DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
The amendments to the specification and the claims filed 3-2-2026 have been entered into the record. Claims 52, 53, 62-68 and 72-83 are pending and under examination. Claims 1-51, 54-61 and 69-72 have been canceled.
The text of Title 35 of the U.S. Code not reiterated herein can be found in the previous office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3-2-2026 has been considered. An initialed copy is enclosed.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 52 and 64-68 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66 and 68 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by DeScheerder et al (Clin Rheumatol, 35:1649-1653, 2016) is withdrawn based upon the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66 and 67 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Flieβer et al (Lupus, 22(14):1523-25, 2013) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
All other rejections have been recast in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that Belysta is known in the art via the generic term belimumab. Belimumab of the art comprises the heavy and light chains comprising SEQ ID NO:9 and 10 set forth in the claims.
New Rejections Based upon Amendment to the Claims
Claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66, 68, 74 and 75, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeScheerder et al (Clin Rheumatol, 35:1649-1653, 2016) in view of Frieri et al (Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapeutics, 9(2):71-76, 2015) for reasons made of record in the Office Action mailed 12-1-2025 for claims 54, 55, 56, 57, 69 and 70.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are not persuasive. Applicants argue that the references do not alone or combined provide for the treatment of active lupus nephritis with the treatment regimen because Frieri et al teach treatment regimens in context of systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and not lupus nephritis. This is not persuasive because DeScheerder et al teach that the patient had active proteinuria and active nephrotic disease (see abstract and case report). Additionally, the specification does not teach the criteria for activity other than having lupus nephritis and the art does not define a level of lupus nephritis that is “active” as the art provides for classification of lupus nephritis as classes I-VI. Applicant further argues that Frieri et al teaches that does not provide any teaching on the dosing of belimumab in the context of active lupus nephritis. This is not persuasive as Frieri et al specifically teaches that belimumab offers a new standard of treatment for physicians in the complications associated with SLE, specifically lupus nephritis (see abstract). While the argued clinical trials indicated that pediatric populations and those with “severe” active lupus nephritis were excluded from the trials, the claims are not limited to “severe active lupus nephritis” patients and clearly those without severe disease with “active lupus nephritis” were included in the trials and the patient of DeScheerder et al had active lupus nephritis. The argued context of SLE only is not persuasive as clearly lupus nephritis is a major complication of SLE and that Belimumab/Benlysta (has the claimed SEQ ID NOS:9 and 10) has potential clinically efficacious applications for the treatment of lupus nephritis and Frieri et al teach that the mechanism of action and that patients in the referenced trials had clinical disease activity (see page 74, column 1). Additionally, Frieri et al teach that belimumab may in fact have positive effects on the extent of proteinuria, where patients with baseline proteinuria .0.2g/24hr had numerically or significantly greater median percent reduction in proteinuria during weeks 12-52 as compared to those treated with placebo (see Table 1, page 75 and column 1 cited therein). The skilled artisan would necessarily reach to dosing regimens deemed appropriate for lupus nephritis in context of SLE because lupus nephritis is present in the context of SLE and Frieri et al teach/suggest the use of such in the treatment of lupus nephritis. Applicant argues selected statements in the specification that there would be expected to have additional renal clearance of immunoglobulins/belimumab and as such, the dosing regiments are not obvious. This is not persuasive as belimumab has been shown to be effective in treatment, the dosing is of the claims is optimization and the loading dose is the same dose (10 mg/kg) as that in the prior art, with subsequent doses. As such, the dosing regimens are not unexpected and are prima facie obvious. Finally, Applicant argues the references individually and not as combined and as such Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for this reason also. As the targeted patient population, the efficacy of belimumab/Benylsta is shown it remains that the method of administration, dosage and dosage frequency is a known result effective variable. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) As both dosages, routes of administration, dosage frequency and timing are known to the ordinary artisan, it would have been obvious to optimize the mode of administration as well as dosage amounts and frequency. It also would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the dosage regimen for an additive or synergistic therapeutic result with other immunosuppressive drugs and hydroxychloroquine because the general conditions of the dosages are disclosed in the prior art and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation and the art expects that dosages of the invention will vary depending upon such factors as the subject' s age, weight, height, sex, general medical conditions and previous medical conditions. Applicants are directed to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 62, 63, 73, 76-81 and 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeScheerder et al (Clin Rheumatol, 35:1649-1653, 2016) and Frieri et al (Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapeutics, 9(2):71-76, 2015) as applied to claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66, 68, 74 and 75 above and further in view of Blake-Haskins et al (WO 2015/173782, 2015) and Ahmed et al (Patient Preference and Adherence 12:2475-2479, 2018) is maintained for reasons made of record for claims 58-63 and 71-73 in the Office Action a mailed 12-1-2025.
Applicant argues that Blake-Haskins et al and Ahmed et al does not cure the deficiencies the combination of DeScheerder et al and Frieri et al. This is not persuasive as the combination does not fail and as such the rejection is maintained for reasons made of record. As both dosages, routes of administration, dosage frequency and timing are known to the ordinary artisan, it would have been obvious to optimize the mode of administration as well as dosage amounts and frequency. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the dosage regimen for an additive or synergistic therapeutic result with other immunosuppressive drugs and hydroxychloroquine because the general conditions of the dosages are disclosed in the prior art and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation and the art expects that dosages of the invention will vary depending upon such factors as the subject' s age, weight, height, sex, general medical conditions and previous medical conditions. Applicants are directed to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66, 67, 74 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being in view of Flieβer et al (Lupus, 22(14):1523-25, 2013) in view of Frieri et al (Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapeutics, 9(2):71-76, 2015) is maintained for reasons made of record in the Office Action mailed 12-1-2025 for claims 54-57, 69 and 70.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are essentially the same as for the combination over DeScheerder et al supra. The arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons set forth above. The patient in Flieβer et al that was treated had active stage III lupus nephritis and was treated with belimumab at a loading dose of 10mg/kg with further maintenance doses and in combination with other standard therapy. Applicant’s arguments regarding Frieri et al are not persuasive for the reasons set forth above. The patent was not classified as a pediatric or as having “severe lupus nephritis” and was successfully treated with belimumab. Applicant’s argument that neither reference teach the exact dosing schedule and administration modes is not persuasive. As the targeted patient population, the efficacy of belimumab/Benylsta is shown it remains that the method of administration, dosage and dosage frequency is a known effective variable. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a results effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) As both dosages, routes of administration, dosage frequency and timing are known to the ordinary artisan, it would have been obvious to optimize the mode of administration as well as dosage amounts and frequency. It also would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the dosage regimen for an additive or synergistic therapeutic result with other immunosuppressive drugs and hydroxychloroquine because the general conditions of the dosages are disclosed in the prior art and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation and the art expects that dosages of the invention will vary depending upon such factors as the subject' s age, weight, height, sex, general medical conditions and previous medical conditions. Applicants are directed to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 62, 63, 73 and 76-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being in view of Flieβer et al (Lupus, 22(14):1523-25, 2013) and Frieri et al (Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapeutics, 9(2):71-76, 2015) as applied to claims 52, 53, 64, 65, 66, 67, 74 and 75 and further in view of Blake-Haskins et al (WO 2015/173782, 2015) and Ahmed et al (Patient Preference and Adherence 12:2475-2479, 2018) is maintained for reasons made of record in the Office Action mailed 12-1-2025 for claims 58-63 and 71-73.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s argue that the teachings of Blake-Haskins et al and Ahmed et al do not cure the deficiencies in the combination of Flieβer et al and Frieri et al and as such fails because it does not teach the specific dosage regimens, routes etc. This is not persuasive the combination of Flieβer et al and Frieri et al do not fail and the dosing, routes and regimens are the result of standard optimization of known results-effective variables. As both dosages, routes of administration, dosage frequency and timing are known to the ordinary artisan, it would have been obvious to optimize the mode of administration as well as dosage amounts and frequency of administration. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the dosage regimen for an additive or synergistic therapeutic result with other immunosuppressive drugs and hydroxychloroquine because the general conditions of the dosages are disclosed in the prior art and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation and the art expects that dosages of the invention will vary depending upon such factors as the subject' s age, weight, height, sex, general medical conditions and previous medical conditions. Applicants are directed to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Status of Claims
Claims 52, 53, 62-68 and 72-83 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Patricia Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645