DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pour opening" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites wherein “the first, second, third and fourth ends are arranged one after the other in the circumferential direction on the free edge and on the security ring”. it is unclear if the ends are always in line or if this is only in the open or closed position.
Claim 7 recites wherein “the first, second, third and fourth ends are arranged one after the other in the circumferential direction on the free edge and on the security ring”. it is unclear if the ends are always in line or if this is only in the open or closed position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire (US-11312544-B2).
Regarding claim 1, Maguire disclose a container closure (Fig. 32) for closing a pour opening of a container (700) comprising a screw cap (701) with a free edge, a first cylindrical casing, a cover disk (708), and an inner thread that is formed on an inside of the casing and can interact with an outer thread of a container neck of the container (col. 10, lines 14-22); a security ring (702) configured to be held on a first protrusion molded on the container neck; a plurality of break-off webs (31) releasably connecting the security ring to the free edge; a first holding strip (705) having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is fixedly connected to the free edge of the screw cap, and the second end is fixedly connected to the security ring (Fig. 33); and a second holding strip (706) having a third end and a fourth end, wherein the third end is fixedly connected to the free edge of the screw cap, and the fourth end is fixedly connected to the security ring (Fig. 33), the screw cap can be folded from a closed position (Fig. 32), in which the screw cap closes the pour opening, into an open position (Fig. 34), in which the screw cap fully opens the pour opening, and vice versa; wherein the first, second, third and fourth ends are arranged one after the other in a circumferential direction on the free edge and on the security ring (Fig. 32).
Maguire fails to teach wherein a length of the first or second holding strip corresponds to between 27% and 32% of the outer diameter of the screw cap.
Maguire further teaches that the holding strips can be manufactured with different lengths (col. 8, lines 13-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the strips to be longer, in order to provide greater access to the pour opening of the container and since such a modification would have been a change in size of an existing component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the lengths of the first and second holding strips enable the screw cap to be latchable in the open position with its free edge on an underside of a support ring formed below the container neck (based on the modified size, col. 8, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 3, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches a first kink or second kink at the second op fourth end (Fig. 34).
Regarding claim 4, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches first and second recesses for receiving the strips on an edge of the security ring (Fig. 33, below 705 and 706).
Regarding claim 5, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches an extension (at 711) on the security ring between the send end and second recess.
Regarding claim 6, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches a third recess (711) on the security ring between the second end and second recess.
Regarding claim 7, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the second end and fourth end enclose an opening angle of at least 60 degrees and at most 90 degrees with respect to a center point of the security ring as an apex (based on the modified size, col. 8, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 8, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the break-off webs are arranged at regular intervals along the free edge (col. 4, ll. 51 – col. 5, ll. 11).
Regarding claim 10, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the first and second holding strips have a width between 1.5 mm and 2.5 mm (based on the modified size, col. 8, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 11, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the closure is designed to interact with a standardized container neck having an outer thread (at 410) and a holding ring (411).
Regarding claim 12, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the closure cap is plastic (col. 5, lines 42-44).
Regarding claim 13, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the closure cap is manufactured as a single piece (col. 5, lines 42-51).
Regarding claim 14, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches all the claimed limitations a shown above and a container (400) having container body, container neck (410), outer thread (Fig. 24) and support ring (411).
Regarding claim 15, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein the free edge (at 710) of the screw cap in the open position is latched on an under side of the support ring (based on the modified size, col. 8, lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 16, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches wherein in the open position the free edge is orientated in a direction of the pour opening (Fig. 34).
Regarding claim 17, the modified container closure of Maguire teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire in view of Benoit-Gonin et al. (US-6474491-B1).
Maguire fails to teach an inner cone for sealing with an inner wall of the container neck.
Benoit-Gonin teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a closure with an inner cone for sealing (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the closure with an inner cone, in order to improve the seal on a container.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/778,592 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are broader in scope than the reference application and therefore anticipated by the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733