the discussion above, Boye et al. further teach in some embodiments, a composition disclosed comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. In some embodiments, pharmaceutically acceptable carriers include, but are not limited to, buffers such as neutral buffered saline, phosphate buffered saline and the like; carbohydrates such as glucose, mannose, sucrose or dextrans, mannitol (parag 0179).
Regarding claims 111-112, following the discussion above, Boye et al. further teach a buffer for storing a mixture of AAV and hyaluronic acid (HA). In some embodiments, the buff comprises: (a) HA in a concentration of about 0.1%, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2.0%, 3.0%, 5.0% or 10% weight by volume; (b) balanced salt solution (BSS); (c) artificial cerebrospinal fluid; and/or (d) phosphate buffered saline (PBS). In some embodiments, the buffer further comprises (e) Ringer's lactate solution; (f) TMN200 solution; (g) Polysorbate 20; and/or (h) poloxamer 188 (parag 0011). In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise polysorbate 20 (Tween 20) in a concentration of about at least 0.005%, 0.009%, 0.01 %, 0.014%, 0.02%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.5% or 1 % (parag 0147), wherein the concentration of 0.01 %, 0.014%, 0.02% and 0.1 % is in the range of 0.01% to about 0.1%, and the concentration of 0.2% is in the range of about 0.015% to about 0.025%, as recited in instant claim.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 104-105, 107-109 and 111-112 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boye et al. (US 2020/0405744 A1, with a priority date of 06/27/2019) in view of Wang et al. (Gene Ther. 2017 Jan;24(1):49-59).
Boye et al. teach compositions of rAAV particles and methods for administrating rAAV particles having enhanced transduction properties (Abstract).
Regarding claim 104, Boye et al. teach methods of delivering a cargo to an eye of a subject. In some embodiments, the method comprises administering to an eye of a subject a rAAV particle. In some embodiments, a rAAV particle comprises (a) a capsid that is admixed with hyaluronic acid (HA) and (b) a cargo (parag 0004). In some embodiments, the capsid is pre-incubated with a buffer that comprises HA. In some embodiments, a buffer comprises HA in a concentration of 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, or 1.0% weight by volume (parag 0004). Boye et al. also teach the effects of HA preincubation and co-administration on transduction of AAV2-mediated mCherry expression (parag 0018), indicate the rAAV particles pre-incubated in the buffer comprising HA and administer the mixture of the rAAV particles and the buffer comprising HA. Boye et al. teach the terms "hyaluronic acid" and "HA" encompass hyaluronic acid, hyaluronan, Healan®, and sodium hyaluronate, without regard to the molecular weight or mass thereof (parag 0037). Boye et al. further teach in some embodiments, described are formulations of one or more viral-based compositions described herein in pharmaceutically acceptable solutions for administration to a cell or an animal. This teaching reads on a liquid formulation (i.e., the mixture of rAAV particle and a buffer comprises HA) comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.1% weight by volume (1 mg/ml) in the formulation, as recited in instant claim. Moreover, Boye et al. also teach in some embodiments, described are buffers for storage of a mixture of rAAV vectors or capsids and HA. In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise HA in a concentration of at least about 0.05%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, or 15% weight by volume (w/v) and BSS (parag 0146). This teaching also reads on a liquid formulation comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.05% or 0.1% weight by volume (0.5 mg/ml or 1 mg/ml) in the formulation, within the range of 0.01 ng/ml to 1 mg/ml as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 105, as discussed above, Boye et al. teach in some embodiments, described are buffers for storage of a mixture of rAAV vectors or capsids and HA. In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise HA in a concentration of at least about 0.05%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, or 15% weight by volume (w/v) and BSS (parag 0146). This teaching also reads on a liquid formulation comprising a viral vector (a rAAV particle), a buffer and HA (sodium hyaluronate), wherein the sodium hyaluronate has a concentration of 0.05% weight by volume (0.5 mg/ml) in the formulation, within the range of about 0.05 ng/ml to about 0.5 mg/ml, as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claim 109, following the discussion above, Boye et al. further teach in some embodiments, a composition disclosed comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. In some embodiments, pharmaceutically acceptable carriers include, but are not limited to, buffers such as neutral buffered saline, phosphate buffered saline and the like; carbohydrates such as glucose, mannose, sucrose or dextrans, mannitol (parag 0179).
Regarding claims 111-112, following the discussion above, Boye et al. further teach a buffer for storing a mixture of AAV and hyaluronic acid (HA). In some embodiments, the buff comprises: (a) HA in a concentration of about 0.1%, 0.2%, 0.25%, 0.3%, 0.35%, 0.4%, 0.45%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.75%, 1.0%, 2.0%, 3.0%, 5.0% or 10% weight by volume; (b) balanced salt solution (BSS); (c) artificial cerebrospinal fluid; and/or (d) phosphate buffered saline (PBS). In some embodiments, the buffer further comprises (e) Ringer's lactate solution; (f) TMN200 solution; (g) Polysorbate 20; and/or (h) poloxamer 188 (parag 0011). In some embodiments, the described buffers comprise polysorbate 20 (Tween 20) in a concentration of about at least 0.005%, 0.009%, 0.01 %, 0.014%, 0.02%, 0.1 %, 0.2%, 0.5% or 1 % (parag 0147), wherein the concentration of 0.01 %, 0.014%, 0.02% and 0.1 % is in the range of 0.01% to about 0.1%, and the concentration of 0.2% is in the range of about 0.015% to about 0.025%, as recited in instant claim.
Regarding claims 107 and 108, Boye et al. do not teach the formulation further comprises a globular protein, such as albumin, as well as the concentration of the globular protein. However, this was disclosed by Wang et al. at the time of the instant invention.
Wang et al. identified several proteins from human serum, which directly interact with AAV virions and have the potential to impact AAV transduction (p50, left column).
Regarding claims 107 and 108, Wang et al. teach incubation of all AAV vectors with human serum enhanced AAV transduction, human serum albumin (HSA) directly interacted with the AAV capsid and augmented AAV transduction (see Abstract). Figure 3 (see p53) shows clinical grade human albumin on AAV8 transduction. When 5% clinical grade HSA, which is identical to the serum albumin concentration in the blood of normal subjects, was incubated with AAV vectors at different dilutions, increased AAV transduction was observed in vitro (p50, right column). Herein the 5% HSA diluted in, for instance, 2 or 20 folders (see figure 3A), is within the range of 0.1% to about 5% as recited in instant claim. Wang et al. also teach incubation of HSA with AAV2 or AAV9 induced much higher transduction in vitro and in vivo too (p51, left column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boye et al.’s formulation comprising rAAV, buffer and sodium hyaluronate, and add human serum albumin as taught by Wang et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to add human serum albumin since Wang et al. teach the human serum albumin (HSA) directly interacted with the AAV capsid and augmented AAV transduction (see Abstract). There would be a reasonable expectation of success of adding albumin in the formulation since Wang et al. teach the concentration of the albumin (i.e., figure 3).
Claims 104-105 and 109 -113 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boye et al. (US 2020/0405744 A1, with a priority date of 06/27/2019) in view of Fiedler et al. (WO 2018/128689 A1, published in 2018).
The teaching of Boye et al. is set forth above.
Regarding claim 110, Boye et al. do not teach the concentration of sugar (i.e., sucrose) in the formulation. However, it was disclosed by Fiedler et al. at the time of instant invention.
Fiedler et al. teach Adena-associated liquid and lyophilized pharmaceutical compositions (Abstract).
Regarding claim 110, Fiedler et al. teach in exemplary aspects, the pharmaceutical composition of the present disclosure comprises 10 mM to about 150 mM, about 30 mM to about 40 mM, or about 35 mM to about 132 mM sucrose, trehalose, or a combination (parag 0062). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boye et al.’s formulation comprising rAAV, buffer and sodium hyaluronate, and add sugar (i.e., sucrose) in a concentration of i.e., about 150 mM as taught by Fiedler et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to add sugar (i.e., sucrose) since Fiedler et al. teach sugar and/or sugar alcohol assists in the stability of the liquid and/or lyophilized formulations (parag 0060). There would be a reasonable expectation of success of adding sugar (i.e., sucrose) in the formulation since Fiedler et al. teach the concentration of the sugar (i.e., parag 0062).
Regarding claim 113, Boye et al. do not teach the formulation is freeze-dried to form a solid. However, Fiedler et al. teach in certain embodiments, lyophilization is used to produce a dehydrated
composition, and thus the composition (e.g., the composition that contains the AAV) is a
lyophilized composition (parag 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boye et al.’s formulation comprising rAAV, buffer and sodium hyaluronate, and freeze- dry the formulation to form a solid as taught by Fiedler et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to freeze-dry (lyophilize) the formulation to form a solid since Fiedler et al. teach a lyophilized composition may facilitate storage of the composition for an extended period of time (e.g., as compared to a liquid formulation of the same composition)(see parag 0029). There would be a reasonable expectation of success of lyophilizing the formulation to form a solid since Fiedler et al. teach the method of lyophilization (i.e., see p79, Example 5).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Q.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699