DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “in a first tumbling step” in line 3 as well as the limitation “in a second tumbling step after the first tumbling step” in line 5. There was not adequate written description support at the time of filing for the process to have two tumbling steps. The disclosure at the time of filing never mentions or suggests using more than one tumbling step. Therefore, these limitations constitutes new matter.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “in a first tumbling step” in line 7 as well as the limitation “in a second tumbling step” in line 8. There was not adequate written description support at the time of filing for the process to have two tumbling steps. The disclosure at the time of filing never mentions or suggests using more than one tumbling step. Therefore, these limitations constitutes new matter.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “in a first tumbling step” in line 3 as well as the limitation “in a second tumbling step” in line 5. There was not adequate written description support at the time of filing for the process to have two tumbling steps. The disclosure at the time of filing never mentions or suggests using more than one tumbling step. Therefore, these limitations constitutes new matter.
Claims 3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, and Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”) or alternatively Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Mao et al. US 2018/0295861, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, and Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. discloses a process for preparing pet food comprising pale meat (meat mix comprising skeletal muscle from fish or chicken and meat by products) (‘738, Paragraph [0041]) and gravy (‘738, Paragraphs [0043]-[0044]). It is noted that applicant defines the term “pale” meat as meaning to be understood to comprise poultry and the like as well as pale fish meats (Specification, Page 3, lines 22-27). Therefore, the meat mix comprising skeletal muscle from fish or chicken and meat by products (‘738, Paragraph [0041]) reads on the claimed pale meat. Dierking et al. further discloses homogeneously mixing the pale meat and the gravy (‘738, Paragraph [0018]), filling the mixture into a container (cans) and sealing and sterilizing the filled container (‘738, Paragraph [0033]). Dierking et al. discloses the final pet food product being 60% meat, 30% gravy, and 10% of a combination of grain, vitamins, minerals, color, and flavor (‘738, Table 1) (‘738, Paragraph [0039]). Claim 1 specifies the weight ratio to be in relation to pale meat and the gravy. Claim 1 does not specify the weight ratio in terms of pale meat and gravy in the total amount of pet food. The transitional phrase “comprising” is inclusive or open ended and does not exclude additional unrecited elements or method steps in view of Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (MPEP § 2111.03.I.). The transitional phrase “comprising” does not exclude the presence of unrecited elements such as grains, vitamins, minerals, color, and flavor disclosed by Dierking et al. Using the disclosure of the pet food product being 60% and 30% gravy in the pet food, this converts to a weight ratio of pale meat to gravy of 60:30, which can be equivalently expressed as 2:1 or about 66.6:33.3 weight ratio of pale meat to gravy, which falls within the claimed pale meat and gravy weight ratio of 50:50-98:2. Where the claimed weight ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food overlaps weight ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food ranges disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Dierking et al. also teaches that by properly balancing the carbohydrate sources such as starches one skilled in the art can manipulate the texture of the final product (‘738, Paragraph [0023]). Differences in the weight ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such weight ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the ratio of pale meat to starch containing gravy of the pet food of Dierking et al. based upon the desired texture of the final product (‘738, Paragraph [0023]).
Dierking et al. is silent regarding the pale meat being added to an aqueous solution of a chelating agent wherein the prepared pet food comprises 0.1-0.5 wt% of the chelating agent relative to a total weight of the pet food.
Spears et al. discloses a pet food filled into a sterilized container (retorted canned pet food) (‘054, Paragraph [0006]) wherein the pet food comprises a meat (‘054, Paragraph [0040]) and gravy (‘054, Paragraphs [0097] and [0099]) wherein a chelating agent (sodium citrate) is added to the pet food (‘054, Paragraph [0010]) since chelating agents are effective against oral disease associated bacteria (‘054, Paragraph [0009]) and helps to prevent conversion of plaque calculus in animals (‘054, Paragraph [0010]). Johnston discloses a method for rendering poultry or fish materials wherein a chelating solution is applied to the poultry or fish material at the outset of a rendering process to provide a processed animal material resistant to rancidity and stable over an extended period of time (‘838, Paragraph [0006]) wherein adding a citric acid chelating solution prior to the heating of the chicken materials decreases peroxide values of the processed materials and increases the residual tocopherol levels wherein addition of a chelating solution prior to heating of the animal materials is useful in rendering animal materials (‘838, Paragraph [0027]) wherein the chicken by products are used in the pet food industry (‘838, Paragraph [0004]). Spears et al. further discloses the prepared pet food comprising from about 0.01% to about 5.0% of the composition (‘054, Paragraphs [0010] and [0052]), which encompasses the claimed amount of 0.1-0.5 wt% of the chelating agent relative to a total weight of the pet food.
Both Dierking et al. and Spears et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising a meat and gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Dierking et al. and add a chelating agent to the pet food as taught by Spears et al. in order to fight against oral disease associated bacteria and to prevent conversion of plaque calculus in animals (‘054, Paragraphs [0009]-[0010]). Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Spears et al. teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate chelating agents into pet food for treating or preventing oral diseases (‘054, Paragraphs [0050]-[0051]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the pet food making process of Dierking et al. and incorporate the chelating agent in the claimed concentration of the pet food since where the claimed chelating agent concentration encompasses chelating agent concentration ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Spears et al. teaches that the claimed concentration of chelating agents were known to be useful in oral pet compositions. Additionally, Dierking et al. and Johnston are both directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making food compositions suitable for making pet food wherein animal by products are used in the composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and add the chelating agent to the animal by products at the outset to render the animal by products used in the pale meat and blend/mix the chelating agent that is added to the pale meat in an aqueous solution before adding to the gravy as taught by Johnston since Bouthegourd et al. teaches that rendered animal by products are easier to process and are highly digestible and palatable (‘163, Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al. is silent regarding the pale meat that is added to the aqueous solution of a chelating agent being tumbled in a first tumbling step and the homogenous mixing step to occur in a second tumbling step after the first tumbling step.
Ludwig et al. discloses a method of inhibiting bacterial growth in meat to improve long term storage capacity of red meats and poultry (‘017, Column 1, lines 13-16) wherein the meat is injected with an aqueous solution of a chelating agent (sodium citrate) (‘017, Column 1, lines 63-68) wherein injection of the aqueous solution of chelating agent (sodium citrate) is effected as a separate step in that the aqueous solution of chelating agent (sodium citrate) is added to the brine which is injected into the meat or to the solution in which the meat is tumbled as part of a standard process curing process for massaging into the meat wherein the aqueous solution containing the sodium citrate is used as the tumbling solution (‘017, Column 2, lines 17-29) wherein half of the sodium citrate solution is injected or massaged into the meat with the brine while the other half is massaged into the meat in the subsequent tumbling operation (‘017, Column 2, lines 32-39). The disclosure of a step of injecting a sodium citrate solution into the meat in which half of the sodium citrate is added to the meat and the other half is massaged into the meat in a subsequent tumbling operation (‘017, Column 2, lines 17-39), reads on the claimed first tumbling step and the claimed second tumbling step.
Both modified Dierking et al. and Ludwig et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing meats by combining the meats in an aqueous solution of a chelating agent comprising sodium citrate. Dierking et al. teaches that the meat mixture is prepared using any suitable mixing apparatus known to one skilled in the art (‘738, Paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. that mixes together the ingredients of the meat mass and tumble the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent of sodium citrate using a first tumbling step and a second tumbling step since Ludwig et al. teaches that it was known and conventional in the food art to mix together a meat mass by tumbling in two separate tumbling steps. The simple substitution of one known element (generic mixing of a meat mass) for another (tumbling of the meat mass) to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2143.I.(B).).
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. the pet food composition having an essentially homogeneous mass substantially conforming to the shape of its container (‘738, Paragraph [0010]) and the meat component and gravy component being mixed together to provide the essentially homogeneous mass and to prevent component separation when the composition is partitioned during filling into containers (‘738, Paragraph [0027]), which necessarily entails the homogeneous mixing step of the second tumbling step to occur after the first tumbling step in order to achieve the final homogeneous mass. Additionally, in the event that it can be argued that modified Dierking et al. does not explicitly or necessarily require the homogeneous mixing step of the second tumbling step to occur after the first tumbling step, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results in view of In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C.). The order in which the pale meat and the gravy are mixed together homogenously with respect to the tumbling of the pale meat using a first tumbling step and a second tumbling step is obvious since the combination of prior art references teaches the pet food having a final homogeneous composition using at least one tumbling step.
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. discloses the final pet food having a 66:33 ratio of meat:gravy. In the event that it can be argued that Dierking also includes ingredients of a combination of grain, vitamins, minerals, color, and flavor in the final pet food and does not express the concentration of the pale meat and the gravy being mixed in a ratio of 50:50-98:2 and rather contains additional ingredients in its calculations, Mao et al. discloses a pet food product comprising a pale meat (poultry and/or fish) (‘861, Paragraph [0086]) wherein the pet food comprises 20-100 wt% of a composition meat product and 0-80 wt% of a gravy sauce (‘861, Paragraph [0001]), which encompasses the claimed concentration ratio of pale meat to gravy being mixed in a ratio of 50:50-98:2.
Both Dierking et al. and Mao et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising a pale meat of poultry and/or fish and a gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Dierking et al. and incorporate the pale meat and gravy in the claimed weight ratio of pale meat to gravy to make the pet food as taught by Mao et al. since where the claimed concentration ratio of pale meat to gravy mixed in the pet food ranges overlaps concentration ratio of pale meat to gravy mixed in the pet food disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration ratio of pale meat to gravy in the pet food is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Dierking et al. teaches that by properly balancing the carbohydrate sources such as starches one skilled in the art can manipulate the texture of the final product (‘738, Paragraph [0023]). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the amount of meat to other ingredients of Dierking et al. based upon the desired texture of the final pet food.
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. discloses the pet food comprising a meat mixture, a gravy, and a grain mixture comprising one or more grains (‘738, Paragraph [0019]) wherein the grain mixture comprises minerals and trace elements such as copper (‘738, Paragraph [0024]). However, Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al. and Ludwig et al. or alternatively Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al., Ludwig et al., and Mao et al. is silent regarding the gravy including at least one copper compound other than copper sulfate selected from saturated copper proteinate and yeast cells enriched with copper.
Van Vranken et al. discloses a pet food designed to prevent copper accumulation in livers and a method designed to prevent or at least reduce copper storage disease in pets (‘921, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the pet food comprises a naturally occurring copper concentration from about 7.3 ppm to about 25.0 ppm (‘921, Paragraph [0005]) wherein the pet food comprises a pale meat (fish or chicken) and one or more added ingredients having a naturally occurring copper source (‘921, Paragraph [0006]). A copper compound other than copper sulfate is added to the pet food (‘921, Paragraph [0008]) and that the copper introduced into the pet food comes from the naturally occurring copper found in plants, yeasts, and/or other natural materials (‘921, Paragraph [0032]) wherein copper is an essential trace mineral meaning a pet only needs very small amounts of it for normal function (‘921, Paragraph [0033]). Van Vranken et al. also discloses there has been an increased prevalence of copper associated liver injury in dogs and that the change in requirements by the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) to include copper sulfate as a copper fortifier in their food products has been determined to lead to the gradual increase of copper accumulation in many dogs to the point of risking of developing Copper Storage Disease (CSD) and that the increased copper accumulation coincides with the date that AFFCO required copper sulfate to be used as compounds for copper fortification in pet food formulations (‘921, Paragraph [0026]) and that a large portion of the dog population in the US is at risk of developing CSD because of copper sulfate being added to most dog foods and that eliminating highly bioavailable copper sulfate can eliminate the ingredient that causes the copper to build up in the liver that contributes to CSD (‘921, Paragraph [0027]). The yeast cells are enriched with copper (‘921, Paragraph [0032]).
Both Dierking et al. and Van Vranken et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet foods comprising pale meat of chicken and/or fish. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Dierking et al. and add a copper compound other than copper sulfate to the pet food in the form of ingredients having a naturally occurring amount of copper (‘921, Paragraph [0032]) in trace amounts (‘921, Paragraph [0033]) as taught by Van Vranken et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Van Vranken et al. teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art that pet foods made with pale meat of chicken and/or fish to incorporate copper in small amounts for normal functioning of pets (‘921, Paragraph [0033]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add copper compounds other than copper sulfate to the pet food of Dierking et al. since Van Vranken et al. teaches that including copper sulfate to a copper fortifier in food products leads to the gradual increase of copper accumulation in many dogs to the point of risking developing Copper Storage Disease (‘921, Paragraph [0026]) due to the presence of copper sulfate in most dog foods (‘921, Paragraph [0027]). One of ordinary skill in the art would add copper compounds naturally occurring in foods to the pet food of Dierking et al. rather than copper sulfate as taught by Van Vranken et al. (‘921, Paragraph [0021]) in order to prevent the pet from developing Copper Storage Disease.
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al., Johnston et al., Ludwig et al., and Van Vranken et al or alternatively Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al., Johnston et al., Ludwig et al., Mao et al., and Van Vranken et al. is silent regarding leaving the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent for approximately 15 minutes after the first tumbling step and before the second tumbling step.
Goto et al. discloses a method of processing food products (‘804, Paragraph [0001]) of animal foods (‘804, Paragraph [0027]) comprising the step of immersing fodo in an aqueous solution containing a chelating agent and functional food components and subjecting to decompression for time not limited to any specific length but preferably 2 to 60 minutes so that the food is thoroughly impregnated with the aqueous solution (‘804,Paragraph [0109]).
Both modified Dierking et al. and Goto et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing foodstuffs. Both processing methods of modified Dierking et al. and Goto et al. comprise the step of mixing food ingredients into an aqueous solution containing a chelating agent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and leave the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent for the claimed duration as taught by Goto et al. since where the claimed duration overlaps durations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Goto et al. teaches that there was known utility in the food art to apply a chelating agent to an aqueous solution for the claimed duration for the purposes of making a homogeneous aqueous solution. Furthermore, differences in the duration of leaving the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such duration of leaving the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and leave the pale meat in the aqueous solution for a sufficient amount of time to thoroughly impregnate the material with the aqueous solution (‘804, Paragraph [0109]).
Further regarding Claim 1, the limitations “determining a homogeneous mixing quality of the mixture by adding a tracer substance to the mixed pale meat and gravy, distributing the tracer substance through the mixed pale meat and gravy using a mixer at a fixed speed for a first time interval, removing one or more samples of the mixture at one or more predetermined locations on a surface of the mixer, reducing the one or more samples to ash, and determining a concentration of the tracer substance by Atomic Absorption (AA) spectroscopy based on results from the AA spectroscopy satisfying a predetermined threshold” recites limitations with respect to a method of measuring and evaluating the degree of homogeneous mixing of food components to an unspecified predetermined threshold. Examiner notes that the claim is directed towards a process of preparing a pet food product and not towards a method of measuring or determining parameters of a food using specific measurement techniques. Nevertheless, Dierking et al. modified with Van Vranken et al., Johnston, and Ludwig et al. or alternatively Dierking et al. modified with Mao et al., Van Vranken et al., Johnston, and Ludwig et al. is silent regarding a step of measuring and evaluating the degree of homogeneous mixing of food components to an unspecified predetermined threshold.
Ditmarsen et al. discloses a method of measuring and evaluating (examining) a flowable material to exploit the advantages associated with spectroscopy (‘048, Column 2, lines 7-11) to measure and evaluate (examine) foodstuffs including animal foodstuffs such as meat in the form of minced or emulgated products or fodder of dry/wet food mixtures of vegetables products, fats, and protein containing raw materials including pet food (‘048, Column 3, lines 23-47) to measure and evaluate using recorded measurement values or sets of the same to ascertain whether or when a mixture or a stream of material is sufficiently homogeneous (‘048, Column 5, lines 10-14) wherein measurement values from each sampling and measuring cycle is used to check whether the material is processed in an optimum manner in which a mixing process is sufficiently thorough and that if a great deviation is found, e.g. the material is still heterogeneous, the mixing process should continue and that if the deviation is only a minimum or lies below a predetermined limit and it is not possible to improve the homogeneity of the material by continuing the mixing process the mixing step is terminated which shortens the mixing process to what is necessary to save the material from being subjected to continued mechanical processing (‘048, Column 12, lines 48-64) wherein when the measurements show the material mixed exhibits the desired homogeneity a final check on fat content is made on the basis of measuring results from the most recent measuring cycles (‘048, Column 13, lines 4-19) and then placing the homogenized sample into a container (cup) (‘048, Column 2, lines 7-16).
Both modified Dierking et al. and Ditmarsen et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing wet pet food comprising meat. Dierking et al. discloses the pet food being mixed at a time and a temperature to result an essentially homogenous mass (‘738, Paragraph [0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and determine the homogeneous mixing quality at various stages of the process in order to ensure that the mixing process is thoroughly being conducted and finishing the mixing process when the pet food is thoroughly mixed as taught by Ditmarsen et al.
Further regarding Claim 1, although Ditmarsen et al. does not teach explicitly the claimed method of determining the homogenous mixing quality of the mixture comprising an analysis by atomic absorption spectroscopy using the claimed measurement conditions and steps, the claim is directed towards a process of preparing a pet food product and not towards a method of measuring or determining parameters of a food using specific measurement techniques. Dierking et al. discloses mixing the meat and the gravy for a time and a temperature sufficient to result in an essentially homogenous mass (‘738, Paragraph [0019]). Ditmarsen et al. teaches a method of measuring homogeneity of a wet pet food comprising meat and terminating a mixing process of the wet pet food when the desired homogeneity is achieved when the mixing process is sufficiently thorough (‘048, Column 12, lines 40-65). The particular method in which the homogeneity of the wet pet food is measured is obvious since Dierking et al. teaches mixing until achieving an essentially homogenous mixture and since Ditmarsen et al. teaches a method of measuring the homogeneity of the wet pet food and terminating the mixing process when the desired homogeneity is achieved. Nevertheless, De Jong et al. discloses a method of determining homogeneity measurements using spectroscopy to determine iron content of compositions by measuring iron intensity (‘291, Paragraph [0076]). Although Dimarsen et al. and DeJong et al. teach homogeneity measurements using spectroscopy techniques other than the claimed atomic absorption spectroscopy, Jorhem et al. discloses a method for determination of copper and iron in foods by atomic absorption spectrometry (AAS) after dry ashing using food samples wherein no losses of Cd occurred by volatilization or retention at a maximum ashing temperature of 450°C which yields results free from losses by volatilization or retention (Page 1204) wherein ZN is determined by flame AAS in most foods (Page 1208). The ash temperature is increased from an initial temperature not higher than 100°C to 450°C at which the temperature is increased at a maximum rate of 50°C/h (Jorhem, Page 1207), which indicates that the ash temperatures reach approximately 400°C at some point in the heating process. Duran et al. discloses a method of determining trace element levels in different types of cat and dog foods by flame atomic absorption spectrometry after the wet digestion method wherein levels of Cu trace elements in the samples were investigated (Abstract, Page 2833) wherein copper is important for connective tissue formation, iron metabolism, blood cell formation, melanin pigment formation, myelin formation, defense against oxidative damage (Duran et al., Page 2834).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the measurement of the homogeneity of the wet pet food of modified Dierking et al. using spectroscopy analysis since De Jong et al. teaches that there was known utility in the homogeneity measurement art to use spectroscopy analysis techniques for obtaining homogeneity measurements. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and analyze a concentration of a trace substance of iron and/or copper that is added to foods using atomic absorption spectroscopy as taught by Jorhem et al. and Duran et al. since the simple substitution of one known element (spectroscopy measurement method disclosed by Dirmarsen et al.) for another (atomic absorption spectroscopy method disclosed by Jorhem et al. and Duran et al.) to obtain predictable results (to use a well established analytical chemistry technique for the analysis of trace metals in food samples) is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2143.I.B.).
Further regarding Claim 1, Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al., Johnston et al., Ludwig et al., Van Vranken et al., Ditmarsen et al., DeJong et al., Jorhem et al., and Duran et al., or alternatively Dierking et al. modified with Spears et al., Johnston et al., Ludwig et al., Mao et al., Van Vranken et al., Ditmarsen et al., DeJong et al., Jorhem et al., and Duran et al. discloses analyzing the presence or use of trace elements in the context of compositional analysis but does not explicitly disclose adding a tracer substance to the mixed pale meat and gravy, distributing the tracer substance through the mixed pale meat and gravy using a mixer at a fixed speed for a first time interval, removing one or more samples of the mixture at one or more predetermined locations on a surface of the mixer, determining a concentration of the tracer substance, and filling the pet food into a container based on a determination that satisfies a predetermined threshold.
Djuragic et al. discloses a method of determining animal feed homogeneity using a microtracer (colored iron particles) by adding components in certain mixing ratios wherein satisfactory particle mixture homogeneity is attained in mixtures with more uniform particle sizes wherein excess mixing of feed causes degradation of vitamins and medications whereas insufficient mixing results in portions of the feed that contains either too much or too little of the formulated ingredients wherein mixing to a completely homogeneous blend is done to make every sample identical in nutrient content (Djuragic et al., Page 85) wherein several different methods for determining animal feed homogeneity are used wherein colored iron tracer particles which can be separated from formula feeds magnetically have been used wherein the tracers consist of iron or other ferromagnetic material coated with dyes (Djuragic et al., Page 86) wherein the tracer should be contributed form only one source, the tracer should be a microingredient, and there should be an analytical procedure to determine the tracer of known or determinable accuracy and precision (Djuragic et al., Page 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the analytical technique used to determine the homogeneity of the samples of the pet food mixture of modified Dierking et al. and incorporate a tracer substance in the form of a microtracer having colored iron particles into the pet food mixture since Djuragic et al. teaches that there was known utility in the homogeneity measurement art to use add a separate tracer substance to pet foods for obtaining by analytical techniques the homogeneity measurements of said pet foods. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and analyze a concentration of a tracer substance of the degree of homogeneity of a pet food as taught by Djuragic et al. since the simple substitution of one known element (spectroscopy measurement method disclosed by Dirmarsen et al.) for another (incorporation of a tracer substance into pet food disclosed by Djuragic et al.) to obtain predictable results (to use a well established analytical chemistry technique for the analysis of the degree of homogeneity in pet food samples) is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2143.I.B.).
Regarding Claim 2, it is noted that Claim 2 requires the same exact limitations as that of Claim 1 with slightly different wording. Therefore, Claim 2 is rendered obvious for the same reasons as that discussed above in the rejections of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, it is noted that Claim 6 requires the same exact limitations as that of Claim 1 except that Claim 1 requires the tumbling step to occurs after the homogenous mixing step and that Claim 6 recites the additional limitation “removing after a second time interval additional samples from the one or more predetermined locations on the surface of the mixer.” Therefore, Claim 6 is rendered obvious for the same reasons as that discussed above in the rejections of Claim 1. With respect to the additional limitations “removing after a second time interval additional samples from the one or more predetermined locations on the surface of the mixer,” these limitations are limitations with respect to a method of measuring and evaluating the degree of homogeneous mixing of food components to an unspecified predetermined threshold. Examiner notes that the claim is directed towards a process of preparing a pet food product and not towards a method of measuring or determining parameters of a food using specific measurement techniques. Nevertheless, Ditmarsen et al. teaches a method of measuring the homogeneity of a wet pet food comprising meat.
Regarding Claim 3, Spears et al. discloses the gravy (‘054, Paragraphs [0097] and [0099]) including one or more chelating agents (‘054, Paragraph [0010]). The disclosure of one or more chelating agents indicates an embodiment of more than one chelating agents, which reads on the claimed gravy including a second chelating agent. The mere duplication of parts (multiple chelating agents) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced in view of In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.).
Regarding Claim 5, Spears et al. discloses the chelating agent being sodium citrate or potassium citrate (‘054, Paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Dierking et al. and incorporate sodium citrate or potassium citrate as the chelating agent into the pet food as taught by Spears et al. since he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Spears et al. teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate chelating agents into pet food wherein the chelating agent is sodium citrate or potassium citrate.
Regarding Claim 7, Spears et al. discloses a pet food filled into a sterilized container (retorted canned pet food) (‘054, Paragraph [0006]) wherein the pet food comprises a meat (‘054, Paragraph [0040]) and gravy (‘054, Paragraphs [0097] and [0099]) wherein a chelating agent is added to the pet food since chelating agents are effective against oral disease associated bacteria (‘054, Paragraph [0009]) and helps to prevent conversion of plaque calculus in animals (‘054, Paragraph [0010]). Both modified Dierking et al. and Spears et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising a meat and gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and add a chelating agent to the pet food as taught by Spears et al. in order to fight against oral disease associated bacteria and to prevent conversion of plaque calculus in animals (‘054, Paragraphs [0009]-[0010]). Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Spears et al. teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate chelating agents into pet food for treating or preventing oral diseases (‘054, Paragraphs [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding Claims 9, 12, and 15, Van Vranken et al. discloses a pet food designed to prevent copper accumulation in livers and a method designed to prevent or at least reduce copper storage disease in pets (‘921, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the pet food comprises a pale meat (chicken or fish) (‘921, Paragraph [0055]). Van Vranken et al. also discloses no copper sulfate being added in the process (‘921, Paragraph [0032]). Both modified Dierking et al. and Van Vranken et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising a pale meat of chicken or fish. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to not add copper sulfate to the pet food of modified Dierking et al. since Van Vranken et al. teaches that including copper sulfate to a copper fortifier in food products leads to the gradual increase of copper accumulation in many dogs to the point of risking developing Copper Storage Disease (‘921, Paragraph [0026]) due to the presence of copper sulfate in most dog foods (‘921, Paragraph [0027]). One of ordinary skill in the art would not add copper sulfate to the pet food of modified Dierking et al. in order to prevent the pet from developing Copper Storage Disease (‘921, Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 17, Van Vranken et al. discloses the pet food comprising ingredients having a naturally occurring copper source to provide a naturally occurring copper concentration wherein the copper source is not copper sulfate (‘921, Paragraph [0032]). Applicant discloses it is assumed that the grey discoloration of pale meat is substantially based on the use of copper sulfate as one of the minerals (Specification, Page 1, lines 19-25). Since Dierking et al. modified with Van Vranken et al. teaches a pet food comprising pale meat in the form of chicken/poultry and/or fish comprising an ingredient having a naturally occurring amount of copper wherein the pet food does not have any copper sulfate, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect Dierking et al. modified with Van Vranken et al. to also have the same properties as claimed of having no grey discoloration in the final pet food since Dierking et al. modified with Van Vranken et al. also teaches not using copper sulfate in the pet food, which copper sulfate applicant contends contributes to grey discoloration of pale meat. Furthermore, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established in view of In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP § 2112.01.I.). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties in view of In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2112.01.II.). Therefore, the pet food of Dierking et al. modified with Van Vranken et al. that does not use any copper sulfate would also have the same properties of having no grey discoloration in view of applicant’s disclosure that it is assumed that copper sulfate causes grey discoloration of pale meat.
Claims 8, 10, 13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”) as applied to claim 1 or claim 2 or claim 6 above in further view of Bernotavicz US 4,247,562 or alternatively Claims 8, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Mao et al. US 2018/0295861, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, and Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”) as applied to claim 1 or claim 2 or claim 6 above in further view of Bernotavicz US 4,247,562.
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Dierking et al. discloses the gravy being prepared separately from the pale meat (meat mixture) (‘738, Paragraph [0019]) wherein the gravy is prepared by mixing together modified corn starch and guar gum with water (‘738, Paragraph [0038]). Van Vranken et al. discloses the copper compound other than copper sulfate being added to the pet food (‘921, Paragraph [0032]). However, modified Dierking et al. is silent regarding the copper compound other than copper sulfate being an ingredient of the gravy and instead only discloses the copper compound other than the copper sulfate to be an ingredient of the final pet food.
Bernotavicz discloses a pet food comprising gravy (vitamin and mineral fortified nutritional gravy) (‘562, Column 1, lines 15-19) and pale meat (poultry and fish) (‘562, Column 7, lines 11-29) wherein the gravy is enriched by the addition of a vitamin mineral mixture formulated to meet part to all of a pet’s daily requirements as specified by the National Research Council for both dogs and cats wherein the minerals include copper (‘562, Column 5, lines 25-44).
Both modified Dierking et al. and Bernotavicz are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising pale meat in the form of chicken/poultry and/or fish as well as gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. that contains a copper compound other than copper sulfate in the pet food and incorporate the copper compound other than copper sulfate as an ingredient of the gravy which is then added to the pale meat as taught by Bernotavicz since the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in view of In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C.). Bernotavicz teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate the copper compound as an ingredient of the gravy of the pet food.
Regarding Claims 10, 13, and 16, Dierking et al. discloses the gravy comprising water and a thickening agent (‘738, Paragraph [0025]). Dierking et al. also discloses the pet food comprising a mixture of a meat mixture, a grain mixture, and a gravy (‘738, Paragraph [0017]) wherein the grain mixture comprises vitamins and minerals and flavorants (‘738, Paragraph [0024]). However, modified Dierking et al. is silent regarding the additional minerals and vitamins being ingredients of the gravy. Rather, modified Dierking et al. teaches the additional minerals and vitamins being ingredients of the final pet food.
Bernotavicz discloses a pet food comprising gravy (vitamin and mineral fortified nutritional gravy) (‘562, Column 1, lines 15-19) and pale meat (poultry and fish) (‘562, Column 7, lines 11-29) wherein the gravy is enriched by the addition of a vitamin mineral mixture formulated to meet part to all of a pet’s daily requirements as specified by the National Research Council for both dogs and cats wherein the minerals include copper (‘562, Column 5, lines 25-44) and the gravy also comprises flavoring agents (‘562, Column 4, lines 14-19).
Both modified Dierking et al. and Bernotavicz are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising pale meat in the form of chicken/poultry and/or fish as well as gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. that contains additional vitamins and minerals in the final pet food and make the gravy with the additional minerals and vitamins and flavorants as taught by Bernotavicz since the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in view of In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C.). Bernotavicz teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate the additional vitamins, minerals, and flavorants of the gravy of the pet food.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, and Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”) as applied to claim 1 or claim 2 or claim 6 above in further view of Speirs et al. US 5,422,135
or alternatively Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierking et al. US 2009/0214738 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed November 23, 2022) in view of Spears et al. US 2017/0326054, Johnston US 2012/0263838, Ludwig et al. US 5,436,017, Mao et al. US 2018/0295861, Van Vranken et al. US 2020/0068921, and Goto et al. US 2010/0215804 as further evidenced by Hansen et al. US 2014/0288193 in further view of Ditmarsen et al. US 6,236,048, De Jong et al. US 2010/0015291, Jorhem et al. “Determination of Metals in Foods by Atomic Absorption Spectrometry after Dry Ashing: NMKL Collaborative Study” (published 2000) (herein referred to as “Jorhem”), Duran et al. “Trace element concentrations of some pet foods commercially available in Turkey” (published July 8, 2010) (herein referred to as “Duran et al.”), and Djuragic et al. “Evaluation of homogeneity in feed by method of microtracers” (published 2009) (herein referred to as “Djuragic et al.”) as applied to claim 1 or claim 2 or claim 6 above in further view of Speirs et al. US 5,422,135.
Regarding Claim 18, Van Vranken et al. disclose chelated copper being a special type of mineral supplement that is better absorbed and easier on the stomach (‘921, Paragraph [0033]) wherein the pet food containing no or substantially no chelated copper (‘921, Paragraph [0032]). In the embodiment of the pet food containing substantially no chelated copper, there exists a trace small amount of chelated copper in the pet food. However, modified Dierking et al. is silent regarding the chelated form of copper being copper salts of citric acid.
Speirs et al. discloses a pet food comprising a pale meat (poultry) (‘135, Column 10, lines 7-15) and gravy (‘135, Column 7, lines 59-65) and a chelated form of citric acid (‘135, Column 6, lines 14-24).
Both modified Dierking et al. and Speirs et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making pet food comprising pale meat and gravy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. and incorporate ion-chelated forms containing citric acid as taught by Speirs et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Speirs et al. teaches that there was known utility in the pet food art to incorporate ion-chelated form containing citric acid.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Examiner notes that new new matter rejections under 35 USC 112(a) have been made in view of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed May 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant comments on Page 10 of the Remarks that Examiner allegedly agreed in the previous interview held on April 24, 2026 that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations “wherein the prepared pet food comprises 0.1-0.5 wt% of the chelating agent relative to a total weight of the pet food.” Applicant also asserts on Page 10 of the Remarks that none of the cited references teaches or suggests the newly amended limitations of a first tumbling step and a second tumbling step.
Examiner notes that no such agreement was made as alleged by applicant. It is noted that the Applicant Initiated Interview Summary mailed April 28, 2026 that details the previous interview held on April 24, 2026 that “Examiner notes that the proposed limitations “wherein the prepared pet food comprises 0.1-0.5 wt% of the chelating agent relative to a total weight of the pet food” are new limitations that would require further search and consideration.” No such agreement that the cited references do not disclose said new limitations were made as alleged by applicant. Upon further consideration, it is noted that Spears et al., which was previously relied upon, teaches the prepared pet food comprising from about 0.01% to about 5.0% of the composition (‘054, Paragraphs [0010] and [0052]), which encompasses the claimed amount of 0.1-0.5 wt% of the chelating agent relative to a total weight of the pet food. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the pet food making process of Dierking et al. and incorporate the chelating agent in the claimed concentration of the pet food since where the claimed chelating agent concentration encompasses chelating agent concentration ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Spears et al. teaches that the claimed concentration of chelating agents were known to be useful in oral pet compositions. Furthermore, Ludwig et al. discloses half of the sodium citrate solution is injected or massaged into the meat with the brine while the other half is massaged into the meat in the subsequent tumbling operation (‘017, Column 2, lines 32-39). The disclosure of a step of injecting a sodium citrate solution into the meat in which half of the sodium citrate is added to the meat and the other half is massaged into the meat in a subsequent tumbling operation (‘017, Column 2, lines 17-39), reads on the claimed first tumbling step and the claimed second tumbling step. Both modified Dierking et al. and Ludwig et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of processing meats by combining the meats in an aqueous solution of a chelating agent comprising sodium citrate. Dierking et al. teaches that the meat mixture is prepared using any suitable mixing apparatus known to one skilled in the art (‘738, Paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Dierking et al. that mixes together the ingredients of the meat mass and tumble the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent of sodium citrate using a first tumbling step and a second tumbling step since Ludwig et al. teaches that it was known and conventional in the food art to mix together a meat mass by tumbling in two separate tumbling steps. The simple substitution of one known element (generic mixing of a meat mass) for another (tumbling of the meat mass) to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2143.I.(B).). Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Examiner notes that Raczek is no longer being relied upon in the rejection. Raczek was previously relied upon to render obvious the limitations regarding leaving the pale meat tumbled in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent for approximately 15 minutes. However, the claims have been amended to delete the term “tumbled” from this limitation. The secondary reference of Goto et al. is currently being relied upon to render obvious the newly amended limitation “leaving the pale meat in the aqueous solution of the chelating agent for approximately 15 minutes,” which was necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jackson et al. US 2018/0169133 discloses a kibble type pet food composition that is sprayed coated in a tumbling mixer with a composition comprising a palatant (‘186, Paragraph [0040]).
Chen et al. US 2005/0276881 discloses a process for preparing pet food (animal food) (‘881, Paragraph [0020]) comprising pale meat (fats derived from chickens and turkeys) (‘881, Paragraph [0036]) comprising repeated tumbling steps (‘881, Paragraph [0027]).
Woelfel et al. US 2019/0015383 discloses a tea leaves coated with a cannabinoid film wherein the tea leaves are tumbles while a liquid emulsion is applied in at least two cycles of 1-10 minutes applications followed by tumbling of the tea leaves for 2-20 minutes (‘383, Paragraph [0080]).
Corujo-Martinez et al. US 2016/0029676 discloses a system for making a savory food product formed from a plurality of pieces wherein the system comprises a first tumbler downstream from a cooking apparatus configured for salting a first portion of the plurality of pieces at a first salt intensity and a second tumbler downstream from the cooking apparatus configured for salting a second portion of the plurality of pieces at a second salt intensity that is different than the first and a mixing device downstream from the first portion and the second portion which is configured for mixing the first portion and the second portion at a preselected application to form the savory food product (‘676, Paragraph [0066]).
Anand et al. US 2010/0255163 discloses a method comprising the step of feeding an aqueous flavoring solution into a vacuum tumbler in at least two cycles that are about 5 to about 10 minutes apart.
Milkowski et al. US 5,928,689 discloses a method of processing meat comprising the step of tumbling meat chunks at any time during a curing process as a single time period or divided into two or more smaller time periods which are distributed during the overall curing process.
Gasbarro US 3,928,634 discloses a method of marinating poultry food products comprising the step of marinating poultry in a marinating solution and tumbling the food product while alternately immersed in the marinating solution.
Spiers et al. US 2013/0330445 discloses a method of processing food (‘445, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the degree of adsorption and chelation of an aqueous solution is influenced by variables such as temperature (‘445, Paragraph [0027]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792