DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/000813 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 12/16/25.
2. Claims 25-38 presented for examination. Claims 25 and 32 are being amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 25-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
4. Claims 25-38 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “… a smallest AID assigned to a non-AP MLD …” It is unclear what is considered to be a smallest AID. The specification discloses, Further, a “Starting AID” field is carried in Beacon/TIM/FILS Discovery/OPS frame to indicate the smallest AID associated with a non-AP MLD (e.g. AID of the first non-AP MLD) for which Link/TID/AC information is included in the Link/TID/AC information set. Different portions (e.g. AID spaces) may be reserved for assignment of AIDs to legacy STAs/non-MLD Extremely High Throughput (EHT) STAs and AIDs assigned to non-AP MLDs to further reduce the overhead of the Link/TID/AC information set.. (see paragraph [0068], [0072],[0108],[0111]]). Does smallest mean the starting or the first AID or a variable of 0 or something else. Smallest AID does not seem to further be explained or defined and leaves one questioning what exactly is meant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 25-26, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176
Regarding claim 25, Seok teaches an Access Point (AP) of a plurality of APs affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD), each of the plurality of APs operating in a corresponding link of the AP MLD, the AP comprising: circuitry, which, in operation, generates a frame comprising a traffic indication map (TIM) element andtransmitted on an allocated link. A Traffic Indication Map (TIM) IE, such as a traffic indication virtual bitmap bit associated with an AID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links. ) and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the frame in a link. (see Seok paragraph [0078] explains use of transceiver(s) Fig. 12 1208)
While it can be understood that Seok can teach multiple non-AP (see paragraph [0037] states, Therefore, the AP 105 can control which STAs are granted multi-band channel access, and the access can be terminated by the AP at any time, for example, based on changing network conditions or requirements.)
Tim does not explicitly disclose starting AID
However to further explain this Kwon is introduced and explains…. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the non-AP MLD 104-1 includes multiple non-AP stations (STAs) 120-1, 120-2, 120-3. ….(see paragraph [0051]) and see 62/980176 page 1 discloses…A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD.…page 4 explains….Solution 1b - The new element comprises the followings: = Number of LMBperAlD in a LM bitmap = LM bitmap - LM bitmap a union of LMBperAlD for those AIDs that the partial virtual bitmap of the TIM element is set to 1 from the AID indicated by the first field ….The lowest AID of the first group of AlDs is smaller than the highest AID of the second group of AIDs. = Then, in the new element, the Number of LMBperAlID indicates a number that is equal to (or greater than) the number of AlDs within the second group of AlDs that a bit in the partial virtual bitmap of the TIM element is set to 1…...page 5-6 explains… an AP MLD maintains two groups of AIDs first group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs…The second group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs….page 7-8 explains…..Solution 2a - The LMB does not include LMBperAlD for those AlDs that correspond to the group addressed MSDUs/MMPDwUs in the partial virtual bitmap of TIM element. = If the Proposal 1 is applied, and the first N bits of the partial virtual bitmap is used for the indication of the group addressed frames, the first field shall indicate an AID that is greater than N. »…. see page 13-19 proposal 3 explains In TIM element, a first N bits of a partial virtual bitmap indicates if one or more group addressed MSDUs/MMPDUs are buffered at an AP MLD. = Each bit starting from bit N in the traffic indication virtual bitmap corresponds to individually addressed traffic buffered for a specific STA or non-AP MLD within any BSS corresponding to a transmitted or nontransmitted BSSID at the time the Beacon frame is transmitted….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok with Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve on non-necessary overhead (Page 3)
Regarding claim 26, the modified Seo AP according to claim 25, wherein the frame comprises a Per-Link Traffic Indication bitmap which indicates presence or absence of per-link traffic information for each of a plurality of links of a corresponding non-AP MLD. (see Seok paragraph [0052], [0063], Kwon page 1-15 explains … A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD….
-A new element is defined, wherein the new element includes information of one or more links on which an AP MLD is prepared to deliver individually addressed BUs for a non-AP MLD. = The new element may include a bitmap per non-AP MLD where a bit in the bitmap is set
to 1 if individually addressed BUs for the non-AP are buffered by the AP MLD on the corresponding set of links...)
Regarding claim 32, Seok teaches a communication method for an Access Point (AP) of a plurality of APs affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD), each of the plurality of APs operating in a corresponding link of the AP MLD, the communication method comprising: generating a frame comprising a traffic indication map (TIM) element andmore buffered units (BUs) for each of a first plurality of non-AP MLDs, (see paragraphs [0031],[0038], [0061] explains….an AP can assign an association ID (AID) to each STA associated with each link of the multi-link operation when frames of a specific traffic type can only be transmitted on an allocated link. A Traffic Indication Map (TIM) IE, such as a traffic indication virtual bitmap bit associated with an AID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links. ) the starting AID
While it can be understood that Seok can teach multiple non-AP (see paragraph [0037] states Therefore, the AP 105 can control which STAs are granted multi-band channel access, and the access can be terminated by the AP at any time, for example, based on changing network conditions or requirements.)
Tim does not explicitly disclose TIM bit in the TIM is set to 1 to indicate presence of the or more BU
However to further explain this Kwon is introduced and explains…. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the non-AP MLD 104-1 includes multiple non-AP stations (STAs) 120-1, 120-2, 120-3. ….(see paragraph [0051]) and see 62/980176 page 1 discloses…A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD.…page 4 explains….Solution 1b - The new element comprises the followings: = Number of LMBperAlD in a LM bitmap = LM bitmap - LM bitmap a union of LMBperAlD for those AIDs that the partial virtual bitmap of the TIM element is set to 1 from the AID indicated by the first field ….The lowest AID of the first group of AlDs is smaller than the highest AID of the second group of AIDs. = Then, in the new element, the Number of LMBperAlID indicates a number that is equal to (or greater than) the number of AlDs within the second group of AlDs that a bit in the partial virtual bitmap of the TIM element is set to 1…...page 5-6 explains… an AP MLD maintains two groups of AIDs first group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs…The second group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs….page 7-8 explains…..Solution 2a - The LMB does not include LMBperAlD for those AlDs that correspond to the group addressed MSDUs/MMPDwUs in the partial virtual bitmap of TIM element. = If the Proposal 1 is applied, and the first N bits of the partial virtual bitmap is used for the indication of the group addressed frames, the first field shall indicate an AID that is greater than N. »…. see page 13-19 proposal 3 explains In TIM element, a first N bits of a partial virtual bitmap indicates if one or more group addressed MSDUs/MMPDUs are buffered at an AP MLD. = Each bit starting from bit N in the traffic indication virtual bitmap corresponds to individually addressed traffic buffered for a specific STA or non-AP MLD within any BSS corresponding to a transmitted or nontransmitted BSSID at the time the Beacon frame is transmitted….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok with Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve on non-necessary overhead (Page 3)
Regarding claim 33, the modified Seok AP according to the communication method according to The communication method according to wherein the frame comprises a Per-Link Traffic Indication bitmap which indicates presence or absence of per-link traffic information for each of a plurality of links of a corresponding non-AP MLD. (see Seok paragraph [0052], [0063], 3GPP slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
7. Claims 27 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176 in further view of NPL-Park (IEEE 802.11-20/0084r1)
Regarding claim 27, the modified Seok taught AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches wherein the presence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 1 and the absence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 0 in the PVM, and wherein the additional information comprises a Link Mapping Bitmap (LMB). (See Park slide 5 explains bit 1 with BU and bit 0 for non BU)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2])
Regarding claim 34, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to , as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches the communication method according to wherein the presence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 1 and the absence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 0 in the PVM, and wherein the additional information comprises a Link Mapping Bitmap (LMB). (See Park slide 5 explains bit 1 with BU and bit 0 for non BU)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2])
8. Claims 28-31, 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176 in further view of NPL-Patil et al (IEEE 802.11-19/1955r3)
Regarding claim 28, the modified Seo AP according to AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches wherein a first portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to legacy STAs and a second portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to the first plurality of non-AP MLDs, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the PVM do not overlap with each other. (see Seok paragraph [0032] 3GPP slide 3 explains non overlapping…, slide 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 29, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 28, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches wherein the second portion of the PVM starts immediately after the first portion of the PVM. (see Seok paragraph [0032] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
Regarding claim 30, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches wherein the frame is one of a Beacon frame, a TIM frame, a Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS) Discovery frame or an Operation (OPS) frame. (see Seok paragraphs [0012]-[0017] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap carried in the beacon….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 31, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein the PVM for the first plurality of non-AP MLDs and another PVM for a plurality of non-AP STAs associated with the plurality of APs are carried in different TIM elements. (see Seok paragraphs [0008]-[0011], see Patil slide 6 explains TIM bitmap )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 35, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 32, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein a first portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to legacy STAs and a second portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to the first plurality of non-AP MLDs, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the PVM do not overlap with each other. (see Seok paragraph [0032] Patil slide 3 explains non overlapping…, slide 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 36, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 35, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches the communication method according to wherein the second portion of the PVM starts immediately after the first portion of the PVM. (see Seok paragraph [0032] 3GPP slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
Regarding claim 37, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 32, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein the frame is one of a Beacon frame, a TIM frame, a Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS) Discovery frame or an Operation (OPS) frame. (see Seok paragraphs [0012]-[0017] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap carried in the beacon….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 38, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to , as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches the communication method according to wherein the PVM for the first plurality of non-AP MLDs and another PVM for a plurality of non-AP STAs associated with the plurality of APs are carried in different TIM elements. (see Seok paragraphs [0008]-[0011], see Patil slide 6 explains TIM bitmap)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
9. Claims 25-26, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176 and in further view of EP4099755A1
Regarding claim 25, Seok teaches an Access Point (AP) of a plurality of APs affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD), each of the plurality of APs operating in a corresponding link of the AP MLD, the AP comprising: circuitry, which, in operation, generates a frame comprising a traffic indication map (TIM) element andfirst Traffic Identifier (TID 1) can be allocated to a first link and frames belonging to a second Traffic Identifier (TID 2) can be allocated to a second link. …. an AP can assign an association ID (AID) to each STA associated with each link of the multi-link operation when frames of a specific traffic type can only be transmitted on an allocated link. A Traffic Indication Map (TIM) IE, such as a traffic indication virtual bitmap bit associated with an AID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links…Fig.1) the TIM element comprising a partial virtual bitmap (PVM) indicating presence or absence of one or more buffered units (BUs) for each of a first plurality of non-AP MLDs, (see paragraph[0031],[0038], [0061] explains….an AP can assign an association ID (AID) to each STA associated with each link of the multi-link operation when frames of a specific traffic type can only be transmitted on an allocated link. A Traffic Indication Map (TIM) IE, such as a traffic indication virtual bitmap bit associated with an AID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links. ) the starting AID
While it can be understood that Seok can teach multiple non-AP (see paragraph [0037] states, Therefore, the AP 105 can control which STAs are granted multi-band channel access, and the access can be terminated by the AP at any time, for example, based on changing network conditions or requirements.)
However to further explain this Kwon is introduced and explains…. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the non-AP MLD 104-1 includes multiple non-AP stations (STAs) 120-1, 120-2, 120-3. ….(see paragraph [0051]) and see 62/980176 page 1 discloses…A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD.….page 5-6 explains… an AP MLD maintains two groups of AIDs first group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs…The second group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs….see page 13-19 proposal 3 explains In TIM element, a first N bits of a partial virtual bitmap indicates if one or more group addressed MSDUs/MMPDUs are buffered at an AP MLD. = Each bit starting from bit N in the traffic indication virtual bitmap corresponds to individually addressed traffic buffered for a specific STA or non-AP MLD within any BSS corresponding to a transmitted or nontransmitted BSSID at the time the Beacon frame is transmitted….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok with Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve on non-necessary overhead (Page 3)
Regarding claim 26, the modified Seo AP according to claim 25, wherein the frame comprises a Per-Link Traffic Indication bitmap which indicates presence or absence of per-link traffic information for each of a plurality of links of a corresponding non-AP MLD. (see Seok paragraph [0052], [0063], Kwon page 1-15 explains … A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD….
-A new element is defined, wherein the new element includes information of one or more links on which an AP MLD is prepared to deliver individually addressed BUs for a non-AP MLD. = The new element may include a bitmap per non-AP MLD where a bit in the bitmap is set
to 1 if individually addressed BUs for the non-AP are buffered by the AP MLD on the corresponding set of links...)
Regarding claim 32, Seok teaches a communication method for an Access Point (AP) of a plurality of APs affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD), each of the plurality of APs operating in a corresponding link of the AP MLD, the communication method comprising: generating a frame comprising a traffic indication map (TIM) element andAID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links…) the TIM element comprising a partial virtual bitmap (PVM) indicating presence or absence of one or more buffered units (BUs) for each of a first plurality of non-AP MLDs, (see paragraphs [0031],[0038], [0061] explains….an AP can assign an association ID (AID) to each STA associated with each link of the multi-link operation when frames of a specific traffic type can only be transmitted on an allocated link. A Traffic Indication Map (TIM) IE, such as a traffic indication virtual bitmap bit associated with an AID for each link, can be used to indicate the buffer status of the corresponding links. ) the starting AID
While it can be understood that Seok can teach multiple non-AP (see paragraph [0037] states Therefore, the AP 105 can control which STAs are granted multi-band channel access, and the access can be terminated by the AP at any time, for example, based on changing network conditions or requirements.)
However to further explain this Kwon is introduced and explains…. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the non-AP MLD 104-1 includes multiple non-AP stations (STAs) 120-1, 120-2, 120-3. ….(see paragraph [0051]) and see page 5-6 explains… an AP MLD maintains two groups of AIDs first group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs…The second group of AIDs may correspond to: STAs….see page 13-19 proposal 3 explains In TIM element, a first N bits of a partial virtual bitmap indicates if one or more group addressed MSDUs/MMPDUs are buffered at an AP MLD. = Each bit starting from bit N in the traffic indication virtual bitmap corresponds to individually addressed traffic buffered for a specific STA or non-AP MLD within any BSS corresponding to a transmitted or nontransmitted BSSID at the time the Beacon frame is transmitted….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok with Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve non necessary overhead (Page 3)
Regarding claim 33, the modified Seok AP according to the communication method according to The communication method according to wherein the frame comprises a Per-Link Traffic Indication bitmap which indicates presence or absence of per-link traffic information for each of a plurality of links of a corresponding non-AP MLD. (see Seok paragraph [0052], [0063], 3GPP slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
10. Claims 27 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176 in further view of NPL-Park (IEEE 802.11-20/0084r1)
Regarding claim 27, the modified Seok taught AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches wherein the presence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 1 and the absence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 0 in the PVM, and wherein the additional information comprises a Link Mapping Bitmap (LMB). (See Park slide 5 explains bit 1 with BU and bit 0 for non BU)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2])
Regarding claim 34, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to , as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches the communication method according to wherein the presence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 1 and the absence of the one or more BUs is indicated by bit 0 in the PVM, and wherein the additional information comprises a Link Mapping Bitmap (LMB). (See Park slide 5 explains bit 1 with BU and bit 0 for non BU)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2])
11. Claims 28-31, 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over SEOK (EP 3637869A1) in view of KWON et al(US 2021/0144787A1) 62/980176 in further view of NPL-Patil et al (IEEE 802.11-19/1955r3)
Regarding claim 28, the modified Seo AP according to AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches wherein a first portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to legacy STAs and a second portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to the first plurality of non-AP MLDs, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the PVM do not overlap with each other. (see Seok paragraph [0032] 3GPP slide 3 explains non overlapping…, slide 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 29, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 28, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations alone however further combined with Park further teaches wherein the second portion of the PVM starts immediately after the first portion of the PVM. (see Seok paragraph [0032] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
Regarding claim 30, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Patil further teaches wherein the frame is one of a Beacon frame, a TIM frame, a Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS) Discovery frame or an Operation (OPS) frame. (see Seok paragraphs [0012]-[0017] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap carried in the beacon….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 31, the modified Seo AP according to the AP according to claim 25, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein the PVM for the first plurality of non-AP MLDs and another PVM for a plurality of non-AP STAs associated with the plurality of APs are carried in different TIM elements. (see Seok paragraphs [0008]-[0011], see Patil slide 6 explains TIM bitmap )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 35, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 32, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein a first portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to legacy STAs and a second portion of the PVM is associated with AIDs assigned to the first plurality of non-AP MLDs, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the PVM do not overlap with each other. (see Seok paragraph [0032] Patil slide 3 explains non overlapping…, slide 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 36, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 35, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches the communication method according to wherein the second portion of the PVM starts immediately after the first portion of the PVM. (see Seok paragraph [0032] 3GPP slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap)
Regarding claim 37, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to claim 32, as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches wherein the frame is one of a Beacon frame, a TIM frame, a Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS) Discovery frame or an Operation (OPS) frame. (see Seok paragraphs [0012]-[0017] Patil slide 7 and 8 explains TIM bit indicates BUs for an non-AP MLB and explains TID bitmap carried in the beacon….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Regarding claim 38, the modified Seo AP according to the communication method according to , as described above. Seok alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Patil further teaches the communication method according to wherein the PVM for the first plurality of non-AP MLDs and another PVM for a plurality of non-AP STAs associated with the plurality of APs are carried in different TIM elements. (see Seok paragraphs [0008]-[0011], see Patil slide 6 explains TIM bitmap)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Seok to include Patil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to make this modification before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to improve power saving in multi-link system (see slide 2)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478