Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15-19 are presented for examination.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " biodegradable polymer is poly(lactide-co-glycolide) PLGA2)" in claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakur et al. (US 20180325812 submitted by the applicant) in view of Abe et al. (US 20120177717) and further in view of Beamish et al. (The Effects of Monoacrylated Poly (Ethylene Glycol) on Properties of Poly (Ethylene Glycol) Diacrylate Hydrogel Used for Tissue Engineering) (submitted by the applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Thakur et al. teach ocular composition comprising: 99 to 60% (w/w) of a photopolymerizable composition selected from the group of fragments or monomers consisting of polyalkylene glycol diacrylate and polyalkylene glycol dimethacrylate, wherein the photopolymerizable composition has a molecular weight in the range of 100 to 20,000 Dalton; a biodegradable polymer selected from the group consisting of aliphatic polyester-based polyurethanes, polylactides, polycaprolactones, polyorthoesters and mixtures, copolymers, and block copolymers thereof; a photoinitiator; and a therapeutic agent. See the abstract. Thakur et al. teach the biodegradable polymer is selected from the group lactide/glycolide co-polymer (PLGA), polylactic acid (PLA), polyglycolic acid (PGA), polycaprolactone (PCL), lactide/caprolactone copolymer (PLC), poly (L-lactide) (PLLA) and mixtures, copolymers, and block copolymers thereof. See Para [0014]. Thakur et al. differs from the claimed invention in the use of polyethylene acrylates, such as polyethylene glycol methacrylate and the concentration of 3-70% of compound of formula I. Abe teaches the use of polyethylene glycol methacrylate (PEGMA) in a sustained drug delivery system. Polyethylene glycol diacrylate (PEGDA) is also taught in the drug delivery system by Abe et al. See Para [0108] and claim 8. It would have been obvious to substitute polyethylene methacrylate for acrylates of Thakur, motivated by the teachings of Abe, which teaches the use of polyethylene glycol methacrylate in a sustained drug delivery system for delivering ophthalmic formulations. Furthermore, such components are within the genus of formula I, which is taught by Thakur. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within skill of the artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Wherein the court states "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation".
Regarding claim 2, Abe et al. teach the use of poly (ethylene glycol) methacrylate in a sustained drug release system. See Para [0108] and claim 8.
Regarding claim 3, Abe teaches that PEGMA has been used in a sustained drug delivery system. See Para [0108] and claim 8.
Regarding claim 4, Abe does not teach the concentration of 5-60% w/w of compound of Formula I. However, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within skill of the artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 6, Thakur teaches the use of PEGDA as photopolymerizable compound.
Regarding claim 7, Abe does not teach the concentrations of 40 to 75% w/w of the photopolymerizable
composition. However, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts is considered to be
within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 8, Thakur teach that the biodegradable polymer is selected from the group
lactide/glycolide co-polymer (PLGA), polylactic acid (PLA), polyglycolic acid (PGA), polycaprolactone
(PCL), lactide/caprolactone copolymer (PLC), poly (L-lactide) (PLLA) and mixtures, copolymers, and block
copolymers thereof. See Para [0014].
Regarding claim 9, Thakur teaches the use of PLGA as a biodegradable polymer being used in a
polymerizable composition. See para [0014].
Regarding claim 10, Thakur does not teach the use of poly (ethylene glycol) methacrylate (PEGMA).
However, Abe et al. teach the use of poly (ethylene glycol) methacrylate (PEGMA) in a sustained drug
delivery system. See Para [0108] and claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Thakur does not teach the combination of poly (ethylene glycol) methacrylate and
poly (ethylene glycol) diacrylate at specific concentrations and proportions. However, Abe teaches the
use of PEGDA and PEGMA in a sustained drug delivery system. Furthermore, Beamish et al. teach the
that the addition of PEGMA to photopolymerized PEGDA hydrogels similar to those used in tissue
engineering applications enhanced the network cross-linking, as evidenced by a decreased swelling
ratio, increased mechanical modulus, and an increase in the calculated S effective chains per cross-
linking PEGDA molecule. See conclusion. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are
considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Thakur et el. Also
teach he use of 1-[4-(2-hydroxyethoxy)-phenyl]-2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-propanone as a photoinitiator.
See Para [0039] and [0153].
Regarding claim 12, Thakur teaches the compositions or implants can deliver bioactive agents, a large molecular weight drug, such as, aflibercept, pegaptanib, or an antibody therapeutic, such as ranibizumab, bevacizumab, trastuzumab, rituximab, gentuzumab, ozagamicin or cetuximab. See Para [0211]. The use of timolol, latanoprost and dexamethasone is taught in Para [0210].
Regarding claim 12, Thakur teaches the compositions or implants can deliver bioactive agents, a large
molecular weight drug, such as, aflibercept, pegaptanib, or an antibody therapeutic, such as ranibizumab, bevacizumab, trastuzumab, rituximab, gentuzumab, ozagamicin or cetuximab. See Para [0211]. The use of timolol, latanoprost and dexamethasone is taught in Para [0210].
Regarding claim 16, Thakur et al. teach the biodegradable polymer is selected from the group lactide/glycolide co-polymer (PLGA), polylactic acid (PLA), polyglycolic acid (PGA), polycaprolactone (PCL), lactide/caprolactone copolymer (PLC), poly (L-lactide) (PLLA) and mixtures, copolymers, and block copolymers thereof. See Para [0014].
Regarding claim 17, the molecular weight of ranibizumab, which is taught by Thakur is 48 kDa, which id within the scope of the claimed molecular weight.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, the molecular weight of timolol, which is taught by Thakur, is 432.50 Da, which is within the scope of claims 18 and 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “Thakur teaches a photopolymerizable hydrogel composition in which a photopolymerizable monomer (such as a PEGMA-PEGDA combination), a biodegradable polymer, a photoinitiator, and a therapeutic agent are mixed in a single solution and crosslinked to form a matrix that controls drug release through network density and polymer degradation. In contrast, Abe is generally directed toward an implantable structural capsule with multiple layers of material including a PEG-made box-shaped reservoir and a porous PEG sheet, and has a capsule structure placed in the box-shaped reservoir. The box-shaped reservoir contains "a collagen impregnated with a therapeutic drug or the collagen impregnated with a drug included in PEG and pelletized." See, for example, paras. 0081-0082, and 108 of Abe. Also, Abe states, "[t]he therapeutic drug contained in the capsule is slowly released to the outside through the portion consisting of a porous PEG sheet of the capsule." See, para. 0083 and Fig. 2 of Abe. Abe teaches a physical capsule device in which drug release is controlled by (1) slow diffusion of therapeutic agent from collagen particles encapsulated in a PEG box/PEG pellet (Fig. 2, rightmost panel displays a PEG pellet in Abe), and (2) passage through a porous PEG sheet cap. These are entirely different delivery paradigms and at no point in Abe is there a single solution containing photopolymerizable monomer (such as a PEGMA or PEGDA), a biodegradable polymer, a photoinitiator, and a therapeutic agent. Modifying the photopolymerizable hydrogel composition of Thakur to include a PEGMA capsule would result in fundamentally different mechanisms of drug release”. It is the examiner’s position that Thakur teaches the compounds of formula I. Thakur does not specifically mention the species that are encompassed by the genus, such as PEGMA and PEDGA. Abe mentions such species being used in ophthalmic formulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use species within the genus of formula 1. Applicant’s attention is drawn to In re Keller 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981), wherein the court states “the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case Abe teaches PEGMA and PEDGA have been previously used in a sustained drug delivery system. Furthermore, Beamish et al. teach the
that the addition of PEGMA to photopolymerized PEGDA hydrogels similar to those used in tissue
engineering applications enhanced the network cross-linking, as evidenced by a decreased swelling
ratio, increased mechanical modulus, and an increase in the calculated S effective chains per cross-
linking PEGDA molecule. Therefore, selecting a couple of species within the scope of Thakur formula 1 and use it for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art in the absence of evidence to the contrary. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617