DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 06/22/2026. Claims 1 and 11-12 are currently amended. 1-9 and 11-12 are presented for examination.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 12 has overcome the objection set forth in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 has overcome the double patenting rejection set forth in the previous Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Eguchi does not teach or suggest the second electrode tab (70) extending from an outer peripheral region of the second electrode along a radial direction of the electrode assembly (10) to be coupled to the second plate (67) as required by amended claim 1. Instead, Eguchi teaches the tab (70) having a bent form so as to flex and not inhibit opening of the metal plate (62) as a vent mechanism (see Eguchi [0091] and [0092], FIGS. 5 and 10).
Examiner agrees that Eguchi does not teach the tab positioning required by amended claim 1. However, the new rejection relies on Katsumoto to teach this feature. The Examiner notes that the cited portions of Eguchi indicate that the operation of the vent mechanism is related to the length of the electrode tab ([0091]) and the bent form of the end of the electrode tab nearest the terminal plate (FIG. 5B, [0092]), and not the position from which the electrode tab is coupled to the second electrode. Modifying this position as taught by Katsumoto (see rejection of claim 1 below) would therefore not inhibit the vent mechanism of Eguchi. Regardless, Eguchi further teaches that the vent mechanism is an optional feature that does not necessarily limit the structure of the battery ([0130]).
Examiner notes that the previous ground of rejection stated that “Eguchi does not disclose wherein the first plate completely covers the thermal-fusion layer” (rejection of claim 1 on p. 5) and relied upon Ringel to teach this feature. However, upon further consideration of the art, this limitation is treated as an obvious modification of Eguchi in the new rejection below because Eguchi teaches this feature as an optional embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1; priority to Japanese patent application JP2019-219432, filed 12/04/2019, cited 10/02/2025) in view of Katsumoto (US 2022/0200110 A1; priority to Japanese patent application JP 2019-180863, filed 09/30/2019; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Eguchi discloses a rechargeable battery (100, FIGS. 3(A) and 5(B), [0125]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 1, [0039]) including a first electrode (1, FIG. 1, [0039]), a second electrode (2, FIG. 1, [0039]), and a separator (3, FIG. 1, [0039]) disposed between the first electrode (1) and the second electrode (2);
a case (cup-shaped member 52 of exterior body 50, FIG. 5(B), [0071]) that is connected to the first electrode (1) (the metal exterior body is an electrode [0076]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (10) and includes an opening (opening in annotated figure below) exposing the electrode assembly (10);
a cap plate (lid-shaped member 54, FIG. 5(B), [0071]) configured to be coupled with the case (52) to cover an outer area of the opening (opening), and configured to include a through-hole (opening portion 55, FIG. 5(B), [0099]) exposing a central area of the opening (opening);
a terminal plate (external output terminal 60, FIG. 3(A), [0059]) that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate (54) (via insulating member 64 with bonding force, FIG. 5(B), [0089]) to cover the through-hole (55) and is connected to the second electrode (2) (external output terminal is connected to the electrode not connected to the case [0076]),
wherein the terminal plate (60) includes a first plate (metal plate 62, FIGS. 3(A) and 5(B), [0089]) positioned on the cap plate (54); and a thermal-fusion layer (insulating material 64, FIGS. 3(A) and 5(B), [0059]; insulating material contains a thermoplastic resin [0069]) that is positioned between the cap plate (54) and the first plate (62) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate (54) and the first plate (62) ([0069]), and
wherein the electrode assembly (10) further includes a second electrode tab (70, FIGS. 3(A) and 5(B), [0060]) extending from the second electrode (2) to be coupled to the terminal plate (60).
Annotation of Eguchi FIG. 5(B)
Eguchi does not disclose wherein the terminal plate includes a second plate that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, the second plate is spaced apart from the thermal-fusion layer, the first plate completely covers the thermal-fusion layer, and the second electrode tab extends from an outer peripheral region of the second electrode along a radial direction of the electrode assembly to be coupled to the second plate.
However, in the embodiment of FIG. 10, Eguchi teaches a second plate (metal member 67, FIG. 10, [0089]) that is coupled to the first plate (62) to pass through the through-hole (55) and is connected to the second electrode (2) (via tab 70 extending from the electrode assembly, FIG. 10, [0060]), wherein the second plate (67) is spaced apart from the thermal-fusion layer (64), and the second electrode tab (70) is coupled to the second plate (67). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Eguchi FIG. 5(B) to include the metal member (second plate) interposed between the metal plate (first plate) and the tab and welding the tab to both the metal member and the metal plate, wherein the metal member is spaced apart from the thermal-fusion layer as depicted in FIG. 10 of Eguchi, because Eguchi teaches that the metal member facilitates the connection between the electrode and the terminal plate ([0086],[0123]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments of the disclosure ([0155]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Eguchi further teaches an embodiment wherein the first plate (62) completely covers the thermal-fusion layer (64) (insulating material 64 may be provided to be only inside the outer edge of the metal plate 62, [0126]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Eguchi such that the first plate completely covers the thermal fusion layer because Eguchi teaches this configuration ([0126]) and it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Katsumoto teaches a rechargeable battery (20, FIG. 1, [0041]) comprising a second electrode tab (51, FIG. 2, [0081]) extending from an outer peripheral region (side of an outermost wind, [0081], leftmost region in FIG. 2) of a second electrode (21, FIG. 2, [0038]) along a radial direction (left to right in FIG. 2) of an electrode assembly to be coupled to a terminal plate (30, FIG. 2, [0041]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Eguchi by repositioning the second electrode tab to extend from an outer peripheral region of the second electrode along a radial direction of the electrode assembly because Katsumoto teaches an operable battery having this configuration (FIG. 2) and that a coupling position of the second electrode tab to the second electrode is not particularly limited ([0081]), indicating that the coupling position is a matter of obvious design choice ([MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(A)]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments depicted in the disclosure ([0131],[0155]).
Regarding claim 2, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) wherein the second plate (67) is welded to the first plate (62) ([0123]).
Regarding claim 3, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) wherein an area of the second plate (67) is smaller than that of the first plate (62) (FIG. 10, the diameter of the second plate 67 is smaller than that of the first plate 62).
Regarding claim 4, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto does not disclose wherein the second plate (67) includes a different material from the material included in the first plate (62). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have included a different material in the second plate than in the first plate in the battery of Eguchi and Katsumoto with a reasonable expectation of yielding an operable battery because Eguchi teaches that the material of the second plate may be the same as or different from that of the metal plate ([0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) wherein a thickness of the second plate (67) is thicker than that of the first plate (62) (FIG. 10, [0086]).
Regarding claim 9, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) wherein the case (52) and the cap plate (54) have the same polarity as the first electrode (1), and the first plate (62) of the terminal plate (60) has the same polarity as the second electrode (2) (the exterior body connected to the first electrode has the opposite polarity as the terminal plate connected to the second electrode [0076]; the exterior body 50 comprises the case 52 and the cap plate 54 [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto does not disclose a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case.
Katsumoto further teaches a first electrode tab (52, FIG. 2, [0084]) extending from a first electrode (22, FIG. 2, [0084]) to be coupled to a case (11, FIG. 2, [0044]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Eguchi and Katsumoto by adding a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case with a reasonable expectation of electrically coupling the two components because Katsumoto teaches an operable battery having this configuration (FIG. 2, [0085]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments depicted in the disclosure ([0155]) and it has been held that the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results ([MPEP § 2143A]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1) and Katsumoto (US 2022/0200110 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Joswig (US 2016/0268583 A1, previously cited), as evidenced by VMT (Copper vs Aluminum: A materials Comparison Guide, 2025, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto does not disclose wherein the first plate (62) has stronger corrosion resistance than the second plate (67).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the first plate (11) has stronger corrosion resistance than the second plate (10) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that aluminum has stronger corrosion resistance than copper, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi in view of Katsumoto such that the first plate has higher corrosion resistance than the second plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Regarding claim 6, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) that the materials of the first (67) and second (62) plates are not particularly limited and may comprise one or more of aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper ([0067]), but does not disclose wherein the second plate (67) has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate (62).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the second plate (10) has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate (11) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that copper has higher electrical conductivity than aluminum, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi in view of Katsumoto such that the second plate has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Regarding claim 7, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) that the materials of the first (67) and second (62) plates are not particularly limited and may comprise one or more of aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper ([0067]), but does not disclose wherein the first plate (62) has less ductility than the second plate (67).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the first plate (11) has less ductility than the second plate (10) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that aluminum has less ductility than copper, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi in view of Katsumoto such that the first plate has less ductility than the second plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1) and Katsumoto (US 2022/0200110 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guan (CN-210245625-U; the rejections below refer to the machine translation mailed 04/28/2026).
Regarding claim 12, Eguchi in view of Katsumoto teaches (see Eguchi) that the materials of the first (67) and second (62) plates are not particularly limited and may comprise one or more of aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper ([0067]), but does not disclose wherein the first plate includes nickel, and the second plate includes aluminum.
Guan teaches a battery (Fig. 1) comprising a terminal plate (200, Fig. 2), wherein the terminal plate (200) includes a first plate (210, Fig. 2) and a second plate (220, Fig. 2) that is coupled to the first plate (210) and is connected to an electrode assembly (410, Fig. 1), wherein the first plate (210) includes nickel, and the second plate (220) includes aluminum ([0044]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the terminal plate of Eguchi in view of Katsumoto by forming the first plate of nickel and the second plate of aluminum because Guan teaches that using aluminum for the second plate, which contacts the interior of the battery cell, prevents the electrolyte from corroding and using nickel for the first plate, which faces the external environment, prevents rusting, provides strength, and facilitates welding ([0044]).
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723