DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a terminal plate that insulation-bonded to the cap plate” (lines 11-12 on p. 15) should but should recite “a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1; priority to Japanese patent application JP2019-219432, filed 12/04/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Eguchi discloses a rechargeable battery (100, FIG. 5B, [0125]) comprising: an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 1, [0039]) including a first electrode (positive electrode 1, FIG. 1, [0039]), a second electrode (negative electrode 2, FIG. 1, [0039]), and a separator (3, FIG. 1, [0039]) disposed between the first electrode (1) and the second electrode (2); a case (cup-shaped member 52 of exterior body 50, FIG. 5(B), [0071]) that is connected to the first electrode (1) (the metal exterior body is a positive electrode or negative electrode [0076]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (10) and includes an opening (opening in annotated figure below) exposing the electrode assembly (10); a cap plate (lid-shaped member 54, FIG. 5(B), [0071]) configured to be coupled with the case (52) to cover an outer area of the opening (opening), and configured to include a through-hole (opening portion 55, FIG. 5(B), [0099]) exposing a central area of the opening (opening); and a terminal plate (external output terminal 60, see FIG. 9 for illustrative purposes, [0059]) that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate (54) (via insulating member 64 with bonding force, FIG. 5(B), [0089]) to cover the through-hole (55) and is connected to the second electrode (2) (external output terminal is connected to the electrode not connected to the case [0076]), wherein the terminal plate (60) includes a first plate (metal plate 62, FIG. 5(B), [0089]) positioned on the cap plate (54).
Annotation of Eguchi FIG. 5(B)
Eguchi does not disclose wherein the terminal plate (60) includes a second plate that is coupled to the first plate (62) to pass through the through-hole (55) and is connected to the second electrode (2). However, in the embodiment of FIG. 10, Eguchi teaches a second plate (metal member 67, FIG. 10, [0089]) that is coupled to the first plate (62) to pass through the through-hole (55) and is connected to the second electrode (2) (via tab 70 extending from the electrode assembly, FIG. 10, [0060]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Eguchi FIG. 5(B) to include the metal member (second plate) interposed between the metal plate (first plate) and the tab and welding the tab to both the metal member and the metal plate, as depicted in FIG. 10 of Eguchi, because Eguchi teaches that the metal member facilitates the connection between the electrode and the terminal plate ([0086],[0123]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments of the disclosure ([0155]) it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the second plate (67) is welded to the first plate (62) ([0123]).
Regarding claim 3, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein an area of the second plate (67) is smaller than that of the first plate (62) (FIG. 10, the diameter of the second plate 67 is smaller than that of the first plate 62).
Regarding claim 4, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second plate (67) includes a different material from the material included in the first plate (62). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have included a different material in the second plate than in the first plate in the battery of Eguchi with a reasonable expectation of yielding an operable battery because teaches that the material of the second plate may be the same as or different from that of the metal plate ([0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second plate (67) is thicker than that of the first plate (62) (FIG. 10, [0086]).
Regarding claim 9, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the case (52) and the cap plate (54) have the same polarity as the first electrode (1), and the first plate (62) of the terminal plate (60) has the same polarity as the second electrode (2) (the exterior body connected to the first electrode has the opposite polarity as the terminal plate connected to the second electrode [0076]; the exterior body 50 comprises the case 52 and the cap plate 54 [0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer (insulating material 64, FIG. 10, [0059]; insulating material contains a thermoplastic resin [0069]) that is positioned between the cap plate (54) and the first plate (62) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate (54) and the first plate (62) ([0069]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Joswig (US 2016/0268583 A1), as evidenced by VMT (Copper vs Aluminum: A materials Comparison Guide, 2025).
Regarding claim 5, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the first plate (62) has stronger corrosion resistance than the second plate (67).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the first plate (11) has stronger corrosion resistance than the second plate (10) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that aluminum has stronger corrosion resistance than copper, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi such that the first plate has higher corrosion resistance than the second plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Regarding claim 6, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 4. Eguchi further discloses that the materials of the first (67) and second (62) plates are not particularly limited and may comprise one or more of aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper ([0067]), but does not disclose wherein the second plate (67) has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate (62).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the second plate (10) has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate (11) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that copper has higher electrical conductivity than aluminum, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi such that the second plate has higher electrical conductivity than the first plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Regarding claim 7, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 4. Eguchi further discloses that the materials of the first (67) and second (62) plates are not particularly limited and may comprise one or more of aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper ([0067]), but does not disclose wherein the first plate (62) has less ductility than the second plate (67).
Joswig teaches a rechargeable battery (electrochemical accumulator 1, FIG. 1, [0023]; accumulator includes a lithium-ion cell [0013] and therefore is a rechargeable battery) comprising: an electrode assembly (cell 6, FIG. 2, [0024]), a case (housing 2, FIG. 1, [0023]) to accommodate the electrode assembly (6); a cap plate (wall 3, FIG. 2, [0023]) configured to include a through-hole (unlabeled housing opening delimited by seal 13, FIG. 2, [0026]) exposing the electrode assembly (6); and a terminal plate (connection terminal 5, FIG. 2, [0024]) to cover the through-hole and connected to the electrode assembly (6) ([0023]), wherein the terminal plate (5) includes a first plate (upper section 11, FIG. 2, [0024]) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (lower section 10, FIG. 2, [0024]) that is coupled to the first plate (11) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the electrode assembly (6). Joswig teaches that the first plate (11) has less ductility than the second plate (10) (the second plate 10 is composed of copper and the first plate 11 is composed of aluminum [0024]; VMT evidences that aluminum has less ductility than copper, see table on p. 8-9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the terminal plate of Eguchi such that the first plate has less ductility than the second plate by including copper in the second plate and aluminum in the first plate because Joswig teaches that copper is the material best suited for contact with the electrode assembly while aluminum is the material best suited for the external connection of the terminal plate to other devices ([0004],[0007]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments described in the disclosure ([0155]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 2022/0311108 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katsumoto (US 2022/0200110 A1; priority to Japanese patent application JP 2019-180863, filed 09/30/2019).
Regarding claim 11, Eguchi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim, wherein the electrode assembly (10) further includes: a second electrode tab (70, FIG. 10, [0060]) extending from the second electrode (2) to be coupled to the second plate (67) of the terminal plate (60). Eguchi does not disclose a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode (1) to be coupled to the case (52).
Katsumoto teaches a rechargeable battery (20, FIG. 1, [0041]), comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode (22, FIG. 2, [0084]), a second electrode (21, FIG. 2, [0038]), a separator (23, FIG. 2, [0037]) located between the first electrode (22) and the second electrode (21); a case (11, FIG. 2, [0044]) connected to the first electrode tab (22) to accommodate the electrode assembly, and including an opening portion (11K, FIG. 2, [0044]) to expose the electrode assembly; a cap plate (12, FIG. 2, [0044]) coupled with the case (11) to cover an outer peripheral region of the opening portion (11K) and including a through-hole (10K, FIG. 2, [0049]) to expose a center region of the opening portion (11K); a terminal plate (30, FIG. 2, [0041]) connected to the second electrode (21); and a first electrode tab (52, FIG. 2, [0084]) extended from the first electrode (22) to be coupled to the case (11). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added a first electrode tab extended from the first electrode to be coupled to the case to the battery of Eguchi with a reasonable expectation of successfully connecting the first electrode tab and the case, because Katsumoto teaches an operable battery having this configuration (FIG. 2, [0085]). In addition, Eguchi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the embodiments depicted in the disclosure ([0155]) and it has been held that the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results [MPEP § 2143A]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,545,709.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘709 patent teaches a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (terminal portion) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (protrusion) that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode.
Regarding claim 9, claim 10 of the ‘709 patent teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the case and the cap plate have the same polarity as the first electrode, and the first plate of the terminal plate (the entire terminal plate) has the same polarity as the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 of the ‘709 patent teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer that is positioned between the cap plate and the first plate (terminal portion) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate and the first plate (terminal portion).
Regarding claim 11, claims 1 and 11 of the ‘709 patent teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further includes: a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case; and a second electrode tab extending from the second electrode to be coupled to the second plate (protrusion) of the terminal plate.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,002,971.
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 6 of the ‘971 patent teaches a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (flange portion) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (protrusion) that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode.
Claims 1, 3, and 8-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, and 9 of copending Application No. 17/178,553 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘553 application teaches a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (flange part) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (protruded part) that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode.
Regarding claim 3, claim 6 of the ‘553 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein an area of the second plate (protruded part) is smaller than that of the first plate (flange part).
Regarding claim 8, claim 7 of the ‘553 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second plate (protruded part) is thicker than that of the first plate (flange part).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of the ‘553 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the case and the cap plate have the same polarity as the first electrode, and the first plate of the terminal plate (the entire terminal plate) has the same polarity as the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 of the ‘553 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer that is positioned between the cap plate and the first plate (flange part) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate and the first plate.
Regarding claim 11, claims 1 and 5 of the ‘553 application teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further includes: a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case; and a second electrode tab extending from the second electrode to be coupled to the second plate (protrusion) of the terminal plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-12 of copending Application No. 17/592,291 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 10-11 of the ‘291 application teach a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (flange portion) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (protrusion) that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, claims 1 and 10-11 of the ‘291 application teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer that is positioned between the cap plate and the first plate (flange portion) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate and the first plate.
Regarding claim 11, claims 1 and 10-12 of the ‘291 application teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further includes: a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case; and a second electrode tab extending from the second electrode to be coupled to the second plate (protrusion) of the terminal plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 17/794,242 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 4 of the ‘242 application teach a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (flange part) positioned on the cap plate, and a second plate (protruded part) that is coupled to the first plate to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, claims 1 and 4 of the ‘242 application teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer that is positioned between the cap plate and the first plate (flange part) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate and the first plate.
Regarding claim 11, claims 1 and 4 of the ‘242 application teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further includes: a first electrode tab extending from the first electrode to be coupled to the case; and a second electrode tab extending from the second electrode to be coupled to the second plate (protruded part) of the terminal plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7,9, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/000,819.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘819 application teach a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; a case that is connected to the first electrode to accommodate the electrode assembly and includes an opening exposing the electrode assembly; a cap plate configured to be coupled with the case to cover an outer area of the opening, and configured to include a through-hole exposing a central area of the opening; and a terminal plate that is insulation-bonded to the cap plate to cover the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode, wherein the terminal plate includes a first plate (flange part) positioned on (bonded to) the cap plate and a second plate (protruding part) that is coupled to the first plate (passes from a center portion of the flange part and therefore is coupled to) to pass through the through-hole and is connected to the second electrode (second electrode tab is connected to the second electrode and the terminal plate, second plate is part of the terminal plate and therefore connected to the second electrode via the second electrode tab).
Regarding claim 3, claim 6 of the ‘819 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein an area of the second plate (protruding part) is smaller than that of the first plate (flange part).
Regarding claim 8, claim 7 of the ‘819 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second plate (protruding part) is thicker than that of the first plate (flange part).
Regarding claim 9, claim 11 of the ‘819 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, wherein the case and the cap plate have the same polarity as the first electrode, and the first plate (flange part) of the terminal plate has the same polarity as the second electrode.
Regarding claim 10, claim 9 of the ‘819 application teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1, further comprising a thermal-fusion layer that is positioned between the cap plate and the first plate (flange part) of the terminal plate and insulation-bonds the cap plate and the first plate (flange part).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723