DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: the atoms do not line up with the bonds in the structures in these claims, e.g. formula (I), (Ia), Z-4, Z-4b, Z-4c, etc. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (WO2018/228985, with US20210292312 used solely as the English translation for citation purposes).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-2, Peters teaches compositions comprising compounds of applicants formula I, specifically I-10, I-11, I-12, etc. which are the specifically claimed compounds of applicants formula (I), more specifically of applicant’s formula (Ia) and teaches wherein these compounds can be combined with other active substances including the claimed furilazole ([0016-0043]; [0062-0151]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0238]; [0250]; [0189-0190]; [0184-0188]; Claims 1-16, 18-22; [0164-0169]; Biological examples).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Peters teaches products which can comprise the claimed compounds of formula I, specifically formula Ia, can be combined with the claimed furilazole and used for controlling undesirable plants and which comprise one or more surfactants and/or extenders ([0189]; [0396]; [0393]; [0395]; [0398]; [0407]; [0001]; [0161]; [0016-0043]; [0062-0151]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0238]; [0250]; [0189-0190]; [0184-0188]; Claims 1-16, 18-22; [0164-0169]; all formulation and biological Examples).
Regarding claim 5, Peters teaches using their compositions comprising the claimed compounds of formula I and which can comprise the claimed furilazole in methods of controlling one or more undesirable plants and which comprise allowing compositions which can comprise the claimed components to act on the undesirable plants and/or a habitat thereof ([0001]; [0161]; [0016-0043]; [0062-0151]; Tables, e.g. Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0238]; [0250]; [0189-0190]; [0184-0188]; Claims 1-16, 18-22; [0164-0169]; biological Examples).
Regarding claim 7, Peters teaches process for preparing compositions which comprise mixing their compounds of formula I with one or more surfactants and/or extenders and wherein their compositions can further comprise furilazole which would read on/render obvious the claimed process for preparing a herbicidal composition ([0398-0399]; [0407]; [0016-0043]; [0062-0151]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0238]; [0250]; [0189-0190]; [0184-0188]; Claims 1-16, 18-22; [0164-0169]; Biological examples).
Regarding claim 10, Peters teaches wherein the method of controlling undesirable plants is done/performed in crops of genetically modified plants, specifically wherein the composition is applied in the presence of a crop comprising at least one genetically modified plant ([0167-0169]; [0417-0419]; [0016-0043]; [0062-0151]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0238]; [0250]; [0189-0190]; [0184-0188]; Claims 1-16, 18-22; [0164-0169]; Biological examples).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, Peters does not teach a specific example of the claimed invention.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have formed the claimed combinations because Peters already teaches that the claimed compounds of formula I, and formula Ia are known in the art to be used in the claimed methods on/in the claimed genetically modified crops to control weeds within the crops, and can be combined with the claimed surfactants and extenders in compositions and can be formed into compositions by mixing the actives with the appropriate surfactants and extenders and where the same actives of formula I and/or formula Ia can be combined with furilazole and be used to control unwanted vegetation, and be combined with the claimed surfactants and/or extenders to form compositions for controlling weeds and can be mixed together to form a composition with extenders and/or surfactants as claimed. Thus, it would be obvious to form the claimed combinations, compounds, and methods which are instantly taught by looking to Peters because Peters teaches that the claimed compounds of formula I/formula Ia can be combined with the claimed furilazole and can be used in the claimed methods and/or prepared by the claimed methods and be in the claimed compositions as are instantly claimed and as such the instantly claimed combination, compositions and methods would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when looking to Peters.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 8, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (WO2018/228985, with US20210292312 used solely as the English translation for citation purposes) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, and 10 above and further in view of Brinker et al. (EP0304409).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Peters teaches the combination, composition and methods of claims 1-2, 4-7, and 10 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 11-14, Peters teaches wherein the compound of formula (I) is applied at rates of between 0.1 to 1000 g per ha, specifically 0.005-750 g/ha which read on the claimed ranges of 0.1-1000 g/ha and 1 to 50 g/ha instantly claimed ([0013]; [0185]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0390]). Peters teaches that these compounds can be used selectively in crop plants, specifically transgenic crop plants and can range from 0.001 to 1 kg/ha, preferably from 0.005 and 750 g/ha, which read on the claimed application rates of the compound of formula (I) ([0013]; [0185]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0390]).
Regarding claims 8, 15-16, Peters teaches wherein their compositions which can comprise the claimed compounds of formula (I), specifically Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12), and which can be combined with/used in conjunction with furilazole which can be applied prior to emergence of after emergence which reads on the claimed treatment which is pre-emergent or post-emergent to the crop ([0161]; Table 1 (entries I-10, I-11, I-12); [0401]; [0419]; [0250]; [0238]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 11-14, Peters did not teach an application rate for furilazole which reads on the claimed rate.
Regarding claims 8, Peters does not teach treating the seeds with furilazole before the application of the compounds of formula I pre-emergence or post-emergence.
These deficiencies in Peters are addressed by Brinker.
Regarding claims 11-14, Brinker teaches the application rate of antidotes including the specifically claimed furilazole (which is a preferred/very preferred antidote/safener of their invention) is typically from 0.5 kg/ha (500 g/ha) down to about 0.05 kg/ha (50 g/ha) which reads on the claimed application rangse of between 1 and 1000 g/ha, and between 10 and 200 g/ha instantly claimed (pg. 20, ln. 55-58; pg. 5, ln. 51-54; pg. 4, ln. 2-5; Claim 3; Table 1, example 3).
Regarding claims 8, 11-16, Brinker teaches 3-(Dichloroacetyl)-2,2-Dimethyl-5-(2-furanyl)-Oxazolidine, which is the claimed furilazole, is a very preferred antidote/safener of their invention (pg. 5, ln. 51-54; pg. 4, ln. 2-5; Claim 3; Table 1, example 3). Brinker further teaches wherein furilazole (safener/antidote) can be applied directly to the seed prior to planting, e.g. coating the seed with the safener/furilazole and that the herbicide can be applied to the soil before or after the coated seed is planted as claimed and that it is known to use safeners in amounts effective to reduce phytotoxicity of herbicides on the crop plants being grown (pg. 21, ln. 1-3; pg. 3, ln. 52-54; pg. 20, ln. 30-47).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have used the claimed amounts of furilazole and apply the furilazole to the seeds prior to application of the herbicide pre-emergence or post-emergence as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this because firstly Peters teaches that furilazole is one of the preferred safeners for mixing with the claimed active agents of formula I/formula Ia and it was known to use safeners with herbicides to lessen/reduce and/or eliminate the phytotoxic effects caused by the herbicides to crop plants in the fields where the herbicides are applied.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select the claimed amounts/application rates of furilazole and the application of furilazole to seeds prior to planting because Brinker teaches that furilazole is a preferred safener which was known to be applied in the claimed amounts to fields and was known to be applied to seeds prior to planting in order to reduce crop damage caused by herbicides. Thus, it would be obvious to use furilazole on the seeds prior to the application of the known herbicides of formula I/formula Ia as taught by Peters pre-emergence or post-emergence because this safener was known in the art to reduce crop damage when applied to seeds and/or in combination with herbicides to lessen any phytotoxicity of the herbicides on the crop plants to which it is applied as taught by Brinker. Additionally, o ne of ordinary skill in the art would want to apply the furilazole to the seeds prior to planting in order to protect the seeds/seedlings/resultant plants from phytotoxicity caused by herbicides applied to the field where these crops are growing, e.g. herbicides of formula I/Ia which are known in the art and known to be used in conjunction with safeners including the claimed furilazole.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim objections and 112 rejections. Applicants submission of terminal disclaimers over copending application 18000189, 18000365, 18000361, 18000368, 18000345, and 18000370 and their approval on 07/03/25 have also rendered moot these rejections. Thus, these rejections and objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicants amendments to the claims have also prompted the revised grounds of rejection under 103 applicants arguments insofar as they pertain to the revised grounds of rejection are addressed herein, and these arguments are not persuasive at this time.
Applicants argue that the combination of the claimed herbicide of formula I and furilazole was unexpectedly successful at preventing damage to crop plants they argue that the reduction in herbicide damage with the safener produces markedly less damage than application of the herbicide alone. The examiner respectfully points out that this is not an unexpected result contrary to applicants arguments. Safeners, e.g. furilazole, by definition are used to reduce damage from herbicides to crop plants. Thus, the argued reduced damage is not at all unexpected contrary to applicant’s arguments and would be expected to be reduced when taken in view of application of the herbicide alone to crop plants. However, the examiner notes that if applicants were to provide additional analysis which does demonstrate that the argued unexpected results are in fact unexpected, there are additional issues with respect to applicant’s argued unexpected results. Specifically, the results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims which allow for any composition comprising the claimed two active agents in any ratio or amount with any other active agent or formulation auxiliary whereas the argued results are with specific combinations of the claimed actives in specific amounts/ratios. Thus, the instant claims would not be commensurate in scope with the argued results, if these results are in fact proven to be unexpected as argued. The examiner notes that the results remain not persuasive at this time for the reasons discussed above and herein.
Thus, the examiner respectfully disagrees that applicants results demonstrate any unexpected herbicidal or safening activities contrary since the safeners are merely functioning as they are known to in the art by reducing herbicidal activity of herbicides on crop plants.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617