DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/8/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 9, 13 and 15 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 16 has/have been cancelled. Claim 21 is new. Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-21 is/are pending and is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 1/8/2026, with respect to claim objection has been fully considered and is persuasive. The claim objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's argument filed on 1/8/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that firstly, the assertion in the Office Action that Laas teaches the polyisocyanate "contain[s] from 5 to 80 wt% of ethylene oxide units bonded within polyalkylene oxide polyether units (overlapping the claimed range of 10-50%)", is not correct. The "claimed range" in this case is the amount of the polyoxyalkylene monoether structure of the B-component relative to the total weight of the B-component, i.e., greater than 10 wt% and less than 50 wt%, relative to the total weight of the B-component. This recitation in claim 1 has nothing to do with the content of ethylene oxide units within the polvoxyalkylene monoether itself.
In response, the polyisocyanate in [0019] of Laas is a modified polyisocyanate, reading on the claimed B-component. This modified polyisocyanate contains 5-80 wt% of ethylene oxide units. The ethylene oxide units are bonded within the polyalkylene oxide polyether units (reading on the claimed b, a polyoxyalkylene monoether alcohol). The polyalkylene oxide polyether units comprise ethylene oxide units as well as other units (e.g., propylene oxide units) [0011]. Therefore, the modified polyisocyanate contains at least 5-80 wt% of the polyalkylene oxide polyether units.
Applicant argued that secondly, the Office Action's reliance on paragraph [0019] of Laas is misplaced, since that portion of Laas relates to polyisocyanate that is used form the hydrophilic polyaspartic esters of the Laas invention, not as the B-component of a two-component coating composition as presently claimed. Laas at [0004]-[0019]. In Laas, such hydrophilic polyaspartic esters may subsequently be employed as the A-component of a 2-Component system, in which the B- component is a NCO-functional crosslinking agent. Laas at [0065], claims 15-16. Therefore, the Office Action's reliance on paragraph [0019] for disclosure of subject matter related to the B- component of present claim 1 is misplaced.
In response, Laas teaches that the polyisocyanates used as NCO-functional crosslinking agents are “the aforementioned polyisocyanates which contain at least one chemically bonded, non-ionic, hydrophilic group, hydrophobic polyisocyanates” [0050]. The “aforementioned” polyisocyanates are exactly the polyisocyanates cited in [0015, 0019]. Therefore, the polyisocyanates cited in [0019] is not only used to form the hydrophilic polyaspartic esters, but also used to make the NCO-functional crosslinking agent which is the B- component.
Applicant argued that thirdly, the Office Action identifies only one portion of Laas allegedly disclosing a modified polyisocyanate produced using a polyoxyalkylene monoether alcohol having a number- average molecular weight of 900g/mol-2000g/mol and an oxypropylene group content of 45 wt%-100 wt%, which is Laas'Polyisocyanate Component B3). Office Action at 18 (citing Laas at [0086]). Polyisocyanate Component B3) is, however, employed by Laas to form a hydrophilic polyaspartic ester from which an aqueous dispersion of Laas was obtained. Laas at [0096]. Such Polyisocyanate Component B3) was not employed as any B-component of a two- component coating composition, as presently claimed. Moreover, Polyisocyanate Component B3) was produced by reacting 1344 g (8.0 mol) of HDI with 1400 g (1.0 mol) of a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having a number average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol. Thus, such Polyisocyanate Component B3) neither (i) was a reaction product of a polyisocyanate containing at least 35 wt.% of hexamethylene diisocyanate trimer, pentamethylene diisocyanate trimer or a combination thereof, nor (ii) contained an amount of the polyoxyalkylene monoether structure of the B-component of greater than 10 wt% and less than 50 wt%, relative to the total weight of the B-component, each as is recited in present claim 1.
In response, Polyisocyanate Component B3 in [0086] of Laas is an example of the polyoxyalkylene monoether alcohol modified polyisocyanate. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments; and patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain; nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123). Just because Polyisocyanate Component B3 was not used to make the two-component product in the example does not mean it cannot be used to make the two-component product. Laas generally teaches that the polyoxyalkylene monoether alcohol modified polyisocyanate can be used to make the two-component product [0065]. In this example, Laas teaches a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol and an ethylene oxide content of 52% [0086]. The molecular weight falls within the claimed range of 900-2000 g/mol. An ethylene oxide content of 52% in the monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether suggests that the propylene oxide content is 48%, falling within the claimed 45-100%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a modified polyisocyanate according to Laas including a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol and an propylene oxide content of 48%, as Laas demonstrates this molecular weight and this ethylene oxide content to be suitable for similar modified polyisocyantes. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141. It is true that this example does not meet the claimed amount of the polyoxyalkylene monoether structure of the B-component of greater than 10 wt% and less than 50 wt%, relative to the total weight of the B-component, each as is recited in present claim 1: the 1344 g (8.0 mol) of HDI with 1400 g (1.0 mol) of a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether gives an amount of 51.2 wt% of the polyoxyalkylene monoether structure. However, the amount of 51.2 wt% falls within Laas’ range of at least 5-80 wt% of the polyalkylene oxide polyether units in the B component as stated above. Laas generally teaches at least 5-80 wt% of the polyalkylene oxide polyether units, overlapping the claimed greater than 10 wt% and less than 50 wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laas et al (US 20160060380 A1) in view of Morikawa et al (US 20030055197 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Laas teaches a 2-component coating comprising a component a) comprising at least one hydrophilic polyaspartic ester, and a component b) comprising at least one NCO-functional crosslinking agent [0065].
The NCO-functional crosslinking agent can be modified polyisocyanates [0049] obtained through reaction of polyisocyanates of low monomer content that consist of at least two diisocyanate molecules with monofunctional polyalkylene oxide polyether alcohols [0051]. The diisocyanate includes 1,6-diisocyanatohexane (HDI) [0015] and can be isocyanurate [0050] (i.e., diisocyanate trimer). The HDI has an NCO functionality of 2.0. The equivalents ratio of amino groups to isocyanate groups is 2:1 to 0.5:1 [0058] (thus, the molar ratio of isocyanate groups to amino groups is 0.5:1 to 2:1).
The examiner submits that the hydrophilic polyaspartic ester reads on the claimed A-component.
The modified polyisocyanate reads on the claimed B-component, with the HDI corresponding to the claimed a). The NCO functionality of 2.0 meets the claimed range of 2-4.5. The molar ratio of isocyanate groups to amino groups of 0.5:1 to 2:1 overlaps the claimed range of 0.8:1 to 4:1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The monofunctional polyalkylene oxide polyether alcohol corresponding to the claimed b).
Laas does not teach that the diisocyanate HDI contains at least 35 wt.% of hexamethylene diisocyanate trimer.
In the same field of endeavor, Morikawa teaches a two-component adhesive [0046] comprising an isocyanate group-terminated prepolymer (A) obtained by reacting an organic polyisocyanate containing at least an aliphatic polyisocyanate and/or an alicyclic polyisocyanate, with a block polyether monool [0027]. The aliphatic polyisocyanate and/or an alicyclic polyisocyanate is preferably hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI) or an isocyanurate bond-containing polyisocyanate obtained from hexamethylene diisocyanate [0036].
The examiner submits that Morikawa isocyanate group-terminated prepolymer (A) is essentially the same as Laas’ modified polyisocyanate. HDI isocyanurate reads on the claimed diisocyanate trimer. Morikawa’s teaching suggest that the aliphatic polyisocyanate and/or an alicyclic polyisocyanate can comprise either 100% HDI or 100% HDI isocyanurate.
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Morikaw recognized HDI and HDI isocyanurate are equivalent for the same purpose in reacting with polyether monool to form a modified polyisocyanate prepolymer, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute HDI with HDI isocyanurate in Laas’ composition. In other words, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use 100% HDI trimer as the polyisocyanates to react with the monofunctional polyalkylene oxide polyether alcohol to form the modified polyisocyanate.
Laas teaches a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol and an ethylene oxide content of 52% [0086]. The molecular weight falls within the claimed range of 900-2000 g/mol. An ethylene oxide content of 52% in the monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether suggests that the propylene oxide content is 48%, falling within the claimed 45-100%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a modified polyisocyanate according to Laas including a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol and an propylene oxide content of 48%, as Laas demonstrates this molecular weight and ethylene oxide content to be suitable for similar modified polyisocyantes. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
Laas teaches an NCO/OH equivalents ratio of 5:1 to 50:1 [0035], meeting the claimed ratio of 5:1 to 110:1.
Laas teaches the polyisocyanate has an average isocyanate functionality of 1.0 to 3.0 (overlapping the claimed range of 1.8-4.1), an isocyanate group content of 3 to 25 wt % (overlapping the claimed range of 8-20%), and contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units bonded within polyalkylene oxide polyether units (overlapping the claimed range of 10-50%) [0019].
Regarding claim 2, Laas teaches a molar ratio of isocyanate groups to amino groups of 0.5:1 to 2:1 as stated above, overlapping the claimed range of 0.8:1 to 2.65:1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 3, Laas teaches that the coating composition is prepared only using water as solvent, since such aqueous coating compositions have particularly advantageous environmental properties [0063], which is solvent-free.
Regarding claim 4, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above, overlapping the claimed range of 10-45%).
Regarding claim 5, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above. Since the polyisocyanate is made from HDI and polyethylene oxide, the HDI unit is 20-95 wt% in the polyisocyanate. Thus, the amount of the ethylene oxide units is 5.3 wt% and higher relative to the total amount of HDI, overlapping the claimed 10-50 wt%.
Regarding claims 6-8, Laas teaches that the polyisocyanate may contain uretdione HDI (NCO functionality of 2) [0033], which is different from the aforementioned polyether modified HDI.
Regarding claim 9, Laas teaches that the polyalkylene oxide polyether unit consists ≧40 mol % of ethylene oxide units [0012]. Thus, in a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether containing ≧40 mol % of ethylene oxide units, propylene oxide unit is 60 mol% or less, or 66.4 wt% or less as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed lower limit of 50% oxyprpylene group content. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 10, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above, overlapping the claimed range of 10-50%).
Regarding claim 11, Laas teaches a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol as stated above, falling within the claimed range of 920-1800 g/mol.
Regarding claim 12, Laas’ polyether-modified polyisocyanate Polyisocyanate Component B3 contains no isophorone diisocyanate [0086].
Regarding claims 13-15, Laas teaches that the hydrophilic polyaspartic ester has the structure of formula (I):
in which X is a saturated or unsaturated, linear or branched, aliphatic or cycloaliphatic or aromatic organic radical which is substituted or unsubstituted and/or has heteroatoms in the chain, [0006] Y is a secondary amino group bonded to two carbon atoms, R1 and R2 independently of one another are saturated or unsaturated, linear or branched, aliphatic or cycloaliphatic or aromatic organic radicals having 1 to 18 carbon atoms, and are substituted or unsubstituted and/or have heteroatoms in the chain, and n is a natural number from 1 to 4 [0004-0008].
Laas further teaches that the hydrophilic polyaspartic ester is made from X-(NH2)n and R1OOC-CH=CH-COOR2 [0029].
The examiner submits that the above formula (I) reads on the claimed formula I, with X being the claimed X, Y being NH, R1 being the claimed R2, R2 being the claimed R1, and n being the claimed n.
Laas teaches a molar ratio of isocyanate groups to amino groups of 0.5:1 to 2:1 as stated above, overlapping the claimed range of 1:1 to 2:1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 17, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above, overlapping the claimed range of 20-37%).
Regarding claim 18, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above. Since the polyisocyanate is made from HDI and polyethylene oxide, the HDI unit is 20-95 wt% in the polyisocyanate. Thus, the amount of the ethylene oxide units is 5.3 wt% and higher relative to the total amount of HDI, overlapping the claimed 24-37 wt%.
Regarding claim 19, Laas teaches the polyisocyanate contain from 5 to 80 wt % of ethylene oxide units as stated above, overlapping the claimed 24-37 wt%.
Regarding claim 20, Laas teaches a monofunctional ethylene oxide/propylene oxide polyether having number-average molecular weight of 1400 g/mol as stated above, falling within the claimed range of 920-1400 g/mol.
Regarding claim 21, the recited “the polyether-modified polyisocyanate is hydrophobic” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nonetheless, Laas teaches that the NCO-functional crosslinking agents can be hydrophobic [0049].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762