DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments were received on 8/20/26. Claims 1 is amended. Claim 9 is withdrawn-currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claims 1-4, 6-8 are withdrawn because the Applicant amended the claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the limitation, “to 50%” is considered new matter since the specification discloses “to about 50%.” The limitation “about” would include range a bit over 50%, thus there is no support that would exclude “about 50%.” Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are rejected for the same reasons.
As best understood, please see the 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are to an exterior material, however, the Applicant’s amendments include an electrode assembly is accommodated which is not part of the exterior material. It is unclear if the “electrode assembly” is positively claimed, if the claims are to “an exterior material.” Appropriate corrections are required.
The dependent claims are rejected for the same reasons.
As best understood, please see the 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101840499B1, on claims 1-4, 6-8 are modified in view of the Applicant’s amendments
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101840499B1.
Regarding claim 1, the KR101840499B1 discloses an exterior material for lithium ion battery, comprising a barrier layer (metal layer, 13a), a first functional layer formed on one surface of the barrier layer; a second functional layer (combination of 11a and 12a) formed on the other surface of the barrier layer; and an anti-corrosion layer (14a) formed on at least one surface of the barrier layer, wherein the first functional layer is composed of one or more resin layers including a sealing layer (16a; Tm of about 160°C) and further includes a reinforced resin (15a; adhesive resin layer, for example Adma", trade name, manufactured by Mitsui Chemicals, Inc with Tm of about 200°C) layer having a higher melting point than the sealing layer. The KR101840499B1 is silent in disclosing least a portion of the exterior material has a concavo-convex shape alternately protruded and recessed in a thickness direction. However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to change shape of the exterior material, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size, shape of a component. A change in size and shape are generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)) .
In addition, the KR101840499B1 discloses the thickness of the barrier layer (13a) is 10-100, specifically, 15-80 microns. The thickness of the anti-corrosion layer (14a) is 5nm-1 micron. The sealing layer (16a) comprises a thickness of 10-80 microns. The thickness of the reinforced layer (15a) comprises 2-50 microns. The thickness of the second functional layer (12a) is 1-10 microns. The total thickness of the exterior material is 23-241 microns in which the thickness of the second functional layer to the total thickness of the exterior material would overlap the range 33% to about 50%. For the range outside of the claimed range, it is the Examiner’s position that the amounts in question are so close that it is a prima facie obvious that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773.
Per the Applicant’s results of Fig. 4, the second functional layer 2 of Example 3, comparative Example 1 and 2 are all not within range when considering second functional layer in respect to the total thickness. Thus, in the event that the combination does not teach the thickness of the second functional layer to the total thickness of the exterior material from 33% to about 50% with sufficient specificity, it would have been indeed obvious and adequate, absent a showing of criticality and unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, the KR101840499B1 discloses the barrier layer has a thickness of 25 µm or more, and the exterior material has a total thickness calculated to be from 100 µm to 300 µm.
Regarding claim 3, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein when the exterior material is folded in order for the second functional layer to be located inside the exterior material, the folded barrier layer has a radius of curvature of 0.03 mm or more.
Regarding claim 4, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the sealing layer has a greater thickness than the barrier layer and has a thickness of 25 µm or more.
Regarding claim 6, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the reinforced resin layer has a greater thickness than the anti-corrosion layer and has a thickness of 10 µm or more.
Regarding claim 7, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the reinforced resin layer has a thickness 0.25 to 4.2 times greater than a thickness of the sealing layer.
Regarding claim 8, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the exterior material is used for a flexible battery that is bendable.
In alternative, the claims can also be rejected as follows:
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101840499B1 in view of Yun (2017-527969)
Regarding claim 1, the KR101840499B1 discloses an exterior material for lithium ion battery, comprising a barrier layer (metal layer, 13a), a first functional layer formed on one surface of the barrier layer; a second functional layer (combination of 11a and 12a) formed on the other surface of the barrier layer; and an anti-corrosion layer (14a) formed on at least one surface of the barrier layer, wherein the first functional layer is composed of one or more resin layers including a sealing layer (16a; Tm of about 160°C) and further includes a reinforced resin (15a; adhesive resin layer, for example Adma", trade name, manufactured by Mitsui Chemicals, Inc with Tm of about 200°C) layer having a higher melting point than the sealing layer.
In addition, the KR101840499B1 discloses the thickness of the barrier layer (13a) is 10-100, specifically, 15-80 microns. The thickness of the anti-corrosion layer (14a) is 5nm-1 micron. The sealing layer (16a) comprises a thickness of 10-80 microns. The thickness of the reinforced layer (15a) comprises 2-50 microns. The thickness of the second functional layer (12a) is 1-10 microns. The total thickness of the exterior material is 23-241 microns in which the thickness of the second functional layer to the total thickness of the exterior material would overlap the range 33% to about 50%. For the range outside of the claimed range, it is the Examiner’s position that the amounts in question are so close that it is a prima facie obvious that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773.
Per the Applicant’s results of Fig. 4, the second functional layer 2 of Example 3, comparative Example 1 and 2 are all not within range when considering second functional layer in respect to the total thickness. Thus, in the event that the combination does not teach the thickness of the second functional layer to the total thickness of the exterior material from 33% to about 50% with sufficient specificity, it would have been indeed obvious and adequate, absent a showing of criticality and unexpected results.
In addition, the KR101840499B1 is silent in disclosing at least a portion of the exterior material of a battery comprising a concavo-convex shape alternately protruded and recessed in a thickness direction. However, the Yun et al. reference discloses at least a portion of the exterior material comprises a pattern which has a concavo-convex shape alternately protruded and recessed in a thickness direction. The Yun et al. reference further discloses the pattern is for a flexible exterior material of the battery in order to prevent deterioration due to contraction and relaxation of the battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate concavo-convex shape alternately protruded and recessed in a thickness direction for the exterior of the material disclosed by the Yun reference for the shape of the exterior material for a battery disclosed by the KR101840499B1 to provide a battery with increased battery damage prevention.
Regarding claim 2, the KR101840499B1 discloses the barrier layer has a thickness of 25 µm or more, and the exterior material has a total thickness calculated to be from 100 µm to 300 µm.
Regarding claim 3, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein when the exterior material is folded in order for the second functional layer to be located inside the exterior material, the folded barrier layer has a radius of curvature of 0.03 mm or more.
Regarding claim 4, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the sealing layer has a greater thickness than the barrier layer and has a thickness of 25 µm or more.
Regarding claim 6, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the reinforced resin layer has a greater thickness than the anti-corrosion layer and has a thickness of 10 µm or more.
Regarding claim 7, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the reinforced resin layer has a thickness 0.25 to 4.2 times greater than a thickness of the sealing layer.
Regarding claim 8, the KR101840499B1 discloses wherein the exterior material is used for a flexible battery that is bendable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicants argue, “
”
However, there the specification does not disclose that the concavo-convex pattern results in improvement in the battery. The Applicant’s specification discloses that the shape may be formed such that a concavo-convex shape appears to disclose that the concavo-convex shape is optional. In addition, the claims can be alternatively rejected.
The Applicant argues, ‘
”
However, the KR101840499 reference discloses the trade name of the materials used for the sealant and adhesive resin layer. Therefore, the melting points can be found in the layers used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752