DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/102345 (‘345, from IDS), and further in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, ‘345 teaches compositions comprising aureobasidin A, which is applicant’s I-A1, as an agricultural fungicide and wherein their compositions can further comprise additional anti-fungal/fungicidal active agents which are not limited in scope (see entire document; e.g. structure pg. 3; pg. 3, ln. 18-pg. 4, ln. 26; claim 4; paragraph bridging pgs. 3-4; abstract; claims; pg. 4, ln. 35-pg. 5, ln. 16; pg. 1, ln. 29-pg. 2, ln. 3). ‘345 teaches that aureobasidins A-R are antifungal cyclic depsipeptides produced by Aureobasidium pullulans (pg. 1, ln. 29-30). ‘345 further teaches that the fermentation broth derived from strains of A. pullulans as a live cell or a cell suspension to treat or control a fungal infection or agricultural products is disclosed (see entire document; pg. 4-5, bridging para.; pg. 7, ln. 18-25; claims 13-14; structure pg. 3; pg. 3, ln. 18-pg. 4, ln. 26; claim 4; paragraph bridging pgs. 3-4; abstract; claims; pg. 4, ln. 35-pg. 5, ln. 16; pg. 1, ln. 29-pg. 2, ln. 3), and that the fermentation broths contain the antifungal agent aureobasidin A, which need not be isolated, purified, and/or reformulated for use as agricultural fungicide (pg. 5, ln. 1-3), and as discussed above
Regarding claims 2 and 5, ‘345 teaches wherein their compositions can comprise from 0.1-95 wt% aureobasidin A (pg. 4, ln. 4-5; see entire document; e.g. structure pg. 3; pg. 3, ln. 18-pg. 4, ln. 26; claim 4; paragraph bridging pgs. 3-4; abstract; claims; pg. 4, ln. 35-pg. 5, ln. 16; pg. 1, ln. 29-pg. 2, ln. 3).
Regarding claims 3-4, ‘345 broadly teaches wherein the compositions comprise additional cyclic depsipeptides of formula I-A, specifically aureobasidin E and/or G, because ‘345 teaches that the fermentation broth of A. pullulans produces aureobasidin A-R. Thus, ‘345 teaches antifungal use of aureobasidin A with additional aureobasidins such as the claimed E and/or G (see entire document; pg. 4-5, paragraph which bridges; pg. 7, ln. 18-25; claims 13-14; pg. 5, ln. 1-3; structure pg. 3; pg. 3, ln. 18-pg. 4, ln. 26; claim 4; paragraph bridging pgs. 3-4; abstract; claims; pg. 4, ln. 35-pg. 5, ln. 16; pg. 1, ln. 29-pg. 2, ln. 3). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize additional natural antifungal agents to enhance or supplement activity and/or the spectrum of fungi being controlled.
Regarding claim 8, ‘345 teaches wherein their compositions further comprise an agriculturally acceptable carrier and/or formulation adjuvant, and optionally, a surfactant (see entire document; pg. 3, ln. 10-17; pg. 4, ln. 6-12; structure pg. 3; pg. 3, ln. 18-pg. 4, ln. 26; claim 4; paragraph bridging pgs. 3-4; abstract; claims; pg. 4, ln. 35-pg. 5, ln. 16; pg. 1, ln. 29-pg. 2, ln. 3).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-8, and 15-17, ‘345 does not teach wherein the additional fungicidal active agent is the claimed/elected cyprodinil or wherein component A) comprises the additional depsipeptide of formula I-A (e.g. aureobasidin E or G) in 0.1 to 90% by weight, or the ratios of applicant’s component A to component B of from 100:1 to 1:500, more specifically 1:1 to 1:4 , etc. which are instantly claimed.
However, these deficiencies in ‘345 are addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil is can be used in lower amounts that it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have formed the claimed combination of aureobasidin A with cyprodinil and with or without the additional depsipeptides, i.e. aureobasidin E and/or G, claimed and the claimed carrier/adjuvant, etc. as claimed because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) as the additional chemical fungicides with the aureobasidin composition of ‘345 because cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) are known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/ Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) is compatible with A. pullulans they would obviously be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘345 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have optimized the concentration of component A of applicants composition to comprise the claimed amounts of depsipeptide of formula I-A1 and I-A as claimed because it was known in the art to optimize the amounts of effective fungicidal agents in order to form the most effective herbicidal combinations for use in controlling phytopathogenic fungi. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to component B to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), and the newly claimed 1:1 to 1:4 of component (A) to component (B) because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide synergistic fungicidal activity (that is greater than additive fungicidal activity and as such would be synergistic according to the Colby equation as is newly claimed) and A. pullulans were the known source of the claimed aureobasidins as is taught by ‘345.
Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or synergistic fungicidal combinations because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-6, 7-8, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/102345 (‘345, from IDS), and further in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, and 15-17 above, and further in view of Cichewicz et al. (US 2021/0317167, with priority to at least 07/19/19).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The combined references together teach the composition of claims 1-5, 7-8, and 15-17 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claim 6, the combined references do not teach wherein their composition further comprise one or more cyclic depsipeptides of formula (I-B) or stereoisomers thereof. However, this deficiency in the combined references is addressed by Cichewicz.
Cichewicz discloses cyclic depsipeptide-class compounds, which are referred to as persephacins (paragraph 18). Persephacin (1), also known as persephacin A which reads on the claimed formula (I-B), has good antifungal activity (paragraphs 20, 43) and it can be used in agricultural and horticultural compositions, either alone or with carriers, surfactants, and/or other fungicides in any ratio (paragraphs 117-118).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to form the claimed combination of claim 6 which requires the claimed aureobasidin A, cyprodinil, and persephacin/persephacin A because each of the claimed components was already known in the art to have antifungal activity alone or with additional agricultural antifungal active ingredients. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the antifungal activity and antifungal spectrum of activity of each of the claimed components as taught by the combination of the prior art in order to obtain combinations which are highly effective for agricultural fungi control. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of copending Application No. 18000576 in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513).
‘576 teaches compositions comprising the same depsipeptides of formula (I-A1) with other fungicides, and wherein the compositions comprise the same additional depsipeptides of formula (I-A), specifically aureobasidin E and/or G; and/or can further comprise the additional depsipeptide of formula (I-B), and wherein the claimed component (A) contains the same depsipeptides of (I-A1) and (I-A) present in the same amounts as are instantly claimed, and wherein the component (A) and component (B) are used in the same ratios instantly claimed, and wherein composition comprises the same carrier and/or formulation adjuvant.
‘576 does not teach wherein their component (B) is/includes the claimed/elected cyprodinil. This deficiency is addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil can be used in lower amounts than it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
It would have been obvious to switch out the component B of ‘576, and/or add the cyprodinil of ‘513 into the component B of ‘576 in order to develop the instantly claimed combinations and to use the cyprodinil with the component A) of ‘576 in the claimed ratios because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use cyprodinil as the additional chemical fungicide with the aureobasidin composition of ‘576 because cyprodinil is known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil is compatible with A. pullulans it would obviously be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘576 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to the instantly claimed component B (cyprodinil) to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), or the now specifically claimed ratios of 1:1 to 1:4, because for instance the easiest ratio of 1:1 which is encompassed by applicant’s claimed range, because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide effective and/or synergistic (according to the Colby equation) fungicidal activity. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or synergistic fungicidal combinations because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the copending ‘576 application and the combined reference.
Claims 1-8, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18000333 in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513). ‘333 teaches compositions comprising the same depsipeptides of formula (I-A1) with other fungicides, and wherein the compositions comprise the same additional depsipeptides of formula (I-A), specifically aureobasidin E and/or G; and/or can further comprise the additional depsipeptide of formula (I-B), and wherein the claimed component (A) contains the same depsipeptides of (I-A1) and (I-A) present in the same amounts as are instantly claimed, and wherein the component (A) and component (B) are used in the same ratios instantly claimed, and wherein composition comprises the same carrier and/or formulation adjuvant.
‘333 does not teach wherein their component (B) is/includes the claimed/elected cyprodinil. This deficiency is addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil is can be used in lower amounts that it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
It would have been obvious to switch out the component B of ‘333, and/or add the cyprodinil of ‘513 into the component B of ‘333 in order to develop the instantly claimed combinations and to use the cyprodinil with the component A) of ‘333 in the claimed ratios because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use cyprodinil as the additional chemical fungicide with the aureobasidin composition of ‘333 because cyprodinil is known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil is compatible with A. pullulans it would be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘333 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to the instantly claimed component B of cyprodinil to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), specifically the newly claimed 1:1 to 1:4, because for instance the easiest ratio of 1:1 which is encompassed by applicant’s claimed range, because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide synergistic (according to the Colby equation) fungicidal activity. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or claimed synergistic fungicidal combinations because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the copending ‘333 application and the combined reference.
Claims 1-8, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 16-22 of copending Application No. 18000454 in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513). ‘454 teaches compositions comprising the same depsipeptides of formula (I-A1) with other fungicides, and wherein the compositions comprise the same additional depsipeptides of formula (I-A), specifically aureobasidin E and/or G; and/or can further comprise the additional depsipeptide of formula (I-B), and wherein the claimed component (A) contains the same depsipeptides of (I-A1) and (I-A) present in the same amounts as are instantly claimed, and wherein the component (A) and component (B) are used in the same ratios instantly claimed, and wherein composition comprises the same carrier and/or formulation adjuvant.
‘454 does not teach wherein their component (B) is/includes the claimed/elected cyprodinil. This deficiency is addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil is can be used in lower amounts that it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
It would have been obvious to switch out the component B of ‘454, and/or add the cyprodinil of ‘513 into the component B of ‘454 in order to develop the instantly claimed combinations and to use the cyprodinil with the component A) of ‘454 in the claimed ratios because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use cyprodinil as the additional chemical fungicide with the aureobasidin composition of ‘454 because cyprodinil is known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil is compatible with A. pullulans it would be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘454 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to the instantly claimed component B of cyprodinil to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), including the newly claimed 1:1 to 1:4, because for instance the easiest ratio of 1:1 which is encompassed by applicant’s claimed range, because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide synergistic (according to the Colby equation) fungicidal activity. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or synergistic fungicidal combinations because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the copending ‘454 application and the combined reference.
Claims 1-8, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 16-19 of copending Application No. 18000605 in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513).
‘605 teaches compositions comprising the same depsipeptides of formula (I-A1) with other fungicides, and wherein the compositions comprise the same additional depsipeptides of formula (I-A), specifically aureobasidin E and/or G; and/or can further comprise the additional depsipeptide of formula (I-B), and wherein the claimed component (A) contains the same depsipeptides of (I-A1) and (I-A) present in the same amounts as are instantly claimed, and wherein the component (A) and component (B) are used in the same ratios instantly claimed, and wherein composition comprises the same carrier and/or formulation adjuvant. ‘605 does not teach wherein their component (B) is/includes the claimed/elected cyprodinil. This deficiency is addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil is can be used in lower amounts that it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
It would have been obvious to switch out the component B of ‘605, and/or add the cyprodinil of ‘513 into the component B of ‘605 in order to develop the instantly claimed combinations and to use the cyprodinil with the component A) of ‘605 in the claimed ratios because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use cyprodinil as the additional chemical fungicide with the aureobasidin composition of ‘605 because cyprodinil is known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil is compatible with A. pullulans it would be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘605 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to the instantly claimed component B of cyprodinil to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), including the newly claimed range of 1:1 to 1:4, because for instance the easiest ratio of 1:1 which is encompassed by applicant’s claimed range, because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide synergistic (according to the Colby equation) fungicidal activity. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or synergistic fungicidal combinations because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the copending ‘605 application and the combined reference.
Claims 1-8, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18711631 in view of AU2018233513A1 (‘513).
‘631 teaches compositions comprising the same depsipeptides of formula (I-A1) with other fungicides, and wherein the compositions comprise the same additional depsipeptides of formula (I-A), specifically aureobasidin E and/or G; and/or can further comprise the additional depsipeptide of formula (I-B), and wherein the claimed component (A) contains the same depsipeptides of (I-A1) and (I-A) present in the same amounts as are instantly claimed, and wherein the component (A) and component (B) are used in the same ratios instantly claimed, and wherein composition comprises the same carrier and/or formulation adjuvant. ‘631 does not teach wherein their component (B) is/includes the claimed/elected cyprodinil. This deficiency is addressed by ‘513.
‘513 teaches combinations of the elected cyprodinil (with or without fludioxonil) and a mixture of A. pullulans strains and wherein the combinations can exhibit synergy and wherein the cyprodinil is can be used in lower amounts that it is typically used due to synergy, e.g. .0025 g/L to 5 g/L of the preparation, etc. (See entire document; abstract; claims; pg. 3, ln. 18-25; pg. 4, ln. 16-pg. 5, ln. 2; pg. 5, ln. 4-9; pg. 6, ln. 9-pg. 7, ln. 5; pg. 7, ln. 21-29; pg. 8, ln. 13-22; pg. 9, ln. 1-19; pg. 10, ln. 33-pg. 11, ln. 10; pg. 12, ln. 1-5; pg. 15, concentrations of chemical fungicides; tables showing results of cyprodinil and A. pullulans strains (all examples/biological testing examples with cyprodinil)).
It would have been obvious to switch out the component B of ‘631, and/or add the cyprodinil of ‘513 into the component B of ‘631 in order to develop the instantly claimed combinations and to use the cyprodinil with the component A) of ‘631 in the claimed ratios because it was known to form fungicidal compositions comprising aureobasidin A as its fermentation product which comprises aureobasidins A-R and therefore contains aureobasidin E and/or G, and to mix the aureobasidins with additional fungicidal actives which are not limited and formulate them with carriers/adjuvants, etc. It would be obvious to use cyprodinil as the additional chemical fungicide with the aureobasidin composition of ‘631 because cyprodinil is known to be compatible with A. pullulans which are the strains which produce the claimed aureobasidins/Aureobasidin A and fermentation mixture comprising other aureobasidins A-R, and because cyprodinil is compatible with A. pullulans it would be compatible with the aureobasidin A, etc. of ‘631 and it is known, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of component A to the instantly claimed component B of cyprodinil to read on the claimed weight ratio of 100:1 to 1:500 (A to B), for instance the easiest ratio of 1:1 which is encompassed by applicant’s claimed range, because each agent was known in the art to exhibit fungicidal activity against phytopathogenic fungi and it was known to combine cyprodinil with A. pullulans strains to provide synergistic fungicidal activity. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of cyprodinil with the claimed component A/aureobasidins in order to form the most effective and/or synergistic fungicidal combinations (according to the Colby equation) because "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and because the courts have determined that, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the instantly claimed composition is obvious when taken in view of the copending ‘631 application and the combined reference.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s newly filed and updated specification and sequence listing, etc. as filed 06/22/26, overcome the previous sequence issues which are hereby withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim objections and 112(b) rejections which are hereby withdrawn. Applicant’s abandonment of copending 18000343 has also rendered moot this double patenting rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered and are not persuasive at this time. Firstly, applicants argue that Polishook (WO2018/102345) does not elaborate on which aureobasidins A-R are produced by what strains, under what conditions, etc. The examiner respectfully points out that the prior art does not need to teach which strains are contemplated as they teach that the claimed depsipeptides are known to be antifungal agents and that these compounds can be produced from A. pullulans. Thus, applicant’s arguments about which strains do or do not product aureobasidins A, E, G, etc. are not persuasive because the claimed compounds are known antifungals produced by A. pullulans and are known to be effective anti-fungals against the claimed organisms (Specifically with respect to aureobasidin A). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would select the A. pullulans culture/fermentation broth that produces the known antifungals aureobasidin(s) A-R to use as an antifungal agent. Further, nothing in the instant claim 1 for instance requires any specific amounts of the claimed aureobasidins contrary to applicant’s arguments about the amounts produced the A. pullulans nor do applicant's claims require the aureobasidins to be from a specific strain or produced via a specific method. The compounds are known to come from A. pullulans as is taught by WO '375. Thus, the A. pullulans fermentation broths, etc. used in WO'375 are those that produce the claimed aureobasidins, e.g. A-R as istaught by WO'375.
Applicants then argue that AU '513 (Binder) teaches that some strains of A. pullulans when combined with fludioxonil are synergistic in some circumstances. The examiner respectfully points out that nothing in the instant claims excludes anything from applicant's claimed combination/composition as the claims use comprising language. Further, nothing in the instant claims requires any synergy as applicant’s claims are to a combination in any amounts/ratios with no exclusions as to other components. Thus, for instance applicant's claims do not exclude fermentation broths of A. pullulans which contain 1 molecule of aureobasidin A, nor does applicant's claim 1 exclude cyprodinil, etc. which are known to exhibit synergistic effects against specific organisms. Additionally, nothing in the instant claims requires any synergistic effects or synergistic amounts of the claimed combinations and the examiner respectfully points out that applicant's own argued unexpected/synergistic results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims as they are currently written for the reasons discussed above which are incorporated herein. Additionally, some of applicant’s argued unexpected/synergistic results do not actually appear to be statistically significant, e.g. Table 2, expected additive activity 42%, observed activity 47%, and for instance these results which do not appear to be statistically significant fall within applicant's newly claimed ratio ranges. See MPEP716.02(b) which states that the burden is on applicant to establish that their argued results are in fact unexpected and significant. Specifically, that "The evidence relied upon should establish 'that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). In the instant case, applicant's data does not support that applicant's unexpected results are commensurate with applicant's instant claim scope, as clearly it appears that specific ratios and/or amounts of aureobasidin A with cyprodinil and aureobasidin A with any of the other claimed component (B) would be required to achieve synergy and that not every ratio as claimed achieves the argued unexpected/synergistic fungicidal activity.
Applicants then argue the rejection of claim 6 and that this claim is non-obvious for the reasons of record they presented in their arguments. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons discussed above which are incorporated herein.
Applicants then argue the double patenting rejections are overcome for the same reasons which are discussed above with respect to AU ‘513. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons of record which are discussed above and incorporated herein with the exception of application 18000343 which is withdrawn because this application has been abandoned. Specifically, that the instant claims do not require any specific amounts of aureobasidin A, etc. as is discussed above. Applicants argue for each of the double patenting rejections that AU '513 (Binder) teaches that some strains of A. pullulans when combined with fludioxonil are synergistic in some circumstances but do not teach which A. pullulans are produced by what strains under what conditions, and in what amounts. The examiner respectfully points out that nothing in the instant claims excludes anything from applicant's claimed combination/composition as the claims use comprising language. Further, nothing in the instant claims requires any synergy as applicant’s claims are to a combination in any amounts/ratios with no exclusions as to other components. Thus, for instance applicant's claims do not exclude fermentation broths of A. pullulans which contain 1 molecule of aureobasidin A, nor does applicant's claim 1 exclude cyprodinil, etc. which are known to exhibit synergistic effects against specific organisms. Additionally, nothing in the instant claims requires any synergistic effects or synergistic amounts of the claimed combinations and the examiner respectfully points out that applicant's own argued unexpected/synergistic results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims as they are currently written for the reasons discussed above which are incorporated herein. Additionally, some of applicant’s argued unexpected/synergistic results do not actually appear to be statistically significant, e.g. Table 2, expected additive activity 42%, observed activity 47%, and for instance these results which do not appear to be statistically significant fall within applicant's newly claimed ratio ranges. See MPEP716.02(b) which states that the burden is on applicant to establish that their argued results are in fact unexpected and significant. Specifically, that "The evidence relied upon should establish 'that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). In the instant case, applicant's data does not support that applicant's unexpected results are commensurate with applicant's instant claim scope, as clearly it appears that specific ratios and/or amounts of aureobasidin A with cyprodinil and aureobasidin A with any of the other claimed component (B) would be required to achieve synergy and that not every ratio as claimed achieves the argued unexpected/synergistic fungicidal activity. Additionally, the claimed aureobasidin components are taught by the copending applications cited by the examiner in each of the double patenting rejections and the secondary reference/additional reference Binder is used to teach why one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the cyrodinil with the aureobasidins of applicant’s copending applications as is discussed above. Thus, the examiner maintains that the combined references together do render obvious the claimed invention and that one of ordinary skill in the would conclude that the instantly claimed invention is an obvious variant of the inventions disclosed in the cited copending applications in view of Binder (‘513) as discussed and included in the rejections above which are incorporated herein.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616