DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, drawn to a process of positioning a tool within a body lumen, and Species II, embodiment drawn to Figure(s) 74A-74F, in the reply filed on 11/11/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 80-98 (now cancelled), 104, and 114-127 (now cancelled) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/25. Regarding with claim 104, the Examiner respectfully notes the asymmetric guide is clearly drawn to at least non-elected Species HH and the corresponding description thereof.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 99-103 and 105-113 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tilson et al. (WO 2020/018934 A1, hereinafter Tilson).
For claim 99, Tilson discloses a method of positioning a tool within a body lumen (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]), comprising inter alia:
inserting a rigidizing device (609) and an outer tube (exterior of Fig 45D) into a body lumen while the rigidizing device is in a flexible configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]), wherein the outer tube comprises one or more expandable channels therein (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]);
supplying vacuum or pressure to the rigidizing device to transition the rigidizing device from the flexible configuration to a rigid configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]);
inserting a tool through a channel (655) of the one or more expandable channels while the rigidizing device is in the rigid configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]); and
performing a medical procedure in the body lumen with the tool (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 100, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, further comprising inserting a guide through the channel of the one or more expandable channels while the rigidizing device is in the rigid configuration and prior to inserting the tool (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 101, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, further comprising: removing the tool from the guide (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]); and removing the guide from the channel (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 102, Tilson discloses the method of claim 101, wherein removing the guide from the channel causes the channel to collapse radially inwards (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 103, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, wherein a shape of the rigidizing device in the rigid configuration remains fixed during the step of inserting the guide (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 105, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, wherein the step of inserting the tool comprises inserting the tool such that the tool extends through a preset bend in a lumen of the guide and points towards a central axis of the rigidizing device (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 106, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, wherein inserting the guide through the channel causes the channel to expand radially outwards from a collapsed configuration to an expanded configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 107, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, wherein the at least one guide has a higher stiffness than the rigidizing device in the flexible configuration and a lower stiffness than the rigidizing device in the rigid configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 108, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, wherein the step of supplying vacuum or pressure to the rigidizing device comprises supplying vacuum or pressure to a wall of the rigidizing device (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 109, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, wherein the step of performing a medical procedure is performed while the rigidizing device is in the rigid configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 110, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, wherein the tool has a higher stiffness than the rigidizing device in the flexible configuration and a lower stiffness than the rigidizing device in the rigid configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 111, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, further comprising passing a scope through the rigidizing device while the rigidizing device is in a rigidized configuration (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 112, Tilson discloses the method of claim 100, wherein a shape of the rigidizing device in the rigid configuration remains fixed during the step of inserting the tool (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
For claim 113, Tilson discloses the method of claim 99, further comprising selecting the channel of the one or more channels prior to inserting the guide (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]), wherein selecting the channel comprises selecting based upon a proximal marker indicating a distal circumferential position of the channel (Figs 45A-D, 72A-72D, 81A-F) ([0153-0169, 0191-0234, 0262-0265, 0322-0341, 0359-0380]).
Conclusion
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791