DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction is unwarranted and there is so serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-II lack unity of invention because the special technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art. In addition, there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because the inventions have different classifications and require a different field of search and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 10-16 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites “all amino organophosphonic acid derivatives of formula (I) having the same value of n ranges from 0.5 to 4.0 wt%”; this renders the claim indefinite because claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, requires at least two different amino organophosphonic acid derivatives that differ in the value of n”. Clarification is requested.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites “there the total amount of further ingredients, which differ from the amino organophosphonic acid derivatives of formula (I), is less than 50wt% of the combined amount of ingredients consisting of the further ingredients and the amino organophosphonic acid derivatives of formula (I)”; this is unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuoka et al (JP07113190).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, Fukuoka et al teaches an aqueous solution comprising 1 or greater than or equal to 2 phosphonic acid salts/phosphonates in the amount of 0.5-10wt%, preferably 1-3wt% in a pH of 4-9 (Abstract, Paragraph 7). Fukuoka et al further teaches phosphonates selected from aminotrimethylenephosphonic acid, ethylenediamine tetramethylene phosphonic acid and diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonic acid (Paragraph 7). Fukuoka et al further teaches sulfuric acid or sodium hydroxide can be used to adjust the pH of the solution (Paragraph 14). Fukuoka et al teaches 50 wt% from aminotrimethylene potassium phosphonate, 30wt% ethylenediamine tetramethylene ammonium phosphonate and 20wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonate in Example 6 and from 35wt% of ethylenediamine tetramethylene ammonium phosphonate and 35 wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonic acid and 35wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonate in Example 7 wherein 3 wt% of the composition is added to water with a pH of 6 (Paragraph 13, Table 3).
Fukuoka et al teaches a pH of 4-9, preferably 5-8 (Paragraph 8); although, Fukuoka et al fails to teach at 55C, this is inherent in Fukuoka et al as Fukuoka et al teaches the same composition as the instant claims and teaches examples having a pH of 6 and wherein the pH of the solution can be adjusted to provide within the preferred range of 5-8. The courts have held that “a compound and all its properties are mutually inseparable”, In re Papesch, 315F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 42, 51 (CCPA 1963). Further, attention is drawn to MPEP 2112.01, which states that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”, In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the alternative, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al (JP07113190).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, Fukuoka et al teaches an aqueous solution comprising 1 or greater than or equal to 2 phosphonic acid salts/phosphonates in the amount of 0.5-10wt%, preferably 1-3wt% in a pH of 4-9 (Abstract, Paragraph 7). Fukuoka et al further teaches phosphonates selected from aminotrimethylenephosphonic acid, ethylenediamine tetramethylene phosphonic acid and diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonic acid (Paragraph 7). Fukuoka et al further teaches sulfuric acid or sodium hydroxide can be used to adjust the pH of the solution (Paragraph 14). Fukuoka et al teaches 50 wt% from aminotrimethylene potassium phosphonate, 30wt% ethylenediamine tetramethylene ammonium phosphonate and 20wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonate in Example 6 and from 35wt% of ethylenediamine tetramethylene ammonium phosphonate and 35 wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonic acid and 35wt% of diethylenetriamine pentamethylene phosphonate in Example 7 wherein 3 wt% of the composition is added to water with a pH of 6 (Paragraph 13, Table 3). However, Fukuoka et al fails to specifically disclose the pH at 55C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sk8ill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a pH of 5-9 at 55C in Fukuoka et al as teaches a pH of 4-9, preferably 5-8 with a composition comprising the same composition as the instant claims and teaches examples having a pH of 6 and wherein the pH of the solution can be adjusted to provide within the preferred range of 5-8.
Claims 2-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al (JP07113190) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 above, and in further view of Hayashida et al (US Patent Application 2006/0154838).
Regarding claims 2-3, 5, Fukuoka et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Fukuoka et al teaches the features above. However, Fukuoka et al fails to specifically disclose 2 or more amino organophosphonic acid derivatives having the same value of n.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashida et al teaches a cleaner for metal substates comprising
(Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided 2 or more amino organophosphonic acid derivatives having the same value in Fukuoka et al in view of Hayashida et al as Fukuoka et al teaches ≥2 phosphonic acid salts/phosphonates for cleaning metal surfaces and Hayashinda et al teaches a general formula for cleaning metal substrates. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka et al (JP07113190) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 above, and in further view of Asmanidou et al (EP3263681).
Regarding claim 8, Fukuoka et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Fukuoka et al teaches the features above. However, Fukuoka et al fails to specifically disclose a vinyl acetate-vinyl pyrrolidone copolymer.
In the same field of endeavor, Asmanidou et al teaches cleaning composition comprising polyvinylpyrrolidone copolymers for good limescale removal from metal surfaces (Abstract). Asmanidou et al further teaches a copolymer comprising vinyl pyrrolidone and vinyl acetate (Paragraphs 12-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a vinyl acetate-vinyl pyrrolidone copolymer in Fukuoka et al in view of Asmanidou et al in order to remove limescale and clean metal surfaces. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 June 10, 2026