DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 14 and 22 in the reply filed on 09/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15, 19, 23, 24, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2025.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (ie an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims do not include an inventive concept sufficient to transform the idea into a Patent-Eligible Application.
Step 2A: Prong One- Whether the claims recite a judicial exception
The claims are directed to acquiring, analyzing, and outputting information related to attachment/detachment events between terminals of a power storage device and an electrical power device, and using the resulting data to determine deterioration, predict maintenance or select devices for use. This constitutes a Mental process and a Method for organizing or analyzing information, which falls within the Abstract Idea category.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
“attachment/detachment information acquisition unit…configured to acquire information relating to the number of time attachment/detachment occurred…” - The mental process of collecting information
“wherein the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the second terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit” – The mental process of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis
Step 2A: Prong Two – Integration Into a Practical Application
The additional claim elements, “information acquisition device,” “counting unit,” “output unit,” and “deterioration information acquisition unit,” are recited at a high level of generality and merely perform conventional functions such as acquiring, counting, analyzing, and outputting information.
The specification describes these elements generically and does not indicate that the claimed invention improves the operation of any underlying computer, sensor, or power device technology. The claims do not recite a particular hardware arrangement or control logic that yields a technological improvement, but instead use generic device as tools to execute an abstract concept. The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Inventive Concept
The claims do not include additional elements that amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception itself. The recited “information acquisition unit,” “counting unit,” “deterioration information acquisition unit,” and “output unit” merely represent conventional hardware performing well-understood and routine, and conventional functions of data collection and processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 5, 8-13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Titus (US 20200376983).
Regarding claim 1, Titus teaches an information acquisition device (shown in figure 6), comprising:
an attachment/detachment information acquisition unit configured to acquire (shown in figure 6 wherein an information acquisition unit is interpreted as a battery management system item 630, which includes a processing unit, which acquires or receives the amount of time a battery is attached or detached. Paragraph [0054] teaches wherein the number of cycle uses is a determination of the number of times a battery is attached or detached)
regarding a first terminal provided in a power storage device (figure 2 shows a first terminal item 228 defined in paragraph [0046] within a power storage device, battery item 204) and
a second terminal provided in an electrical power device (figure 4 shows a second terminal items 412A and 412B defined in paragraph [0052] provided in an electric device, defines a vehicle or a charging kiosk) and
is configured to be attachable/detachable to/from the first terminal (Figure 1 and paragraph [0046] teaches wherein the battery may be removed or placed in a vehicle item 110, 130 or in a rechargeable battery kiosk item 150) ,
a number of times of attachment/detachment between the first terminal and the second terminal (defined in paragraph [0054] wherein the number of cycle uses, including removing and placing the battery in a kiosk or holster is counted and determined. Figures 5A, 5B and 5B show wherein the cycles of removing and placing the battery are counted)
wherein the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the second terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit (paragraph [0045] teaches wherein the battery status information can include, but is not limited to, battery charge levels, battery health, conditions of the power connector terminals and/or an amount of rechargeable batteries currently available at the rechargeable battery kiosk. Paragraph [0050] teaches wherein, deterioration information, interpreted as a fault condition is determined based on the number of times (number of cycles) of insertion and removal).
Titus shows a battery exchange or battery swapping system which exchanges batteries between vehicles and kiosks.
Regarding claim 2, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the electrical power device (shown in figure 1. An electric power device is shown as an electric scooter item 110, an electric bicycle item 130, and a rechargeable battery kisosk item 150) further includes
an accommodation portion including the second terminal and configured to accommodate the power storage device (figure 1 and paragraph [0042] shows wherein the electric scooter 110 receives and accommodates the power storage item 160 in holster item 120. Figure 1 shows electric bicycle item 130 receiving and accommodating a power storage device item 160 in holster item 140. Figure 1 shows rechargeable battery kiosk receiving and accommodating power storage device item 160), and
a counting unit configured to count a number of times of accommodation of the power storage device in the accommodation portion (paragraph [0057] teaches wherein the functions of a counting unit, which counts the cycle uses (the number of times the battery is in an accommodation portion, ie battery holster or kiosk [0054]) are performed by a battery management system 630, program module item 624, and processing unit item 612 which monitors the battery) , and
the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit is configured to acquire the number of times of attachment/detachment based on the number of times of accommodation counted by the counting unit (paragraph [0054] teaches wherein attachment/detachment information is determined by a number of cycle uses, including removing and placing a battery into a holster or kiosk).
Regarding claim 5, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the electrical power device or the remote device further includes a repair/maintenance information acquisition unit configured to acquire, based on the deterioration information acquired by the deterioration information acquisition unit, repair/maintenance information including at least one of (i) information indicating an arrival of a repair/maintenance period of the second terminal or (ii) information indicating a repair/maintenance prediction period which is a period in which a repair/maintenance of the second terminal is predicted to be performed (paragraph [0078] teaches wherein the rechargeable battery and/or battery charging kiosk provides an indication that a battery requires maintenance).
Regarding claim 8, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 4, wherein the electrical power device is a storing device configured to be capable of storing a plurality of the power storage devices (figure 1 shows item 150 a kiosk capable of storing a plurality of storage devices item 160), and the electrical power device includes a selection unit configured to select, based on the deterioration information acquired by the deterioration information acquisition unit, the power storage device to be provided to a user out of the plurality of the power storage devices (defined in paragraph [0078] wherein the a deteriorated battery is prevented from being used or swapped).
Regarding claim 10, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to any one of claim 1, wherein the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit is configured to acquire, regarding a third terminal provided in another electrical power device different from the electrical power device and is configured to be attachable/detachable to/from the first terminal and the first terminal, another number of times of attachment/detachment which is a number of times of attachment/detachment between the first terminal and the third terminal (figure 1 shows a plurality, three different electrical power devices, an electric scooter 120, an electric bicycle 140 and a battery kiosk 160).
Regarding claim 11, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 10, wherein the electrical power device, the another electrical power device, or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device or the another electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the first terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment and the another number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit (figure 6 shows wherein battery information is exchanged between vehicles, kiosks, a server and mobile devices. Paragraph [0023] teaches wherein the battery may communicate with the kiosk, electric vehicle and mobile device).
Regarding claim 12, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the power storage device is attached/detached alternately between another electrical power device different from the electrical power device and the electrical power device, and the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the first terminal, based on a value obtained by doubling the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit (figure 6 shows wherein battery information is exchanged between vehicles, kiosks, a server and mobile devices. Paragraph [0023] teaches wherein the battery may communicate with the kiosk, electric vehicle and mobile device. Paragraph [0045] teaches wherein tnformation such as deterioration or battery health and condition is exchanged).
Regarding claim 13, Titus teaches an information processing system, comprising: the information acquisition device according to any one of claim 1; and the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device (figure 6 shows wherein battery information is exchanged between vehicles, kiosks, a server and mobile devices. Paragraph [0023] teaches wherein the battery may communicate with the kiosk, electric vehicle and mobile device. Paragraph [0045] teaches wherein information such as deterioration or battery health and condition is exchanged)..
Regarding claim 22, Titus teaches the information acquisition method (shown in figures 6-9),
comprising acquiring via network, regarding a first terminal provided in a power storage device (shown in figure 6 wherein an information acquisition unit is interpreted as a battery management system item 630, which includes a processing unit, which acquires or receives the amount of time a battery is attached or detached. Paragraph [0054] teaches wherein the number of cycle uses is a determination of the number of times a battery is attached or detached) and
a second terminal provided in an electrical power device (figure 2 shows a first terminal item 228 defined in paragraph [0046] within a power storage device, battery item 204) and
is configured to be attachable/detachable to/from the first terminal (Figure 1 and paragraph [0046] teaches wherein the battery may be removed or placed in a vehicle item 110, 130 or in a rechargeable battery kiosk item 150),
information related to the number of times of attachment/detachment between the first terminal and the second terminal (defined in paragraph [0054] wherein the number of cycle uses, including removing and placing the battery in a kiosk or holster is counted and determined. Figures 5A, 5B and 5B show wherein the cycles of removing and placing the battery are counted)
wherein the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the second terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit (paragraph [0045] teaches wherein the battery status information can include, but is not limited to, battery charge levels, battery health, conditions of the power connector terminals and/or an amount of rechargeable batteries currently available at the rechargeable battery kiosk. Paragraph [0050] teaches wherein, deterioration information, interpreted as a fault condition is determined based on the number of times (number of cycles) of insertion and removal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus (US 20200376983) in view of Kalligeros (US 20210316633).
Regarding claim 3, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 2, wherein the accommodation portion is configured such that the power storage device is insertable/removable into/from the accommodation portion (paragraph [0023] teaches wherein the battery may be inserted or placed and removed from an accommodation portion. The accommodation portion is interpreted as the holster 120 of scooter 110, the holster 140 of electric bicycle 130, and the rechargeable battery kiosk 150), but does not explicitly teach wherein the counting unit includes an insertion detection unit configured to detect that the power storage device has been inserted into the accommodation portion.
Kalligeros teaches wherein the counting unit includes an insertion detection unit configured to detect that the power storage device has been inserted into the accommodation portion (paragraph [0069[ teaches wherein a cloud service 140 tracks the usage of the power storage device, or batteries and communicates information to the battery swap stations (a push pod) and vehicles which receive the batteries. Paragraph [0075] teaches wherein the pushpod detects insertion into an accommodation portion, by communicating with the battery and tracking its information. Paragraph [0078] teaches wherein the pushpod communicates with the server and the battery to detect insertion or docking of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Titus reference with the detection system of the Kalligeros reference so that battery wear and tear may be monitored and prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kalligeros reference in paragraph [0093] wherein monitoring and preventing wear is tear is taught.
Kalligeros figure 1 shows a battery exchange/swapping station
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus (US 20200376983) in view of Lai (US 20190207397).
Regarding claim 6, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the electrical power device or the remote device further includes a first output unit configured to output information to be utilized for a manufacturing plan or a distribution plan of the second terminal, based on at least one of (i) an arrival of the repair/maintenance period being indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit or (ii) the repair/maintenance prediction period indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit.
Lai teaches wherein the electrical power device or the remote device further includes a first output unit configured to output information to be utilized for a manufacturing plan or a distribution plan of the second terminal, based on at least one of (i) an arrival of the repair/maintenance period being indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit or (ii) the repair/maintenance prediction period indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit (paragraphs [0018] – [0021] teaches wherein a service crew has been sent, to indicate an arrival of a maintenance period. Paragraph [0021] teaches wherein a maintenance plan is created based on information used to determine deterioration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Titus reference with the detection system of the Lai reference so that battery quality may be monitored and preserved.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kalligeros reference in paragraph [0003] wherein monitoring and preservation is taught.
Regarding claim 7, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the electrical power device or the remote device further includes a second output unit configured to output information to be utilized for a maintenance plan or a repair/maintenance plan of the second terminal, based on at least one of (i) an arrival of the repair/maintenance period being indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit or (ii) the repair/maintenance prediction period indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit.
Lai teaches wherein the electrical power device or the remote device further includes a second output unit configured to output information to be utilized for a maintenance plan or a repair/maintenance plan of the second terminal, based on at least one of (i) an arrival of the repair/maintenance period being indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit or (ii) the repair/maintenance prediction period indicated by the repair/maintenance information acquired by the repair/maintenance information acquisition unit (paragraphs [0018] – [0021] teaches wherein a service crew has been sent, to indicate an arrival of a maintenance period. Paragraph [0021] teaches wherein a maintenance plan is created based on information used to determine deterioration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Titus reference with the detection system of the Lai reference so that battery quality may be monitored and preserved.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kalligeros reference in paragraph [0003] wherein monitoring and preservation is taught.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus (US 20200376983) in view of Uchida (US 20180222343).
Regarding claim 9, Titus teaches the information acquisition device according to claim 8, wherein the electrical power device includes a plurality of the second terminals respectively corresponding to the plurality of the power storage devices, the deterioration information acquisition unit is configured to acquire the deterioration information related to each of the plurality of the second terminals (figure 1 shows a plurality of storage devices and paragraph [0045] discloses acquiring information related to deterioration information , interpreted as a state of health condition)
Titus does not explicitly teach wherein the selection unit is configured to select the power storage device to be provided to the user such that the power storage device corresponding to the second terminal having a smaller deterioration degree is provided to the user with a higher priority than the power storage device corresponding to the second terminal having a larger deterioration degree.
Uchida discloses wherein the selection unit is configured to select the power storage device to be provided to the user such that the power storage device corresponding to the second terminal having a smaller deterioration degree is provided to the user with a higher priority than the power storage device corresponding to the second terminal having a larger deterioration degree (defined paragraphs [0097] –[0101] wherein batteries are ranked and selected based on the amount of life remaining within the battery, which includes a level of deterioration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Titus reference with the charging system of the Uchida reference so that user can reduce the replacement expense the most while maintaining the target vehicle to be in a usable state.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Uchida reference in paragraph [0015] wherein reducing replacement expense is taught.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Titus (US 20200376983) in view of Fujita (US 20210083497)
Regarding claim 14, Titus teaches the information processing system, comprising the information acquisition device according to claim 4 (shown in figure 6); but does not explicitly teach an estimation unit configured to estimate a deterioration degree of the second terminal.
Fujita teaches an estimation unit configured to estimate a deterioration degree of the second terminal (defined in paragraph [0009] wherein an estimation unit is used to determine the deterioration state of a battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Titus reference with the detection system of the Fujita reference so that battery safety may be monitored and prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kalligeros reference in paragraph [0004] wherein monitoring battery safety is taught.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 22, the applicant argues in response to the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 that the claims do not recite a judicial exception, in this case an Abstract Idea.
Step 2A: Prong One- Whether the claims recite a judicial exception
The claims are directed to acquiring, analyzing, and outputting information related to attachment/detachment events between terminals of a power storage device and an electrical power device, and using the resulting data to determine deterioration, predict maintenance or select devices for use. This constitutes a Mental process and a Method for organizing or analyzing information, which falls within the Abstract Idea category.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
“attachment/detachment information acquisition unit…configured to acquire information relating to the number of time attachment/detachment occurred…” - The mental process of collecting information
“wherein the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device includes a deterioration information acquisition unit configured to acquire deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the second terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit” – The mental process of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis.
The amended claims and arguments overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Titus reference does not explicitly teach “calculating the deterioration degree.” The claims do not require, “calculating” a deterioration degree. Claim 1 requires, “wherein the electrical power device or a remote device configured to be communicable with the electrical power device acquires deterioration information indicating a deterioration degree of the second terminal, based on the number of times of attachment/detachment acquired by the attachment/detachment information acquisition unit.” Titus discloses in paragraph [0045] teaches wherein the battery status information can include information indicating deterioration, such as battery health and, conditions of the power connector terminals and/or an amount of rechargeable batteries currently available at the rechargeable battery kiosk. Figures 5A and 5B and paragraphs [0054]-[0055] show monitoring over time wherein, cycle uses including attachment/detachment information is used to determine deterioration or degraded condition. Paragraph [0054] specifically states, “an expected increase in resistance may be similar to or the same as that which is illustrated in FIG. 5A. That is, as a number of cycle uses (e.g., a cycle including, but not limited to: … removing the rechargeable battery from the battery holster, placing the rechargeable battery into the battery charging kiosk, removing the rechargeable battery from battery charging kiosk, and placing the rechargeable battery into the battery holster).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20130104361 A1 Method For Exchanging Batteries Corfitsen; Sten
Us 20210382971 A1 Battery Management System Ebisu; Hiromitsu Et Al.
Us 10974617 B2 Electric Power Storage System Hiroe; Yoshihiko Et Al.
Us 20050156571 A1 Adaptive Battery Control Inui, Takashi Et Al.
Us 20150069960 A1 Auxiliary Battery Charging Apparatus Kuraishi; Mamoru
Us 20200067149 A1 Swappable Battery Li; Yi-Lin
Us 20190207397 A1 Managing Batteries Based On Usage Lai; Yun-Chun Et Al.
Us 20190202416 A1 Managing Exchangeable Energy Storage Stations Lai; Yun-Chun Et Al.
Us 20200339005 A1 Managing Information In Vehicles Liao; En-Yi Et Al.
Us 20110196545 A1 Charging System Miwa; Koji
Us 20120248868 A1 Swappable Battery & Car Station Mobin; Fahim Usshihab Et Al.
Us 20200175551 A1 Electric Vehicle Batteries Penilla; Angel A. Et Al.
Us 20200164760 A1 Swappable Battery System Sohmshetty; Rajashekar Et Al.
Us 20200398694 A1 Electric Scooter Treadway; Peter Et Al.
Us 20210384746 A1 Battery Assembly Zeiler; Jeffrey Et Al.
Us 20210268930 A1 Battery Swapping Zhang; Jianping Et Al.
Us 20130226345 A1 Battery Quick-Change Zhao; Jinlong Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859