DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Amendment filed 7/11/2025 has been fully considered and entered.
The objections to the specification, which were set forth in the Office action mailed 5/9/2025, have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
The objections to the drawings, which were set forth in the Office action mailed 5/9/2025, have been maintained in view of Applicant’s Amendment. Applicant overcame most of the objections, but not all. See section below for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-16, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The amended specification was received on 7/11/2025. The specification is acceptable.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/11/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings are objected to because the arrow mentioned in the specification for 4010 in Figure 41 is not clear. The examiner suggests clarity like the example below. Refer also to MPEP §1.84(l)-(m).
An example where the arrow is unclear: An example where the arrow is clear:
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 15: “couples” should instead state “coupled”.
Claim 5, line 1: “first subcircuit” should instead state “first photonic integrated subcircuit”
Claim 5, line 2: “second subcircuit” should instead state “second photonic integrated subcircuit”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a third alignment feature" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, which renders the claim indefinite as claim 1 recites “a first cartridge comprising… a ferrule having a third alignment feature” and claim 12 recites “the first cartridge comprises a third alignment feature.” It is unclear if this third alignment feature is the same third alignment feature introduced in claim 1 or if this is a different third alignment feature, perhaps of the same structure type, but located elsewhere in the system. For the purposes of examination, the third alignment feature of the first cartridge is being treated as “a different third alignment feature”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choudhury et al. in US 20050238290 A1 (hereinafter "Choudhury").
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Choudhury discloses a system for coupling photonic integrated subcircuits (and a method of providing, receiving, and aligning) said system, the system comprising:
a first cartridge (waveguide substrate 37 is interpreted as a first cartridge; see Fig. 3) comprising a first photonic integrated subcircuit (lower wafer 39 including waveguides 44 is interpreted as a first photonic integrated subcircuit; see Fig. 4) and a first alignment feature (lower portion passageways 46 are interpreted as a first alignment feature; see Fig. 4);
a second cartridge (connector ferrule 21 is interpreted as a second cartridge) comprising a second photonic integrated subcircuit (optical fibers 31 are interpreted as a second photonic integrated subcircuit) and a second alignment feature (one of the pins 35 and its corresponding pin passage 36 is interpreted as a second alignment feature); and
a ferrule (ferrule body 34; see Para. 27) having a third alignment feature (the other one of the pins 35 is interpreted as a third alignment feature),
wherein the first alignment feature (46) and the second alignment feature (one of 35 and 36) are configured to enable alignment (when 35 and 46 are mated, the optical fibers and waveguides will be aligned) between the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) and the second photonic integrated subcircuit (31),
wherein the third alignment feature (the other one of 35) is configured to receive (the pin is interpreted as being configured to receive a passageway such as 46 since they may be mated together) at least one of the first alignment feature (46), and
wherein, when the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) is aligned to the second photonic integrated subcircuit (31), a first light path of the first photonic integrated subcircuit (necessarily present in waveguides 44) is optically coupled (purpose of the device; see Para. 2 and 39) to a second light path of the second photonic integrated subcircuit (necessarily present in optical fibers 31).
Regarding claim 2, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the second alignment feature (one of 35 and 36) comprises a receiving feature (35 is interpreted as a receiving feature since it receives the passageway 46) configured to receive the first alignment feature (46).
Regarding claim 4, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first light path is within a top surface (the mating surface 47 is interpreted as a top surface) of the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) and the second light path is within a bottom surface (the mating face 33 is interpreted as the bottom surface) of the second photonic integrated subcircuit (31).
Regarding claim 5, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the top surface (47) of the first subcircuit (39 including 44) partially overlaps (since the identified end surfaces must overlap when they are aligned, they are considered to partially overlap) the bottom surface (32) of the second subcircuit (31).
Regarding claim 6, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first cartridge (37) comprises a carrier (upper wafer 38 is interpreted as the carrier) configured to hold the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44; see Fig. 3-4 where grooves 43 in 38 hold 44 when mated).
Regarding claim 9, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 6 as discussed above, wherein the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) is bonded to the carrier (38; see Fig. 2-7 and note Para. 42; note adhesive 48 would bond waveguides and both wafers together).
Regarding claim 10, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the first photonic integrated subcircuit is bonded to the carrier using an adhesive (see Para. 42; note adhesive 48 would bond waveguides and both wafers together).
Regarding claim 11, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first alignment feature (lower portion passageways 46) comprises a rod shape (46 is shaped to hold a rod such as pin 35 and is interpreted as rod-shaped).
Regarding claim 12, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first cartridge (37) comprises a different third alignment feature (upper portions 45 of the pin passageway are interpreted as a different third alignment feature) and the second cartridge (21) comprises a fourth alignment feature (pin passage 36 is interpreted as a fourth alignment feature; see Fig. 2 and Para. 29),
wherein the third alignment feature (45) and the fourth alignment feature (36) are configured to further enable alignment (45 and 36 help position the attachment pins 35 which are used for aligning the subcircuits) between the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) and the second photonic integrated subcircuit (31).
Regarding claim 13, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the second alignment feature (one of 35 and 36) comprises a groove, a hole or a receptacle (passage 36 is interpreted as a groove, hole, and/or receptacle since 36 is a passage that receives and holds pin 35).
Regarding claim 14, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the second alignment feature (one of 35 and 36) comprises a cylindrical groove (passage 36 is interpreted as a groove; see Fig. 3-4 where the back side of passage 36 is unlabeled but has a circular opening; see Fig. 1 where unlabeled passage 36 is a cylindrical groove passing all the way through connector receptacle 21).
Regarding claim 15, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a first optical component (connector ferrule 21 is an optical component and is interpreted as the first optical component) coupled to the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39 including 44) and the first alignment feature (46).
Regarding claim 16, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above, wherein the first optical component (21) comprises an optical fiber (a single fiber of fiber optic cable 29 is interpreted as an optical fiber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhury et al. in US 20050238290 A1 (hereinafter "Choudhury") as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buchmann et al. in US Patent 5,319,725 A (hereinafter "Buchmann").
Regarding claim 7, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 6 as discussed above, wherein a surface of the carrier (38) comprises an additional alignment feature (fiducial marks which are alignment features, may be seen in Fig. 5 on 39) located between (when substrate output portion is assembled, these fiducial marks, interpreted as an additional alignment feature, would touch and thus be on the surface of 38 while also being located between wafers 38 and 39) the respective photonic integrated subcircuits (39 which has waveguides 44) and the carrier (38), but fails to teach that this additional alignment feature comprises pedestals.
However, pedestals are well known in the art to align stacked materials as taught by Buchmann (see Fig. 3-5; see Col. 8 line 59-Col. 9 line 42 which describes various pedestal and depression alignments for mating between two chips).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pedestals of Buchmann instead of fiducial marks in the system of Choudhury for the purpose of aligning and locking a component in physical space relative to another component thereby achieving a simple and robust means of increased physical security.
Regarding claim 8, Choudhury discloses the system of claim 6 as discussed above, but fails to teach that the first photonic integrated subcircuit (39) comprises at least two trench features and the carrier (38) comprises at least two portions, and wherein each trench feature is configured to receive a respective portion such that the first photonic integrated subcircuit is secured to the carrier.
However, portions such as pedestals and trench features such as depressions are well known in the art to align stacked materials as taught by Buchmann (see Fig. 3-5; see Col. 8 line 59-Col. 9 line 42 which describes various pedestal and depression alignments for mating between two chips). Specifically, Buchmann teaches a first chip comprises at least two trench features (depressions 56 and 57 are interpreted as trench features) and a second chip comprises at least two portions (pillars 58.1 and 58.2 are interpreted as portions), and wherein each trench feature is configured to receive a respective portion such that the first chip is secured to the second chip (see Col. 8 line 59-Col. 9 line 42; emphasis on the final sentence).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the portions and trenches of Buchmann instead of fiducial marks in the system of Choudhury for the purpose of aligning and locking a component in physical space relative to another component thereby achieving a simple and robust means of increased physical security.
Choudhury/Buchmann does not disclose that the portions are extruded. However, “extruded” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation and since no additional structure is presumed to be gained via extrusion, the extruded portions have been interpreted as portions regardless of how they were created. Thus claim 8 is considered a product-by-process claim, and thus, this limitation is not given patentable weight and is rejected for the reasons provided above. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Conclusion
/DARBY M. THOMASON/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874