DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 15, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganier (EP 3208861 A1) as evidenced by Werner (US 2013/0193414 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6-11, Ganier teaches an organic light emitting diode shown in Figure 4 (below):
The organic light emitting diode (example 1) comprising a substrate (i.e. glass, see paragraph [0329]), an anode (i.e. silver, see paragraph [0329]), a cathode (paragraph [0333]), a first emission layer (paragraph [0331 ]), an electron injection layer (paragraph [0332]) and an electron transport layer stack (paragraph [0332]), wherein the electron transport layer stack is arranged between the first emission layer and the
electron injection layer (paragraph [0332] and fig. 4); wherein the electron transport layer stack comprises a first electron transport layer and a second electron transport layer (paragraph [0332] and fig. 4).
The first electron transport layer comprises first organic aromatic matrix compound having a dipole moment range of about ≥ 0 Debye and a ≤ 2.5 Debye [within applicants’ range] (paragraph 52). The first organic aromatic matrix compound can be represented by ETM1-1 (page 22):
ETM1-1 reads on applicant Formula 1 wherein a-c are each 1; Ar1 is anthracene substituted with a phenyl group; Ac = phenylene; X is a naphthyl group;
The second electron transport layer compound comprises a phosphine oxide material with a ≥ 2.5 Debye and a ≤ 10 Debye [within applicants’ range] (paragraph 57).
The second electron transport layer compound is a phosphine oxide material (paragraph 103) which can be represented as A26 (page 45):
A25 reads on applicants’ Formula II wherein m =1; k = 0; n = 1; G = triphenyl-phosphine (dipole moment 4.19, specification Table 2); Ar2 = dibenzoacridinyl
The first electron transport layer and the second electron transport layer are
free of an electrical dopant (see example 4 in Table 7).
The organic light emitting diode further comprises a p-type layer (i.e. hole injection layer, (paragraph 0330) arranged between the anode and the first emission layer (paragraphs 0329-0331). The hole injection layer contains a compound represented by 2,2',2"-(cyclopropane-1 ,2,3-triylidene )tris(2-(p-cyanotetrafluorophenyl)acetonitrile) (paragraph 330).
The structure(s) can be found in Werner who teaches 3-radialene matrix materials including p-cyanotetrafluorophenyl)acetonitrile compounds (paragraph 14)
Werner also teaches a specific example as 2,2,2''-(cyclopropane-1,2,3-triylidene)tris(2-(p-cyanotetrafluorophenyl)acetonitrile) (paragraph 25) which is the same as Ganier’s hole injection layer material (per claims 1-2, 4, 7-12).
The peripheral atoms of 2,2,2''-(cyclopropane-1,2,3-triylidene)tris(2-(p-cyanotetrafluorophenyl)acetonitrile) show 50% F atoms (per claim 3).
2,2,2''-(cyclopropane-1,2,3-triylidene)tris(2-(p-cyanotetrafluorophenyl)acetonitrile) is identical to applicants’ C2 (per claim 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Ganier teaches the second electron transport layer compound is a phosphine oxide material (paragraph 103) which can be represented as A26 (page 45) which is part of a mixture which include an organic aromatic matrix compound (paragraph 50). The organic aromatic matrix compound has a dipole moment of ≥ 0 Debye and a ≤ 2.5 Debye (paragraph 11) which includes derivatives such as ETM1-29 (page 30):
(8 aromatic rings)(per claim15).
Regarding Claims 20-21, Ganier teaches the electron injection layer contains a metal (paragraphs 273-279) (per claim 20). The organic light-emitting diodes (OLEO) included in a display or a lighting panel (paragraph 307) (per claim 21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to show:
wherein p-type layer comprises at least two radialene compounds, wherein the at least two radialene compounds are stereoisomers.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786