DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4- 6, 8, 10-12 ,18, 22, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0131727; hereinafter Khoryaev) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2023/0180174) in further view of Ren et al. (US 2023/0155766).
Regarding claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses a wireless communication method, performed by a terminal (Paragraphs [0003]; [0033]; [0038] [0098] states that DL BWPs are “used for data communication”),
Khoryaev doesn’t teach comprising: configuring priorities for a positioning-purpose reference signal and communication information,
In analogous art Ren teaches comprising: configuring priorities for a positioning-purpose reference signal and communication information (Paragraphs [0015]; [0063]; [0074]; [0166]-[0170]; [0216] describes the priority of the communication information (the first channel =PUSCH/PUCCH), describes the priority of the positioning-purpose reference signal (high precision/low delay- high priority.) the system configures priorities for both the positioning-purpose reference signal (via first indication information reflecting delay requirements) and the communication information (via second indication information indicating priority)),
Khoryaev teaches a first bandwidth part (BWP) being used to transmit the communication information (Paragraphs [0003]; [0033]; [0038] states that DL BWPs are “used for data communication,” which directly teaches transmitting communication information on a BWP),
Khoryaev teaches and a second BWP being used to transmit the positioning- purpose reference signal (Paragraph [0075] states that PRS signals are transmitted on dedicated resources separate from other DL transmissions, and that sharing resources is typically avoided because it degrades positioning performance. Fig. 2, block 202 reinforces this distinction by showing separate configuration processes for “a bandwidth part (BWP) for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) and a BWP for DL data transmission,” highlighting that these are treated as distinct transmission types with dedicated resources)
Khoryaev teaches while the first BWP transmits the communication information, wherein the communication information does not comprise the positioning-purpose reference signal (Paragraph [0075] states that PRS signals are transmitted on dedicated resources separate from other DL transmissions, and that sharing resources is typically avoided because it degrades positioning performance. Fig. 2, block 202 reinforces this distinction by showing separate configuration processes for “a bandwidth part (BWP) for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) and a BWP for DL data transmission,” highlighting that these are treated as distinct transmission types with dedicated resources),
Khoryaev doesn’t teach and the second BWP comprises the first BWP;
In analogous art Yerramalli, teaches and the second BWP comprises the first BWP (Paragraph [0129] describes the PRS bandwidth (Second BWP) spans the entire operating frequency range, while the active communication BWP (first BWP) is a subset within that range );
Khoryaev doesn’t teach and determining, based on the priorities, the communication information or the positioning-purpose reference signal that is transmitted on an overlapping resource of the first BWP and the second BWP, wherein configuring the priorities for the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information, comprises: configuring the priorities for the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information based on transmission delay requirements of the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information.
Yerramalli, teaches and determining, based on the priorities, the communication information or the positioning-purpose reference signal that is transmitted on an overlapping resource of the first BWP and the second BWP (Paragraph [0130] describes when resources overlap (“conflicting (overlapping ) downlink resources” ), the UE makes a determination, it skips PRS and transmits or receives communication data instead, based on the established priority where communication data outranks PRS),
Ren teaches wherein configuring the priorities for the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information, comprises: configuring the priorities for the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information based on transmission delay requirements of the positioning-purpose reference signal and the communication information (Paragraphs [0028]; [0039]; [0285]-[0286]; [0290]-[0293] describes priority configuration for both the positioning signal (SRS-Pos) and communication information (first channel/PUSCH/PUCCH) simultaneously. The transmission delay requirement of the positioning signal (first indication information , high precision/low delay) the priority of the communication channel (second indication information, high priority) not high channel priority and high precision/low delay, positioning signal wins (delay requirement drives priority) high channel priority and not high precision/low delay, communication information wins).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of resource conflict resolution in Khoryaev and Yerramalli by incorporating Ren to provide explicit priority based on transmission delay requirements for resolving Collison between positioning reference signals and communication channels on overlapping bandwidth resources doing so would enable flexible, delay aware resource collision handling that maximizes positioning accuracy for latency-sensitive positioning applications while preserving quality of service (QoS) for Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency communication (URLLC) and other delay-sensitive communication services , thereby optimizing both positioning performance and communication reliability in 5G systems (Ren, Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses receiving a first configuration signaling, wherein the first configuration signaling is configured to indicate a frequency domain resource location within the first BWP; and determining the frequency domain resource for transmitting the communication information based on the first configuration signaling (Paragraphs [0035]-[0036] states the use of configuration signaling (e.g., via RRC, RMSI, OSI, etc.) to define resource parameters for PRS transmission. The signaling is used to define frequency-domain characteristics (e.g., PRB-level granularity and specific resource location) within a BWP, the UE acts on this signaling to determine where to transmit or receive PRS data).
Regarding claim 4, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the second BWP is configured as a unique active BWP of the terminal (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] disclose that a dedicated BWP is configured solely for PRS, and the UE switches to it, making it the unique active BWP during PRS transmission).
Regarding claim 5, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the first BWP is configured as a first active BWP of the terminal and the second BWP is configured as a second active BWP of the terminal (Paragraph [0045] discloses a scenario where a UE is capable of simultaneous multiple BWP processing. That means: One BWP can be for data transmission (first BWP), One BWP can be for PRS transmission (second BWP) and Both are active at the same time).
Regarding claim 6, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the first BWP is configured as a unique active BWP of the terminal and the second BWP is configured as a positioning measurement BWP of the terminal (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] discloses the UE operates with a DL BWP for communication as the only active BWP, consistent with “unique active BWP. A dedicated BWP is configured only for PRS (i.e., positioning measurement). The UE must switch to this BWP only when positioning operations are needed. Switching is required between the communication BWP and the PRS BWP, implying they are not active simultaneously).
Regarding claim 8, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the second BWP and the first BWP partially overlap (Paragraph [0038] teaches that the DL PRS BWP (second BWP for positioning reference signals) can be configured to partially overlap with the DL BWP (first BWP for communication information).
Regarding claim 10, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the first BWP is configured as a first active BWP of the terminal and the second BWP is configured as a second active BWP of the terminal; or, the first BWP is configured as the first active BWP of the terminal, a third BWP is configured as the second active BWP of the terminal, and the third BWP is a union of the first BWP and the second BWP (Paragraph [0045] discloses a scenario where a UE is capable of simultaneous multiple BWP processing. That means: One BWP can be for data transmission (first BWP), One BWP can be for PRS transmission (second BWP) and Both are active at the same time).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses, receiving a second configuration signaling, wherein the second configuration signaling is configured to configure the second BWP, and the second BWP comprises the first BWP ( Paragraphs [0041]; [0044] describes configuration of a second BWP (for PRS) via higher-layer signaling and indicates that the PRS BWP may comprise the communication BWP).
Regarding claim 18, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the second BWP and the first BWP do not overlap (Paragraph [0029]; states that PRS (second BWP) can be configured outside the communication BWP (first BWP). “Allocated outside” (no overlap). Paragraph [0256] Supports independent (i.e., disjoint) configuration of PRS BWPs and communication BWPs).
Regarding claim 22, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli and Ren, Khoryaev discloses wherein the positioning-purpose reference signal comprises: a downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) (Paragraphs [0028]-[0032] This paragraphs explicitly refers to “NR DL PRS” (New Radio Downlink Positioning Reference Signal), clearly showing that the positioning-purpose reference signal comprises a downlink PRS);
or a sounding reference signal (SRS) for a purpose of uplink positioning (Paragraphs [0058]-[0061] state that SRS (sounding reference signal) is used for uplink positioning);
or wherein the communication information comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block; a reference signal for a purpose of uplink and downlink communication; a control signaling transmitted on a control channel; or service data transmitted on a data channel (Paragraphs [0051]-[0053] states that SSB (synchronization signal block) can be used for communication information related to positioning, and reference signal are used for the purpose of communication. Paragraph [0111] This paragraph describes control signaling transmitted on a control channel (PDCCH) and “The PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs 301.” This clearly states that service data (user data) is transmitted on a data channel (PDSCH)).
Regarding claims 25, the independent claim is substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed in claim 1, with distinguishing feature being a terminal, comprising a processor; a transceiver; and a memory storing an executable program (Khoryaev, Paragraph [0146]-[0148], Figures 6-8, 12 ). The claim have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, the claim can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Regarding claim 26, the independent claim is substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed in claim 1, with distinguishing feature being a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal (Khoryaev, Fig. 12). The claim have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, the claim can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Claim(s) 7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren and Cirik et al. (US 2020/0146059; hereinafter Cirik).
Regarding claim 7, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren don’t teach switching a BWP for transmitting the communication information from a fourth BWP to the first BWP, wherein the fourth BWP is located outside the second BWP.
However, in analogous art, Cirik disclose switching a BWP for transmitting the communication information from a fourth BWP to the first BWP, wherein the fourth BWP is located outside the second BWP (Paragraph [0266] disclose a UE switching between multiple BWPs in response to configuration signaling or timers. A method where a UE switches from one BWP to another upon a DCI signal or timer expiry. Explicit transitions from BWP3 → BWP2 → BWP1, which satisfies the condition of switching from a fourth BWP to a first BWP. Since the second BWP is not involved in this data transmission switch, and the example shows BWPs placed in different locations (with separate identifiers and possibly non-overlapping), it supports the limitation: “fourth BWP is located outside the second BWP”).
Khoryaev , in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren and Cirik are regarded as analogs to the claimed invention because they operate within the same field of wireless communication systems, particularly addressing BWP management, signal prioritization, and handling of communication and positioning-related transmissions in 5G NR systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of resource conflict resolution Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren by incorporating Cirik’s method of evaluating and configuring BWPs based on quality measurements and BWP combinations to better support efficient switching between communication and positioning transmissions and to improve UE flexibility in selecting or merging BWPs to accommodate system demands or reduce switching overhead (Cirik, paragraph [0455]).
Regarding claim 9, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren don’t teach wherein a third BWP is configured as a unique active BWP of the terminal and the third BWP is a union of the first BWP and the second BWP.
However, in analogous art, Cirik disclose wherein a third BWP is configured as a unique active BWP of the terminal and the third BWP is a union of the first BWP and the second BWP (Paragraph [0266] and FIG. 10 disclose switching a UE’s active BWP from separate BWPs (BWP1, BWP2) to a third BWP (BWP3). Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, BWP3 may encompass or unify the resource ranges of BWP1 and BWP2, thereby operating as a unique active BWP that is a union of the first and second BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren into the combination of Cirik for the same reason as claim 7 above.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren and Cirik et al. (US 2021/0006376; hereinafter Cirik).
Regarding claim 14, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren don’t teach wherein the priorities of the positioning-purpose reference signal comprise a first priority and a second priority; in which the first priority is higher than the second priority; and the priorities of the communication information comprise a third priority and a fourth priority; in which the third priority is higher than the fourth priority, wherein the first priority is higher than the fourth priority and lower than the third priority; and the second priority is lower than the fourth priority; or wherein the fourth priority is higher than the first priority and the second priority, respectively.
However, in analogous art, Cirik disclose wherein the priorities of the positioning-purpose reference signal comprise a first priority and a second priority; in which the first priority is higher than the second priority; and the priorities of the communication information comprise a third priority and a fourth priority; in which the third priority is higher than the fourth priority, wherein the first priority is higher than the fourth priority and lower than the third priority; and the second priority is lower than the fourth priority; or wherein the fourth priority is higher than the first priority and the second priority, respectively (Paragraphs [0361]; [0542] discloses a wireless device determining relative priorities for four different service types each associated with distinct priority levels wherein the device evaluates whether a first priority is higher or lower than a second priority, and whether a fourth priority is higher or lower than a third priority).
Khoryaev, Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren and Cirik are regarded as analogs to the claimed invention because they operate within the same field of wireless communication systems, particularly in relation to bandwidth part (BWP) management, signal prioritization, and conflict resolution between communication and positioning transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of resource conflict resolution Khoryaev in view of Yerramalli in further view of Ren by incorporating Cirik’s method of multi-level priority comparison and assignment to different signal types, and to enable dynamic and granular resolution of resource conflicts between positioning and communication signals, improving scheduling flexibility, transmission reliability, and quality of service across diverse traffic types (Cirik, Paragraph [0542]).
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464