DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the Request for Continued Examination application on 12/31/2025.
Claims 1-35 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendments filed on December 30, 2025. Claims 6, 13, and 20 have been amended. Claim 1-25 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,33, 34 and 35 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
MPEP § 2111.04(II) states in relevant part:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 16-17, 19-31, and 33-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230379815 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of TIE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0374920), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0084], and Fig. 3, the terminal device 120 transmits the uplink data to the network device 110]), comprising:
determining, in an inactive state, that uplink data is to be transmitted ([see, [0077, 0084], and Fig. 3-4, the terminal device 120 determines, based on characteristics of traffic associated with uplink data, whether the uplink data is to be transmitted in an inactive state of the terminal device 120]); determining whether a timing advance of the UE is valid ([see, [0085], the terminal device 120 may determine whether a TA associated with the transmission of the uplink data is valid])
if the timing advance is not valid ([see, [0086], If determining at block 410 that the configured grant information is not stored or if determining at block 420 that the TA is not valid, at block 440, the terminal device 1210 may transmit, based on a random access procedure, the uplink data in the inactive state]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold, determining whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold; and based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold; determining whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold; transmitting the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data.
However, D2 discloses if the timing advance is not valid ([see, [0119-0125], and Fig. 4-5, wherein a timing advanced command disclosed]), and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold ([see, [0119-0125], and Fig. 4-5, wherein a timing advanced command, a TBS set in a column in which the quantity of resource units is located includes the TBS threshold may be determined based on the column. If the TBS threshold is included, the allowed TBS is equal to the TBS threshold]),
determining whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold ([see, [0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein the target TBS can be determined based on the manner of sending the message 3, the message 3 can be quickly decoded based on the target TBS for decoding uplink data, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS, the uplink data may be sent through the message 3]); and based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold ([see, [0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5]);
determining whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold ([see, [0068-0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein where the message 2 includes uplink grant information, the uplink grant information includes first indication information, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS]);
transmitting the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data ([see, [0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set (the at least one TBS) based on the size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein transmitting the uplink data via the uplink RACH message or the configured uplink resource is based at least in part on the uplink data being smaller than or equal to the TBS threshold ([see, [0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set (the at least one TBS) based on the size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein establishing the RRC connection is based at least in part on the uplink data being larger than the TBS threshold ([see, [0027, 0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data, allowed largest TBS is 1000 bits, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the request is transmitted on the RACH message ([see, [0011, 0045], message 1 may be specifically a preamble sequence for initiating random access]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the request indicates that the configured uplink resource is to include a single transport block of sufficient size to carry the uplink data ([see, [0040-0044], wherein one of the preset condition is met includes at least one TBS is greater than a TBS threshold; the allowed TBS is less than a TBS threshold; or the allowed TBS is equal to a TBS threshold, send the uplink data through the message 3 to the network device]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the request indicates that the configured uplink resource is to include multiple transport blocks that are distributed in time ([see, [0068], the uplink grant information includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate a transport block size TBS allowed for a message 3]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the request indicates that the configured uplink resource includes recurring transport blocks until the configured uplink resource is deactivated ([see, [0173-0176, 0226], wherein the network device requests re-sending of the message 3, terminal device that requests to access that the configured uplink resource such as a time-frequency resource indicated by an uplink grant (UL grant) in a random-access response. Moreover, uplink resource, such as uplink data transmitted based on the target TBS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 16, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the information configuring the configured uplink resource is received via a downlink RACH message ([see, [0011, 0045], message 1 may be specifically a preamble sequence for initiating random access]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 17, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the information configuring the configured uplink resource is received via an RRC release message or an RRC response associated with the request ([see, [0045], the message 1 is carried on a resource, the network device can receive the uplink data only after random access is completed (which may be specifically after an RRC link is established)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 19, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 18, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses further comprising: receiving an indication of whether to use an alternative TBS size for the TBS threshold ([see, [0030-0031, 0040-0041, 0068], indication information is used to indicate a transport block size TBS allowed for a message 3, preset condition is met includes at least one of the following cases: The allowed TBS is greater than a TBS threshold; the allowed TBS is less than a TBS threshold; or the allowed TBS is equal to a TBS threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 20, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses further comprising: receiving system information indicating the TBS threshold ([see, [0030-0031, 0040-0041, 0068], indication information is used to indicate a transport block size TBS allowed for a message 3 for a TBS threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 21, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses further comprising: receiving, via dedicated RRC signaling, information indicating the TBS threshold ([see, [0030-0031, 0040-0041, 0068], indication information is used to indicate a transport block size TBS allowed for a message 3 for a TBS threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 22, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the TBS threshold is associated with a data radio bearer ([see, [0030-0031, 0040-0041, 0068], indication information is used to indicate a transport block size TBS allowed for a message 3 for a TBS threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the TBS threshold is specific to the UE ([0120-0122], the TBS threshold specifically for the terminal device that using indication information]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein transmitting the uplink data via the RACH message or the configured uplink resource further comprises performing a one-shot transmission on the configured uplink resource ([see, [0265-0266], the terminal device sends uplink data in a random-access process]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 25, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein transmitting the uplink data via the RACH message or the configured uplink resource further comprises performing multiple transmissions on respective occasions of the configured uplink resource ([see, [0265-0266], the terminal device sends uplink data in a random-access process]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 26, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and wherein, if the timing advance is determined to be valid ([see, [0085], the terminal device 120 may determine whether a TA associated with the transmission of the uplink data is valid]), the method further comprises:
D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses
determining whether the configured uplink resource is configured and the uplink data can be accommodated in the configured uplink resource; if the configured uplink resource is configured and the uplink data can be accommodated in the configured uplink resource, transmitting the uplink data on the configured uplink resource ([see, [0013-0016], wherein the transmitting uplink data in a random access process, determining, in the at least one TBS based on a size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 27, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein, if the uplink data cannot be accommodated in the configured uplink resource, the method further comprises: transmitting a request for another configured uplink resource; and transmitting the uplink data on the other configured uplink resource ([see, [0013-0016], wherein the transmitting uplink data in a random access process, determining, in the at least one TBS based on a size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 28, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 26, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the other configured uplink resource has a larger transport block size than the configured uplink resource ([see, [0185], a TBS with a larger value is preferentially selected as a TBS in the first TBS set until a quantity of selected TBSs reaches the preset quantity]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 29, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 27, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the request for the other configured uplink resource is transmitted in the configured uplink resource ([see, [0013-0016], wherein the transmitting uplink data in a random-access process, determining, in the at least one TBS based on a size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 30, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 29, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein, if the configured uplink resource is not configured, the method further comprises:
initiating a RACH procedure; determining whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold ([see, [0264-0268],wherein the terminal device sends uplink data in a random-access process, and the BS determine a size of uplink data to be sent by the terminal device, and allocates, by using an uplink grant (UL grant) in a random-access response in the message 2]); and
based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold ([see, [0120-0121], uplink grant (UL grant) information, the uplink grant information further includes first indication information, and the first indication information and a TBS threshold jointly indicate the TBS allowed for the message 3]), selectively:
transmitting the uplink data in connection with the RACH procedure, transmitting a request for the configured uplink resource, or establishing the RRC connection for the uplink data ([see, [0027, 0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data, allowed largest TBS is 1000 bits, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 31, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses further comprising: receiving configuration information indicating the configured uplink resource ([see, [0013-0016], wherein the transmitting uplink data in a random-access process, determining, in the at least one TBS based on a size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 33, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0030, 0084], and Fig. 1, 3, the terminal device 120]), comprising:
one or more memories ([see, [0120], and Fig. 10, memory 1020]); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories ([see, [0120], and Fig. 10, a memory 1020 coupled to the processor 1010]), configured to:
determine, in an inactive state, that uplink data is to be transmitted ([see, [0077, 0084], and Fig. 3-4, the terminal device 120 determines, based on characteristics of traffic associated with uplink data, whether the uplink data is to be transmitted in an inactive state of the terminal device 120]);
determine whether a timing advance of the UE is valid ([see, [0085], the terminal device 120 may determine whether a TA associated with the transmission of the uplink data is valid]);
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: determine whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold; and based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold, selectively: if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, determine whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, transmit the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or if the uplink data does satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance value is not valid, establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data.
However, D2 discloses determine whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold ([see, [0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein the target TBS can be determined based on the manner of sending the message 3, the message 3 can be quickly decoded based on the target TBS for decoding uplink data, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS, the uplink data may be sent through the message 3]); and
based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold ([see, [0048, 0177], the uplink data transmitted based on the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]), selectively:
if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, determine whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold ([see, [0068-0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein where the message 2 includes uplink grant information, the uplink grant information includes first indication information, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS]) and if the timing advance is not valid, transmit the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or if the uplink data does satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance value is not valid, establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data ([see, [0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set (the at least one TBS) based on the size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
As per Claim 34, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 33 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 33. Claim 34 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 33.
As per Claim 35, D1 discloses an apparatus ([see, [0030, 0084], and Fig. 1, 3, the terminal device 120]), comprising:
means for determining, in an inactive state, that uplink data is to be transmitted ([see, [0077, 0084], and Fig. 3-4, the terminal device 120 determines, based on characteristics of traffic associated with uplink data, whether the uplink data is to be transmitted in an inactive state of the terminal device 120]);
means for determining whether a timing advance of the apparatus is valid ([see, [0085], the terminal device 120 may determine whether a TA associated with the transmission of the uplink data is valid]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: determine whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold; and based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold, selectively: if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, determine whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, transmit the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or if the uplink data does satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance value is not valid, establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data.
However, D2 discloses determine whether the uplink data satisfies a transport block size (TBS) threshold ([see, [0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein the target TBS can be determined based on the manner of sending the message 3, the message 3 can be quickly decoded based on the target TBS for decoding uplink data, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS, the uplink data may be sent through the message 3]); and
based at least in part on whether the uplink data satisfies the TBS threshold ([see, [0048, 0177], the uplink data transmitted based on the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]), selectively:
if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance is not valid, determine whether the uplink data satisfies an uplink grant threshold and if the uplink data does not satisfy the TBS threshold ([see, [0068-0070, 0119-0125, 0175], and Fig. 4-5, wherein where the message 2 includes uplink grant information, the uplink grant information includes first indication information, the TBS threshold is determined as the allowed TBS]) and if the timing advance is not valid, transmit the uplink data via a configured uplink resource if the uplink data satisfies the uplink grant threshold; or if the uplink data does satisfy the TBS threshold and if the timing advance value is not valid, establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection for the uplink data ([see, [0048, 0212-0214], and Fig. 4-5, wherein Determine, in the first TBS set (the at least one TBS) based on the size of the uplink data, the target TBS that can be used to transmit the uplink data]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Determine, in the first TBS set based on the size of the uplink data results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D2, 0005]).
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2, and further in view of LU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0229235 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim failing to satisfy the uplink grant threshold indicates that the uplink data can be accommodated in the uplink RACH message.
However, D3 discloses wherein failing to satisfy the uplink grant threshold indicates that the uplink data can be accommodated in the uplink RACH message ([see, [0114-0115, 0268], wherein the uplink grant (UL grant) information, indication information may further specifically indicate a largest TBS allowed for the message 3]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D3, 0005]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 5, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, transmitting a request for the configured uplink resource prior to transmitting the uplink data via the configured uplink resource; and receiving, based at least in part on the request, information configuring the configured uplink resource.
However, D3 discloses further comprising: transmitting a request for the configured uplink resource prior to transmitting the uplink data via the configured uplink resource ([see, [0114-0115, 0173, 0268], wherein the terminal device to identify the current terminal device that requests access, and the terminal device determine a size of uplink data, and the base station allocates an uplink resource based on a preset TBS])]); and
receiving, based at least in part on the request, information configuring the configured uplink resource ([see, [0114-0115, 0268], wherein the uplink grant (UL grant) information, uplink grant information further includes first indication information, and the terminal device determine a size of uplink data, and the base station allocates an uplink resource based on a preset TBS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D3, 0005]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, transmitting the request based at least in part on determining that a periodic transmission is to be performed by the UE.
However, D3 discloses further comprising: transmitting the request based at least in part on determining that a periodic transmission is to be performed by the UE ([see, [0011-0012], a periodic timing adjustment information disclosed for the terminal device to perform uplink synchronization]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D3, 0005]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim wherein the request comprises at least one of: a medium access control-control element, an RRC parameter of an RRC resume request message, or an RRC message.
However, D3 discloses wherein the request comprises at least one of: a medium access control - control element (MAC-CE), an RRC parameter of an RRC resume request message, or an RRC message ([see, [0047], establishing an RRC link to the network device disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D3, 0005]).
As per Claim 18, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 5, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim wherein the uplink grant threshold and the TBS threshold are configured by a same configuration message.
However, D3 discloses wherein the uplink grant threshold and the TBS threshold are configured by a same configuration message ([see, [0120], the uplink grant information further includes first indication information, and the first indication information and a TBS threshold jointly indicate the TBS allowed for the message 3]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve efficiency for transmitting uplink data in a random-access process (D3, 0005]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of RYOO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200037345), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the UE remains in the inactive state while transmitting the uplink data via the uplink RACH message or the configured uplink resource ([see, [0022, 0025], wherein transmitting uplink data by a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, transmitting the uplink data by the UE, determined to maintain the state of the UE in the RRC inactive state on the basis of the buffer state report (corresponding to uplink resource)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting data in a random-access process results improve power efficiency of the UE and the eNB network (D4, 0006]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0306875), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 12, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the request comprises a buffer status report message including an indication requesting the configured uplink resource.
However, D5 discloses wherein the request comprises a buffer status report message including an indication requesting the configured uplink resource ([see, [0360, 0367], wherein a wireless device may trigger one or more first SRs based on a buffer status report procedure, an SR procedure triggered by requesting UL-SCH resource (e.g., BSR triggered)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a wireless network employing one or more new radio technologies results enhancing the one or more radio technologies may improve performance of a wireless network (D5, 0311]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 12, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the request includes a buffer status report and a traffic pattern indication associated with the uplink data.
However, D5 discloses wherein the request includes a buffer status report ([see, [0360, 0367], wherein a wireless device may trigger one or more first SRs based on a buffer status report procedure]) and a traffic pattern indication associated with the uplink data ([see, [0196], uplink traffic verification indication associated with the uplink Service Data Flow (SDF) to QoS flow mapping]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a wireless network employing one or more new radio technologies results enhancing the one or more radio technologies may improve performance of a wireless network (D5, 0311]).
As per Claim 15, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 12, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the request comprises an RRC parameter indicating an amount of data associated with the uplink data and a traffic pattern indication associated with the uplink data.
However, D5 discloses wherein the request comprises an RRC parameter indicating an amount of data associated with the uplink data ([see, [0245], a RRC message indicating a RBG size configuration; a size of a carrier bandwidth; or a size of a bandwidth part of a carrier]), and a traffic pattern indication associated with the uplink data ([see, [0196], uplink traffic verification indication associated with the uplink Service Data Flow (SDF) to QoS flow mapping]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a wireless network employing one or more new radio technologies results enhancing the one or more radio technologies may improve performance of a wireless network (D5, 0311]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of MEDINA ACOSTA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0297976), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 32, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 31, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information is based at least in part on subscription information associated with the UE.
However, D6 discloses wherein the configuration information is based at least in part on subscription information associated with the UE ([see, [0059], the subscription information disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide TA value may be considered valid if it is sufficiently accurate or correct to ensure an UL transmission results improved methods for determining or maintaining TA value validity (D6, 0012]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418