DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-31 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Jalali does not disclose a user equipment…determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold; in response to the determination by the UE, select one or more beams, other than the serving beam, based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold… wherein the UE comprises a mobile device.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that Jalali discloses a user equipment [“The embodiments described hereinafter apply to fixed terminals/devices on the ground, as well as mobile terminals/devices…and standalone mobile devices (e.g. handheld devices etc.)” (par. 50, lines 11-16)]…determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)]; in response to the determination by the UE [“The embodiments described hereinafter apply to fixed terminals/devices on the ground, as well as mobile terminals/devices…and standalone mobile devices (e.g. handheld devices etc.)” (par. 50, lines 11-16) “…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], select one or more beams [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], other than the serving beam [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… within an acceptable threshold power of the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold… [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… within an acceptable threshold power of the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)] wherein the UE comprises a mobile device [“The embodiments described hereinafter apply to fixed terminals/devices on the ground, as well as mobile terminals/devices…and standalone mobile devices (e.g. handheld devices etc.)” (par. 50, lines 11-16)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Lee and Jalali is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 26-28, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0120634) in view of Jalali (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0325221).
Consider claim 1; Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories [“…the WTRU 102 may include…non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132…” (par. 31, lines 2-6)]; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories [“…the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118…non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132…” (par. 31, lines 2-6)], the one or more memories storing instructions configurable to be executed by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
monitor one or more paging search spaces [“…a WTRU may monitor… a DCI associated with paging channel in a PDCCH…” (par. 100, lines 2-4)], in a paging occasion [“…a WTRU may monitor… a DCI associated with paging channel in a PDCCH…” (par. 100, lines 2-4)], that correspond to the one or more beams other than the serving beam based at least in part on the determination by the UE that the SINR of the serving beam does not satisfy the first SINR threshold [“…the quality of beams…may be measured based on… signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (par. 137, lines 4-8) “…a WTRU initially selects BTA 1…for paging resource monitoring but the qualities of beams associated with the SS block #1 715 and block #2 720 fall below a predetermined threshold, the WTRU may initiate beam quality measurements for all the SS blocks…” (par. 139, lines 9-14)];
determine that a paging message in the one or more paging search spaces has been successfully decoded [“The WTRU may then decode the paging message…carried on the PDSCH associated with DCI.” (par. 138, lines 15-17)]; and
stop the monitoring of the one or more paging search spaces in the paging occasion based at least in part on the determination that a paging message in the one or more paging search spaces has been successfully decoded [“…if a WTRU determines the BTA#1 717 as the BTA to monitor paging resources, the WTRU may only need to monitor PDCCHs associated with the SS block #1 715 and the SS block #2 720.” (par. 138, lines 8-12) “The WTRU may then decode the paging message…carried on the PDSCH associated with DCI.” (par. 138, lines 15-17)], wherein the UE comprises a mobile device [“…the WTRUs…any of which may be referred to as a station and/or a STA, may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station…” (par. 18, lines 10-14)].
Lee discloses the claimed invention except: determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold;
in response to the determination by the UE, select one or more beams, other than the serving beam, based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold.
In an analogous art Jalali discloses determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)];
in response to the determination by the UE [“The embodiments described hereinafter apply to fixed terminals/devices on the ground, as well as mobile terminals/devices…and standalone mobile devices (e.g. handheld devices etc.)” (par. 50, lines 11-16) “…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], select one or more beams [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], other than the serving beam [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… within an acceptable threshold power of the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)].
It is an object of Lee’s invention to provide a method of transmitting and receiving between devices. It is an object of Jalali’s invention to provide a method for optimally communicating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lee by including multiple thresholds, as taught by Jalali, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Lee discloses the paging message includes a synchronization signal block (par. 93, lines 1-6; par. 137, lines 22-25).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Lee discloses a quantity of the one or more beams does not exceed a maximum quantity of beams [e.g. a subset (par. 137, lines 25-30)].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Lee discloses cause the UE to monitor the one or more paging search spaces further based at least in part on a determination that a monitor flag to indicate multiple beam monitoring is true (par. 121, lines 1-15; par. 138, lines 12-17).
Consider claim 26; Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
monitor one or more paging search spaces [“…a WTRU may monitor… a DCI associated with paging channel in a PDCCH…” (par. 100, lines 2-4)], in a paging occasion [“…a WTRU may monitor… a DCI associated with paging channel in a PDCCH…” (par. 100, lines 2-4)], that correspond to the one or more beams other than the serving beam based at least in part on the determination by the UE that the SINR of the serving beam does not satisfy the first SINR threshold [“…the quality of beams…may be measured based on… signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (par. 137, lines 4-8) “…a WTRU initially selects BTA 1…for paging resource monitoring but the qualities of beams associated with the SS block #1 715 and block #2 720 fall below a predetermined threshold, the WTRU may initiate beam quality measurements for all the SS blocks…” (par. 139, lines 9-14)];
determine that a paging message in the one or more paging search spaces has been successfully decoded [“The WTRU may then decode the paging message…carried on the PDSCH associated with DCI.” (par. 138, lines 15-17)]; and
stop the monitoring of the one or more paging search spaces in the paging occasion based at least in part on the determination that a paging message in the one or more paging search spaces has been successfully decoded [“…if a WTRU determines the BTA#1 717 as the BTA to monitor paging resources, the WTRU may only need to monitor PDCCHs associated with the SS block #1 715 and the SS block #2 720.” (par. 138, lines 8-12) “The WTRU may then decode the paging message…carried on the PDSCH associated with DCI.” (par. 138, lines 15-17)], wherein the UE comprises a mobile device [“…the WTRUs…any of which may be referred to as a station and/or a STA, may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station…” (par. 18, lines 10-14)].
Lee discloses the claimed invention except: determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold;
in response to the determination by the UE, select one or more beams, other than the serving beam, based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold.
In an analogous art Jalali discloses determine that a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a serving beam does not satisfy a first SINR threshold [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)];
in response to the determination by the UE [“The embodiments described hereinafter apply to fixed terminals/devices on the ground, as well as mobile terminals/devices…and standalone mobile devices (e.g. handheld devices etc.)” (par. 50, lines 11-16) “…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], select one or more beams [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], other than the serving beam [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… greater than the serving beam …etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)], based at least in part on each beam of the one or more beams satisfying a second SINR threshold that is less than or equal to the first SINR threshold [“…the terminal radio sub-system…makes signal quality measurements, such as SINR…” (par. 127, lines 6-8) ‘The terminal’s radio sub-system processor compares the signal quality metric measured on the serving beam and the non-serving beams. When the signal quality of a neighboring beam meets certain selection criteria (e.g.… within an acceptable threshold power of the serving beam…etc.) the terminal radio sub-system will attempt to initiate handoff to this “candidate hand-off beam”’ (par. 127, lines 11-19)].
It is an object of Lee’s invention to provide a method of transmitting and receiving between devices. It is an object of Jalali’s invention to provide a method for optimally communicating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lee by including multiple thresholds, as taught by Jalali, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 27, as applied in claim 26; Lee discloses a quantity of the one or more beams does not exceed a maximum quantity of beams [e.g. a subset (par. 137, lines 25-30)].
Consider claim 28, as applied in claim 26; Lee discloses cause the UE to monitor the one or more paging search spaces further based at least in part on a determination that a monitor flag to indicate multiple beam monitoring is true (par. 121, lines 1-15; par. 138, lines 12-17).
Consider claim 31, as applied in claim 26; Lee discloses the paging message includes a synchronization signal block (par. 93, 94; par. 138, lines 15-17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Dependent claims 5, 7-10, 29, 30 will all need to be included in independent claims 1 and 26 to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter. Claims 11-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646