DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13-19, 21, 26 and 32-34 have been amended, claims 8 and 10 have been newly cancelled, and claims 46-47 have been newly added. Claims 35-45 were previously cancelled. The status of claims 1-7, 9, 11-34 and 46-47 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 32 and 34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 26 and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11-12 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US20220006581A1, PCT Priority Date: Oct 24, 2019) in view of Chung et al (US20230069777A1, PCT For Priority Date: Mar 16, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190) comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038), a transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) using a first set of transmission resources (see, Fig. 1, BS transmits PDCCH including DCI using regions of OFDM symbols, par 0045, 0047), wherein the transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes an indication of a second set of one or more transmission resources in the future (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049) that the wireless communication device intends to use for one or more second transmissions (see, DCI in PDCCH including downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049), and wherein the transmission(see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes a total transmit power quasi co-location (QCL) indication (see, TCI state in DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169) for at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions (see, TCI state indicated by DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169. Noted, PDSCH can be equated to second transmission. Noted further, power ratio to the PDSCH corresponding to the DMRS from DMRS ports indicated by DCI, and thus total transmit power of DMRS port group, par 0171); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038), a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions using a particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049. Noted, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in PDCCHs can be equated to second set of one or more transmission resources and downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in one PDCCH can be equated to particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0049, 0171) based on the total transmit power QCL indication (see, same PDSCH transmitted from TRPs (transmission and/or reception points) on one PDCCH with DCI indicating TCI state associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH, and TCI state indicates power ratio between DMRS and PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169, 0171-0172. Noted, antenna ports in the DMRS antenna port group are QCL, and the antenna ports between the DMRS antenna port groups are not QCL, par 0152).
Yamada’581 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions indicates a QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources.
However Chung’777 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 9, downlink beam management operation using CSI-RS in a wireless communication system including terminal and BS, par 0150-0151) discloses:
transmitting, by the wireless communication device (base station can be equated to wireless communication device, par 0318), a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions (PDSCH transmission can be equated to a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions, par 0323) using a particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources (PDSCH using PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s) can be equated to a particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0319. Noted, PDSCH antenna port QCL (PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s)) indicated by TCI state from DCI, par 0283, 0319) based on the total transmit power QCL indication (see, BS transmits PDSCH using PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s) based on spatial parameter (TCI state) indicating QCL (between PDCCH and PDSCH) and transmission power, par 0319, 0323, 0336), wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (spatial parameter (TCI state) indicating QCL and transmission power for PDSCH/PDCCH/PUSCH/PUCCH, par 0323) for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions (PDSCH using PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s), par 0319) indicates a QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources (see, spatial parameter (TCI state) indicates QCL relationship between PDCCH reception beam using PDCCH antenna port(s) and PDSCH reception beam using PDSCH antenna port(s), par 0318-0319, 0323, 0337. Noted, PDCCH reception beam using PDCCH antenna port(s) can be equated to QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chung’777 into that of Yamada’581. The motivation would have been to change/update spatial parameter for PDCCH reception regardless of whether reception/decoding for PDSCH is successful or not (par 0372).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (see, TCI state in DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169) is included in a control message of the transmission (see, TCI state indicated in DCI, par 0137).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein the transmission using the first set of transmission resources further includes a data portion (see, PDCCH (including DCI using regions of OFDM symbols) schedules PDSCH (data) via mini-slot scheduling (and thus the whole slot including both PDCCH and PDSCH), par 0045, 0047-0048, 0085).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions includes the same data packet as the first transmission (see, same piece of data transmitted from different TRPs on one PDCCH, par 0172. Noted, transmissions from first and second TRP can be equated to first and second transmission(s) respectively).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions includes the same data packet as the first transmission (see, different piece of data transmitted from different TRPs on one PDCCH, par 0172. Noted, transmissions from first and second TRP can be equated to first and second transmission(s) respectively).
Regarding claim 32 (Currently Amended), Claim 32 recites an apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 13-17, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US20190335399A1).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the wireless communication device is a multiple transmission reception point (TRP) user equipment (UE) and has multiple TRPs.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 3, second network device, par 0141) is a multiple transmission reception point (TRP) user equipment (UE) and has multiple TRPs (see, Fig. 3, terminal as second network device in D2D transmitting reference signals and data to another terminal via first and second antenna port group, par 0121, 0143, 0146. Noted, one antenna port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, and thus terminal with multiple TRPs (multiple antenna port group), par 0116).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication includes transmit power information for each TRP of multiple TRPs.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: : wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (see, Fig. 3, first and second power configuration parameter corresponding to first and second antenna port group respectively including power ratio between data of an DMRS port group and DMRS of the port group, port group of one transmission point are QCL, par 0141, 0143, 0152-0153, 0221) includes transmit power information for each TRP of multiple TRPs (see, Fig. 3, first and second power configuration parameter corresponding to first and second antenna port group (corresponding to one cell/transmission point) respectively of the same base station, par 0116, 0149. Noted, first and second power configuration parameter carried in one piece of physical layer signaling, par 0144).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indicator provides a QCL indication indicating total transmit power for each set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the total transmit power QCL indicator (see, Fig. 3 301, first and second power configuration parameter, par 0141, 0143) provides a QCL indication (see, ports in same port group corresponding to one QCL, par 0221) indicating total transmit power for each set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, Fig. 3, first and second power configuration parameter corresponding to first and second antenna port group respectively including power ratio between data and DMRS of the port group with ports in same port group corresponding to one QCL, par 0141, 0143, 0152-0153, 0221).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication includes a single indication which identifies whether or not an individual transmit power of each transmission reception point (TRP) of the wireless communication device for the second set of one or more transmission resources will be the same as the individual transmit power of each TRP used for the first set of transmission resources.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (see, Fig. 3 301, first and second power configuration parameter, par 0141, 0143) includes a single indication (see, power ratio, par 0212) which identifies whether or not an individual transmit power of each transmission reception point (TRP) of the wireless communication device (see, one antenna port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, and thus terminal with multiple TRPs (multiple antenna port group), par 0116) for the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, time unit to send data of DMRS port group, par 0134, 0152) will be the same as the individual transmit power of each TRP used for the first set (see, time unit to send DMRS of DMRS port group, par 0134, 0152) of transmission resources (see, any power configuration parameter corresponding to one DMRS port group including power ratio between data and DMRS of DMRS port group, the power ratio can be 0db (same power), and one antenna port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, par 0116, 0143, 0162. Noted, transmission resources for DMRS or data including symbols and/or ports, par 0134).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication is a bitmap, and wherein the bitmap indicates whether or not the same individual transmit power allocation of each transmission reception point (TRP) is being used for the second set of one or more transmission resources.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication is a bitmap (see, first, second and third power configuration parameter sent together in the same time unit and each power configuration parameter indicated by unique power configuration identifier, and thus bitmap, par 0077, 0172), and wherein the bitmap indicates whether or not the same individual transmit power allocation of each transmission reception point (TRP) is being used for the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, first, second and third power configuration parameter sent together and each by unique power configuration identifier, any power configuration parameter corresponding to one DMRS port group including power ratio between data and DMRS of DMRS port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, the power ratio can be 0db (same power), par 0077, 0116, 0143, 0162, 0172).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 15 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the bitmap includes a single value for each set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, and wherein a first value indicates a same TRP power allocation and a second value indicates otherwise.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the bitmap (see, first, second and third power configuration parameter sent together in the same time unit and each power configuration parameter indicated by unique power configuration identifier, and thus bitmap, par 0077, 0172) includes a single value (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter, par 0077) for each set of transmission resources (see, time unit (slot including minislots) to send data, par 0134, 0172) of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, a plurality of power configuration parameters sent together in the same time unit and each power configuration parameter indicated by unique power configuration identifier, power configuration parameter including power ratio between data and DMRS of port group, par 0077, 0143, 0172), and wherein a first value (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter, par 0077) indicates a same TRP power allocation (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter corresponding to one port group (corresponding to transmission point) with 0db power ratio, par 0077, 0166, 0152, 0162) and a second value indicates otherwise (see, power ratio indicated by unique power configuration identifier indicating value other than 0db, par 0077, 0162).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 15 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the bitmap includes multiple values for each set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, and wherein a value of the bitmap indicates a power relationship from the power used for the first set of transmission resources.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the bitmap (see, first, second and third power configuration parameter sent together in the same time unit and thus bitmap, par 0077, 0172) includes multiple values (see, any power configuration parameter includes a beam identifier, a reference signal power, and a power ratio, par 0152) for each set of transmission resources (see, time unit (slot including minislots) to send data, par 0134, 0172) of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, any power configuration parameter corresponding to one antenna port group includes a beam identifier, a reference signal power, and a power ratio for data transmission on time unit, par 0134, 0143, 0152), and wherein a value (see, a power ratio in power configuration parameter, par 0152) of the bitmap indicates a power relationship from the power used for the first set of transmission resources (see, power ratio between data and DMRS of antenna port group, DMRS send together with power configuration parameter, par 0134, 0152-0153. Noted, DMRS send together with power configuration parameter and thus time unit to send DMRS can be equated to first set of transmission resources, par 0134).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication is an index, and wherein the index indicates whether or not the same individual transmit power allocation of each transmission reception point (TRP) is being used for the second set of one or more transmission resources.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the total transmit power QCL indication is an index (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter, par 0077), and wherein the index (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter, par 0077) indicates whether or not the same individual transmit power allocation of each transmission reception point (TRP) is being used for the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, unique power configuration identifier indicating power configuration parameter corresponding to one port group (corresponding to transmission point) with 0db power ratio (same transmit power allocation), par 0077, 0166, 0152, 0162).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 19 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein the index is a TCI state index (see, TCI state in DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169. Noted, TCI state index, 0187), and wherein a first value (see, power ratio indicated by TCI state, par 0169) indicates the same TRP power allocation and a second value indicates otherwise (see, power ratio indicated by TCI state can be 1 (same power) and other value indicating not the same, par 0165, 0169. Noted, one TCI state corresponding to one cell/port group/TRP, par 0019, 0137).
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the transmission resources correspond to time-frequency resources, and wherein the total transmit power QCL indication indicates transmit power information for each transmission reception point (TRP) of the wireless communication device.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: wherein the transmission resources correspond to time-frequency resources (see, Fig. 3, pattern for port group indicating time-frequency resource used to transmit data or power configuration parameter, par 0172, 0219), and wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (see, Fig. 3, first and second power configuration parameter corresponding to first and second antenna port group respectively including power ratio between data of an DMRS port group and DMRS of the port group, port group of one transmission point are QCL, par 0141, 0143, 0152-0153, 0221) indicates transmit power information for each transmission reception point (TRP) of the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 3, first and second power configuration parameter corresponding to first and second antenna port group (corresponding to one cell/transmission point) respectively of the same base station, par 0116, 0149. Noted, first and second power configuration parameter carried in one piece of physical layer signaling, par 0144).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al (US20210119760A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 1, 2019).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the wireless communication device is operating in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) mode, and wherein the total transmit power QCL indication enables a receiving device to perform automatic gain control (AGC) prediction.
However Jiang’760 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, wireless network system including sidelink communicated UEs connects to EPC/5G-CN through gNB of NG-RAN, par 0113) discloses: wherein the wireless communication device is operating in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) mode (see, terminal in V2x system, par 0051), and wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (see, K2 information block, par 0161) enables a receiving device to perform automatic gain control (AGC) prediction (see, Fig. 5 S20, second node transmitting K2 information block(s) including K2 first-type identifier(s) used for indexing one AGC process, par 0160, 0163. Noted, each one of the K first-type identifiers is QCLed with a transmitting antenna port group of a corresponding candidate radio signal, par 0186).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jiang’760 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to meet requirements of new services with higher throughput, higher reliability, lower latency, further transmission distance, more accurate positioning, higher variability in packet size and transmission periodicity (par 0005).
Claims 6-7 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Chen et al (US20220061041A1, PCT Priority Date: Apr 2, 2020).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 5 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the control message is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission.
However Chen’041 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system including V2X UEs communicate with BS, par 0021-0022) discloses: wherein the control message is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission (see, 1st-stage SCI over PSCCH indicates power offset and QCL information, abstract, par 0062, 0065).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chen’041 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to support advanced vehicular applications in V2X (par 0004).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 5 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the control message is a sidelink control information type 1 (SCIl) transmission or a sidelink control information type 2 (SCI2) transmission.
However Chen’041 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system including V2X UEs communicate with BS, par 0021-0022) discloses: wherein the control message is a sidelink control information type 1 (SCIl) transmission (see, 1st-stage SCI indicates power offset and QCL information, abstract, par 0062, 0065) or a sidelink control information type 2 (SCI2) transmission (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject)
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chen’041 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to support advanced vehicular applications in V2X (par 0004).
Regarding claim 46 (New), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions is a PSSCH transmission, and wherein the transmission is a PSCCH transmission.
However Chen’041 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system including V2X UEs communicate with BS, par 0021-0022) discloses: wherein the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions is a PSSCH transmission, and wherein the transmission is a PSCCH transmission (see, 1st-stage SCI indicating power offset between sidelink control channel (PSCCH) using transmitting resources and data channel (PSSCH), par 0062).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chen’041 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to support advanced vehicular applications in V2X (par 0004).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777, and further in view of Wang’399 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kalhan et al (US20120034924A1).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 17 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), wherein:
a first value (see, power ratio indicating 2 (3db), par 0165) indicates double a TRP power allocation used for the first set of transmission resources (see, power ratio indicate by TCI state between the DMRS and the PDSCH is twice, each TCI state corresponding to one cell/ transmission point, par 0019, 0137, 0165. Noted, PDCCH and DMRS transmitted together and thus resource of DMRS belong to first set of transmission resources, par 0098);
a second value (see, power ratio indicating 1 (0db), par 0166) indicates the same TRP power allocation used for the first set of transmission resources (see, power ratio indicate by TCI state between the DMRS and the PDSCH is 1 (0db), each TCI state corresponding to one cell/ transmission point, par 0019, 0137, 0166. Noted, PDCCH and DMRS transmitted together and thus resource of DMRS belong to first set of transmission resources, par 0098).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
a third value indicates half the TRP power allocation used for the first set of transmission resources; and
a fourth value indicates no power.
However Wang’399 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1 and 3, coordinated transmission for terminal device from cells including transmission points, par 0125) discloses: a third value (see, power ratio indicating 3 db, par 0271) indicates half the TRP (see, one antenna port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, par 0116) power allocation used for the first set of transmission resources (see, power ratio between data and DMRS of antenna port group indicating 3 db, par 0152-0153, 0269. Noted, one antenna port group corresponding to one cell/transmission point, par 0116)
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wang’399 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy for demodulating data transmitted by a plurality of transmission points (par 0005).
The combination of Yamada’581, Chung’777 and Wang’399 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: a fourth value indicates no power.
However Kalhan’924 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1a, communication system including network controller, multiple BS and wireless device, par 0024) discloses:
a fourth value indicates no power (see, dynamic configured weighting factor K indicates minimum power (no transmission), par 0048-0049).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Kalhan’924 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 and Wang’399. The motivation would have been to allocate common control information for transmission by BSs over the same physical channel (par 0004).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Matsumura et al (US20210345253A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 9, 2018).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising.
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: prior to transmitting, transmitting, by the wireless communication device, a capabilities message indicating that the wireless communication device is configured for QCL based total transmit power indication.
However Matsumura’253 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, UE corrects the transmission power in communication system with gNB, par 0075) discloses:
prior to transmitting, transmitting, by the wireless communication device (see, UE in D2D, par 0303), a capabilities message (see, UE capability information, par 0102) indicating that the wireless communication device is configured for QCL based total transmit power indication (see, UE reports UE capability information including α1 (power parameter for total transmission power of all antenna ports) and precoder type before transmission, par 0054, 0100. Noted, precoder interchangeable with QCL, and therefore full coherent (same precoder) in precoder type can be equated to QCL based, par 0056-0057, 0088, 0297).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Matsumura’253 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to correct the transmission power when the value of a part of the precoding matrix becomes 0 (par 0074).
Regarding claim 24 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising.
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: prior to transmitting, receiving, by the wireless communication device, a capabilities message indicating that a second wireless communication device is configured for QCL based total transmit power indication.
However Matsumura’253 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, UE corrects the transmission power in communication system with gNB, par 0075) discloses:
prior to transmitting (see, Fig. 7, indication to apply Transmission Power Determination Method 2, par 0158), receiving, by the wireless communication device (see, UE acting as BS in D2D, par 0303), a capabilities message (see, UE capability information, par 0102) indicating that a second wireless communication device is configured for QCL based total transmit power indication (see, BS receives from UE that UE capability of supporting transmission power determination method 2 before BS indicating to apply Transmission Power Determination Method 2, par 0154, 0158. Noted, Transmission Power Determination Method 2 information determines full coherent/partial/non coherent while full coherent corresponding to QCL, par 0057, 0088, 0297).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Matsumura’253 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to correct the transmission power when the value of a part of the precoding matrix becomes 0 (par 0074).
Regarding claim 25 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising.
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: prior to transmitting, receiving, by the wireless communication device, a configuration message from a second wireless communication device indicating a QCL based total transmit power indication mode.
However Matsumura’253 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, UE corrects the transmission power in communication system with gNB, par 0075) discloses: prior to transmitting (see, PUSCH transmission, par 0050), receiving, by the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 2, UE, par 0050), a configuration message (see, TPMI, par 0088) from a second wireless communication device indicating a QCL based total transmit power indication mode (see, UE determines whether precoder is full coherent or partial or non-coherent for PUSCH transmission according to configured TPMI from BS, par 0088. Noted, precoder interchangeable with QCL, and therefore full coherent (same precoder) in precoder type can be equated to QCL based, par 0056-0057, 0088, 0297).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Matsumura’253 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to correct the transmission power when the value of a part of the precoding matrix becomes 0 (par 0074).
Claims 26-29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777, and further in view of Jiang’760.
Regarding claim 26 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, terminal, par 0038) from a second wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038), a transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) for a first set of transmission resources (see, Fig. 1, terminal receives from BS the PDCCH including DCI using regions of OFDM symbols, par 0045, 0047), wherein the transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes an indication of a second set of one or more transmission resources (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049) in the future that the second wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038) intends to use for one or more second transmissions (see, DCI in PDCCH including downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049), and wherein the transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes a total transmit power quasi co-location (QCL) indication (see, TCI state in DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and indicates power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169) for at least one transmission resource set of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, TCI state indicated by DCI associated with the QCL between the downlink signal and the DMRS of the PDSCH and power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169. Noted, PDSCH can be equated to second transmission. Noted further, power ratio to the PDSCH corresponding to the DMRS from DMRS ports indicated by DCI, and thus total transmit power of DMRS port group, par 0171);
determining, by the wireless communication device (see, terminal, par 0165), a total transmit power for a particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049. Noted, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in PDCCHs can be equated to second set of one or more transmission resources and downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in one PDCCH can be equated to particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0049, 0171) based on the total transmit power QCL indication (see, terminal demodulates PDSCH from TRPs according to power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups indicated by TCI state in one PDCCH, par 0169, 0172. Noted, power ratio to the PDSCH corresponding to the DMRS from DMRS ports indicated by DCI, and thus total transmit power of DMRS port group, par 0171. Noted further, interference PDSCHs signals from neighbor cells and terminal apparatus uses the first assistance information (including power ratio) to replica interference signal with interference power, and thus interference PDSCH power determined according to power ratio, par 0188-0189, 0199).
Yamada’581 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the total transmit power QCL indicates a QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources;
determining, by the wireless communication device, a receiver gain value to apply for receptions during the particular set of transmission resources based on the total transmit power for a particular set of transmission resources; and
monitoring, by the wireless communication device, for a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions during the particular set of transmission resources using the receive gain value.
However Chung’777 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 9, downlink beam management operation using CSI-RS in a wireless communication system including terminal and BS, par 0150-0151) discloses:
receiving, by a wireless communication device (terminal can be equated to wireless communication device, par 0318) from a second wireless communication device (base station can be equated to wireless communication device, par 0318), a transmission for a first set of transmission resources (see, terminal receives PDCCH through BS through PDCCH antenna port(s), par 0313, 0318, 0323), wherein the transmission includes an indication of a second set of one or more transmission resources in the future (PDSCH reception beam using PDSCH antenna port(s) indicated by TCI state in DCI can be equated to indication of a second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0319, 0323, 0337) that the second wireless communication device intends to use (base station can be equated to wireless communication device, par 0318) for one or more second transmissions (see, PDSCH reception beam using PDSCH antenna port(s) indicated by TCI state in DCI, , par 0319, 0323, 0337), and wherein the transmission includes a total transmit power quasi co-location (QCL) indication (spatial parameter (TCI state) indicating QCL (between PDCCH and PDSCH) and transmission power can be equated to total transmit power QCL indication, par 0319, 0323, 0336) for at least one transmission resource set of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, spatial parameter (TCI state) indicates QCL relationship between PDCCH reception beam using PDCCH antenna port(s) and PDSCH reception beam using PDSCH antenna port(s), par 0318-0319, 0323, 0337. Noted, PDSCH using PDSCH DMRS antenna port(s) can be equated to at least one transmission resource set of the second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0319), and wherein the total transmit power QCL (spatial parameter (TCI state) indicating QCL (between PDCCH and PDSCH) and transmission power can be equated to total transmit power QCL indication, par 0319, 0323, 0336) indicates a QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources (see, spatial parameter (TCI state) indicates QCL relationship between PDCCH reception beam using PDCCH antenna port(s) and PDSCH reception beam using PDSCH antenna port(s), par 0318-0319, 0323, 0337. Noted, PDCCH reception beam using PDCCH antenna port(s) can be equated to QCL relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chung’777 into that of Yamada’581. The motivation would have been to change/update spatial parameter for PDCCH reception regardless of whether reception/decoding for PDSCH is successful or not (par 0372).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determining, by the wireless communication device, a receiver gain value to apply for receptions during the particular set of transmission resources based on the total transmit power for a particular set of transmission resources; and
monitoring, by the wireless communication device, for a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions during the particular set of transmission resources using the receive gain value.
However Jiang’760 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, wireless network system including sidelink communicated UEs connects to EPC/5G-CN through gNB of NG-RAN, par 0113) discloses:
determining, by the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 5, first node, par 0159), a receiver gain value (see, power adjustment by AGC, par 0006, 0163) to apply for receptions during the particular set of transmission resources based on the total transmit power (see, expected power in power control relevant information (transmitting power of the second radio signal), par 0161, 0190) for a particular set of transmission resources (see, Fig. 5 S10-S11, first node determines receiving power of a subsequent radio signal input to ADC by AGC for next transmissions based on K2 information blocks including power control relevant information and K2 first-type identifier(s) (indexing one AGC process), par 0006, 0159, 0163); and
monitoring, by the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 5, first node, par 0159), for a particular transmission of the one or more second transmissions during the particular set of transmission resources using the receive gain value (see, Fig. 5 S11, first node receives K candidate radio signal(s) using AGC by adjust receiving power of subsequent radio signal input to ADC, par 0159, 0163).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jiang’760 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to meet requirements of new services with higher throughput, higher reliability, lower latency, further transmission distance, more accurate positioning, higher variability in packet size and transmission periodicity (par 0005).
Regarding claim 27 (Original), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 26 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190).
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the receiver gain value is further determined based on a second receiver gain value for the first set of transmission resources, a total received power for the first set of transmission resources, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) level for the second wireless communication device, a spatial configuration used for the first set of transmission resources, the particular set of transmission resources, or both, or a combination thereof.
However Jiang’760 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, wireless network system including sidelink communicated UEs connects to EPC/5G-CN through gNB of NG-RAN, par 0113) discloses: wherein the receiver gain value (see, power adjustment by AGC, par 0006, 0163) is further determined based on a second receiver gain value for the first set of transmission resources, a total received power for the first set of transmission resources, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) level for the second wireless communication device, a spatial configuration used for the first set of transmission resources (see, different K first-type identifier(s) associates with different antenna port group, par 0018-0019), the particular set of transmission resources, or both, or a combination thereof (see, each of K first-type identifiers indexing one AGC process which associates with different antenna port group and thus different AGC with different power adjustment, par 0006, 0018-0019, 0163, 0165. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jiang’760 into that of Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777. The motivation would have been to meet requirements of new services with higher throughput, higher reliability, lower latency, further transmission distance, more accurate positioning, higher variability in packet size and transmission periodicity (par 0005).
Regarding claim 28 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 26 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless communication device (see, one of multiple terminals, par 0060), the particular transmission (see, terminals receives PDSCH, par 0060);
determining, by the wireless communication device, that the particular transmission is intended for the wireless communication device (see, PDSCH with user equipment specific information for terminal to indicate dedicated signaling to a given terminal, par 0060); and
processing, by the wireless communication device, the particular transmission (see, terminal of multiple terminals receives PDSCH according to UE specific information for terminal to indicate dedicated signaling to a given terminal, par 0060. Noted, PDSCH only intended to one terminal with UE specific information for the terminal).
Regarding claim 29 (Original), Yamada’581 discloses the method of claim 26 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless communication device (see, one of multiple terminals, par 0060), the particular transmission (see, terminals receives PDSCH, par 0060);
determining, by the wireless communication device, that the particular transmission is not intended for the wireless communication device (see, PDSCH with user equipment specific information for given terminal to indicate dedicated signaling to a given terminal, and thus other terminal determines PDSCH is not intended to this terminal, par 0060); and
ignoring, by the wireless communication device, the particular transmission (see, PDSCH with user equipment specific information for given terminal, and thus PDSCH containing RRC message is not for other terminal, par 0060).
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended), Claim 33 recites an apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 26 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 26.
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777, and further in view of Jiang’760 as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US20190335399A1).
Regarding claim 30 (Original), Claim 30 recites a method performing the steps recited in claims 2 and 3, and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 31 (Original), Claim 30 recites a method performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chen et al (US20220061041A1, PCT Priority Date: Apr 2, 2020).
Regarding claim 34 (Currently Amended), Yamada’581 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190) comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038), a transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) using a first set of transmission resources (see, Fig. 1, BS transmits PDCCH including DCI using regions of OFDM symbols, par 0045, 0047), wherein the transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes an indication of a second set of one or more transmission resources in the future (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049) that the wireless communication device intends to use for one or more second transmissions (see, DCI in PDCCH including downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049), and wherein the transmission (see, PDCCH including DCI, par 0047) includes a transmit power configuration indication (see, power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0169) for at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions (see, TCI state in DCI indicates power ratio between of the DMRS and the PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0038), a particular transmission (see, PDSCH, par 0049) of the one or more second transmissions using a particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources (see, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation and MCS for PDSCH, par 0049. Noted, downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in PDCCHs can be equated to second set of one or more transmission resources and downlink grant of PDSCH resource allocation in one PDCCH can be equated to particular set of transmission resources of the second set of one or more transmission resources, par 0049, 0171) based on the transmit power configuration indication (see, same PDSCH transmitted from TRPs (transmission and/or reception points) on one PDCCH with DCI indicating power ratio between DMRS and PDSCH with DMRS port groups, par 0137, 0169, 0171-0172. Noted, antenna ports in the DMRS antenna port group are QCL, and the antenna ports between the DMRS antenna port groups are not QCL, par 0152).
Yamada’581 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the transmit power configuration indication for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions indicates a transmit power relationship with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources.
However Chen’041 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system including V2X UEs communicate with BS, par 0021-0022) discloses: wherein the transmit power configuration indication (1st-stage SCI indicating power offset between sidelink control channel and data channel can be equated to transmit power configuration indication, par 0062) for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions (resources for transmitting PSSCH in Tx resource pool can be equated to at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions, par 0037) indicates a transmit power relationship (power offset can be equated to transmit power relationship, par 0062) with the transmission using the first set of transmission resources (see, 1st-stage SCI indicating power offset between sidelink control channel (PSCCH) using transmitting resources and data channel (PSSCH), par 0062)
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Chen’041 into that of Yamada’581. The motivation would have been to support advanced vehicular applications in V2X (par 0004).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’581 in view of Chung’777 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Matsumura et al (US 20220216929 A1, PCT Priority Date: May 14, 2020).
Regarding claim 47 (New), Yamada’581 modified by Chung’777 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 4-5, terminal communicates with BSs (cells/transmission and/or reception points), par 0134, 0190), further comprising.
The combination of Yamada’581 and Chung’777 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the total transmit power QCL indication for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions indicates the QCL relationship for each of the one or more second transmissions with respect to the first set of transmission resources for the first transmission on a per TRP basis.
However Matsumura’929 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, communication between BS and UE through transmission beam sweeping by BS and reception beam sweeping by UE, par 0087) discloses:
wherein the total transmit power QCL indication (TCI state (indicating QCL and transmission power) can be equated to total transmit power QCL indication, par 0406. Noted, TCI state, QCL and transmission power are interchangeable, par 0406) for the at least one transmission of the one or more second transmissions (TCI state or a QCL assumption of the PDSCH, par 0050) indicates the QCL relationship (QCL assumption, par 0050) for each of the one or more second transmissions with respect to the first set of transmission resources for the first transmission (CORESET used for PDCCH transmission for scheduling the PDSCH, par 0050) on a per TRP basis (see, TCI state or a QCL assumption of the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or a QCL assumption applied to the CORESET used for PDCCH transmission for scheduling the PDSCH, and of QCL parameter is different per cell, par 0050, 0166. Noted, QCL parameter per cell (TRP) can be equated to per TRP basis, par 0095, 0166).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Matsumura’929 into that of Yamada’581. The motivation would have been to control UE's reception processing and transmission processing of at least one of a signal and a channel based on TCI state (par 0019).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose or render obviousness the limitation of claim 21 as claimed in independent claim 1. The closest prior art, Wang et al (US20190335399A1), discloses wherein the total transmit power QCL indication is a bitmap of indications for a portion of transmission resources of the future transmission resources being reserved in the second set (par 0077, 0116, 0143, 0162, 0172); the closest prior art, Liu et al (US20200236636A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 6, 2020), discloses wherein the .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada et al (US20170244435A1) discloses: base station apparatus can perform communication in a transmission mode corresponding to non-orthogonal access or by using a DCI format corresponding to non-orthogonal access. The DCI format corresponding to non-orthogonal access includes at least information related to power control. The information related to power control is, for example, the power difference between the transmit power destined for the terminal apparatus and the transmit power of an interference signal and interference signal power control information. A predetermined power offset value is configured in the interference signal power control information, and the sign of the power offset value can be signaled by using one bit (par 0145).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473