DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the applicant’s arguments filed on 8/10/26.
2. The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
3. Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 16-19 are currently pending.
4. Claim 1 is amended.
5. Claims 2-4, 7-13 and 16-19 are previously presented.
6. Claims 5-6, 14-15 and 20-26 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Response: 35 U.S.C. § 101
7. Applicants argue:
The applicant argues that with the claim language including the language of “computer implemented method”, demonstrates that the steps of the claim are being implemented by a computer and the claim language cannot be conducted in the human mind or with a pencil and paper. The applicant also argues that the present invention requires processing hundreds of thousand if not millions of data points, which is beyond capacity of the human mind. (Remarks: pages 6-7)
8. Examiner Response:
The examiner first notes that the computer mentioned in the claim language is viewed as an additional element. The computer is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer and/or a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, the examiner notes that none of the claim language states that there are hundreds of thousands or millions of data points that are being processed. The examiner notes that the limitation that includes receiving a point cloud states “receiving a point cloud (PC)
representation of the built structure”. This limitation amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
9. Applicants argue:
The applicant argues that the invention is described as an unsupervised method, where unsupervised methods do not require human intervention in the steps of claim 1. The applicant also argues that the words “the computer” have been amended into claim 1, where the limitations cannot be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. (Remarks: page 7)
10. Examiner Response:
The examiner notes that as shown in the previous office action dated 2/9/26, claim 1 contains limitations that doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Even with the recent amendment, the generating and determining limitations of claim 1 that state “generating a plurality of planes from the PC”, “determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model and storing those planes in memory”, “determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model and discarding those planes” and “generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC” does not distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, as stated above in section 8 of the current office action, the computer mentioned within the claim language is viewed as an additional element. The computer is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer and/or a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Response: 35 U.S.C. § 102/103
11. The examiner’s response regarding the applicant’s arguments to the newly added limitations are shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims cover performance of the limitation in the mind or by pencil and paper.
Claims 1
Regarding step 1, claim 1 is directed towards a method and a system, which has the claim fall within the eligible statutory categories of processes, machines, manufactures and composition of matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1
Regarding step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites “generating a plurality of planes from the PC”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model and storing those planes in memory”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model and discarding those planes”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding step 2A, prong 2, the limitation of “the computer receiving a point cloud
(PC) representation of the built structure” amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Also, the limitation of “the computer performing structure opening detection” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate what the opening is or what it’s associated with. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Also, the limitation of “the computer retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an specification containing object property specifications” amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Also, the limitation of “and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects, and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate what the planes are that represent the objects of model or what the properties of the objects are. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further, the additional elements of a computer. The computer is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer and/or a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2B, the limitations of “the computer receiving a point cloud
(PC) representation of the built structure” and “the computer retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an specification containing object property specifications” are also shown to reflect the court decisions of Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, shown in MPEP 2106.05(d) (II).
Also, the limitation of “the computer performing structure opening detection” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate what the opening is or what it’s associated with. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Also, the limitation of “and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects, and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate what the planes are that represent the objects of model or what the properties of the objects are. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the computer amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component that does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(b).
Claim 2
Dependent claim 2 recites “in claim 1 in which the PC contains a data set with a plurality of data points, one or more scan positions, a 3D coordinate value (XYZ), and a scan index value associated therewith.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 3
Dependent claim 3 recites “in claim 1 in which the method comprises the intermediate step of defining an arrangement graph.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4
Dependent claim 4 recites “in which the method comprises the step of generating the parametric structural design model using the arrangement graph.”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate what the data is within the arrangement graph. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claim 7
Dependent claim 7 recites “in which the parametric structural design model comprises an IFC model including an IFC schema file classifying all object types and object characteristics.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 8
Dependent claim 8 recites “in which the method comprises the intermediate step of, after receiving the PC, subsampling the PC data points according to a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid.”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate how the three-dimension (3D) voxel grid is associated with the PC data points. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claim 9
Dependent claim 9 recites “applying a normal estimation function across the subsampled PC data points”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate how the normal estimation function is being applied across the subsampled PC data points. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Dependent claim 9 recites “and, assigning a 3D normal vector to each data point in addition to their 3D Cartesian coordinate.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 10
Dependent claim 10 recites “further comprising the step of planar object recognition including: defining each planar object as the equation of its plane, a surface normal vector and the set of data points that lie on its plane.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 11
Dependent claim 11 recites “defining a projection function from 3D to two dimension (2D) so that a data point may be mapped from 3D onto a flat 2D surface”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Dependent claim 11 recites “and defining a reprojection function from 2D to 3D so that the point may be mapped from a 2D plane into 3D space.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 12
Dependent claim 12 recites “comprising the step of projecting the points associated with a plane to 2D and re- projecting those points back into 3D in order to form the vertices of a simple rectangular collision mesh.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the projecting or the re-projecting is being conducted. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 13
Dependent claim 13 recites “in which the method comprises the step of collapsing all the data points into a 2D array”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the data points are being collapsed into a 2D array. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Dependent claim 13 recites “and applying a Gaussian smoothing technique to the 2D array.”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The claim limitation doesn’t indicate how the Gaussian smoothing technique is being applied to the 2D array. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claim 16
Dependent claim 16 recites “in which for those planes that are vertical, determining whether the vertical plane relates to one of an internal wall or an external wall.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the determining is being conducted. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 17
Dependent claim 17 recites “determining whether there is another vertical plane spaced apart from but within a threshold distance from the first vertical plane.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the determining is being conducted. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 18
Dependent claim 18 recites “in which for those planes that are horizontal, determining whether the horizontal plane relates to one of a ceiling, a floor or a slab intermediate floors.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the determining is being conducted. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 19
Dependent claim 19 recites “determining whether there is another horizontal plane spaced apart from but within a threshold distance from the first horizontal plane.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. The limitation doesn’t state how the determining is being conducted. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 16-19 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
online reference Automatic Geometry Generation from Point Clouds for BIM, written by Thomson et al. (from IDS dated 3/11/24) in view of online reference From Point Clouds to Building Information Models: 3D Semi-Automatic Reconstruction of Indoors of Existing Buildings, written by Macher et al. (from IDS dated 3/11/24).
With respect to claim 1, Thomson et al. discloses “A computer implemented method
of generating a parametric structural design model from a built structure” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11755, sec. 1 Introduction, 1st paragraph, “Even though, from a BIM perspective, creating parametric 3D building models from scan data appears new, it actually extends back to the early days of commercialised terrestrial laser scanning systems creating parameterised surface representations from segmented point clouds [7] and goes back further than this in the aerial domain for external parametric reconstruction [8,9]. A system of note from the close-range photogrammetry domain is Hazmap; originally developed to facilitate the capture and parametric modelling of complex nuclear plants in the 1990s [10].”)];
“the computer receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of the built structure” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11758, sec. 2.2.1 Reading In, “Loading the point cloud data into memory is the first step in the process. To keep with the non-proprietary, interoperable nature of BIM the E57 format was decided as the input format of choice to support. The LIBE57 library version 1.1.312 provided the necessary reader to interpret the E57 file format [42] and some code was written to transfer the E57 data into the PCL point cloud data structure. In this case, only the geometry was needed so only the coordinates were taken into the structure.”)];
“the computer generating a plurality of planes from the PC” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11759, sec. 2.2.2, Plane Model Segmentation, 1st paragraph “With the data loaded in, the processing can begin. Firstly the major horizontal planes are detected as these likely represent the floor and ceiling components and then the vertical planes which likely represent walls (Figure 1b,c). The plane detection for both cases is done with the PCL implementation of RANSAC (RANdom SAmple Consensus) [43] due to the speed and established nature. The algorithm is constrained to accept only planes whose normal coefficient is within a three degree deviation from parallel to the Z-axis (up) for horizontal planes and perpendicular to Z for vertical planes.”, Fig. 1)];
While Thomson et al. teaches receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC, Thomson et al. does not explicitly disclose “the computer determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory”, “the computer determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and discarding those planes; the computer performing structure opening detection”
Previtali et al. discloses “the computer determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 283, right col., 3rd paragraph “Usually rooms with a standard usage feature a relatively large free area on the floor surface for walking and moving around. The horizontal plane is discretized into cells of size β x β. The cell size β is set equal to the mean sampling resolution in the point cloud.”, Previtali et al. Pg. 284, sec. 4, Occlusion Labelling, 1st paragraph, “Once all surfaces of the room’s ‘box’ are detected, openings are looking for. Detection of the boundaries of openings, such as windows or doors in a wall, is usually a complex task”, Previtali et al. Pg. 284, 2nd paragraph, “In this step each surface is separately processed. Once having previously defined the wall surface, points representing inliers for the plane under analysis can be easily recognized. The detected plane is then discretized into cells of size β x β and then a BORM (denoted as M0) is generated on the basis on whether inlier points are detected at each pixel location or not.”)];
“the computer determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and discarding those planes” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 283, 1st paragraph, “Once the point cloud segments have been detected, a first semantic classification is done to detect roof and ceiling. Indeed, by analysing the detected segments, the ceiling can be identified as the non-vertical plane having the lower height. Conversely the roof is detected as the non-vertical plane located at the highest level. In this way, the distance from ceiling to roof can be also worked out (Fig. 4a).”)];
“the computer performing structure opening detection” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 281, right col., 1st paragraph “This paper presents an automatic method for modelling predominantly planar indoor environment on the basis of TLS data. This topic can be addressed as automatic indoor reconstruction (AIR). The presented methodology aims at generating reliable models despite of the presence of significant amounts of clutter and occlusion, which frequently occur in
building indoor. In particular, gaps in the input data can be recognized and filled by detecting occluded regions and by modelling windows or door openings.”, Previtali et al. (Pg. 284, sec. 4, Occlusion Labelling, 1st paragraph, “Once all surfaces of the room’s ‘box’ are detected, openings are looking for. Detection of the boundaries of openings, such as windows or doors in a wall, is usually a complex task”)];
Thomson et al. and Previtali et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing point clouds to develop models of a building.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Thomson et al. of receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC by incorporating computer determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory”, the computer determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and discarding those planes; the computer performing structure opening detection as taught by Previtali et al. for the purpose of turning raw point clouds into semantically-enriched models of building
interiors.
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. teaches computer determining those planes that are representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory”, the computer determining those planes that are not representative of objects to be included in the parametric structural design model, comprising determining those planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and discarding those planes; the computer performing structure opening detection.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Previtali et al. teaches that by turning raw point clouds into semantically-enriched models of building interiors, the ability to import the reconstructed semantically-enriched model into Building Information Model (BIM). This allows for a way to recover and complete missing parts in a plausible way (Previtali et al. Pg. 287, Conclusion, 1st – 2nd paragraph, “ In the last years, indoor reconstruction if existing, etc.”).
While the combination of Thomson et al. and Previtali et al. teaches determining planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory, Thomson et al. and Previtali et al. does not explicitly disclose “the computer generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC; the computer retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an IFC specification containing object property specifications; and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification”
Yu et al. discloses “the computer generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC” as [Yu et al. (Pg. 3, 2nd paragraph, “The IFC file analysis unit 110 recognizes at least one or more objects belonging to the space and space of the building from the IFC file based on the IFC file schema and extracts the shape and position information associated with the space and the object.”, Yu et al. Pg. 3, 4th paragraph, “In one embodiment, one or more objects belonging to a space may comprise at least one of a wall, a slab, and a window. If the object is a wall, the shape and position information of the object extracted may include the length, height, direction information, and position coordinate of the object. The shape and location information of the object extracted when the object is a slab may include the shape, height, direction information, and position coordinate of the object. If the object is a window, the shape and location information of the extracted object may include the length, height, and position coordinate values of the object.”)];
“retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an IFC specification containing object property specifications” as [Yu et al. (Pg. 6, 2nd paragraph, “On the other hand, if the object includes the window object, the referenced window object is searched for in the IfcRelVoidsElement entity (step 616), and the shape and position information for the window object is extracted from the IFC file and stored in the object-based database (Step 618) and completes the information extraction process for the object. In one embodiment, the window object includes length and height information as shape information and includes position coordinates as position information.”)];
“and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification” as [Yu et al. (Pg. 3, 6th paragraph “The building model is recognized as a space that is the basis of energy analysis. Each space includes area and volume information, and is a location that indicates the distance from the reference point of the building in the direction of X axis, Y axis, Z axis Coordinate values and an azimuth angle indicating the direction of the space with respect to the Y-axis. In addition, the object (wall, slab, window, etc.) forming the space is classified by the space. At this time, the wall / slab object should include a width, a height, an azimuth and a position coordinate value, and a window object should include a length, a height, and a position coordinate value.”)];
Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing point clouds to develop models of a building.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Thomson et al. and Previtali et al. of determining planes that are either vertical or horizontal, and storing those planes in memory by incorporating the computer generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC; the computer retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an IFC specification containing object property specifications; and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification as taught by Yu et al. for the purpose of performing energy analysis of a building.
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. teaches the computer generating a plurality of Industry Foundation Classes (IFC) structural objects in addition to the walls, the floors and the ceilings, from the PC; the computer retrieving the properties of those objects to be included in the parametric structural design model from an IFC specification containing object property specifications; and the computer generating the parametric structural design model with the planes representative of the objects to be included, and with the plurality of IFC structural objects and the properties of those objects from the IFC specification.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Yu et al. teaches that by performing energy analysis of a building, the ability to predict the energy throughout a building can known. This allows a user to know the maximum energy throughout the building (Yu et al. (Abstract, Pg. 1-2, Description, “The present invention relates to a method, etc.”).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Previtali et al. further discloses “one or more scan positions, and a scan index value associated therewith” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 285, sec. 4.1 Ray-tracing labelling, 1st paragraph, “Let S = {S1,S2,…,Sn} be the set of n scan standpoints for the room to be modelled. For each scan position Sk, a labelling Lk is generated by tracing a ray from the scan location to each pixel Pi(X,Y,Z) labelled as ‘empty’ in M0.”, Previtali et al. (Pg. 282, sec. 2, Indoor Reconstruction Overview, 1st paragraph, “The developed methodology for automatic indoor reconstruction (AIR) takes as input a set of registered scans with a known ‘up’ direction and the location of the scanner in the room. All these prerequisites can be easily obtained in the practice. Indeed, scan registration is a well-studied problem, and methods to manually or automatically register scans are available both in scientific and commercial software packages, see a review in Previtali et al. (2014).”)];
“in which the PC contains a data set with a plurality of data points” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 284, left col., 2nd paragraph, “Starting from the available data, some cells can be directly categorized as ‘occupied’. In particular, all cells occupied by points belonging to the ceiling can be directly assigned to set T.”, Previtali et al. Pg. 284, sec. 4 Occlusion Labelling, 2nd paragraph, “In this step each surface is separately processed. Once having previously defined the wall surface, points representing inliers for the plane under analysis can be easily recognized. The detected plane is then discretized into cells of size β x β and then a BORM (denoted as M0) is generated on the basis on whether inlier points are detected at each pixel location or not.”
Yu et al. discloses “a 3D coordinate value (XYZ)” as [Yu et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “In one embodiment, the space includes shape information and a height value of the space expressed in a plan view as the shape information, and may include positional information of the space and position coordinate values based on the X, Y, and Z axes.”, Yu et al. Pg. 6, 4th paragraph, “FIG. 7B shows the schema of an IfcDoor / IfcWindow entity included in the IFC file. As shown, the IfcDoor / IfcWindow entity is represented directly by the Overallwidth and Overallheight attributes, and the values can be extracted to confirm the window length and height information. The location information is also included as an entity structure composed of object placement relationships like other objects, and the corresponding location coordinates can be extracted.”)];
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Previtali et al. further discloses “the intermediate step of defining an arrangement graph.” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 284, left col., 1st paragraph, “Indeed, it can be observed that generally walls are mutually perpendicular in indoor environments. For this reason ‘pending’ walls are guessed as orthogonal to the detected walls and are added from the boundary of the detected ones (Fig. 5a). To obtain a continuous floor plan from ‘detected’ and ‘pending’ walls, a procedure based on cell complex labelling is applied. As a first step a 2D arrangement (Edelsbrunner et al., 1986) is set up by using both ‘detected’ and ‘pending’ walls. The arrangement generates a partitioning of the original space domain into convex polygonal cells (Fig. 5b).”, Previtali et al. Pg. 286, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In Figure 4 segmentation results are presented and distinction between room elements (floor, ceiling and walls) is shown. Once having defined the detected wall surfaces, ghost primitives are added and the complex arrangement is set up (Fig. 5).”, Fig. 5)];
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 3 above, and Previtali et al. further discloses “the step of generating the parametric structural design model using the arrangement graph.” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 286, , right col., 2nd paragraph, “In Figure 4 segmentation results are presented and distinction between room elements (floor, ceiling and walls) is shown. Once having defined the detected wall surfaces, ghost primitives are added and the complex arrangement is set up (Fig. 5). Finally, occupancy maps are generated for all the detected wall surfaces. The obtained room model is presented in Figure 9a-d while results of the geometric accuracy of the model are presented in Figure 10.”, Fig. 9)];
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Thomson et al. further discloses “in which the parametric structural design model comprises an IFC model including an IFC schema file classifying all object types and object characteristics.” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11761, sec. 2.2.4 Spatial Reasoning, last paragraph, “Once successfully created with or without geometric reasoning applied the walls and slabs can be stored to the model and saved as an IFC file. Figure 3 shows an example of the resultant geometry that is obtained through both processes. This file can then be viewed in any IFC viewer or BIM design tools such as Autodesk Revit.”, Thomson et al. (Pg. 11762, sec. 2.3.1 Reading the IFC, “We start by loading the IFC file into memory. Then, for each IFC object that is required, the coordinates of an object-oriented bounding box are extracted as the return geometry. A user specified tolerance can be added to take account of errors and generalisations made during modelling, thus enlarging the bounding boxes by that amount.”)];
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Thomson et al. further discloses “in which for those planes that are vertical, determining whether the vertical plane relates to one of an internal wall or an external wall.” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11759, sec. 2.2.2, 1st paragraph, “With the data loaded in, the processing can begin. Firstly the major horizontal planes are detected as these likely represent the floor and ceiling components and then the vertical planes which likely represent walls (Figure 1b,c).”, Fig, 1c))];
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 16 above, and Thomson et al. further discloses “determining whether there is another vertical plane spaced apart from but within a threshold distance from the first vertical plane.” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11759, sec. 2.2.2, middle of 1st paragraph “The algorithm is constrained to accept only planes whose normal coefficient is within a three degree deviation from parallel to the Z-axis (up) for horizontal planes and perpendicular to Z for vertical planes. Also a distance threshold was set for the maximum distance of the points to the plane to accept as part of the model. Choosing this value is related to the noise level of the data from the instrument that was used for capture.”)];
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Thomson et al. further discloses “in which for those planes that are horizontal, determining whether the horizontal plane relates to one of a ceiling, a floor or a slab intermediate floors.” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11759, sec. 2.2.2, 1st paragraph, “With the data loaded in, the processing can begin. Firstly the major horizontal planes are detected as these likely represent the floor and ceiling components and then the vertical planes which likely represent walls (Figure 1b,c).”, Fig, 1c))];
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 18 above, and Thomson et al. further discloses “determining whether there is another horizontal plane spaced apart from but within a threshold distance from the first horizontal plane.” as [Thomson et al. (Pg. 11759, sec. 2.2.2, middle of 1st paragraph “The algorithm is constrained to accept only planes whose normal coefficient is within a three degree deviation from parallel to the Z-axis (up) for horizontal planes and perpendicular to Z for vertical planes. Also a distance threshold was set for the maximum distance of the points to the plane to accept as part of the model. Choosing this value is related to the noise level of the data from the instrument that was used for capture.”)];
Claim(s) 8-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. in further view of online reference Automatic reconstruction of parametric building models from indoor point clouds, written by Ochmann et al.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above.
While the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC, Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. do not explicitly disclose “the intermediate step of, after receiving the PC, subsampling the PC data points according to a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid.”
Ochmann et al. discloses “the intermediate step of, after receiving the PC, subsampling the PC data points according to a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid.” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 100, sec. 8 Evaluation, 1st paragraph, “We tested our approach on real-world point clouds of 14 stories from 5 different buildings; statistics are given in Table 1. The
shown number of points is after subsampling with the Point Cloud Library [14] using a resolution of ε =0:02 cm (i.e. in a voxel grid with a resolution of ε, at most one point in each voxel is retained).”, With there being a voxel grid, demonstrates that there’s a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid, since a voxel is any of the discrete elements comprising a three-dimensional entity, see attachment of definition of a voxel)];
Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Ochmann et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing point clouds to develop models of a building.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. of receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC by incorporating the intermediate step of, after receiving the PC, subsampling the PC data points according to a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid as taught by Ochmann et al. for the purpose of reconstructing the indoors of existing buildings.
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. in further view of Ochmann et al. teaches the intermediate step of, after receiving the PC, subsampling the PC data points according to a three-dimension (3D) voxel grid.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Ochmann et al. teaches that by reconstructing the indoors of existing buildings, the ability to reconstruct multi-story building models at the same time can be accomplished. This allows for a more efficient way to process the multiple designs for multiple buildings (Ochmann et al. Pg. 102, sec. 9 Conclusion and Future work, “We presented the first automatic method, etc.”).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Ochmann et al. discloses the method of claim 8 above, and Ochmann et al. further discloses ““applying a normal estimation function across the subsampled PC data points” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 100, sec. 8 Evaluation, 1st paragraph, “We tested our approach on real-world point clouds of 14 stories from 5 different buildings; statistics are given in Table 1. The shown number of points is after subsampling with the Point Cloud Library [14] using a resolution of ε =0:02 cm (i.e. in a voxel grid with a resolution of ε, at most one point in each voxel is retained). Normals are estimated by means of local PCA using point patches of 48 nearest neighbors. Normals are flipped towards the respective scanner position.”)];
“and, assigning a 3D normal vector to each data point in addition to their 3D Cartesian coordinate.” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 97, sec. 5 Generation of wall candidates, 2nd paragraph, “Nearly vertical planes ð711Þ with a sufficiently large approximate area ð⩾1:5 m2Þ
are considered as potential wall surfaces. For a plane P fulfilling these constraints, let nP ε R3 be the plane normal and PP the set of measured points supporting P. Each extracted plane P is transferred to the horizontal plane as a wall surface line lP defined by 〈nlP ; x〉_dlP =0. A schematic example for the extraction of wall surface lines is shown in Fig. 4(a)–(c).”, Fig. 4(c))];
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Ochmann et al. discloses the method of claim 9 above, and Ochmann et al. further discloses “the step of planar object recognition including: defining each planar object as the equation of its plane” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 97, sec. 5 Generation of wall candidates, 2nd paragraph, “Nearly vertical planes ð711Þ with a sufficiently large approximate area ð⩾1:5 m2Þ are considered as potential wall surfaces. For a plane P fulfilling these constraints, let nP ε R3 be the plane normal and PP the set of measured points supporting P. Each extracted plane P is transferred to the horizontal plane as a wall surface line lP defined by 〈nlP ; x〉_dlP =0. A schematic example for the extraction of wall surface lines is shown in Fig. 4(a)–(c).”)];
“a surface normal vector” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 97, sec. 5 Generation of wall candidates, 2nd paragraph, “Nearly vertical planes ð711Þ with a sufficiently large approximate area ð⩾1:5 m2Þ are considered as potential wall surfaces. For a plane P fulfilling these constraints, let nP ε R3 be the plane normal and PP the set of measured points supporting P. Each extracted plane P is transferred to the horizontal plane as a wall surface line lP defined by 〈nlP ; x〉_dlP =0. A schematic example for the extraction of wall surface lines is shown in Fig. 4(a)–(c).”, Fig. 4(c), lp1 and lp2 are perpendicular to the wall surface line lp, which demonstrates that there’s a surface normal vector)];
“and the set of data points that lie on its plane.” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 99, sec. 7 Model generation and opening detection, middle of 2nd paragraph, “For each plane, the number of support points located within f is determined. The elevation of the plane with the largest support within f and upwards- (resp. downwards-) facing normal is chosen as the floor height hfl(f) (resp. ceiling height hd(f)) of f.”, The examiner considers the support points to be the data points, since the support points are located on the plane)];
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Ochmann et al. discloses the method of claim 10 above, and Ochmann et al. further discloses “defining a projection function from 3D to two dimension (2D) so that a data point may be mapped from 3D onto a flat 2D surface” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 95 sec. 2, 1st paragraph, “Okorn et al. [13] generate 2D floor plans from 3D point clouds. A histogram of the vertical positions of all measured points is built. Peaks in this histogram are considered to be large horizontal planar structures (i.e. floor and ceiling surfaces).”)];
Previtali et al. discloses “and defining a reprojection function from 2D to 3D so that the point may be mapped from a 2D plane into 3D space.” as [Previtali et al. (Pg. 284, left col., 1st paragraph, “Indeed, it can be observed that generally walls are mutually perpendicular in indoor environments. For this reason ‘pending’ walls are guessed as orthogonal to the detected walls and are added from the boundary of the detected ones (Fig. 5a). To obtain a continuous floor plan from ‘detected’ and ‘pending’ walls, a procedure based on cell complex labelling is applied. As a first step a 2D arrangement (Edelsbrunner et al., 1986) is set up by using both ‘detected’ and ‘pending’ walls. The arrangement generates a partitioning of the original space domain into convex polygonal cells (Fig. 5b).”, Previtali et al. Pg. 287, sec. 6 Conclusions, 2nd paragraph, “Given a point cloud of the building indoor and the scan locations, the overall shape of the room is reconstructed as a 3D model provided in CAD format.”)];
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above.
While the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC, Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. do not explicitly disclose “the step of collapsing all the data points into a 2D array and applying a Gaussian smoothing technique to the 2D array.”
Ochmann et al. discloses “the step of collapsing all the data points into a 2D array and applying a Gaussian smoothing technique to the 2D array.” as [Ochmann et al. (Pg. 100, sec. 8 Evaluation, bottom of 2nd paragraph “We also found that smoothing the 2D and 1D grids used for the determination of face and edge label vectors in Section 6 using a large Gaussian kernel usually improves results.”)];
Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Ochmann et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing point clouds to develop models of a building.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. of receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC by incorporating the step of collapsing all the data points into a 2D array and applying a Gaussian smoothing technique to the 2D array as taught by Ochmann et al. for the purpose of reconstructing the indoors of existing buildings.
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. in further view of Ochmann et al. teaches the step of collapsing all the data points into a 2D array and applying a Gaussian smoothing technique to the 2D array.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Ochmann et al. teaches that by reconstructing the indoors of existing buildings, the ability to reconstruct multi-story building models at the same time can be accomplished. This allows for a more efficient way to process the multiple designs for multiple buildings (Ochmann et al. Pg. 102, sec. 9 Conclusion and Future work, “We presented the first automatic method, etc.”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. in further view of online reference From Point Clouds to Building Information Models: 3D Semi-Automatic Reconstruction of Indoors of Existing Buildings, written by Macher et al. (from IDS dated 3/11/24).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above.
While the combination of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. discloses receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC, Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. do not explicitly disclose “the step of projecting the points associated with a plane to 2D and re- projecting those points back into 3D in order to form the vertices of a simple rectangular collision mesh”
Macher et al. discloses “the step of projecting the points associated with a plane to 2D” as [Macher et al. (Pg. 4, 2nd paragraph, “Then, the remaining point cloud is projected onto the X-Y plane and planes corresponding to walls are extracted by considering room boundaries in the 2D plane. Once planes are extracted from point clouds and identified as a part of a wall, a ceiling or a ground, different modelling strategies can be carried out.”)];
“and re- projecting those points back into 3D in order to form the vertices of a simple rectangular collision mesh.” as [Macher et al. (Pg. 3, 1st paragraph, “Software dedicated to point cloud processing such as Realworks (Trimble), CloudCompare (EDF R&D) or 3D Reshaper (Technodigit) propose tools to create geometric primitives or meshes directly from 3D data.”, Macher et al. Pg. 13, sec. 3.3 Reconstruction of Structural Elements, “Planes composing walls, ceilings and floors were identified thanks to successive segmentations. These elements are still in form of point clouds. At this stage, a 3D reconstruction of the structural elements of the building (walls and slabs) must be performed. To reconstruct slabs and walls and to export the result into a BIM format, two steps are necessary. The 3D geometry of the elements is first described into the obj format [61] developed by Wavefront Technologies. This format is a simple
data-format which is open and which is used by a plenty of 3D graphics applications.”, Macher et al. Pg. 13, sec. 3.3.1 Element Description into Obj Format, 2nd paragraph, “A slab is described by a rectangular solid. In the vertical plane the level of the upper and the lower part of the slab is used and in the horizontal plane slab limits are determined considering the contours of the floor.”)];
Thomson et al., Previtali et al., Yu et al. and Macher et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing point clouds to develop models of a building.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Thomson et al., Previtali et al. and Yu et al. of receiving a point cloud (PC) representation of a built structure and generating a plurality of planes from the PC by incorporating the step of projecting the points associated with a plane to 2D and re- projecting those points back into 3D in order to form the vertices of a simple rectangular collision mesh as taught by Macher et al. for the purpose of reconstructing of the indoors of existing buildings.
Thomson et al. in view of Previtali et al. in further view of Yu et al. in further view of Macher et al. teaches the step of projecting the points associated with a plane to 2D and re- projecting those points back into 3D in order to form the vertices of a simple rectangular collision mesh.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Macher et al. teaches that by reconstructing the indoors of existing buildings the ability to analyze several datasets for the indoors of different buildings can be accomplished. This allows a way to use a default threshold in the integration from points clouds to BIM software (Macher et al. Pg. 26, sec. 6 Conclusions, 1st – 3rd paragraph, “The aim of this article was to present a processing chain conceived for the 3D semi-automatic, ETC.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of Kim et al. (KR 20070049774) is a method for creating a multidimensional model in a two-dimensional working drawing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD E COTHRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188