DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Request for Continued Examination filed on November 4, 2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 12 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9 and 10 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 5 appear to contain a typographical error. They state “the at least one one color measurement… “ in line 12 and line 12 respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 10 recite the limitation “the one or more color quality control functionalities (a) – (d)” in line 25 of claim 1, lines 44-45 of claim 9 and lines 41-42 of claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner subsequently interprets this limitation as reading “one or more of the color quality control functionalities” for the purpose of further examination.
Claims 3, 5-8 and 12 depend on the rejected claims and do not resolve the deficiencies and thus, are rejected for at least the same reasons above.
Claims 9 and 10 contain numerous antecedent basis issues and redundant limitations. For example, claims 9 and 10 introduce “a graphical user interface, GUI” twice, “one or more SaaS applications” (claim 9) twice, “one or more on-premise applications” (claim 10) twice and “a plurality of macro building blocks…” twice. It is unclear if the second instance of these various limitations are referring to the original or a different instance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janez Kranjc et al. (“ClowdFlows: A Cloud Based Scientific Workflow Platform, 2012) in view of Ritter et al. (US 10,691,418) in view of Jahr et al. (US 2013/0191820) and in further view of Somerville et al. (US 2015/0116346).
With respect to Claim 1, Janez Kranjc et al. disclose:
presenting one or more applications in a graphical user interface, GUI, (see Figure 1; workflow editor (GUI) that consists of a workflow canvas and a widget repository which is a list of all available workflow components (applications) that can be added to the workflow canvas, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 2) wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more applications presented by a web server for providing functionalities, (GUI includes workflow components from Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one or more applications presented by a web server) and/or Weka’s implementations of algorithms for classification and clustering wrapped as Web Services (one or more applications presented by a web server for providing functionalities), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2, lines 4-10) wherein the one or more applications include a web browser executable application. (widget repository may include imported web services as workflow components by entering a URL of a WSDL described Web service (web browser executable application), 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 3-10),
wherein the GUI comprises one or more macro language widgets including a plurality of macro building blocks with each macro building block representing a dedicated functionality, (widget repository (one or more macro language widgets) that includes a list of all available workflow components (plurality of macro building blocks) wherein each workflow component provides specific functionality such as classification algorithm or process control widgets and/or results visualization, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
wherein at least one macro building block of the plurality of macro building blocks is correlated with at least one of the one or more applications and/or at least one of the one or more on-premises applications; (default widgets include Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one macro building block is correlated to at least one or more applications), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
and displaying, by a client device associated with the web server or by the computing device, the GUI, to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks of the plurality of macro building blocks and to connect the selected number of macro building blocks with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script, (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser (client device), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 1, lines 1-4; client is in communication (associated) with the server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) to create a customized protocol having a user-defined sequence of [one or more of the functionalities], (the workflow (user-defined sequence) is a representation of complex procedures as a sequence of simple processing steps (one or more functionalities) which are then executed on the server side, 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8 and 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) the customized protocol being executable in response to user input to cause performance of the [one or more of the functionalities] in the user-defined sequence. (The user can execute the workflow and view its results or expand it by adding or removing widgets, 2 CrowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 5, lines 4-6)
Janez Kranjc et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications by a web server for providing color quality control functionalities control functionalities and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device for providing color quality control functionalities, wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
However, Ritter et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications presented by a web server and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device (clients and/or services can host applications can be local or on-premises software, and/or “as a service” models (e.g. software as a service (SaaS)) or hybrid model that includes any combination, Column 11, lines 20-32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ritter et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. to include wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications in order to take advantage of the benefits of either SaaS or on-premise applications such as SaaS applications can have the benefit of scalability, cost and access anywhere remotely while on-premise applications can have the benefit of performance and security.
Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Jahr et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application; (client’s web browser generates a visual representation of an on-premise applications (web browser executable application), Paragraphs 50-51)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jahr et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. to include wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application in order to allow clients to interface and interact with on-premise applications remotely. (Jahr et al., Paragraph 50)
Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Somerville et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities; (color matching engine (one or more applications) comprises a software program for determining a color match that can be based on historical color data and adjusted therefrom, or through an algorithm to predict by an iterative process the color formulation to theoretically match the target color (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 5; the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data of a target sample and input into any of the various modules for performing a variety of tasks, such as looking up details of paint formulations, viewing details of previous color recommendations, and entering data for color recommendation requests (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 48)
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (a client device may have local modules installed (one or more applications) that facilitate communication with peripheral devices such as spectrophotometers for capturing color measurement data (identifying one or more connected color measurement devices), Paragraph 49) (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (These client devices 1006 may interact with the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data (triggering) of a target sample, Paragraph 48) (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31) and (d) reformatting the color measurement data (At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d) (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31; At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Somerville et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. to include wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities and wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data and [functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities in order to allow a user to be able to paint color match and personalize paint color over a network. (Somerville et al., Paragraph 2)
With respect to Claim 3, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more SaaS applications include at least one of:
a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data;
a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices;
a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement;
a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module;
and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service.
However, Somerville et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more SaaS applications include at least one of:
a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data; (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31; At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices;
a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement;
a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module;
and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Somerville et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. to include wherein the one or more SaaS applications include at least one of a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data, a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices, a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement, a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service. in order to allow a user to be able to paint color match and personalize paint color over a network. (Somerville et al., Paragraph 2)
With respect to Claim 5, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include at least one of:
a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data;
a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices;
a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement;
a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module;
and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service.
However, Somerville et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include at least one of:
a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data; (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31; At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices;
a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement;
a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module;
and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Somerville et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. to include wherein the one or more SaaS applications include at least one of a calculation module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of comparing color measurement data to color reference data to assess and/or to classify the color measurement data, a device configuration module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of identifying one or more connected color measurement devices by accessing t configuration data of the one or more color measurement devices, a measurement data module configured to perform the color quality control functionality of accessing and trigger the first color measurement device by allowing the user to access and to trigger, via a browser based and/or the on-premises based GUI, the first color measurement device to perform the at least one color measurement, a data interface configured to provide the color reference data to the calculation module and/or configured to provide the color measurement data to the calculation module and/or an authentication module configured to provide an interface through which the user can authenticate to access a user-requested service. in order to allow a user to be able to paint color match and personalize paint color over a network. (Somerville et al., Paragraph 2)
With respect to Claim 6, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Janez Kranjc et al. further disclose:
wherein at least one macro building block of the plurality of macro building blocks is configured to receive parameter inputs. (see Figure 1, sample workflow; operations of the web service (macro building block) are converted to widgets and their arguments and results are converted to inputs and outputs of these widgets, 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 10-12)
With respect to Claim 8, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Janez Kranjc et al. further disclose:
further comprising at least one of:
sharing an arrangement of the plurality of macro building blocks;
storing an arrangement of the plurality of macro building blocks;
and/or loading an arrangement of the plurality of macro building blocks. (data is stored on the server in a database and workflows can be shared with others through a repository of public workflows using a unique address, 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 5, lines 1-8)
With respect to Claim 9, Janez Kranjc et al. disclose:
at least one processor; (see Figure 1; workflow editor must be executed on a computer that includes a processor and memory)
at least one memory; (see Figure 1; workflow editor must be executed on a computer that includes a processor and memory)
a web server comprising a processor and a memory and configured to present one or more applications in a graphical user interface, GUI, (see Figure 1; workflow editor (GUI) that consists of a workflow canvas and a widget repository which is a list of all available workflow components (applications) that can be added to the workflow canvas, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 2; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser and in communication with a server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 4) wherein the one or more applications include a web browser executable application; (widget repository may include imported web services as workflow components by entering a URL of a WSDL described Web service (web browser executable application), 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 3-10)
wherein the GUI comprises one or more macro language widgets including a plurality of macro building blocks with each macro building block representing a dedicated functionality, (widget repository (one or more macro language widgets) that includes a list of all available workflow components (plurality of macro building blocks) wherein each workflow component provides specific functionality such as classification algorithm or process control widgets and/or results visualization, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
wherein at least one macro building block is correlated with at least one of the one or more applications, (default widgets include Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one macro building block is correlated to at least one or more applications), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
and wherein the GUI is configured to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks and to connect them with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script, (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8) which is executable to create a customized protocol to provide a sequence of functionalities; (the workflow is a representation of complex procedures as a sequence of simple processing steps which are then executed on the server side, 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8 and 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7)
and a client device comprising a processor and a memory and configured to display the GUI presented by the web server and to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks and to connect them with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script. (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser (client device) and in communication with a server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 4))
wherein the system is configured to carry out the method comprising:
presenting one or more applications in a graphical user interface, GUI, (see Figure 1; workflow editor (GUI) that consists of a workflow canvas and a widget repository which is a list of all available workflow components (applications) that can be added to the workflow canvas, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 2) wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more applications presented by a web server for providing [functionalities], (GUI includes workflow components from Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one or more applications presented by a web server) and/or Weka’s implementations of algorithms for classification and clustering wrapped as Web Services (one or more applications presented by a web server for providing functionalities), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2, lines 4-10) wherein the one or more applications include a web browser executable application. (widget repository may include imported web services as workflow components by entering a URL of a WSDL described Web service (web browser executable application), 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 3-10),
wherein the GUI comprises one or more macro language widgets including a plurality of macro building blocks with each macro building block representing a dedicated functionality, (widget repository (one or more macro language widgets) that includes a list of all available workflow components (plurality of macro building blocks) wherein each workflow component provides specific functionality such as classification algorithm or process control widgets and/or results visualization, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
wherein at least one macro building block of the plurality of macro building blocks is correlated with at least one of the one or more applications and/or at least one of the one or more on-premises applications; (default widgets include Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one macro building block is correlated to at least one or more applications), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
and displaying, by a client device associated with the web server or by the computing device, the GUI, to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks of the plurality of macro building blocks and to connect the selected number of macro building blocks with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script, (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser (client device), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 1, lines 1-4; client is in communication (associated) with the server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) to create a customized protocol having a user-defined sequence of one or more of the [functionalities], (the workflow (user-defined sequence) is a representation of complex procedures as a sequence of simple processing steps (one or more functionalities) which are then executed on the server side, 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8 and 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) the customized protocol being executable in response to user input to cause performance of the one or more of the [functionalities] in the user-defined sequence. (The user can execute the workflow and view its results or expand it by adding or removing widgets, 2 CrowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 5, lines 4-6)
Janez Kranjc et al. do not disclose:
one or more SaaS applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications by a web server for providing color quality control functionalities control functionalities and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device for providing color quality control functionalities, wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Ritter et al. disclose:
one or more SaaS applications (clients and/or services can host applications can be local or on-premises software, and/or “as a service” models (e.g. software as a service (SaaS)) or hybrid model that includes any combination, Column 11, lines 20-32)
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications presented by a web server and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device (clients and/or services can host applications can be local or on-premises software, and/or “as a service” models (e.g. software as a service (SaaS)) or hybrid model that includes any combination, Column 11, lines 20-32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ritter et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. to include one or more SaaS applications and wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications in order to take advantage of the benefits of either SaaS or on-premise applications such as SaaS applications can have the benefit of scalability, cost and access anywhere remotely while on-premise applications can have the benefit of performance and security.
Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Jahr et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application; (client’s web browser generates a visual representation of an on-premise applications (web browser executable application), Paragraphs 50-51)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jahr et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. to include wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application in order to allow clients to interface and interact with on-premise applications remotely. (Jahr et al., Paragraph 50)
Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. do not disclose:
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Somerville et al. disclose:
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities; (color matching engine (one or more applications) comprises a software program for determining a color match that can be based on historical color data and adjusted therefrom, or through an algorithm to predict by an iterative process the color formulation to theoretically match the target color (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 5; the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data of a target sample and input into any of the various modules for performing a variety of tasks, such as looking up details of paint formulations, viewing details of previous color recommendations, and entering data for color recommendation requests (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 48)
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities; (color matching engine (one or more applications) comprises a software program for determining a color match that can be based on historical color data and adjusted therefrom, or through an algorithm to predict by an iterative process the color formulation to theoretically match the target color (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 5; the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data of a target sample and input into any of the various modules for performing a variety of tasks, such as looking up details of paint formulations, viewing details of previous color recommendations, and entering data for color recommendation requests (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 48)
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (a client device may have local modules installed (one or more applications) that facilitate communication with peripheral devices such as spectrophotometers for capturing color measurement data (identifying one or more connected color measurement devices), Paragraph 49) (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (These client devices 1006 may interact with the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data (triggering) of a target sample, Paragraph 48) (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31) and (d) reformatting the color measurement data (At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d) (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31; At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Somerville et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. to include one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities and wherein the color quality control functionalities and wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities and wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data and [functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d) in order to allow a user to be able to paint color match and personalize paint color over a network. (Somerville et al., Paragraph 2)
With respect to Claim 10, Janez Kranjc et al. disclose:
at least one processor; (see Figure 1; workflow editor must be executed on a computer that includes a processor and memory)
at least one memory; (see Figure 1; workflow editor must be executed on a computer that includes a processor and memory)
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory and configured to present one or more applications in a graphical user interface, GUI, for providing [functionalities] (see Figure 1; workflow editor (GUI) that consists of a workflow canvas and a widget repository which is a list of all available workflow components (applications) that can be added to the workflow canvas, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 2; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser and in communication with a server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 4) wherein the one or more applications include a web browser executable application; (widget repository may include imported web services as workflow components by entering a URL of a WSDL described Web service (web browser executable application), 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 3-10)
wherein the GUI comprises one or more macro language widgets including a plurality of macro building blocks with each macro building block representing a dedicated functionality, (widget repository (one or more macro language widgets) that includes a list of all available workflow components (plurality of macro building blocks) wherein each workflow component provides specific functionality such as classification algorithm or process control widgets and/or results visualization, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
wherein at least one macro building block of the plurality of macro building blocks is correlated with at least one of the one or more applications, (default widgets include Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one macro building block is correlated to at least one or more applications), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
and wherein the GUI is configured to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks of the plurality of macro building blocks and to connect the selected number of macro building blocks with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script, (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8)
wherein the system is configured to carry out the method comprising:
presenting one or more applications in a graphical user interface, GUI, (see Figure 1; workflow editor (GUI) that consists of a workflow canvas and a widget repository which is a list of all available workflow components (applications) that can be added to the workflow canvas, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraphs 1 and 2) wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more applications presented by a web server for providing functionalities, (GUI includes workflow components from Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one or more applications presented by a web server) and/or Weka’s implementations of algorithms for classification and clustering wrapped as Web Services (one or more applications presented by a web server for providing functionalities), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2, lines 4-10) wherein the one or more applications include a web browser executable application. (widget repository may include imported web services as workflow components by entering a URL of a WSDL described Web service (web browser executable application), 2 The ClowdFlows, Paragraph 2, lines 3-10),
wherein the GUI comprises one or more macro language widgets including a plurality of macro building blocks with each macro building block representing a dedicated functionality, (widget repository (one or more macro language widgets) that includes a list of all available workflow components (plurality of macro building blocks) wherein each workflow component provides specific functionality such as classification algorithm or process control widgets and/or results visualization, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
wherein at least one macro building block of the plurality of macro building blocks is correlated with at least one of the one or more applications and/or at least one of the one or more on-premises applications; (default widgets include Orange’s implementation of classification algorithms (one macro building block is correlated to at least one or more applications), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 2)
and displaying, by a client device associated with the web server or by the computing device, the GUI, to allow a user to select a number of macro building blocks of the plurality of macro building blocks and to connect the selected number of macro building blocks with each other via socket connections to provide a desired script, (constructing a workflow (script) by simple, drag, drop and connect operations on the available components (macro building blocks), 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8; the workflow editor is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser (client device), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 1, lines 1-4; client is in communication (associated) with the server (web server), 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) to create a customized protocol having a user-defined sequence of one or more of the [functionalities], (the workflow (user-defined sequence) is a representation of complex procedures as a sequence of simple processing steps (one or more functionalities) which are then executed on the server side, 1 Introduction and Related Work, Paragraph 2, lines 1-8 and 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 3, lines 1-7) the customized protocol being executable in response to user input to cause performance of the one or more of the [functionalities] in the user-defined sequence. (The user can execute the workflow and view its results or expand it by adding or removing widgets, 2 CrowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 5, lines 4-6)
Janez Kranjc et al. do not disclose:
one or more on-premise applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications by a web server for providing color quality control functionalities control functionalities and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device for providing color quality control functionalities, wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Ritter et al. disclose:
one or more on-premise applications (clients and/or services can host applications can be local or on-premises software, and/or “as a service” models (e.g. software as a service (SaaS)) or hybrid model that includes any combination, Column 11, lines 20-32)
wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications presented by a web server and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications presented by a computing device (clients and/or services can host applications can be local or on-premises software, and/or “as a service” models (e.g. software as a service (SaaS)) or hybrid model that includes any combination, Column 11, lines 20-32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ritter et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. to include one or more on-premise applications and wherein the one or more applications include (i) one or more software-as-a-service, SaaS, applications and/or (ii) one or more on-premises applications in order to take advantage of the benefits of either SaaS or on-premise applications such as SaaS applications can have the benefit of scalability, cost and access anywhere remotely while on-premise applications can have the benefit of performance and security.
Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application;
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Jahr et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application; (client’s web browser generates a visual representation of an on-premise applications (web browser executable application), Paragraphs 50-51)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jahr et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al. and Ritter et al. to include wherein the one or more on-premises applications include a web browser executable application in order to allow clients to interface and interact with on-premise applications remotely. (Jahr et al., Paragraph 50)
Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. do not disclose:
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities;
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d)
However, Somerville et al. disclose:
one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities; (color matching engine (one or more applications) comprises a software program for determining a color match that can be based on historical color data and adjusted therefrom, or through an algorithm to predict by an iterative process the color formulation to theoretically match the target color (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 5; the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data of a target sample and input into any of the various modules for performing a variety of tasks, such as looking up details of paint formulations, viewing details of previous color recommendations, and entering data for color recommendation requests (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 48)
wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities; (color matching engine (one or more applications) comprises a software program for determining a color match that can be based on historical color data and adjusted therefrom, or through an algorithm to predict by an iterative process the color formulation to theoretically match the target color (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 5; the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data of a target sample and input into any of the various modules for performing a variety of tasks, such as looking up details of paint formulations, viewing details of previous color recommendations, and entering data for color recommendation requests (color quality control functionalities), Paragraph 48)
wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (a client device may have local modules installed (one or more applications) that facilitate communication with peripheral devices such as spectrophotometers for capturing color measurement data (identifying one or more connected color measurement devices), Paragraph 49) (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (These client devices 1006 may interact with the color matching engine 1002 that is operatively attached to capture color measurement data (triggering) of a target sample, Paragraph 48) (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31) and (d) reformatting the color measurement data (At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
[functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d) (the color matching engine further receives data from a base formula data store 206 and color metadata 208 associated with the color sought to be matched. The color matching engine 202 uses this data 204, 206, 208 to identify an initial color formulation at 210. For example, the color formulation identification operation at 210 may seek to identify a color formulation that matches a particular target object previously identified in the system, Paragraph 31; At 212 the color matching engine adjusts the color formulation based on historical color recommendation data from a historical match data store 214 to generate a color recommendation 216, Paragraph 32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Somerville et al. into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al. and Jahr et al. to include one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities and wherein the color quality control functionalities and wherein the one or more applications for providing color quality control functionalities and wherein the color quality control functionalities include (a) identifying one or more connected color measurement devices, (b) accessing a first color measurement device and triggering the first color measurement device to perform at least one color measurement and capture color measurement data, (c) comparing the color measurement data to color reference data, and (d) reformatting the color measurement data and [functionalities] are one or more color quality control functionalities (a)-(d) in order to allow a user to be able to paint color match and personalize paint color over a network. (Somerville et al., Paragraph 2)
Claim 12 is a non-transitory computer readable storage claim corresponding to the computer program element claim above (Claim 1) and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janez Kranjc et al. (“ClowdFlows: A Cloud Based Scientific Workflow Platform, 2012) in view of Ritter et al. (US 10,691,418) in view of Jahr et al. (US 2013/0191820) in view of Somerville et al. (US 2015/0116346) and in further view of Michat Dziwoki (“What’s the difference between AnjularJS and Angular?”, Sep 2017).
With respect to Claim 7, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al., Jahr et al. and Somerville et al. further disclose:
wherein the GUI has [a] code base whose product is executable within a web browser. (Janez Kranjc et al., ClowdFlows consists of a workflow editor that is implemented in HTML and JavaScript and runs in the client’s browser, 2 The ClowdFlows Platform, Paragraph 1, lines 1-4)
Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al., Jahr et al. and Somerville et al. do not disclose:
code base is Angular code base
However, Michat Dziwoki disclose:
code base is Angular code base (using Angular to build web applications, lines 1-4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Michat Dziwoki into the teaching of Janez Kranjc et al., Ritter et al., Jahr et al. and Somerville et al. to include code base is Angular code base for reasons of design choice of the developer or to take advantage of the benefits of Angular such as being a great framework for small applications as well as being forward-looking library. (Michat Dziwoki, So AngularJS or Angular?, lines 6-9)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner would like to note that the claim objection from the Final Office Action mailed August 7, 2025 has not been corrected in the amendments. The claim objection has been changed to a §112 rejection due to numerous antecedent basis and redundant issues. It is recommended that the Applicant call the Examiner to discuss the rejection and possible ways to overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
/LANNY N UNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2197