DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on each of 12/05/2022, 12/06/2022, 06/30/025, and 08/22/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments of 12/05/2022 and 11/14/2025 are entered.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-18 are amended due to the applicant's amendment of 12/05/2022.
Claim 19 is new due to the applicant's amendment of 11/14/2025.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not appear to describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. It is the Examiner's position that at least Formula (I) and wherein the molecular dipole moment of the compound of formula (I) is ≥ 0 D and ≤ 4 D should be recited in the abstract. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, it is suggested that the preamble of the claim be amended to read "An organic
in claims 2-10, 13-16, it is suggested that the preamble of the claim be amended to read "The organic
in claims 11-12, it is suggested that the preamble of the claim be amended to read "The organic
in claims 17-18, it is suggested that the preamble of the claim be amended to read "A device
in claims 1-2, 6, , it is suggested all of the dashes "-" be removed, for ease of reading;
in claim 1, on line 5 of page 4 it is suggested that "formula (I)" be replaced with "Formula (I)" for consistency;
in claim 2, on line 4, "tetraphenylsilylor a group having the formula (IIa)" should read "tetraphenylsilyl or a group having the formula (IIa)";
in claim 8, it is suggested that the stray horizontal lines be deleted;
claim 9 appears to lack a period;
in claim 11, it is suggested that "t0" be replaced with "to" to correct the spelling error; and
in claim 19 it is suggested that the claim be changed to read "A compound.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 17 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites Formula (I): (Ar1-Ac)-Xb. The claim further recites Formula (II): (Ar2)m-(Zk-G)n. It is unclear what is meant by Xb, Ac, and Zk. Are the variables b, c, and k meant to be subscripts identifying the variables or each and index indicating the number present? Could Xb be written as (X)b, Ac as (A)c and Zk as (Z)k?
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that Formula (I) is defined as (Ar1-(A)c)-(X)b and Formula (II) is defined as (Ar2)m-((Z)k-G)n.
Claims 2-19 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear what items are in the alternative.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that the charge generation layer comprises a metal, an alkali metal, a metal salt, an alkaline earth metal salt, a rare earth metal salt, an organic alkali metal complex, an alkali metal complex, LiF, LiCl, LiBr, LiI, LiQ, a metal borate, or mixtures thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganier et al. EP-3208861-A1 (hereinafter "Ganier").
It is noted that Ganier et al. EP-3208861-A1 is cited on the IDS of 12/05/2022.
Regarding claims 1-8 and 10-18, Ganier discloses a tandem OLED comprising: an anode electrode, a first emission layer (EML), an n-type charge generation layer (n-type CGL), a p-type charge generation layer (p-type GCL), a second emission layer (EML), a first cathode electrode layer and a second cathode electrode layer (¶ [0319]). The n-type CGL and the p-type GCL correspond to the claimed first charge generation layer and the first cathode electrode layer and the second cathode electrode layer correspond to the claimed cathode. Ganier discloses the first electron transport layer comprises a first organic aromatic matrix compound and the second electron transport layer comprises the first organic aromatic matrix compound and a polar organic aromatic phosphine compound (¶ [0006]). Ganier discloses wherein the first organic aromatic matrix compound has the formula (5) (¶ [0133]), or formula (400) (¶ [0146]) and is selected from compounds ETM1-1 to ETM1-37 in Table 1 (¶ [0151], Table 1). Ganier discloses wherein the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound has the Formula 1a (¶ [0168]) and is selected from compounds A1 to A27 (¶ [0187]). Ganier teaches wherein the n-type charge generation layer can be composed of metal or organic material doped with n-type, wherein the metal can be one selected from a group consisting of Li (¶ [0265]). Ganier discloses a display or lighting panel comprising the organic light-emitting diode (¶ [0371]). Additionally, Ganier teaches the device has the beneficial properties of very low operating voltages and/or high external quantum efficiency EQE and/or very long lifetime (¶ [0071]).
Ganier discloses in Example 1-3 wherein the first electron transport layer is formed of the first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-1, ETM1-32, and ETM1-15, respectively (¶ [0324] and TABLE 7) and the second electron transport layer is formed of the first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-1, ETM1-32, and ETM1-15, respectively and the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound A18 (¶ [0325] and TABLE 7).
Ganier discloses first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-1 having a structure of
(TABLE 1), which is a compound of the claimed Formula (I) wherein:
a and b are each 1;
c is 1;
Ar1 is C14 aryl substituted with C6 aryl group (an anthracenyl group substituted with a phenyl group);
A is a C6 aryl (a phenylene group); and
X is C10 aryl (a naphthyl group).
Ganier discloses the first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-1 having a dipole moment of between 0 and 2.5 Debye, which falls within the claimed range of 0 to 4 Debye.
Ganier discloses first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-32 having a structure of
(TABLE 1, page 28), which is a compound of the claimed Formula (I) wherein:
a and b are each 1;
c is 2;
Ar1 is C14 aryl substituted with C6 aryl group (a phenyl group substituted with phenyl groups);
A is a C6 aryl (a phenylene group); and
X is C10 aryl (a triazinyl group substituted with phenyl groups).
Ganier discloses the first organic aromatic matrix compound ETM1-1 having a dipole moment of between 0 and 2.5 Debye, which falls within the claimed range of 0 to 4 Debye.
Additionally, ETM1-32 is a compound (III) having 9 aromatic and 1 heteroaromatic ring.
Ganier discloses the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound A18 having the structure
(page 48), which is a compound of the claimed Formula (I) wherein:
m is 2 and n is 1;
k is 0;
Ar2 is a C10 aryl group (a naphthyl group);
Z is not required to be present;
G is such that G-phenyl has the structure
.
Ganier appears silent with respect to the property of wherein the dipole moment of a compound G-phenyl
is between 1 and 7 Debye.
The instant specification recites that the dipole moment of compound
is 4.19 D (specification Table 2, page 22). Since Ganier teaches the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound of Formula (I) where G is such that G-phenyl has the structure
, the same structure as disclosed by the applicant, the property of wherein the dipole moment of a compound G-phenyl is between 1 and 7 Debye is considered to be inherent and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Therefore, the device of Ganier meets claims 1-8 and 10-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganier et al. EP-3208861-A1 (hereinafter "Ganier") as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Ganier discloses the device as described with respect to claim 1.
Ganier does not specifically exemplify a device as discussed above wherein the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound is one selected from claimed compounds B-1 to B-25. For example, the compound A21
(page 46) differs from the claimed compound B-3
in that the positions corresponding to R1 and R2 in Ganier's Formula (Ia) are phenyl groups instead of methyl groups. However, Ganier teaches that R1 and R2 of Formula (Ia) may be C1 alkyl groups, C6 aryl groups, among others (¶ [0168]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Ganier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the two C6 aryl groups (phenyl groups) at the positions corresponds to the R1 and R2 of Formula (Ia) with C1 alkyl groups (methyl groups), because Ganier teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the polar organic aromatic phosphine compound in the second electron transport layer of the device of Ganier and possess the beneficial properties of very low operating voltages and/or high external quantum efficiency EQE and/or very long lifetime, as described above taught by Ganier. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified device of Ganier corresponds to the claimed compound B-3.
Regarding claim 19, Ganier discloses the device as described with respect to claim 1.
For example, the compound ETM1-32 having a structure of
is a positional isomer of the claimed compound A24
and both compounds are encompassed by Ganier's Formula (5).
Given the general formula and teachings of Ganier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of compound ETM1-32 wherein the central phenylene is a para-phenylene instead of a meta-phenylene. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Ganier's formula (5) in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as the first organic aromatic matrix compound in the first electron transport layer or the second electron transport layer in the device of Ganier and possess the beneficial properties taught by Ganier. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP § 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP § 2144.09 II.
The modified device of Ganier corresponds to the claimed compound A24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: SENKOVSKYY et al. EP-3182478-A1 discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising an n-type CGL, a p-type CGL and an ETL stack, wherein the ETL stack comprises a first electron transport layer comprising a first organic matrix compound selected from organic phosphine compound and a second electron transport layer comprising a second organic matrix compound (¶ [0231]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786