DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“Crash management system” in claim 1 is defined by the specification as a front or rear bumper system with a bumper cross beam, end portions and crash boxes (see Figures 1-14; page 3, line 26-page 4, line 5)
“Additional element” in claim 1 is defined by the specification as an end portion connected to an end of the cross beam
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jordan (US Pat 9,821,740).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan discloses a crash management system 30 for a front part of a vehicle having a longitudinal direction, a transverse direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and to the transverse direction, said crash management system 30 having a crash management system length along the transverse direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) and comprising: a cross beam 32 having a cross beam length along the transverse direction (see Figures 1-2; Col. 1, lines 44-49; Col. 2, lines 45-54), at least one additional element 56 having an outer face 36 and an inner face 34, wherein the additional element 56 has at least one wall 38 which is connected to said cross beam 32 (see Figures 2-8; Col. 1, lines 44-56; Col. 2, lines 34-44), at least one absorber 66 having an outer face and/or an inner face (see Figures 2-7; Col. 4, lines 4-17), wherein said cross beam length is smaller than said crash management system length (see annotated Figure 2), wherein said cross beam 32 is connected to said absorber 66 through said additional element 56 (see Figures 2-7; Col. 4, lines 4-13), and wherein positions in the vertical direction of said cross beam 32 and of said absorber 66 are independent relative to each other (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 4-17). The absorber 66 is attached to the additional element 56 and the vertical position of the absorber 66 is aligned to the frame 54, but could be higher or lower than the cross beam 32, making its vertical position independent relative to the vertical position of the cross beam 32.
Regarding claim 3, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said crash management system 30 has an outer face comprising the outer face 70 of said cross beam 32 and the outer face 36 of said additional element 56 (see Figures 2-3; Col. 2, line 45-Col. 3, line 24).
Regarding claim 5, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said cross beam 32 has a straight shape parallel to the transverse direction (see Figure 2; Col. 2, lines 45-53).
Regarding claim 7, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 56 contribute to said crash management system length by a distance D (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 56 is fixed to the cross beam 32 by welding (see Col. 2, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 9, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 56 is a hollow profile having at least one chamber 44 (see Col. 1, lines 49-56; Col. 2, lines 34-38; Col. 3, lines 19-23).
Regarding claim 10, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 56 is made of aluminum alloy, steel or plastic (see Col. 3, lines 5-7, 25-26).
Regarding claim 12, Jordan discloses the crash management system 30 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 56 comprises a hole 112 for a towing eye system (see Figures 1-2 and 8; Col. 4, lines 56-62).
Claims 1, 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamaoki et al. (US Pat 9,561,824).
Regarding claim 1, Tamaoki et al. disclose a crash management system 10 for a front part of a vehicle having a longitudinal direction FR, a transverse direction LH perpendicular to the longitudinal direction FR and a vertical direction UP perpendicular to the longitudinal direction FR and to the transverse direction LH (see Col. 4, lines 44-55), said crash management system 10 having a crash management system length along the transverse direction LH and comprising: a cross beam 18M having a cross beam length along the transverse direction LH (see Figures 1-3; Col. 5, lines 31-36), at least one additional element 18R having an outer face and an inner face (see Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 2; Col. 5, lines 31-36), wherein the additional element 18R has at least one wall which is connected to said cross beam 18M (see Col. 5, lines 31-36), at least one absorber 16 having an outer face and/or an inner face 16F (see Figures 1-3: Col. 5, lines 4-12), characterized in that said cross beam length is smaller than said crash management system length (see annotated Figure 1), said cross beam 18M is connected to said absorber 16 through said additional element 18R (see Figures 1-3; Col. 5, lines 22-36), and wherein positions in the vertical direction of said cross beam 18M and of said absorber 16 are independent relative to each other (see Figures 1-3; Col. 5, lines 4-30). The absorber 16 is attached to the additional element 18R and the vertical position of the absorber 16 is aligned to the frame member 12, but could be higher or lower than the cross beam 18M, making its vertical position independent relative to the vertical position of the cross beam 18M.
Regarding claim 3, Tamaoki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said crash management system 10 has an outer face comprising the outer face of said cross beam 18M and the outer face of said additional element 18R (see Figures 1-3; Col. 5, lines 22-30).
Regarding claim 6, Tamaoki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 3, wherein said outer face of said crash management system is globally curved (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Tamaoki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 18R contribute to said crash management system length by a distance D (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US Pat 7,080,862).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki et al. disclose a crash management system 10 for a front part of a vehicle having a longitudinal direction, a transverse direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and to the transverse direction, said crash management system 10 having a crash management system length along the transverse direction and comprising: a cross beam 12 having a cross beam length L1 along the transverse direction (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 16-25), at least one additional element 15 having an outer face 34 and an inner face 36, wherein the additional element 15 has at least one wall 35a which is connected to said cross beam 12 (see Figures 1-4; Col. 4, lines 52-63), at least one absorber 21 having an outer face 21a and/or an inner face 21b (see Figures 1-3; Col. 6, lines 11-26), characterized in that said cross beam length L1 is smaller than said crash management system length (see Figure 1), said cross beam 12 is connected to said absorber 21 through said additional element 15 (see Figures 1-6; Col. 4, lines 26-35), and wherein positions in the vertical direction of said cross beam 12 and of said absorber 21 are independent relative to each other (see Figures 1-3; Col. 4, lines 16-35). The absorber 21 is attached to the additional element 15 and the vertical position of the absorber 21 is aligned to a vehicle frame member, but the cross beam 12 could be higher or lower than the absorber 21, as it is able to vertically slide relative to the additional element, making its vertical position independent relative to the vertical position of the absorber 21.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said crash management system 10 has an outer face comprising the outer face 31a of said cross beam 12 and the outer face 34 of said additional element 15 (see Figures 1-3; Col. 4, lines 52-63).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said absorber 21 has an outer face 21a connected to said additional element inner face 36 (see Figures 1-4; Col. 6, lines 6-26). The inner face 36 is attached to the outer face 21a by the bracket 17.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 3, wherein said outer face of said crash management system 10 is globally curved (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 15 is a hollow profile having at least one chamber 56 (see Figures 2-4; Col. 5, lines 50-59).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 15 is made of aluminum alloy (see Col. 5, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki et al. disclose the crash management system 10 according to claim 1, wherein said additional element 15 is an extruded hollow profile, which extrusion direction is substantially parallel to said vertical direction (see Figures 2-4; Col. 5, lines 56-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 17, 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6 of Remarks, filed November 17, 2025, Applicant asserts that Jordan does not disclose the limitation “wherein the positions in the vertical direction Z of said cross beam and of said absorber are independent relative to each other”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that the absorbers 66, 68 of Jordan are aligned with the additional elements 56, 58; however, in the section referenced by Applicant, Jordan states “The crush cans 66, 68 may be attached…to the inner extension 34, 60”. There is no mention of alignment between the absorbers 66, 68 and the additional elements 56, 58. Additionally, Jordan discloses a bracket 104 used to improve the performance of the vehicle during impact and would make it possible to position the bumper beam 32 independently relative to the absorbers 66, 68 (see Col. 4, lines 33-55).
On page 7 of Remarks, filed November 17, 2025, Applicant asserts that in the Tamaoki reference, “There is no possible case where the position of the crash box, the bumper reinforcement, and the overhanging portions are independent of each other”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant relies on the spacer member 24 to assert that the vertical position of the overhanging portions 20 of the additional elements 18R must be aligned with the absorbers 16. However, to achieve the desired effect of Tamaoki, the spacer member 24 vertical dimension could be such that the additional elements 18R are positioned offset to the absorbers 16 while still allowing for contact between the spacer member 24 and the front side member 14. Given this condition, it is possible to position the bumper beam 18M independently relative to the absorbers 16.
On page 8 of Remarks, filed November 17, 2025, Applicant asserts that Suzuki et al. fail to teach or suggest an absorber and the front side member cannot be considered an absorber; however, Applicant also asserts that the front side member transmits an impact force to a vehicle frame. While the structure of the absorber of Suzuki et al. does not match the structure of Applicant’s absorber, the absorber of Suzuki et al. absorbs the energy of the impact in order to transmit said energy to the vehicle frame, meeting the qualification of “absorber”. Additionally, Applicant asserts that Suzuki et al. fail to teach or suggest that the positions in the vertical direction of the cross beam and absorber are independent, but then asserts that “Suzuki et al. envisages having independent positions for the cross beam and the side member, between which the corner member is fixed”. This would in fact support Examiner’s assertion that the positions of the cross beam and the absorber are independent relative to one another. Suzuki et al. disclose a vertical dimension L2 of the absorber (see Col. 5, lines 56-59), but no mention is made of a vertical dimension of the cross beam, making the position of the cross beam independent relative to the absorber in a vertical direction.
For at least the reasons outlined above, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612