Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are pending.
Claims 8-10 and 14-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are amended
Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lists multiple definitions of the variables used. For example for variable Y, Y is originally defined as
(instant claim 1, line 9), then changed to
(instant claim 1, line 20), then again changed to
(instant claim 1, line 27). This makes the claim confusing as to what Y is actually limited to being. This type of indefiniteness regarding multiple definitions and/or repeating of definitions of a variable is also present for other variables, such as X, Q1, Q2, and Hal.
Furthermore, some variables are used in multiple times in different locations, for example, variable Y is used as a variable in formula (I)
(instant claim 1) and then again used in
(instant claim 1) and
(instant claim 1). It is unclear if all “Y”s are to be the same variable with the same definition or if they all require different definitions. This is also an issue for variable X.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
For compact prosecution purposes, each of the variables is assumed to be the broadest definition given, such as
.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10398791B2 in view of POMPER (WO 2019/157037).
The patent recites the following PSMA compound:
(claim 1).
The patent does not teach adding Astatine-211 (211At) to the compound.
POMPER teaches PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy (abstract). 211At is used for radiopharmaceutical therapy due to its 7.2 hour half-life and 100% alpha emission per decay (Page 7, paragraph 2), which allows for effective alpha radiotherapy (Page 47, paragraph 2). The 211At is added to an aromatic ring on the PSMA compound, such as for example
, wherein X is 211At (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate adding 211At to the compound. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because allows for effective alpha radiotherapy, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy.
The compound claimed in the US patent with 211At added to aromatic ring would result in the following structure:
, which reads on instant claim 1’s formula.
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 28 of U.S. Patent No. 10471160B2 in view of POMPER (WO 2019/157037).
The patent recites the following compound:
(claim 28), wherein the linker is:
(claim 28).
The patent does not teach adding Astatine-211 (211At) to the compound.
POMPER teaches PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy (abstract). 211At is used for radiopharmaceutical therapy due to its 7.2 hour half-life and 100% alpha emission per decay (Page 7, paragraph 2), which allows for effective alpha radiotherapy (Page 47, paragraph 2). The 211At is added to an aromatic ring on the PSMA compound, such as for example
, wherein X is 211At (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate adding 211At to the compound. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because allows for effective alpha radiotherapy, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy.
The compound claimed in the US patent with 211At added to aromatic ring would result in the following structure:
, which reads on instant claim 1’s formula.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENESOVA (Preclinical Evaluation of a Tailor-Made DOTA-Conjugated PSMA Inhibitor with Optimized Linker Moiety for Imaging and Endoradiotherapy of Prostate Cancer. J Nucl Med. 2015.) in view of POMPER (WO 2019/157037).
Regarding claims 1-2, BENESOVA teaches PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy (abstract), such as PSMA-617 which has the structure of
(figure 1), which reads on the formulas in claims 1 and 2, with the exception of having a halogen on the aromatic rings (variable Y in claims 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, BENESOVA teaches the PSMA targeting ligand is DOTA (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, BENESOVA teaches the DOTA compound comprises a metal such as 177Lu (table 1).
Regarding claim 12, BENESOVA teaches the compound is for use in treating prostate cancer (abstract).
BENESOVA does NOT teach adding Astatine-211 (211At) to the compound.
POMPER teaches PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy (abstract). 211At is used for radiopharmaceutical therapy due to its 7.2 hour half-life and 100% alpha emission per decay (Page 7, paragraph 2), which allows for effective alpha radiotherapy (Page 47, paragraph 2). The 211At is added to an aromatic ring on the PSMA compound, such as for example
, wherein X is 211At (claim 8).
Regarding claim 5 and 11, POMPER teaches that 211At is added to the PSMA compound (Page 7, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 13, POMPER teaches that the radioactive halogen could also be 125I (claim 9).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate adding 211At to the compound. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because allows for effective alpha radiotherapy, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as PSMA targeted radiotherapy compounds for prostate cancer radiotherapy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, that formula Ie is no longer comprised by the scope of the present invention.
Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because as discussed above, Y is interpreted as the broadest definition provided in instant claim 1, which is
. As described above, the double patents read on the formula of claim 1, when interpreted with this definition.
Applicant argues, that the claims require the following linker structure, which is not taught by the references:
. Specifically, the art teaches using a naphtyl structure:
, not a phenyl structure
.
Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because as discussed above, Y is interpreted as the broadest definition provided in instant claim 1, which is
, which includes the naphtyl structure. As described above, the art reads on the formula of claim 1, when interpreted with this definition.
Applicant argues, that changing the linker structure from a naphtyl to a phenyl would be considered unpredictable in the art and would have a structural impact on the compound.
Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because as discussed above, Y is interpreted as the broadest definition provided in instant claim 1, which is
, which includes the naphtyl structure. As described above, the art reads on the formula of claim 1, when interpreted with this definition. Therefor the motivation to change the naphtyl to a phenyl is not required.
Applicant argues, the compounds of the presently amended claims provide improved radiolabeling efficiency over the compound disclosed in Pomper. Additionally the two step labeling procedure used results in a high radiochemical conversion and radiochemical yield.
In order to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, it is incumbent upon the Applicant to provide comparative test evidence that demonstrates unexpected superiority of the claimed compositions versus the closest prior art compositions, and not simply an advantage predictable from the prior art. See In re Chapman, 148 USPQ 711, 715 (CCPA, 1966). Moreover, such proffered comparisons must be commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims. See In re Clemens, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA, 1980) and In re Coleman, 205 USPQ 1172, 1175 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, the exemplified examples, PSAt-2, PSAt-3 and PSAt-4, are not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims. The claims encompass a vast amount of species, including the species taught by the art that reads on the claimed compound of formula I.
Furthermore, the claim set is towards a composition, not a method of making.
For a complete discussion of unexpected results, Applicants are referred to MPEP 716.02 et seq.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618