Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, pages 12 whole page – page 14 whole page, with respect to claim(s) 1- 2, 4 - 6, 10 - 11, 14 - 17, 19 - 20, and 23 - 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1 – 2, 5, 10, 15, 20, and 23 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Blavos et al. (US 3742122 A), Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Hussey et al., Claims 6, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Kasper et al., Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Kenjo et al., and Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Takeuchi_2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 5, 10, 15, 20, and 23 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Blavos et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Takeuchi discloses an electromagnetic coil (210, 220) where a member (concentrated winding coil) having conductivity is wound around an air core region (213) (Takeuchi Para [0006] lines 5 – 8),
and the member is disposed along a moving direction of a magnet (320) of an electromagnetic device (100) (Takeuchi Fig. 1),
wherein the electromagnetic coil includes: an effective coil portion (VCP) including a first effective coil member (first effective coil portion 214) and a second effective coil member (second effective coil portion 214) (Takeuchi Para [0040] lines 3 – 7);
a first coil end portion (211) positioned on one side of the first and second effective coil portion members in a longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A);
and a second coil end portion (212) positioned on the other side of the first and second effective coil portion members in the longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
the first effective coil member and the second effective coil member are formed of a coil-use conductive wire formed by bundling a plurality of conductive base members (Takeuchi Para [0028] last sentence),
and in the air core region of "one said electromagnetic coil" to which an electric current of a first phase (A) is supplied (Takeuchi Fig. 4),
"the other said electromagnetic coil" to which an electric current of a second phase (B) is supplied is fitted (Takeuchi Fig. 4).
Takeuchi does not disclose:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member,
ii) the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire that form the effective coil portion,
the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire,
the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member,
the winding direction switching portion including a first part directly connecting to the first effective coil member,
a second part directly connecting to the second effective coil member,
and a bridge portion for bridging between the first part and the second part,
the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body,
and the first end member including an opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end of the coil-use conductive wire,
the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member,
the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil-use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion.
Nieves et al. discloses:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member (conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69),
iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire (72) and the other coil-use conductive wire (74) (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 59),
vii) and a bridge portion (middle portion of conductive member 80) for bridging between the first part (top portion of conductive member 80) and the second part (bottom portion of conductive member 80) (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 5),
viii) the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6),
x) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member (another conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69).
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. structurally disclose:
ii) the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
iv) the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A), v) the winding direction switching portion including a first part (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) directly connecting to the first effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
vi) a second part (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) directly connecting to the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
xi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil-use conductive wires (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A).
Blavos et al. structurally disclose:
ix) and the first end member (fixture 40) including an opening portion (channels 48 and 50) having a bottom (layer of conductive material 64) configured to receive and engage with one end of the coil-use conductive wire (54) (Blavos et al. Fig. 3).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose windings therefore, Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. constitutes as prior art. Nieves et al. discloses a stator using half coils and electrical connectors and Blavos et al. discloses an electrical connector with openings and a bottom to electrically connect conductors together. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electromagnetic coil of Takeuchi include: i) the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member, iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire, vii) and a bridge portion for bridging between the first part and the second part, viii) the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body, x) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member of Nieves et al., ii) the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire, iv) the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member, v) the winding direction switching portion including a first part directly connecting to the first effective coil member, vi) a second part directly connecting to the second effective coil member, and xi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil- use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion of structurally disclosed Takeuchi and Nieves et al., ix) the first end member including an opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end of the coil-use conductive wire of Blavos et al. for the purpose of electrically connecting the strand of wires and the electrical connectors
together.
Regarding Claim 2, Takeuchi discloses an electromagnetic coil (210, 220) where a member (concentrated winding coil) having conductivity is wound around an air core region (213) (Takeuchi Para [0006] lines 5 – 8),
and the member is disposed along a moving direction of a magnet (320) of an electromagnetic device (Takeuchi Fig. 1),
wherein the electromagnetic coil includes:
an effective coil portion (VCP) including a first effective coil member (first effective coil portion 214) and a second effective coil member (second effective coil portion 214) (Takeuchi Para [0040] lines 3 – 7);
a first coil end portion (211) positioned on one side of the first and second effective coil portion members in a longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A);
and a second coil end portion (212) positioned on the other side of the first and second effective coil portion members in the longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
the electromagnetic coil includes electromagnetic coils (211, 212) (Takeuchi Fig. 5) of two modes consisting of:
a first-shape coil having a shape where the first coil end portion (211) is bent toward a first side from the longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A);
and a second-shape coil having a shape where the second coil end portion (212) is bent toward a second side on a side opposite to the first side from the longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A), the first-shape coil and the second-shape coil are configured such that (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
in the air core region of either one of the first-shape coil and the second-shape coil (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
the effective coil portion of the other of the first-shape coil and the second-shape coil is disposed by combining the first-shape coil and the second-shape coil (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
the first effective coil member and the second effective coil member are formed of a coil-use conductive wire formed by bundling a plurality of conductive base members (Takeuchi Para [0028] last sentence).
Takeuchi does not disclose:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member,
the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire that form the effective coil portion,
the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire,
the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member,
the winding direction switching portion including a first part directly connecting to the first effective coil member,
a second part directly connecting to the second effective coil member,
and a bridge portion for bridging between the first part and the second part,
the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body,
and the first end member including an opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the coil-use conductive wire,
the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member,
the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil- use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion.
Nieves et al. discloses:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member (conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69),
iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire (72) and the other coil-use conductive wire (74) (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 59),
vii) and a bridge portion (middle portion of conductive member 80) for bridging between the first part (top portion of conductive member 80) and the second part (bottom portion of conductive member 80) (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 5),
viii) the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6),
x) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member (another conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69).
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. structurally disclose:
ii) the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
iv) the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
v) the winding direction switching portion including a first part (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) directly connecting to the first effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
vi) a second part (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) directly connecting to the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
xi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil-use conductive wires (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A).
Blavos et al. structurally disclose:
ix) and the first end member (fixture 40) including an opening portion (channels 48 and 50) having a bottom (layer of conductive material 64) configured to receive and engage with one end of the coil-use conductive wire (54) (Blavos et al. Fig. 3).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose windings therefore, Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. constitute as prior art. Nieves et al. discloses a stator using half coils and electrical connectors and Blavos et al. discloses an electrical connector with openings and a bottom to electrically connect conductors together. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electromagnetic coil of Takeuchi include: i) the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member, iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire, vii) and a bridge portion for bridging between the first part and the second part, viii) the first part, the second part and the bridge portion being a solid member forming a single body, x) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member of Nieves et al., ii) the first end member is directly connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire, iv) the first end member includes a winding direction switching portion for switching a first winding direction of the first effective coil member to a second winding direction of the second effective coil member, v) the winding direction switching portion including a first part directly connecting to the first effective coil member, vi) a second part directly connecting to the second effective coil member, and xi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil- use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion of structurally disclosed Takeuchi and Nieves et al., and ix) the first end member including an opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the coil-use conductive wire of Blavos et al. for the purpose of electrically connecting the strand of wires and the electrical connectors together.
Regarding Claim 5, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1, wherein the solid conductive material is metal (Nieves et al. c. 6, l. 59 discloses the solid conductor material is copper.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the first end member and second end member are joined to the coil-use conductive wires’, respectively, by brazing (Nieves et al. c. 4. 55 – 68).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the first end member is fixed to one end side of the coil-use conductive wire by welding (Blavos et al. abstract),
and the second end member is fixed to the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire by welding (Blavos et al. abstract).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi so that there is welding of one end side coil-use conductive wire to the first end member and welding of the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire to the second end member of Blavos et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection.
Regarding Claim 10, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according claim 1, wherein a circuit connection terminal (82) that is continuously formed with or is connected to the second end member is disposed on the second coil end portion (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 59– 62).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. structurally discloses:
an insulation layer (414) is formed on a surface of an entire region of the electromagnetic coil (of Takeuchi Fig. 11) except for the circuit connection terminal (of Nieves et al. Fig. 6).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a circuit connection terminal that is continuously formed with or is connected to the second end member is disposed on the second coil end portion of Nieves et al. and an insulation layer be formed on a surface of an entire region of the electromagnetic coil except for the circuit connection terminal of structurally disclosed Nieves et al. and Takeuchi for the purpose of 1) having a secure connection of wires to other electrical components and 2) preventing electrical short circuits between phases.
Regarding Claim 15, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1.
Takeuchi does not disclose:
wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member,
and the second part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
and the second part of the winding direction switching portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member and the second part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member of structurally disclosed Takeuchi and Nieves et al. for the purpose of securing the first part and the second part of the winding direction switching portions to the first and second effective coil portions, respectively.
Regarding Claim 20, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 2.
Takeuchi does not disclose:
wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member,
and the second part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
and the second part of the winding direction switching portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the first effective coil member and the second part of the winding direction switching portion extends along a longitudinal direction of the second effective coil member of structurally disclosed Takeuchi and Nieves et al. for the purpose of securing the first part and the second part of the winding direction switching portions to the first and second effective coil portions, respectively.
Regarding Claim 23, Takeuchi discloses an electromagnetic coil (210, 220) where a member (concentrated winding coil) having conductivity is wound around an air core region (213) (Takeuchi Para [0006] lines 5 – 8),
and the member is disposed along a moving direction of a magnet (320) of an electromagnetic device (100) (Takeuchi Fig. 1),
wherein the electromagnetic coil (Takeuchi Fig. 5A) includes: an effective coil portion (214) (Takeuchi Fig. 5A);
a first coil end portion (211) positioned on one side of the effective coil portion in a longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A);
and a second coil end portion (212) positioned on the other side of the effective coil portion in the longitudinal direction (Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
the effective coil portion is formed of a coil-use conductive wire formed by bundling a plurality of conductive base members (Takeuchi Para [0028] last sentence),
and in the air core region of "one said electromagnetic coil" to which an electric current of a first phase (A) is supplied (Takeuchi Fig. 4),
"the other said electromagnetic coil" to which an electric current of a second phase (B) is supplied is fitted (Takeuchi Fig. 4).
Takeuchi does not disclose:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member,
the first end member is connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire that form the effective coil portion,
the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire,
the first end member includes a first opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the one coil-use conductive wire and a second opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the other coil-use conductive wire,
the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member,
the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil- use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion.
Nieves et al. discloses:
the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member (conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69),
iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire (72) and the other coil-use conductive wire (74) (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 59),
v) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member (another conductor member 80) that is a solid conductive member (Nieves et al. c. 4, l. 51 – 69).
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. structurally disclose:
ii) the first end member is connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A),
vi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil-use conductive wires (see below in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) that form the effective coil portion (of Takeuchi Fig. 5A).
Blavos et al. discloses:
the first end member (fixture 40) includes a first opening portion (channel 48) having a bottom (left side of layer of conductive material 64) configured to receive and engage with one end side of the one coil-use conductive wire (54) and a second opening portion (channel 50) having a bottom (right side of layer of conductive material 64) configured to receive and engage with one end side of the other coil-use conductive wire (56).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose conductive windings therefore, Blavos et al. constitutes as prior art. Nieves et al. discloses a stator using half coils and electrical connectors and Blavos et al. discloses an electrical connector with openings and a bottom to electrically connect conductors together. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein i) the first coil end portion is formed of a first end member that is a solid conductive member, iii) the first end member being electrically connected between the one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire, and v) the second coil end portion is formed of a second end member that is a solid conductive member of Nieves et al., ii) the first end member is connected to respective one end sides of one coil-use conductive wire and the other coil-use conductive wire that form the effective coil portion, and vi) the second end member being connected to the other end side of at least one of the coil- use conductive wires that form the effective coil portion of structurally disclosed Takeuchi and Nieves et al., and iv) the first end member includes a first opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the one coil-use conductive wire and a second opening portion having a bottom configured to receive and engage with one end side of the other coil-use conductive wire of Blavos et al. for the purpose of 1) electrically connecting the strand of wires and the electrical connectors together and 2) securing the respective coil-use conductive wires.
Regarding Claim 24, Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1.
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. do not disclose:
wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion.
Blavos et al. discloses:
wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion (Blavos et al. Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion of Blavos et al. for the purpose of improving reliability of an electrical connection between the coil-use conductive wires and the electrical connector.
Regarding Claim 25, Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 2.
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. do not disclose:
wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion.
Blavos et al. discloses:
wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion (Blavos et al. Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the opening portion is formed on the first end member forming a single body with the opening portion of Blavos et al. for the purpose of improving reliability of an electrical connection between the coil-use conductive wires and the electrical connector.
Regarding Claim 26, Takeuchi, Nieves et al., and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 23.
Takeuchi and Nieves et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first opening portion and the second opening portion are formed on the first end member forming a single body with the first and second opening portions.
Blavos et al. discloses:
wherein the first opening portion and the second opening portion are formed on the first end member forming a single body with the first and second opening portions (Blavos et al. Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first opening portion and the second opening portion are formed on the first end member forming a single body with the first and second opening portions of Blavos et al. for the purpose of improving reliability of an electrical connection between the coil-use conductive wires and the electrical connector.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Hussey et al.
Regarding Claim 4, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1, wherein the solid conductive material is metal (Nieves et al. c. 6, l. 59 discloses the solid conductor material is copper).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the first end member and second end member are joined to the coil-use conductive wires’, respectively, by brazing (Nieves et al. c. 4. 55 – 68).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
the first end member is fixed to one end side of the coil-use conductive wire by crimping,
and the second end member is fixed to the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire by crimping.
Hussey et al. discloses:
the first end member (312a) can be fixed to one end side of the coil-use conductive wire (310a) by crimping (Hussey et al. c. 3, l. 40 – 46 discloses a first winding wire and a first splice terminal can be crimped together),
and the second end member (312b) can be fixed to the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire (310b) by crimping (Hussey et al. c. 3, l. 40 – 46 discloses a second winding wire and a second splice terminal can be crimped together).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al. and Hussey et al. disclose windings therefore, Hussey et al. constitutes prior art. Hussey et al. discloses a hermetic motor having a stator comprising two winding wires crimped together with a splice terminal, respectively. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi so that there is crimping of one end side coil-use conductive wire to the first end member and crimping of the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire to the second end member of Hussey et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection.
Claims 6, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Kasper et al.
Regarding Claim 6, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1, wherein the solid conductive material is metal (Nieves et al. c. 6, l. 59 discloses the solid conductor material is copper).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses:
the first end member and second end member are joined to the coil-use conductive wires’, respectively, by brazing (Nieves et al. c. 4. 55 – 68).
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
the first end member is fixed to one end side of the coil-use conductive wire by a conductive adhesive agent,
and the second end member is fixed to the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire by a conductive adhesive agent.
Kasper et al. discloses:
the first end member (first axial end electrical connection 5) can be fixed to one end side of the coil-use conductive wire by a conductive adhesive agent (Kasper et al. Para [0058] whole paragraph discloses any method of joining process between the phase windings and the electrical connectors can be used),
and the second end member (second axial end electrical connection 5) can be fixed to the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire by a conductive adhesive agent (Kasper et al. Para [0058] whole paragraph discloses phase windings, and the electrical connectors can be glued together).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and Kasper et al. disclose windings therefore, Kasper et al. constitutes prior art. Kasper et al. discloses an electric motor having phase windings connected with electrical connectors. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi so that there is a conductive adhesive agent of one end side coil-use conductive wire to the first end member and a conductive adhesive agent of the other end side of the coil-use conductive wire to the second end member of Kasper et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection.
Regarding Claim 14, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., and further in view of Kasper et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate (of Kasper et al. Para [0055] whole paragraph discloses the electrical connection elements 5 can be produced by casting or pressing).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al. and Kasper et al. disclose electrical connections therefore, Kasper et al. constitutes prior art. Kasper et al. discloses an electric motor having phase windings connected with electrical connectors. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi such that wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate of structurally disclosed Nieves et al. and Kasper et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection with high strength and durability.
Regarding Claim 16, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. disclose the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. do not disclose:
wherein at least one of the first part or the second part of the winding direction switching portion is formed in a shape that is bent with a corner.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Kasper et al. structurally disclose:
wherein at least one of the first part or the second part of the winding direction switching portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) is formed in a shape that is bent with a corner (of Kasper et al. Para [0055] whole paragraph discloses the electrical connection elements can produced through bending).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and Kasper et al. disclose electrical connections therefore, Kasper et al. constitutes prior art. Kasper et al. discloses an electric motor having phase windings connected with electrical connectors. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi such that wherein at least one of the first part or the second part of the winding direction switching portion is formed in a shape that is bent with a corner of structurally disclosed Nieves et al. and Kasper et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection with reduced stress.
Regarding Claim 19, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 2.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Kasper et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion (see above in annotated Nieves et al. Fig. 6) are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate (of Kasper et al. Para [0055] whole paragraph discloses the electrical connection elements 5 can be produced by casting or pressing).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and Kasper et al. disclose electrical connections therefore, Kasper et al. constitutes prior art. Kasper et al. discloses an electric motor having phase windings connected with electrical connectors. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takeuchi such that wherein the first part, the second part and the bridge portion are formed into a predetermined shape by casting, forging or pressing a plate of Kasper et al. for the purpose of securing an electrical connection with high strength and durability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and further in view of Kenjo et al.
Regarding Claim 11, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 10.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
wherein the insulation layer formed on the effective coil portion is an insulation layer that is formed by solidification of a water-soluble material that impregnates into a periphery of the conductive base member.
Kenjo et al. discloses:
wherein the insulation layer formed on the effective coil portion is an insulation layer (7) that is formed by solidification of a water-soluble material (7a) that impregnates into a periphery of the conductive base member (9) (Kenjo et al. c. 2, l. 28 – 37).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and Kenjo et al. disclose conductive windings therefore, Kenjo et al. constitute prior art. Kenjo et al. discloses a solid insulator for an electric equipment coil comprised of an insulating film and a water-soluble insulating varnish. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electromagnetic coil with an insulation layer formed on the effective coil portion of Takeuchi include an insulation layer that is formed by solidification of a water-soluble material that impregnates into a periphery of the conductive base member of Kenjo et al. for the purpose of suppressing degradation of the electromagnetic coil (see Kenjo et al. c. 2, l. 1 – 6).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and further in view of Takeuchi_2.
Regarding Claim 17, Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. discloses the electromagnetic coil according to claim 1.
Takeuchi in view of Nieves et al. and Blavos et al. do not disclose:
wherein the member having conductivity is wound around the air core region by changing the first coil end portion and the second coil end portion at an acute angle from a longitudinal direction of the effective coil portion.
Takeuchi_2 discloses:
wherein the member (210) having conductivity is wound around the air core region (218) (Takeuchi_2 Fig. 2A) by changing the first coil end portion (CE1) and the second coil end portion (CE2) at an acute angle (𝜃1, 𝜃2) from a longitudinal direction of the effective coil portion (VCP) (Takeuchi_2 Fig. 2C).
Takeuchi, Nieves et al., Blavos et al., and Takeuchi_2 disclose conductive windings therefore, Takeuchi_2 constitute prior art. Takeuchi_2 discloses a coreless electric machine and a coil assembly having an air core coil with coil ends formed in an acute angle with the effective coil portion. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the member having conductivity is wound around the air core region by changing the first coil end portion and the second coil end portion at an acute angle from a longitudinal direction of the effective coil portion of Takeuchi_2 for the purpose of optimizing the magnetic field direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of records does not anticipate or render obvious an electromagnetic coil wherein a spacer (40) is mounted on an end-portion (311A, 312A) of the coil-use conductive wire (310A), and the end portion (311A, 312A) of the coil-use conductive wire (310A) is connected to the first end member (330A) and the second end member (340A1, 340A2) in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834