DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 18 June 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 43, it is unclear what is being regulated, in particular, it is unclear what the 2 wt% or greater is referring to. It is not clear what variable is being controlled. Further, it is unclear if the preheat is reducing salt content, or there is some other pretreatment performed to reduce the salt content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 13, 27, and 37-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner (US 2014/0061100) in view of Greene (US 2,825,686) and Bigache (US 3,597,494) and Strack (US 2007/0007170).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 27, 37-42 and 44, Lattner teaches sending a crude oil hydrocarbon feed to a desalting step [0067], followed by flash separation to remove heavy residual bottoms including asphaltenes [0069-0071], prior to feeding to steam cracking (pyrolysis) steps [0072], see figure 4. Lattner pyrolysis includes convection section [0070] and radiant coils [0070]. Lattner teaches pyrolysis effluent sent to flash 120 followed by fractionation 130 to produced desired fractions [0043-0056], see figure 4. It is expected that the bottoms obtained by Lattner would contain metal composition as claimed, since it is obtained by the same process steps as disclosed by the prior art. Lattner teaches preheating the hydrocarbons [0070]. Lattner teaches the hydrocarbon can be preheated with the steam [0070], while the claims require preheat hydrocarbon prior to combining with steam. However, Examiner considers the order of the pre heat steps to be prima facie obvious (Please see MPEP 2144.04, IV, C).
Lattner does not explicitly disclose (1) which compositions are removed in the desalting step (2) separation of bottoms, cooling bottoms, and quenching steps (3) purge introduced into knock out drum.
Regarding (1), Examiner notes that desalting is well known in the art to treat crude oil feeds to remove salts and contaminants that are detrimental to refinery processes. Greene teaches that crude oil is desalted to remove calcium chloride (halogen containing), sodium chloride (halogen containing), and vanadium (metal) to prevent the fouling that they would produce in refinery equipment (column 1, lines 1-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the well-known desalting step performed in Lattner would also reduce in removal of halogen and metal contaminants, as disclosed by Greene. Examiner additionally notes that the instant spec teaches the same crude oil feeds [0034], to conventional desalters [0040] to remove the sodium chloride and calcium chloride [0041]. In this regard, it is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps, since the prior art teaches the same conventional desalting of crude oil feed as disclosed by the instant specification.
The prior art teaches the same crude oil desalting, flash, and steam cracking steps, as discussed above. It is expected that the same halogen/asphaltene/nickel/vanadium reduction would be achieved, since the same steps are performed to the same feedstocks. Examiner additionally notes that Applicant’s instant specification uses conventional desalting [0040]. In this regard, it is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps from the desalting and pyrolysis of the prior art.
Regarding (2) However, Bigache teaches cooling fractionator bottoms and recirculating as quench fluid is conventional in steam cracking process (column 1, lines 1-40). Bigache introduces steam cracker effluent into knockout drum 21, followed by fractionation column 7 (figure 2, column 3, line 64-column 4, line 75)). Bottoms from the knockout drum 23 and fractionator 18 are cooled and recirculated into the knockout drum (see figure 2). Examiner considers Bigache knock out drum, fractionator, bottoms cooling, and recirculation to read on claimed steps i-ii and iv on page 2 of the claims. Examiner additionally notes that the Bigache recirculation of bottoms would result in the same decrease in liquid vapor contact time, since Bigache is also adding additional material to the knock out drum in addition to the pyrolysis effluent.
Further, Examiner notes that Bigache teaches the outlet temperature of heavy bottoms from the knockout drum are at a temperature of about 195˚C (column 3, lines 65-75), while the instant claims require a temperature of 175˚C or less.
However, Strack teaches a similar process for cooling steam cracker effluent with material recirculated from knock out drum to effect overall lower tar temperatures in the separation vessel and to reduce viscosity and increase condensations reactions [0028]. Strack process is geared specifically toward treating pyrolysis effluents obtained from heavier feedstocks [0062]. Strack teaches cooling so as to provide average temperature of tar within separation vessel of less than 149˚C [0036]. Strack teaches improvements including reduced asphaltene formation [0070], reduced viscosity and increased condensation [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the conventional cooling, quenching, and recirculation with the process of the previous combination at the Strack temperature range, for the benefit of achieving the desired cooling of the pyrolysis effluent and the improvements of Strack including reduced asphaltene formation, reduced viscosity, and increased condensation. Examiner notes that it is prima facie obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06, I).
Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate cooling temperatures in order to avoid undesirable fouling and polymerization. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding (3), Strack teaches purge gas selected from steam, inert gas such as nitrogen, and non condensable hydrocarbons from steam cracking introduced into knock out drum separators in order to reduce liquid vapor contact time [0046], [0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Strack purge gas introduction into the knock out drum, for the benefit of improving vapor liquid contact time.
Regarding claims 10-11, Lattner teaches tar knock out drum separation , transfer line exchangers, and quench with liquid to cool to a temperature of 350°C [0075], [0076], see figures. Examiner additionally notes Bigache as applied to claim 1 for knock out drum/fractionator/bottoms recirculation.
Regarding claim 13, Lattner teaches tar knockout drum mixture cooled to a temperature of about 300°C [0044], [0054], see figure 4.
Regarding claim 43, Examiner notes that convection coils and preheat are conventional in steam cracking furnaces. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the temperatures and conditions in the process in order to obtain desired products and yields.
Claims 14-16 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner (US 2014/0061100) in view of Greene (US 2,825,686) and Bigache (US 3,597,494) and Strack (US 2007/0007170) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wegner (US 4,006,077) and Zenaitis (US 2018/0094198).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 45, Lattner teaches subjecting the steam cracked tar to a catalytic hydroprocessing step in one or more stages [0088-0106]. Lattner teaches that the hydroprocessing includes hydrodemetallization [0105]. Examiner considers Lattner to read on the claimed catalytic dementalization (one stage of hydroprocessing) and hydroprocessing (additional stage of hydroprocessing). Lattner teaches utility fluid in the hydroprocessing step comprising greater than 40% aromatic rings and in the claimed boiling range [0080-0082].
Lattner does not explicitly disclose the demetallization via centrifuging and/or sorption.
However, Wegner teaches that petroleum oils can be demetallized by contact with sorptive medium (abstract).
Further, Zenaitis teaches that sorptive processes can be combined with centrifuging in order to achieve demetallization (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used sorptive and/or centrifuging in the process of the previous combination, for the benefit of removing undesirable metal components.
Regarding claim 16, Lattner teaches the same hydroprocessing steps as claimed, including dementalization [0105].
Therefore, it is expected that the same amount of vanadium would be removed, since Lattner teaches the same steam cracked tar sent to the same hydroprocessing/dementalization as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Claim 29, 35-36, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lattner (US 2014/0061100) in view of Greene (US 2,825,686) and Bigache (US 3,597,494) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Alabbad (US 2019/0031967) and Banerjee (US 2014/0091010).
Regarding claims 29 and 36, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Lattner teaches hydroprocessing the steam cracker bottoms (see figure).
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose (1) pyrolysis product sent to amine unit (2) using a lean amine solution to remove sulfur impurities in a clean fuels unit (3) common amine regeneration.
Regarding (1), Alabbad teaches that it is known in the art to send pygas/sulfur containing hydrocarbon gases to amine units in order to remove the undesirable sulfur compounds [0003-0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated amine units as disclosed by Alabbad, in order to remove undesirable sulfur components from the hydrocarbon streams of the previous combination.
Regarding (2), Banerjee teaches a similar process for hydroprocessing hydrocarbons [0025-0026] as required by Lattner. In Banerjee, hydroprocessing is combined with amine wash stages to further remove hydrogen sulfide [0030]. A lean amine stream is fed to the amine wash stage [0032], which results in a rich amine stream [0037], which is sent to amine regeneration steps [0037]. Examiner considers the Banerjee combination of hydroprocessing and amine wash units to read on the claimed “clean fuels unit”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the Banerjee amine wash with the hydroprocessing required by Lattner, for the benefit of recovering further removal of sulfur compounds.
Regarding (3), the claims use a common amine regeneration unit for the two rich amine streams recovered. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have treated the amine streams in a common regeneration step, since they both have similar contaminants and are sent to the same amine regeneration steps in order to regenerate the streams for further use. It is not seen where such a modification would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 35, Lattner teaches that the feeds are selected from crude oils [0068]. In this regard, Examiner notes that the person having ordinary skill in the art would be appropriately select the specific crude oil to be treated, such as medium or heavy crude oil having the claimed api gravities. Since Lattner does not limit the crude oil to a specific type, it is expected that the person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using a medium crude or heavy crude.
Regarding claim 46-47, Examiner notes that hydrogen purification and recycle is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated well-known steps in order to provide hydrogen for the hydroprocessing step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and are updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nierode (US 2022/0306949) – common assignee and inventors – teaches a similar process for desalting and steam cracking.
Nierode (US 2023/0151283) – common assignee and inventors – teaches a similar process for desalting and steam cracking.
Kuan (US 223/0220287) - common assignee and inventors – teaches a similar process for desalting and steam cracking.
Osby (US 2021/0253961) – noted on ISR for related PCT, teaches steam cracking process (abstract).
Xu (US 2021/0230490) - noted on ISR for related PCT, teaches steam cracking process (abstract).
Srivastava (US 2016/0376511) – teaches steam cracking and fractionation (see figure).
Bourane (US 2013/0197284) – teaches an integrated process for deasphalting and pyrolysis (see figure).
Buchanan (US 2007/0090020) – teaches it is conventional to desalt feeds prior to steam cracking to produce olefins [0004].
Chakka (US 2010/0089797) – teaches removing vanadium and salts from crude oil feeds [0001-0028].
Davidson (US 2020/0172817) – teaches desalting of crude oil and removal of nickel and vanadium [0052].
Packie (US 2,823,181) – teaches removing vanadium, sodium chloride, and calcium chloride form crude using desalter (column 1, lines 1-45).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771